Originally posted by Ranger123:Initially I thought that 241 will follow 257's route until Pioneer MRT (St 62, St 61 & St 63) since 257 is very likely to be shortened to Joo Koon and there is already a 179 (and 255, in which it is also very likely to be shortened to Joo Koon ter) in the whole stretch of St 63.
there already is 243. also, pax from st 61 can walk to st 62 or st 63.
Originally posted by Ranger123:Initially I thought that 241 will follow 257's route until Pioneer MRT (St 62, St 61 & St 63) since 257 is very likely to be shortened to Joo Koon and there is already a 179 (and 255, in which it is also very likely to be shortened to Joo Koon ter) in the whole stretch of St 63.
longer journey time = more buses need for same peak frequency as before. there needs to be a balance between route coverage and journey time, especially when the demand of 241 is mainly not at st 62 which now has 243.
service 181 looks like a feeder, but the number looks like a trunk service, is there an intention to extend it sometime?
Originally posted by Merczrox:
Be careful in what u say.later all the kub lovers(too little anyway) not happy with u.
I doubt there's any KUB lovers here.
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:there already is 243. also, pax from st 61 can walk to st 62 or st 63.
Originally posted by SBS1984E:
Clone?
Escape from lay up corner ah? Or depot no more spare bus?
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Escape from lay up corner ah? Or depot no more spare bus?
Nope.
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:SBS9888Y here. i got banned for spamming a few lines on the shoutbox once. pretty sad ehh -.-
well the "queen of sgf" can do what she likes without giving you some allowance.
Originally posted by SBS8032G:
Originally posted by icky:service 181 looks like a feeder, but the number looks like a trunk service, is there an intention to extend it sometime?
I believe the original plan was to extend it to Buona Vista, but it was decided to operate the Buona Vista route as route 185.
Originally posted by service_238:
you think cross can anyhow cross ah? Must see bus fleet as well as timing right? the 243/198 xover is based on fleet addition to 243 and not a conversion into a xover.Furthermore, 99 runs at 6-8min during AM peak, what more do you want?
Demand 99 to be 2 to 6 mins during AM & PM peak. Furthermore, 179 & 242 had their frequency ard less den 1 min to longest 4 mins during PEAK time. They need 99 to go 'down' lik Boon Lay Ave, The Strategy & Clementi there.
Timings for both 241/99 AM-peak crossovers I expect to have:
7.30am, 7.40am (Do 1 downtrip from Densed JW Street 91 to Clementi Int)
As this is the timings that commuters are going destination to work & give convenience.
Originally posted by SBS9364S:
Demand 99 to be 2 to 6 mins during AM & PM peak. Furthermore, 179 & 242 had their frequency ard less den 1 min to longest 4 mins during PEAK time. They need 99 to go 'down' lik Boon Lay Ave, The Strategy & Clementi there.Timings for both 241/99 AM-peak crossovers I expect to have:
As this is the timings that commuters are going destination to work & give convenience.
crazy. might as well just add bus to sv99. the whole world is not about crossovers.
In Memory of 242 at Jurong West Street 91 /
Bus stops no longer served by 242 from 15 March 2009
242 already covered up by 241. 

Originally posted by Junyang700:In Memory of 242 at Jurong West Street 91 /
Bus stops no longer served by 242 from 15 March 2009
242 already covered up by 241.
deleted
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
crazy. might as well just add bus to sv99. the whole world is not about crossovers.
If add bus, SBST mus hire more BCs. If do 241/99 x-overs in AM peak, There would be enough drivers to cather svc 99.
Maybe oso consider........
JB-registered MK3 buses cameo on 99 during AM & PM peak if they hire enough BCs.
If add bus, SBST mus hire more BCs. If do 241/99 x-overs in AM peak, There would be enough drivers to cather svc 99.Maybe oso consider........
