Originally posted by service_238:You are given 12 bus services - namely A thru L.
A terminates at a western Terminal and goes thru the CBD
B terminates at a western Terminal that is not the same as A, and goes thru the CBD as well
C terminates at Toa Payoh.
D is a pan-island service with extensive run time.
E is a very long route, serves many schools and once had the most models ever permenently deployed on a service.
F has a varient service.
240 G is a long feeder service
H used to operate from Somapah Interchange
I used to loop at Macpherson Estate
J terminates at an Interchange in the north
K has a famous Shortworking Trip, and terminates in the North-East
L terminates at an eastern TerminalList the services that I'm talking about. Where possible, give answers to all the names and places I have said in the clues above.
Let me guess...
A/B= 196/197
J = 966
L = 59
What do you mean by 'within the outer ring road system'? Do you mean that the pairs of bus stops lie along the outer ring road system or along any road that is enclosed inside the outer ring road system but outside CBD?
Originally posted by service_238:
36 is not the only service that has a bus stop in a vehicle park. Vehicle park can stand for any kind of vehicles that may park in it as long as there's lots catered for it.G is 240 :)
K is wrong. Its SWT 33A is in the evening and its reverse downroute is in the morning. 33A only 2 trips. This service has many SWT trips. Moreover 33 doesnt go North-East.
Both are wrong though both originates from Clementi and both serve Dover estate before branching out. Moreover, 14 did not have the most perm models at one point. This service E i'm looking for had the most perm models recently and not currently.
If H is 10 then what is E, I and J? Though 10 did serve Somapah before.
Wrong. Though it was extended from Toa Payoh to Serangoon. Serangoon jump bus only got 82 100 101 as compared to 81 103 315 317, not counting 105 109 as its dual depot. In addition, I does jump bus itself. 158 doesn't.
Hmm looks like I have gave G an isolated clue. If i add one more clue for G you guys would be able to guess some of the remaining ones cos G intersects a few of the remaining ones.
you didnt state that K is a svc plying thru the northeast earlier. as a matter of fact you did not even mention that the service has many SWTs. you just said have SWTs.
well then it has to be 158.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:o.O.
You mean just SLE alone or the stretch of TPE+SLE???
SLE only, CTE-bound near upp thomson. remember the 2 lorries + 1 motorcycle accident? fatal accident. rider died.
the tailback was till WDL Ave 12 exit. the last pair just came in from slip road and join the jam. ![]()
Originally posted by sinicker:SLE only, CTE-bound near upp thomson. remember the 2 lorries + 1 motorcycle accident? fatal accident. rider died.
the tailback was till WDL Ave 12 exit. the last pair just came in from slip road and join the jam.
Moral of the story, dun ride motorcycle in Singapore(esp those dirt bike kinda)... Not suited for SG road(high traffic)...
Extremely dangerous...
Originally posted by tvcnq:Let me guess...
A/B= 196/197
J = 966
L = 59
What do you mean by 'within the outer ring road system'? Do you mean that the pairs of bus stops lie along the outer ring road system or along any road that is enclosed inside the outer ring road system but outside CBD?
A and B are wrong.
J is 966
L is 59
Your words in bold are correct.
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:you didnt state that K is a svc plying thru the northeast earlier. as a matter of fact you did not even mention that the service has many SWTs.
well then it has to be 158.
I state before anyone started posting their answers. The only edit in the main question is the insertion of G's answer. I stated earlier that it has many SWT trips, not many suffixes. 158 only has 7 trips each for 158A and 158B. if you still feel K = 158, then answer the remaining clue that is pertaining to K
"2 buses from this service does supplementary trips on 2 seperate services. K meets A & B at a road near an MRT station and a fire station. A & B will go straight while K turns left after meeting. Though they meet at this road, K & A/B do not call at any bus stops together."
Originally posted by SBS9818A:D is 30. Estate in common with E is Taman Jurong.
E is 154. Intersects with H(155) at MacPherson Estate.
H is 155.
I is 135. Extended to AMK Interchange which has a lot of jump bus services. Used to loop at MacPherson Estate but now only goes one-directional.
All correct. Don't spoil market la lolz..
Remaining 5 services only...
You are given 12 bus services - namely A thru L.
