Originally posted by SBS9364S:Okay, I understand.
But 1pm to 3pm on weekdays or weekends?
If weekdays, for lunch PEAK?
If weekends, for shopping?
Weekdays la! Who cares about weekends when we're talking about weekday demand here.
Seems like you dont understand how the polytechnic school system works. Maybe you should read more on it then you would be able to answer why 1-3pm is a higher loading period.
Originally posted by SBS9364S:Okay, I understand.
But 1pm to 3pm on weekdays or weekends?
If weekdays, for lunch PEAK?
If weekends, for shopping?
It's already mentioned in a few post before by Volvo Olympian...
"Service 184 uses bendies everyday, except Saturdays, Sundays and
public holidays. Do remember 184 doesn't only serve as "school
bus", but also connecting bus service from Clementi / Sunset Way /
Bukit Timah to Bukit Panjang"
Originally posted by service_238:
analysing the demand in detail takes alot of effort.the doing up of schedules is easy, IMO.
As in, before they can get to work on changing the schedules they have to compare the surges in demand for a particular time period mah so it will be very tedious to plan the entire schedule to cater to a specific demand lor. ![]()
Originally posted by service_238:
Weekdays la! Who cares about weekends when we're talking about weekday demand here.Seems like you dont understand how the polytechnic school system works. Maybe you should read more on it then you would be able to answer why 1-3pm is a higher loading period.
Sorry, I do not know much about Ngee Ann Poly school works coz I studying in RP.
But I slightly know why? Because students need 184 to go home around the range time. Sorry 2 bother u.
Originally posted by SBS9364S:
Sorry, I do not know much about Ngee Ann Poly school works coz I studying in RP.But I slightly know why? Because students need 184 to go home around the range time. Sorry 2 bother u.
SIM and NP have flexible school hours, with many lessons starting or ending between 1 to 3pm on weekdays.
Originally posted by TIB958U:
Sometimes I wonder if SBST should consider adding downroutes from the city to improve the frequency there to maybe 5 mins during peak hours as well as 5 mins freq of 196/196A combine in morning peak. You know what I mean, "190 standard during morning/evening peak".If SMRT can do so many downroute arrangements for Service 190, I wonder why can't SBST try their level best to introduce such arrangements to Service 196.
turning e tables. simply because SMRT dun have enough bendies, tat's why they need downroutes. SMRT's current fleet of 10 rigid & 26 bendies can't even match SBS's prev deployment of 43 ADDs and 1 ASD
Furthermore, 196 dun just serve Shenton Way, it also has to serve Bt Merah New Town & Queenstown as well. so it's not going to be fair there's going to be lots of 196A vs 196. downroute? From Marine Parade all e way to Clementi is longer time needed than 190's Orchard -> CCK.
Sv 190 was doing fine under SBS, there was never a 190A under SBS era. ![]()
Originally posted by SBS9364S:
Sorry, I do not know much about Ngee Ann Poly school works coz I studying in RP.But I slightly know why? Because students need 184 to go home around the range time. Sorry 2 bother u.
like tis you'll be shocked to see Svs like 151, 154 & 184 with close to full capacity during 11am - 3pm slot
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
shock simi? actually i think SMRT's performance is linked to the fact that their bus business is not making money.... anyway the route on sundays has nothing to do with weekends. this is comparing apples with oranges!
improved service = more profits
it's sad to see now for every $1 SMRTB losses, SBS's bus biz makes $1 profit tat kind of ratio
Originally posted by sbst275:
turning e tables. simply because SMRT dun have enough bendies, tat's why they need downroutes. SMRT's current fleet of 10 rigid & 26 bendies can't even match SBS's prev deployment of 43 ADDs and 1 ASDFurthermore, 196 dun just serve Shenton Way, it also has to serve Bt Merah New Town & Queenstown as well. so it's not going to be fair there's going to be lots of 196A vs 196. downroute? From Marine Parade all e way to Clementi is longer time needed than 190's Orchard -> CCK.
Sv 190 was doing fine under SBS, there was never a 190A under SBS era.
What an unfair comparison...
When Sv 190 was under SBS, our population was only ~4milion. And just fyi, our population is now 5.5million. 1.5million people is not "little".
Oh...and bendies carry more than ADDs.
Originally posted by n4l:What an unfair comparison...
When Sv 190 was under SBS, our population was only ~4milion. And just fyi, our population is now 5.5million. 1.5million people is not "little".
but still, e number of buses deployed if tat is being e case, is not even unfair
4m pop can get 43 ADD & 1 ASD, now 5.5m can only get 26 bendy & 10 SDs
Bendies (132) do not carry more ppl than ADDs (131 - 139). in fact is on par
Originally posted by sbst275:but still, e number of buses deployed if tat is being e case, is not even unfair
4m pop can get 43 ADD & 1 ASD, now 5.5m can only get 26 bendy & 10 SDs
Bendies (132) do not carry more ppl than ADDs (131 - 139). in fact is on par
That's the official limits.
Unofficially, I'm sure bendies can pack more people than ADDs can. You can't fit that many people in the lower deck seeing as how it's designed, and you don't stand at the upper deck unless you lack common sense.
Originally posted by n4l:What an unfair comparison...
Huh SG population now 5.5million??? ![]()
Originally posted by n4l:You can't fit that many people in the lower deck seeing as how it's designed, and you don't stand at the upper deck unless you fail to understand Physics.
... Has an incident of a A/C DD toppling happened before due to people standing on the upper deck??? Just wondering...
Originally posted by n4l:That's the official limits.
Unofficially, I'm sure bendies can pack more people than ADDs can. You can't fit that many people in the lower deck seeing as how it's designed, and you don't stand at the upper deck unless you fail to understand Physics.