JB-registered MK3 buses cameo on 99 during AM & PM peak if they hire enough BCs.
then get more BC's! do you expect to meet 10-minute peak headway with the current pool of BC's?
do you actually think 241 has buses to spare? it's not like the whole world of pioneer are going to jurong east! but surely additional trips on sv99 will come in if ever the bus is close to exceeding its loading capacity.
and what's the point of cameo..... do you mean add trips and buses?
then get more BC's! do you expect to meet 10-minute peak headway with the current pool of BC's?
do you think 241 has buses to spare?
what's the point of cameo.... do you mean add trips and buses?
add buses onli, supplement the no. of buses during PEAK time unless u wan JB-registered MK3 buses as 99 perm. (Regarding bus 99)
Dun 4get, 241 can get 179/241* crossover buses which will be conducted every Mon to Sat. (Regarding my proposing 241/99 x-over, & future 179/241* x-over)
In fact, 179/241* x-over buses can replace 2 of 241 buses which do 241/99* x-over during AM peak, after doing 1 trip each, these 2 buses will do 241 back.
Originally posted by SBS9364S:add buses onli, supplement the no. of buses during PEAK time unless u wan JB-registered MK3 buses as 99 perm. (Regarding bus 99)
Dun 4get, 241 can get 179/241* crossover buses which will be conducted every Mon to Sat. (Regarding my proposing 241/99 x-over, & future 179/241* x-over)
In fact, 179/241* x-over buses can replace 2 of 241 buses which do 241/99* x-over during AM peak, after doing 1 trip each, these 2 buses will do 241 back.
the current 241 i'm talking about includes all trips run as 241 including x-overs from 179. do you really think they still can squeeze a bus out of this pool to do 99? i think they'd rather do 241 and add buses on sv99 if it really needs one.
why are u harping on JB Mark III's doing sv99? are they that bad or does bbdep not have enough spares? add a perm slot and the service will have a new perm bus, simple as that.
let's see what you have proposed....
Demand 99 to be 2 to 6 mins during AM & PM peak. Furthermore, 179 & 242 had their frequency ard less den 1 min to longest 4 mins during PEAK time. They need 99 to go 'down' lik Boon Lay Ave, The Strategy & Clementi there.
Timings for both 241/99 AM-peak crossovers I expect to have:
after 7.35am when all the supplementary trips from 179 have already done their last trips, the headway of 241 will increase from 4 minutes to 6 minutes.
if u try to remove 2 perm buses out of 241, the headway will increase from 6 minutes to 10 minutes.
now, what the heck? you want the frequency of sv99 to be even better than sv241 which connect residents to much more places than just jurong east and clementi? that's either outright biasness or you have no idea how the 179/241 trips work.
why should I impact the frequency of 241 so severely to supplement another service which does not have severe loading issues anyway?
and should they ever do service 99, by the time they return to Boon Lay, it's their mealbreak. this will guarantee you 10-minute headway on a Neighbourhood 9 feeder service (whose demand you know best) all the way up to after 11am.
If you want to run downroutes on service 99, please just add another S shift to sv99 and improve the headway. it'll do much more than running 2 downroutes unless you're intending to add 2 buses on 241, on top of what we have now.
the current 241 i'm talking about includes all trips run as 241 including x-overs from 179. do you really think they still can squeeze a bus out of this pool to do 99? i think they'd rather do 241 and add buses on sv99 if it really needs one.
why are u harping on JB Mark III's doing sv99? are they that bad or does bbdep not have enough spares? add a perm slot and the service will have a new perm bus, simple as that.
let's see what you have proposed....after 7.35am when all the supplementary trips from 179 have already done their last trips, the headway of 241 will increase from 4 minutes to 6 minutes.
if u try to remove perm 241 buses out of 241, the headway will increase from 6 minutes to 10 minutes.
now, what the heck? you want the frequency of sv99 to be even better than sv241 which connect residents to much more places than just jurong east and clementi? that's either outright biasness or you have no idea how the 179/241 trips work.
why should I impact the frequency of 241 so severely to supplement another service which does not have severe loading issues anyway?
and should they ever do service 99, by the time they return to Boon Lay, it's their mealbreak. this will guarantee you 10-minute headway on a Neighbourhood 9 feeder service (whose demand you know best) all the way up to after 11am.