A terminates at a western Terminal and goes thru the CBD
B terminates at a western Terminal that is not the same as A, and goes thru the CBD as well
C terminates at Toa Payoh.
30 D is a pan-island service with extensive run time.
154 E is a very long route, serves many schools and once had the most models ever permenently deployed on a service.
F has a varient service.
155 H used to operate from Somapah Interchange
135 I used to loop at Macpherson Estate
966 J terminates at an Interchange in the north (Woodlands)
K has a famous Shortworking Trip, and terminates in the North-East
59 L terminates at an eastern Terminal (Changi Village)
A, B, C, 30 D run parallel to serve 3 pairs of bus stops somewhere within the Outer Ring Road System, but outside the CBD area. Of the 4 services, 3 will turn right while the 4th one turns left at this junction.
A & B are identical in their routes as they meet and run parallel 3 times, one of which is mentioned in the earlier paragraph.
30 D & 154 E operates from the same terminating point (Boon Lay) in the west. They serve one estate before branching out on their own routes to serve other parts towards the east.
F also serves the same estate as 30 D & 154 E but originate from a different terminating point. It serves a bus stop that is located in a vehicle park.
240 G serves 2 estates (Boon Lay and Taman Jurong), has a run time of about 55-60min full route on average.
155 H intersects 154 E for 5 pairs of bus stops in this estate (Macpherson). 155 H also intersects 135 I and 966 J at 2 different places (135 at Siglap Rd/Macpherson Estate/Upp Aljunied Rd, 966 at Still Rd).
135 I was extended to terminate at this place (Ang Mo Kio) that has many jump bus services. It intersects 155 H at a road (Upp Aljunied Rd) that does not have DDs plying.
966 J has a crossover from another service 963 in the morning. It runs parallel with 59 L for a portion of 966 J's express sector (PIE between Kallang Bahru and Eunos Flyover). It doesn't call the same stops as 59 L though they share the same express sector. 966 J meets 155 H at a junction (Sims Ave/Jln Eunos) nearest to an Eunos MRT station. 966 J meets 135 I for 2 pairs of bus stops near a famous shopping centre (Parkway) that shares the same name of a healthcare company (Parkway Holdings).
K has the downroute that is the reverse of its famous shortworking trip in the evening. 2 buses from this service does supplementary trips on 2 seperate services. K meets A & B at a road near an MRT station and a fire station. A & B will go straight while K turns left after meeting. Though they meet at this road, K & A/B do not call at any bus stops together.
59 L meets C and H for a pair of bus stops in a housing estate. Other than C, H and 966 J, it does not meet any of the remaining services at all.
List the services that I'm talking about. Where possible, give answers to all the names and places I have said in the clues above.
A: 32
B: 33
Meets: Tiong Bahru Road, New Upp Changi Road
Dupes: Hill St all the way to Dunman Road..
C: 145...
A: 32, B: 33, C: 31 ,Meet at old airport road.
32/33 meet at tiong bahru and new upper changi road
K 147, meet A/B at Eu Tong sen st and hill st but does not stop at same bus stop. SWT is 147A, downroute from people park in the evening. two crossover to 532/7.
F: 98. the bus stop at jurong island checkpoint is a parking area for military vehicles if i remember correctly? got variance as 98m.
Answers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You are given 12 bus services - namely A thru L.
32/33 A terminates at a western Terminal (Buona Vista/Kent Ridge) and goes thru the CBD
32/33 B terminates at a western Terminal (Buona Vista/Kent Ridge) that is not the same as A, and goes thru the CBD as well
31 C terminates at Toa Payoh.
30 D is a pan-island service (Bedok-Boon Lay via Changi Rd, Tg Katong, Old Airport, Fort Rd, Keppel/Harbourfront, Pasir Panjang, West Coast, Teban Gardens, Taman Jurong) with extensive run time (2 hours on average).
