recommend you JIS ( Jurong Industrial services ) at boon lay> rmb to bring a mask along
service 168 chionging all the way from east to woodlands and service 30 to see nice views of the city ...
Originally posted by SBS8032G:How bout dinner at Newton Hawker Centre? Lots of "cheap" & good seafood..
and touting
Originally posted by TIB930Z:recommend you JIS ( Jurong Industrial services ) at boon lay> rmb to bring a mask along
service 168 chionging all the way from east to woodlands and service 30 to see nice views of the city ...
51 leh
Originally posted by sBs_boy:If u have notice close enough, the chocolate smell is not by Cadbury but the coco factory NEXT to cadbury.
Sime Derby factory.....yup....
Originally posted by sinicker:he needs to be at the airport at 4pm.
I find alot of them are deviating from his schedule when he only has like less than 12 hours to travel around Singapore.
Originally posted by service_238:
I find alot of them are deviating from his schedule when he only has like less than 12 hours to travel around Singapore.
i have been online for quite some time watching this thread.
i have no comments.
i don't want to get another PM. refer to Did you know..? thread.
Someone said :
"...why you all make him go IKEA & DTE when he only wants to go zoo & fort canning..."
I'm happy to NOT go to IKEA. But, what's DTE? I am just thinking of something kids (7-8 old) will enjoy. It doesn't necessarily need to be touristy. In fact, I prefer its not something touristy.
Unfortunately shopping is going to be of least interest to him - unless one's riding the escalators up and down.
AMK hub for food or Newton is interesting, but some of the friends we might meet for lunch are vegetarians. I guess there will be one or two veggie hawkers there.
Thanks for all the suggestions.
Originally posted by Bus.spotter.ca:Someone said :
"...why you all make him go IKEA & DTE when he only wants to go zoo & fort canning..."
I'm happy to NOT go to IKEA. But, what's DTE? I am just thinking of something kids (7-8 old) will enjoy. It doesn't necessarily need to be touristy. In fact, I prefer its not something touristy.
Unfortunately shopping is going to be of least interest to him - unless one's riding the escalators up and down.
AMK hub for food or Newton is interesting, but some of the friends we might meet for lunch are vegetarians. I guess there will be one or two veggie hawkers there.
DTE = Downtown East
If you haven't got an EZ-Link card, get a one-day Singapore Tourist Pass. Unlimited rides, and no hassle in searching the pocket for change at every bus, or wasting time collecting deposit at the GTM. Scratch that. Card not sold until 12 noon at Airport.
Suggest train ride to Woodlands, change to 926 to Zoo.
Then return to Ang Mo Kio interchange on 138. Transfer to 166 that travels to the city. 166 offers a very good chance of a double-decker, and if you're lucky a unique demonstrator onboard.
You can (1) alight at Little India to have a vegetarian meal (spicy! ![]()
) before hopping on another 166, or (2) head straight for Battle Box (bus stop outside National Museum) if you've chosen to eat at Ang Mo Kio already.
Hop onto Bus 36 (if you have spare time, that same bus stop for a sightseeing trip through Orchard) or from Dohby Gahut Station (if you're short of time) straight back to Airport. Train ride to Airport is also available.
Originally posted by Bus.spotter.ca:Someone said :
DTE stands for Downtown East. There is a theme park with amusement rides there but I would say it is pretty miserable.
I believe you should stick to your plan as time is a constraint seeing ur coming in at 2am, taking a rest, heading out & you are required to be back at the airport at 4pm.
as such, u may want to stick to service 238's suggestions.
Originally posted by Bus.spotter.ca:Nephew and I are flying into Changi. We plan to stay at the Transit hotel in the airport. We'll likely get some rest and then try to get to the breakfast with the orangutans in the zoo. I would like to follow that up with a bus ride, some lunch and back to the airport by around 4 pm local time. That gives him some time to get a nap or rest before we board our plane to fly out.
Other choice is to visit the Battle Box since he is interested in history. Maybe fit a bus ride into that.
I'll try and do some planning using the sbs website. Thanks for the inputs.
In that case, I suggest after u visit the zoo. Take sv 138 to Ang Mo Kio and have your lunch and hop on sv 166 from Ang Mo Kio to Battle Box where that service has a quite a number of double-decker which your nephew wants to have a try. There is about 80% chance that you will get a double-decker on that service. If you managed to got on a bus which has a electronic destination sign which looks totally different from other double decker bus of its bodywork, I congratulate you from my bottom of my heart. From the Battle Box at Fort Canning, there is a direct bus there at Fort Canning where you can hop on sv 36 to head back to the airport. Hope that you will enjoy your stay here in singapore.
Originally posted by SBS 8030 L:In that case, I suggest after u visit the zoo. Take sv 138 to Ang Mo Kio and have your lunch and hop on sv 25 from Ang Mo Kio to Bedok where that service has a quite a number of double-decker which your nephew wants to have a try. There is about 85% chance that you will get a double-decker on that service. From Bedok, there is a direct bus there just outside the Bedok interchange where you can hop onto sv 24 and go back to the airport. Hope that you will wnjoy your stay in singapore.
congratulations. you have successfully deleted off the battle box visit off his transit stay here in singapore.
Originally posted by sinicker:congratulations. you have successfully deleted off the battle box visit off his transit stay here in singapore.
edit liao.
Originally posted by sinicker:i have been online for quite some time watching this thread.
i have no comments.
i don't want to get another PM. refer to Did you know..? thread.
aiyah dont create trouble for me la.. i have a wife 3 kids and a platoon of rabbits hamsters and chiwawas to feed you know.. you know if someone complain if i cannot siam i kanna u know... ![]()
Originally posted by SBS 8030 L:If you managed to got on a bus which has a electronic destination sign which looks totally different from other double decker bus of its bodywork, I congratulate you from my bottom of my heart.
Don't compromise your schedule, though! Consider it a bonus if your nephew can ride it.
Have a good trip! ![]()
Bus.Spotter.ca, hope you will enjoy your stay in Singapore here today!
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Bus.Spotter.ca, hope you will enjoy your stay in Singapore here today!
He didnt say its today did he>?
Originally posted by Bus.spotter.ca:Sorry folks. Been catching up on work.
Will arrive on a Sunday early morning (2am) and depart same night at about 9 pm. This kind of kills an idea of a night safari (in my recollection it was a 7.30 pm - 10.30 pm thing).
Originally posted by service_238:
He didnt say its today did he>?
hahas, as long as it's a sunday.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:hahas, as long as it's a sunday.
make sure u wish him here every sunday then.