Originally posted by SBS9364S:
Super rare 2 see OCs on TRG sial. Should be training how 2 drive a WAB bus, jus lik normally SBST does now. (by having TRG Euro 4 bus perm)
Not rare at all.I have seen SMB50R and a few others training be4.
Originally posted by SBS9364S:
Yes, last wednesday, spotted at Woodlands area.Anyway,
Since batch 2s were introduced to the road.
SMB50R & SMB51M were alr 171 perm, replaced TIB498E & TIB820H
Wef tiz sunday *Dun post tiz 2 sgwiki 2 prevent confusion)
SMB31X & SMB32T would go over to 171 whereas TIB507M & TIB576M go opposite side (854)
Tiz had increased WAB population of 171. Sole Mercz left on AMDEP 171 is TIB623K
I see.Nissan on ferry svc seems rare and cool.
OCs in Yishun Interchange are fast and nice when they did a turn to the right >>>
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:WLDEP still unavailable for OC??
Slim chance for WLDEP to get OC.
Originally posted by TIB1049L:
Works will go on until 23rd July (estimated date) according to the signages at the 858/903/969 berth. The 858/903/969 berth is moved to Berth 2 which has finished construction. Unlike the 178 berth, they didn't move the metal bars but instead used temporary structures for the berth which kinda looks very flimsy actually. Berth 9 has also finished construction as well, with works going on at Berth 10. Apparently TIB1241Y's (969/599) SL couldn't find the new berth and ended circling the int before starting its first trip ... ...I believe that 858/903/969's berth is being done first due to the usage of OCs on 969/67 slot ... ...
Maybe 858 1st WLDEP service 2 get OC cameos/perm. 969 can oso get more cameos.
But i tink 925 one should oso be updated too coz they frequently got OC cameos.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Slim chance for WLDEP to get OC.
It will have to in the future as all bus services are required to be wheelchair accessible. I think WLDEP must somehow fix some of their infrastructure probs before the OCs can finally come in.
Hi
New here. Been following about the bus threads for a while now. Formerly a SBS driver.
Wonder if SMRT will take in other brands of buses.
Recently saw a OC500 in SBST livery at the Cycle & Carriage workshop at Pandan Road. Believe many of you saw it too.
Originally posted by Ex-busdriver:Hi
New here. Been following about the bus threads for a while now. Formerly a SBS driver.
Recently saw a OC500 in SBST livery at the Cycle & Carriage workshop at Pandan Road. Believe many of you saw it too.
Don't think will have a chance to get behind the wheel of the OC500.
Met an ex-colleague who was with SBS before he moves to SMRT. He was driving 106. Was told that the OC500 is a breeze to drive. The pedals were pendant type, unlike the floor fitted pedals in previous models. Even the signal switch is now on the left hand side.
Was demonstrated the full acceleration outside Clementi ITE towards bukit batok. Impressive, left a few cars behind. 6 speed gearbox and a 300hp engine.
Originally posted by Ex-busdriver:Hi
SMRT has taken in the Yutong, except like the SBST OC500LE, it isn't registered yet.
Originally posted by Ex-busdriver:Don't think will have a chance to get behind the wheel of the OC500.
Met an ex-colleague who was with SBS before he moves to SMRT. He was driving 106. Was told that the OC500 is a breeze to drive. The pedals were pendant type, unlike the floor fitted pedals in previous models. Even the signal switch is now on the left hand side.
Was demonstrated the full acceleration outside Clementi ITE towards bukit batok. Impressive, left a few cars behind. 6 speed gearbox and a 300hp engine.
i took 9L on 854. Driver seemed quite happy with the bus. 300HP engine on a single decker is really a lot, lol.
Originally posted by jayh272416:i took 9L on 854. Driver seemed quite happy with the bus. 300HP engine on a single decker is really a lot, lol.
to be exact, it's 299HP rounded up to 300HP
But the focus is more on the smoothness of the bus, the comfort and the feel.i'm currently writing the second part of my review that's focusing on the OC500LE and i can feel the excitement of having a ride in an OC as compared to its rival, the Scania K230UB
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:I think that is like a metal bar that protrudes and 'protect' the center hub, although it seems to be more of a decoration that real protection...