154 E is a very long route, serves many schools (26: Boon Lay Gdn Pri, Yuan Ching Sec, Jurong Sec, Clementi Town Pri/Sec, SIM, NP, MGS, NYGH, NJC, HCI, RGPS, SCGS, SJI, CJC, CHIJ (TP) Pri/Sec, SAJS, SASS, SAJC, Canossa Convent Pri, Macpherson Pri/Sec/ITE, Maha Bodhi Sec, Northlight Sch) and once had the most models ever permenently deployed on a service (Late 2004: O405, Mk2, Mk3, Mk4 DM/DM3500, LO, VO2x, VO3x, VSO)
98 F has a varient service. (98M)
155 H used to operate from Somapah Interchange
135 I used to loop at Macpherson Estate
966 J terminates at an Interchange in the north (Woodlands)
147 K has a famous Shortworking Trip 147A, and terminates in the North-East (Hougang)
59 L terminates at an eastern Terminal (Changi Village)
32 A, 33 B, 31 C, 30 D run parallel to serve 3 pairs of bus stops somewhere within the Outer Ring Road System, but outside the CBD area (Dunman Rd west of Tg Katong Rd till Old Airport Rd/Mountbatten Rd). Of the 4 services, 3 will turn right (31, 32, 33) while the 4th one (30) turns left at this junction. (Old Airport Rd/Mountbatten Rd)
32 A & 33 B are identical in their routes as they meet and run parallel 3 times, one of which is mentioned in the earlier paragraph. (New Upp Changi Rd-Sims Ave East/Changi Rd, Dunman/Tg Katong Rd-Hill St/North Bridge Rd/North Boat Quay, Tiong Bahru/Lower Delta Rd-Tiong Bahru/Alexandra Rd)
30 D & 154 E operates from the same terminating point (Boon Lay) in the west. They serve one estate (Taman Jurong) before branching out on their own routes to serve other parts towards the east.
98 F also serves the same estate as 30 D & 154 E but originate from a different terminating point (Jurong East). It serves a bus stop that is located in a vehicle park. (Jurong Island Checkpoint)
240 G serves 2 estates (Boon Lay and Taman Jurong), has a run time of about 55-60min full route on average.
155 H intersects 154 E for 5 pairs of bus stops in this estate (Macpherson). 155 H also intersects 135 I and 966 J at 2 different places (135 at Siglap Rd/Macpherson Estate/Upp Aljunied Rd, 966 at Still Rd).
135 I was extended to terminate at this place (Ang Mo Kio) that has many jump bus services (22, 24, 25, 73, 86, 130, 133, 135, 136). It intersects 155 H at a road (Upp Aljunied Rd) that does not have DDs plying.
966 J has a crossover from another service 963 in the morning. It runs parallel with 59 L for a portion of 966 J's express sector (PIE between Kallang Bahru and Eunos Flyover). It doesn't call the same stops as 59 L though they share the same express sector. 966 J meets 155 H at a junction (Sims Ave/Jln Eunos) nearest to an Eunos MRT station. 966 J meets 135 I for 2 pairs of bus stops near a famous shopping centre (Parkway) that shares the same name of a healthcare company (Parkway Holdings).
147 K has the downroute that is the reverse of its famous shortworking trip in the evening (Pearl's Ctr->Hougang). 2 buses from this service (SBS 2709 C, SBS 7316 U) does supplementary trips on 2 seperate services (532 and 7). 147 K meets 32 A & 33 B at a road (Hill St) near an MRT station (City Hall) and a fire station (Central) . 32 A & 33 B will go straight while 147 K turns left after meeting. Though they meet at this road (Hill St), 147 K & 32 A / 33 B do not call at any bus stops together (32/33 call at Armenian Ch, 147 at MICA and Stamford Ct).
59 L meets 31 C and 155 H for a pair of bus stops in a housing estate (Toa Payoh Swimming Pool, Toa Payoh Lor 6). Other than 31 C, 155 H and 966 J, it does not meet any of the remaining services at all.
List the services that I'm talking about. Where possible, give answers to all the names and places I have said in the clues above.
Originally posted by service_238:Answers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You are given 12 bus services - namely A thru L.32/33 A terminates at a western Terminal (Buona Vista/Kent Ridge) and goes thru the CBD
32/33 B terminates at a western Terminal (Buona Vista/Kent Ridge) that is not the same as A, and goes thru the CBD as well
so A > 32/33 and B > 32/33?
Originally posted by ftjj0298:so A > 32/33 and B > 32/33?
they are interchangeable.
Originally posted by sinicker:they are interchangeable.
oh. i see.
Originally posted by ftjj0298:
oh. i see.
