i only have class 3 license. can i join sbst as a bus captain? will i undergo training in sbs to get a class 4 license?
Yes you can, and you will undergo training with SBST's BC Development Centre for a few months.
http://impact-sg.jobstreet.com/Jobs/jobdesc.asp?type=0&eid=9191&jid=2058673&did=796&its=0&src=8&itn=
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Yes you can, and you will undergo training with SBST's BC Development Centre for a few months.
http://impact-sg.jobstreet.com/Jobs/jobdesc.asp?type=0&eid=9191&jid=2058673&did=796&its=0&src=8&itn=
eh.... where is this BC Development Centre located? at Braddell?
should be at braddell if i'm not wrong..
Originally posted by xunmeng:eh.... where is this BC Development Centre located? at Braddell?
are you a singaporean? walk-in interview at slbp or amdep. i would say its not a nice job being a bus captain.
How about licence for driving those private buses? Where do we learn?
Originally posted by lianamaster:How about licence for driving those private buses? Where do we learn?
LTA lo.
how about if i wanna get a bus vocational license but not interested in joining SBS or SMRT as a bus driver?
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:are you a singaporean? walk-in interview at slbp or amdep. i would say its not a nice job being a bus captain.
SLBP: Take 192, 254, 255 or 257 from Boon Lay Int or 255, 257 from Pioneer Station
AMDEP: Take 45 or 70 from Yio Chu Kang
how much does private bus driver earn per month more than SBST/SMRTB driver?
Originally posted by jayh272416:
SLBP: Take 192, 254, 255 or 257 from Boon Lay Int or 255, 257 from Pioneer StationAMDEP: Take 45 or 70 from Yio Chu Kang
or HGDEP, plenty of them lor, 25, 87, 151, 854 etc
Walk in to HGDEP, AMDEP, SLBP
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:are you a singaporean? walk-in interview at slbp or amdep. i would say its not a nice job being a bus captain.
yeah, i am a singaporean. how is a typical day of a bus captain like?
they are like an advance party of the whole working society...must arrive at work early eg.
wake up at 4 plus in the morning and gotta collect bus to start off at 5.30 around there.
liken it to advance party when u go to resevist/oversea exercise..those storeman, drivers
gotta be there first to prepare before the main party comes in..
well, i've got Class 3 and 4.
is there like an age limit?
if i was 22 when i ORD, will they take me in?
if not then i'd pursue my degree and get Class 5 as well.
and then become a trailer driver and go earn more than a bus driver. haha!
Ok, from what i hear.
Private Bus Drivers who work for touring companies earn more money. Plus, some of them can park their buses at heavy vehicle parks near to their home and use their buses as means of private usage.
Private buses can also opt to park inside schools. (One B10M MK-IV PSV parks at Canberra Primary School)
If you wanna be a public bus captain, you need to stick to perm routes and drive for 9 - 12 hrs daily. Do note that you only have 1 off day per week. They can opt for public holiday leave if the holiday is of religious nature (e.g Ching Ming or Thaipusam). Do note that these holiday leaves is thru bidding and you may fail to obtain the public holiday leave.
The shift that would give a lower income would be standby. Standby BCs are BCs who would replace perm drivers if they are on leave or MC. They would be deployed to drive Chartered buses and so on. Do note that if the Standby driver is not assigned a duty on a particular day, the wage would be flat at $20 per day.
Depots offer entertainment for BCs during swing breaks at depots. Depots have lounges that have computers (these computers have games in them that BCs can play), TVs and sofas. One particular depot is WLDEP.
Originally posted by tintinspartan:Ok, from what i hear.
Private Bus Drivers who work for touring companies earn more money. Plus, some of them can park their buses at heavy vehicle parks near to their home and use their buses as means of private usage.
Private buses can also opt to park inside schools. (One B10M MK-IV PSV parks at Canberra Primary School)
If you wanna be a public bus captain, you need to stick to perm routes and drive for 9 - 12 hrs daily. Do note that you only have 1 off day per week. They can opt for public holiday leave if the holiday is of religious nature (e.g Ching Ming or Thaipusam). Do note that these holiday leaves is thru bidding and you may fail to obtain the public holiday leave.
The shift that would give a lower income would be standby. Standby BCs are BCs who would replace perm drivers if they are on leave or MC. They would be deployed to drive Chartered buses and so on. Do note that if the Standby driver is not assigned a duty on a particular day, the wage would be flat at $20 per day.
Depots offer entertainment for BCs during swing breaks at depots. Depots have lounges that have computers (these computers have games in them that BCs can play), TVs and sofas. One particular depot is WLDEP.
What else do I have to note then?
my class 4 driving instructor was a Pte Bus driver who drove from singapore to malaysia and stuff. on average, he earned between 5k to 7k a month.
and he's enjoying life now.
its fine to start off at SBS or SMRT but note that you'd realise that the monthly salary aint enough.
1 off day per week? Lol...
SMRT goes by 5-day work week. If the SLs choose to drive 1 more day = get more wages, as simple as that.
If I'm not wrong the basic pay for both an SMRT and an SBST driver is the same, but the only difference is that SMRT goes by 5-day work week and SBST, 6-day work week. If you bother to calculate then, an SMRT driver who drives 6 days a week will obviously get more pay then an SBST driver who drives 6 days a week.
Which is why there are so many ex-SBST BCs who jumped ship to SMRT to become SLs.
Originally posted by Oceane:1 off day per week? Lol...
SMRT goes by 5-day work week. If the SLs choose to drive 1 more day = get more wages, as simple as that.
If I'm not wrong the basic pay for both an SMRT and an SBST driver is the same, but the only difference is that SMRT goes by 5-day work week and SBST, 6-day work week. If you bother to calculate then, an SMRT driver who drives 6 days a week will obviously get more pay then an SBST driver who drives 6 days a week.
Which is why there are so many ex-SBST BCs who jumped ship to SMRT to become SLs.
SMRT basic pay is lower than SBST
pls la... i cant b standby bc meh.. must stick 2 perm route... n whr got lower income... get ur facts rite b4 u educate ppl... haha...
Originally posted by service_238:
SMRT basic pay is lower than SBST
but SMRTB allowances and bonuses jiak buey liao meh..somemore it's a 5 day work week so it means on Sats u will earn OT rate instead of normal rate
Originally posted by muziq bus:my class 4 driving instructor was a Pte Bus driver who drove from singapore to malaysia and stuff. on average, he earned between 5k to 7k a month.
and he's enjoying life now.
its fine to start off at SBS or SMRT but note that you'd realise that the monthly salary aint enough.
woah...how come he can earn so much sia? he do long hours?