ADDs has 55 seats on e upper deck, 32 seats at lower deck and 48 standing space. bendy buses has 60 seats + 72 standing spaces
the problem abt bendy buses is, you pack more ppl, have you ever wondered wat it means? it means tat 60kph speed limit might no longer be safe due to inertia causing longer braking distance. This applies to double decks as well
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Huh SG population now 5.5million???
Yes, currently there, and with the ridiculous target of attempting to pack 6.5million people into 700km2 of land...
I think to put 196 w/ worst bus sv standard now is really unfair cos of tis 608 affair
SMRT buses won't run a point to point service like that which both interchanges are not under SMRT buses...
I don't think SMRT would even want to consider running 608 again, and PTC won't approve, since got 16 and 196 which duplicates the ex-608 route now... Also remember 608 ended service early, so maybe SBST might consider adding more buses to 196 to increase frequency... The frequency now even during morning and evening peak is so zzzz...
Originally posted by sbst275:ADDs has 55 seats on e upper deck, 32 seats at lower deck and 48 standing space. bendy buses has 60 seats + 72 standing spaces
the problem abt bendy buses is, you pack more ppl, have you ever wondered wat it means? it means tat 60kph speed limit might no longer be safe due to inertia causing longer braking distance. This applies to double decks as well
They're already practicing it, so...what difference does it make? :P
Oh well, it's all hypotechical anyway. You never know if SBST can perform as well as its predecessor did now. SBST might just face problems now deploying that same number of buses on 190 due to driver shortage, not bus shortage. They have other services to handle too.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:SMRT buses won't run a point to point service like that which both interchanges are not under SMRT buses...
I don't think SMRT would even want to consider running 608 again, and PTC won't approve, since got 16 and 196 which duplicates the ex-608 route now... Also remember 608 ended service early, so maybe SBST might consider adding more buses to 196 to increase frequency... The frequency now even during morning and evening peak is so zzzz...
the issue would rather be why was it allowed to be withdrawn in e first place.
Prolly becoz it was such an oddball route in TIBS/SMRT fleet at that time... And maybe they had plans for 16 to be extended to Bedok already... I can't help wondering how come after 608 was removed 16 was amended so quickly, as though SBST pre-empted that...
Originally posted by n4l:They're already practicing it, so...what difference does it make? :P
Oh well, it's all hypotechical anyway. You never know if SBST can perform as well as its predecessor did now. SBST might just face problems now deploying that same number of buses on 190 due to driver shortage, not bus shortage. They have other services to handle too.
so dun get into any accident, I can tell you, you would see passengers flunk out of e bus if there's anything emergency on e Expressway. It's just taking a risk
Those trailers carrying heavy goods has happened in emergency cases which those metal pipes ended up thrown to e front and killing e driver.
But it'll never occur of overloaded bendies because e front is packed, e arti carriage has no standee at all on Sv 190 ![]()
As for SBS, if back then they'd purchased more DDs instead of SDs, today's happening would not have occured
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Prolly becoz it was such an oddball route in TIBS/SMRT fleet at that time... And maybe they had plans for 16 to be extended to Bedok already... I can't help wondering how come after 608 was removed 16 was amended so quickly, as though SBST pre-empted that...
Not an odd ball, because SSB was accquired by Tibs later on.
I think it was planned long ago since Marine Parade Terminal closed down.
so dun get into any accident, I can tell you, you would see passengers flunk out of e bus if there's anything emergency on e Expressway. It's just taking a riskThose trailers carrying heavy goods has happened in emergency cases which those metal pipes ended up thrown to e front and killing e driver.
But it'll never occur of overloaded bendies because e front is packed, e arti carriage has no standee at all on Sv 190
As for SBS, if back then they'd purchased more DDs instead of SDs, today's happening would not have occured
If SBST bought more buses but didn't have enuff BC wouldn't it be the same problem?
Originally posted by sbst275:Not an odd ball, because SSB was accquired by Tibs later on.
I think it was planned long ago since Marine Parade Terminal closed down.
Yes, but the routing was so point-to-point, not terminating at any of SMRT owned int/ter... Might have been a logistical nightmare caring for that sub-fleet of CSS buses(coz Geylang Lor 1 Bus Park).
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:If SBST bought more buses but didn't have enuff BC wouldn't it be the same problem?
if you buy DDs instead, bef e 10 min rule kicks in, e loading problem would not have been so jialat ma
because e current problems like Svs 8, 21, 90 getting overloaded some were old problems tat has surfaced for more than 10 yrs
I think 196 needs to be cut into 2 services. Would it make it better? In terms of frequency and all.
Probably the current route is too long and SBST couldnt manage the time properly, causing chaos in the loading and frequency of buses?
I suggest:
196 - Clementi >>> Marina Centre (Vice Versa)
Clementi Avenue 3
Commonwealth Ave West
Clementi Avenue 6
AYE
Clementi Road
Dover Road
North Buona Vista Road
Commonwealth Avenue
Queensway
Jalan Bukit Merah
Kg Bahru Road
Eu Tong Sen Street
Cantonment Road
Anson Road
Robinson Road
Fullerton Road
Esplanade Drive
Nicoll Highway
Raffles Boulevard
Marina Centre Terminal
146 - Bedok >>> Shenton Way (Vice Versa)
Bedok North Avenue 1
Bedok South Road
Bedok South Avenue 1
Marine Parade Road
Marine Terrace
Marine Crescent
Marine Parade Road
Amber Road
Mountbatten Road
Nicoll Highway
Collyer Quay
Raffles Quay
Shenton Way
Palmer Road
Shenton Way Terminal
Those who need to travel from Bedok and Clementi would have to transfer at Shenton Way. =)