Haha, coz the clues are the same.
A question: Where can u find two pieces of wood (sticks from branches) on some buses? (hint: smrt)
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:A question: Where can u find two pieces of wood (sticks from branches) on some buses? (hint: smrt)
broom and dustpan? ![]()
Originally posted by jayh272416:broom and dustpan?
hahaha... theorically yes, but thats not the exact answer im looking for.
Ok answer answer answer for the longest bus route to ever start from Toa Payoh Int, its the Comfort Superliner special holiday service to Genting Highlands, boarding berth is 231/Turf City berth, was on for two years during December Holidays before it was stopped. Boarding time was at 7 am (or thereabouts) on selected days. Trip is around 400 km long.
I decided to make mine ![]()
A is a loop service that makes a U turn at Road M.
A intercepts B at every bus stop along Road M that B plies on.
C is a service that intercepts B at two different points for 2 stops.
D is a service that starts out with C.
Both of them intercepts each other for many bus stops from the start till they hit O, a medical institution, where they branch out on their own.
However, D will intercept with C for 2 another bus stops again before going on and terminating at the same interchange as B, interchange P.
E is a service that serves the west with the far west, adopting a jump bus system and only intercepting with F and G.
F is a WAB service. F's majority control has a full ADD fleet on Weekdays. It intercepts G, H and I on Road N.
G is the only service that ends at interchange Q with buses from depot R and the other services A-L except G do not terminate At Q.
H is a service that has renowned crossovers, it also intercepts I on three different roads, S, T and U. H is known to intercept many of the services from A-L. Both ending points of H is not shared with any other service A-L.
I is a service that meets with all services A-L except E.
J is a service in which the direction of its route is somewhat like H. Ending point V of service J is non-boarding and alighting.
K has the same ending point as J for one end and with G and I for the other. It passes by service J's ending point, V, too. K will intercepts F for 1 stop on 1 direction and 3 stops for the other at this area.
L is a loop service that intercepts K at Road W that doubledecker cannot ply through. It intercepts H, I and J for 1 stop at its looping point.
Find Services A-L, Roads M, N, S, T, U, W. Medical Insitution O, Interchange P, Q, Depot R, Ending Point V.
i will clear my chem quiz today and computing quiz on thurs 1st. ![]()
What do you mean by a uturn?
Your question seems to be concentrated in one area... Go sleep first.. crack more tomorrow. Hope no one gets all correct by then ![]()
Originally posted by n4l:What do you mean by a uturn?
certain bus services will make u turns or three-point-turns along its route. example, service 254 at tuas rd end.
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:I decided to make mine
A is a loop service that makes a U turn at Road M.
A intercepts B at every bus stop along Road M that B plies on.
C is a service that intercepts B at two different points for 2 stops.
D is a service that starts out with C.
Both of them intercepts each other for many bus stops from the start till they hit O, a medical institution, where they branch out on their own.
However, D will intercept with C for 2 another bus stops again before going on and terminating at the same interchange as B, interchange P.
E is a service that serves the west with the far west, adopting a jump bus system and only intercepting with F and G.
F is a WAB service. F's majority control has a full ADD fleet on Weekdays. It intercepts G, H and I on Road N.
G is the only service that ends at interchange Q with buses from depot R and the other services A-L except G do not terminate At Q.
H is a service that has renowned crossovers, it also intercepts I on three different roads, S, T and U. H is known to intercept many of the services from A-L. Both ending points of H is not shared with any other service A-L.
I is a service that meets with all services A-L except E.
J is a service in which the direction of its route is somewhat like H. Ending point V of service J is non-boarding and alighting.
K has the same ending point as J for one end and with G and I for the other. It passes by service J's ending point, V, too. K will intercepts F for 1 stop on 1 direction and 3 stops for the other at this area.
L is a loop service that intercepts K at Road W that doubledecker cannot ply through. It intercepts H, I and J for 1 stop at its looping point.
Find Services A-L, Roads M, N, S, T, U, W. Medical Insitution O, Interchange P, Q, Depot R, Ending Point V.
This is what i call madness. No one will ever guess ALL correct.
Originally posted by ftjj0298:This is what i call madness. No one will ever guess ALL correct.
its actually easier than service_238's trivia