Its been many years since I lived in Singapore. I'll be visiting with my 7 yr old nephew. He's keen on riding a double decker. Which routes are served by double deckers?
Since we have a short time (19 hrs) in Singapore, I'm trying to figure out which routes are reliably served by a double decker, so we don't head out of the airport and be disappointed at some interchange.
I am not looking to hop on a double decker at the airport. I'm perfectly happy to ride the MRT to some interchange and then get on the bus.
ride 53 to loyang avenue. from there just wait and a double decker should arrive within one minute.
in fact almost all SBS transit bus interchanges have double deckers with a few exceptions like Changi Airport. So you wont be disappointed haha.
so easy lah, islandwide can find a DD like a piece of cake liao
Recommend Svc 74 (many DDs) (mostly come is DDs)
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:Recommend Svc 74 (many DDs) (mostly come is DDs)
no need so rigid service like that.
just go pasir ris can le. sv12 21 17 88 58... name it lol.
Sv 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 17, 19, 21, 22, 23, 25, 28, 30, 31, 37, 51, 55, 56, 58, 59, 60, 62, 64, 65, 69, 70, 72, 74, 76, 78, 79, 80, 81, 86, 87, 88, 89, 91, 93, 97, 98, 99, 107, 111, 119, 132, 133, 136, 143, 147, 151, 153, 154, 157, 161, 165, 166, 168, 174, 179, 182, 185, 186, 192, 193, 196, 197, 198, 199, 222, 225, 241, 242, 243, 246, 249, 251, 252, 254, 255, 257, 502
Premium Svs no idea
Originally posted by sbst275:Sv 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 17, 19, 21, 22, 23, 25, 28, 30, 31, 37, 51, 55, 56, 58, 59, 60, 62, 64, 65, 69, 70, 72, 74, 76, 78, 79, 80, 81, 86, 87, 88, 89, 91, 93, 97, 98, 99, 107, 111, 119, 132, 133, 136, 143, 147, 151, 153, 154, 157, 161, 165, 166, 168, 174, 179, 182, 185, 186, 192, 193, 196, 197, 198, 199, 222, 242, 243, 246, 249, 251, 252, 254, 255, 257, 502
Premium Svs no idea
How about Bendie buses hehe?
It's pretty common to sit on a DD nowadays.
Let your nephew sit on a B9TL on 2, 12, 21, 88 etc... newer one leh... ![]()
Very impressive. Thanks for the responses. Bendies are not such a novelty, though.
Originally posted by bus555:How about Bendie buses hehe?
Lol. Joker sia. ![]()
Charted a DDs Bus confirm solve (Vo3x Batch 1 or Leyland)
Originally posted by Bus.spotter.ca:Its been many years since I lived in Singapore. I'll be visiting with my 7 yr old nephew. He's keen on riding a double decker. Which routes are served by double deckers?
Since we have a short time (19 hrs) in Singapore, I'm trying to figure out which routes are reliably served by a double decker, so we don't head out of the airport and be disappointed at some interchange.
I am not looking to hop on a double decker at the airport. I'm perfectly happy to ride the MRT to some interchange and then get on the bus.
Hey, if ur nephew likes taking non-aircon double decker buses, ill recommend you to bring him along to Boon Lay. Take service 252 (recommended by me becoz it passes by some chocolate factory) although this service jus passes by to some industrial estate.
Originally posted by SMRT BUSES LuvER:Hey, if ur nephew likes taking non-aircon double decker buses, ill recommend you to bring him along to Boon Lay. Take service 252 (recommended by me becoz it passes by some chocolate factory) although this service jus passes by to some industrial estate.
249 passes straight past the main gate ![]()
Originally posted by SMRT BUSES LuvER:Hey, if ur nephew likes taking non-aircon double decker buses, ill recommend you to bring him along to Boon Lay. Take service 252 (recommended by me becoz it passes by some chocolate factory) although this service jus passes by to some industrial estate.
I took the whole route of 252 before just recently, but the strong chocolate smell is due to the unprocessed cocoa from Cadbury factory off Jln Boon Lay. The bus do pass by some other food and oil factories though....![]()
Originally posted by lianamaster:It's pretty common to sit on a DD nowadays.
Let your nephew to sit on a B9TL on 2, 12 or 21... newer one leh...
pasir ris also gotch 88!
so are you checking in somewhere upon arrival 1st?
Originally posted by jayh272416:pasir ris also gotch 88!
Paiseh, I don't reside in the East so the suggestions aren't exhaustive... ![]()
Originally posted by Bus.spotter.ca:Very impressive. Thanks for the responses. Bendies are not such a novelty, though.
Since you have only 19 hours, the venue for meeting your nephew is of paramount importance as it determines what kind of route you would like to embark on.
Say in the east, you can try 21 88 from Pasir Ris, 10 28 31 65 from Tampines, 30 196 197 from Bedok, 154 from Eunos. In the northeast, you have 80 from Sengkang, 51 74 132 147 153 165 from Hougang. Central would be 70 76 from Yio Chu Kang, 166 from Ang Mo Kio, 28 31 88 143 157 from Toa Payoh. West would have most services at Boon Lay, with 30 154 157 174 198 giving you the external routes as there are many internal routes running on double decks. Jurong East gives you 51 98 143, Clementi gives you 99 147 165 166.
Have fun with your nephew nevertheless.
Nephew and I are flying into Changi. We plan to stay at the Transit hotel in the airport. We'll likely get some rest and then try to get to the breakfast with the orangutans in the zoo. I would like to follow that up with a bus ride, some lunch and back to the airport by around 4 pm local time. That gives him some time to get a nap or rest before we board our plane to fly out.
Other choice is to visit the Battle Box since he is interested in history. Maybe fit a bus ride into that.
I'll try and do some planning using the sbs website. Thanks for the inputs.
Originally posted by Bus.spotter.ca:Nephew and I are flying into Changi. We plan to stay at the Transit hotel in the airport. We'll likely get some rest and then try to get to the breakfast with the orangutans in the zoo. I would like to follow that up with a bus ride, some lunch and back to the airport by around 4 pm local time. That gives him some time to get a nap or rest before we board our plane to fly out.
Other choice is to visit the Battle Box since he is interested in history. Maybe fit a bus ride into that.
I'll try and do some planning using the sbs website. Thanks for the inputs.
Remember to take service 927 from Choa Chu Kang in order to get to the zoo (if u plan to go to the zoo by bus)
take 72.. got my fav B9TL