OCs don't have those bigger hub-reduction axles like those of some MAN or older Mercedes buses...
Lol decoration purpose.
Not only OCs but i noticed that all the newer Merc and MAN buses rear rims now are like those normal Scania and Volvo rims.Sad thing that they didn't continue with the old style rear rims.I find it more unique and cool as it is hard to find it in singapore nowadays with all the newer Merc and MAN buses following the standard Volvo and Scania rims.So the old Merc rims can be considered nostalgic now and after all the old SBST and SMRT Mercs are gone,they will be history.![]()
Originally posted by Ex-busdriver:Don't think will have a chance to get behind the wheel of the OC500.
Hi nice to know u.
Btw u work in SMRT now?And u even got a demonstration from ur friend on how fast the OCs can speed?Cool man.
All the OCs i have took always speed one especially SMB1H.The last time i took SMB1H,the BC rammed and revved the pedal like a sports car be4 the bus sped like the wind continiuosly.They are very powerful in speed and acceleration and everything.The BCs will always ram and rev the pedal first be4 they speed the OCs.And the braking isn't as terrible as the kubs which makes it very comfortable to ride in an OC rather than on a kub.![]()
Originally posted by TIB537B:to be exact, it's 299HP rounded up to 300HP
But the focus is more on the smoothness of the bus, the comfort and the feel.i'm currently writing the second part of my review that's focusing on the OC500LE and i can feel the excitement of having a ride in an OC as compared to its rival, the Scania K230UB
kubs can't rival the OCs.The OCs are so much more way better than the kubs in almost every aspect.
Originally posted by Merczrox:
I see.Nissan on ferry svc seems rare and cool.
CSS194M always do ferry svc one, but now it stop doing liao. Mercs BusPlus took over.
Originally posted by TIB1234T:
CSS194M always do ferry svc one, but now it stop doing liao. Mercs BusPlus took over.
really?
a few mths back it was e OCs doing e job
Originally posted by AEW5001:
really?a few mths back it was e OCs doing e job
Yah. Normally is CSS194M (the most) or other KJ buses.
it's just so hard to 194M nowadays...![]()
Originally posted by AEW5001:it's just so hard to 194M nowadays...
Yah. Sad to see that its going to 'cemetry' liao.
Originally posted by TIB537B:It will have to in the future as all bus services are required to be wheelchair accessible. I think WLDEP must somehow fix some of their infrastructure probs before the OCs can finally come in.
Which kind of infrastructures? If the non-registered OCs can park there, it has to mean the OCs can park (and be moved around) inside.
-post deleted-
Originally posted by Merczrox:.And the braking isn't as terrible as the kubs which makes it very comfortable to ride in an OC rather than on a kub.
I beg to differ at this. A BC who is used to driving a KUB can brake smoother than an OC. Boarded one on 133, driven by an indian uncle. Even the pick up is super smooth. Its so smooth i forgot i was inside a KUB. ![]()
The OC however, is very quiet when cruising. Its powerful engine also meant that it can maintain hilly roads without downshifting, a plus for comfort.
Originally posted by Merczrox:
Lol decoration purpose.
Not only OCs but i noticed that all the newer Merc and MAN buses rear rims now are like those normal Scania and Volvo rims.Sad thing that they didn't continue with the old style rear rims.I find it more unique and cool as it is hard to find it in singapore nowadays with all the newer Merc and MAN buses following the standard Volvo and Scania rims.So the old Merc rims can be considered nostalgic now and after all the old SBST and SMRT Mercs are gone,they will be history.
You mean its rear axle?
The rims for the rear is about the same for the OCs and O405s. Its only the axle thats different. The OC uses a single-drive hypoid axle. It doesnt have any more gears than a hub-reduction axle in O405s. The O405s hub-reduction axle have 3 or 4 additional gears at both axle ends, hence it looks different than most conventional axles. The gear reduction allows more torque, but at the cost of lower speed. The OC's axle also uses disc brakes while the O405's uses drum brakes. ![]()
WLDEP may take in OCs when they are done with the Lift + some Berth repairing.