If you want to run downroutes on service 99, please just add another S shift to sv99 and improve the headway. it'll do much more than running 2 downroutes unless you're intending to add 2 buses on 241, on top of what we have now.
Okay, I would consider about ur comment.
2 implemented suggestions:
1. fleet add of 2 split-shifts (starting downroute journey from JW St 91 to Clementi Int)
2. Introduction of 99M (some of split-shift buses will start downroute journey from JW St 91 to Clementi Int)
Any one of new split-shift buses (Can be DDs or SDswill replace SBS2724M which does finish 99/ 556* x-over
Originally posted by SBS9364S:Okay, I would consider about ur comment.
2 implemented suggestions:
1. fleet add of 2 split-shifts (starting downroute journey from JW St 91 to Clementi Int)
2. Introduction of 99M (some of split-shift buses will start downroute journey from JW St 91 to Clementi Int)
Any one of new split-shift buses (Can be DDs or SDswill replace SBS2724M which does finish 99/ 556* x-over
I really don't know what's your fascination with downroutes if the buses have to travel from Clementi Int anyway. Why not just improve the headway throughout the whole trip? Do you know SWT's and downroutes can only be slotted in-between full trips scheduled at regular intervals, and are only meant to supplement these regular trips, not replace them?
SWT's are only scheduled at places with exceptionally high activity such that regular trips cannot cope with the demand. It's not like your chaffeur, with 2-minute frequencies from JW St 91 to Clementi at that time just because you want to go to work.
And SWT's are most disruptive because of the tradeoff because some passengers will not be able to go where they want to (imagine people wanting to go to JW St 91 from Clementi yet you took away their bus instead of giving a 2-min bump in the headway for the entire route in that time period), and running empty buses from the ending point to the starting point is actually fuel-inefficient.
As for the 99/556 crossover, there is no point talking about it.... especially when Service 99 does have less than 10-min headway and does not have any siginificant loading issues. For these 2 reasons, there is no need to waste buses just to spam your Service 99 when there are other services that might need the buses to run 10-min peak headway.
Originally posted by slayer2004:I gonna pity those ppl who depend on 99 liao. I still rmb got 1 time i wait for 30 mins for 1 stupid 99 at Jurong West Ave 4 going back to JE. This time round, more jia lat liao!
because some bus stops were infested with many ppl who taking 99, bus filled to the brim then need wait next bus. bus stops like opposite tradehub, the synergy and JE MRT station along boon lay way.
i dun tink will be big impact since got 241 and amended 242 liao since 95% of old 242 route is being covered by 241 and amended 242.
Originally posted by slayer2004:I gonna pity those ppl who depend on 99 liao. I still rmb got 1 time i wait for 30 mins for 1 stupid 99 at Jurong West Ave 4 going back to JE. This time round, more jia lat liao!
what time of the day was it?
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
because some bus stops were infested with many ppl who taking 99, bus filled to the brim then need wait next bus. bus stops like opposite tradehub, the synergy and JE MRT station along boon lay way.i dun tink will be big impact since got 241 and amended 242 liao since 95% of old 242 route is being covered by 241 and amended 242.
from BNL interchange at least.
but what if someone wants to go from, say, jurong west st 72 to st 91? 99 only.
what time of the day was it?
tiger beer time.![]()
i was a regular 99 passenger as well to reach my sch. i rmb that there is a time i waited 30 mins at JW Ave 4 Blk 734A for this bus to come, then bus filled with Juying Sec students cant go in. bo bian wait another bus lor. if Mk 3 come i dun take, sub bus if DD i take. note that the bus stop mentioned abv is also hot spot for Boon Lay Sec students as well.