Originally posted by icky:
and TIBS themselves made their system very confusing, 8xx and 9xx should be dedicated to two kinds of buses, like feeder and trunk, rather than buses from (yishun, sembawang) and (woodland, bp, cck, bb), don't know what they were thinking
Other than one or two exceptions, before 2000 (under TIBS) it was generally 8xx = Yishun, and 9xx = Woodlands services.
Renumbering of services by SBST:
16E > 36
217 > 317
219 > 229
241 > 331
Feeder 263 > Townlink 268
328 > 101 (route amended / extended)
Express 503 > Express 505 > Express 518
Express 508 > Express 511 (route shortened from Sengkang ter to Hougang Ctral int)
820 > 378
821 > 379
865 > 85
866 > 86
M1 > 92
M2 > 42
note:
Express 503 was (Tampines int – Temasek Ave AM Peak, Anson Rd – Tampines int PM Peak)
Express 505 was (Pasir Ris int – Jln Bt Merah / Alexandra Rd / Telok Blangah Rd WTC and loop back to Pasir Ris int)
Express 508 was (Sengkang ter – Penang Rd AM Peak, Outram Rd – Sengkang ter PM Peak)
Renumbering of services by Tibs / SMRT:
59 > 866 (route extended from Jln Kayu to Sengkang ter)
160 > 980 (route extended from Crawford St ter to Lor 1 Geylang ter)
175 > 975 (route amended from Upp Bt Timah Rd to Bt Panjang int)
181 > 961 (route extended from Crawford St ter to Lor 1 Geylang ter)
214E > 820
214W > 821
343 > 921
361 > 941
365 > 945
367 > 947
372 > 903 (route amended to Woodlands Reg int)
Express 521 > Trunk 963 (route extended from Bt Panjang ter to Woodlands Reg int)
804A > 806
860 > 865 (route extended from Hougang St 21 to World Trade Centre ter)
951 > 180 (route shortened from Woodlands Reg int to Bt Panjang ter)
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:my suggestion:
- svc 300 > svc 930
- svc 302 > svc 932
- svc 307 > svc 937
- svc 307E > svc 937E
- svc 980 > svc 880
- svc 981 > svc 881- svc 167 > svc 887
- svc 859 > svc 889
Svc 937E can use Dennis Lance: TIB937E.![]()
I suggest that some services in Sembawang should be renumbered:-
Service 980
service 880
Service 981
service 881
Service 167
service 887
Service 859
service 889
Since there's already a service 882 ![]()
Originally posted by tranquilice:Renumbering of services by SBST:
16E > 36
217 > 317
219 > 229
241 > 331
Feeder 263 > Townlink 268
328 > 101 (route amended / extended)
Express 503 > Express 505 > Express 518
Express 508 > Express 511 (route shortened from Sengkang ter to Hougang Ctral int)
820 > 378
821 > 379
865 > 85
866 > 86
M1 > 92
M2 > 42
note:
Express 503 was (Tampines int – Temasek Ave AM Peak, Anson Rd – Tampines int PM Peak)
Express 505 was (Pasir Ris int – Jln Bt Merah / Alexandra Rd / Telok Blangah Rd WTC and loop back to Pasir Ris int)
Express 508 was (Sengkang ter – Penang Rd AM Peak, Outram Rd – Sengkang ter PM Peak)
Renumbering of services by Tibs / SMRT:
59 > 866 (route extended from Jln Kayu to Sengkang ter)
160 > 980 (route extended from Crawford St ter to Lor 1 Geylang ter)
175 > 975 (route amended from Upp Bt Timah Rd to Bt Panjang int)
181 > 961 (route extended from Crawford St ter to Lor 1 Geylang ter)
214E > 820
214W > 821
343 > 921
361 > 941
365 > 945
367 > 947
372 > 903 (route amended to Woodlands Reg int)
Express 521 > Trunk 963 (route extended from Bt Panjang ter to Woodlands Reg int)
804A > 806
860 > 865 (route extended from Hougang St 21 to World Trade Centre ter)
951 > 180 (route shortened from Woodlands Reg int to Bt Panjang ter)
Add on:-
15 and M4
extended 15 (merged and extended to Parkway Parade from Eunos)
322 and 327
112 (NEL rationalisation)
321 and 326
113 (NEL rationalisation)
119 (so called
)
214E
103 (NEL rationalisation - extend to Serangoon)
214W
103M (NEL rationalisation - extend to Serangoon)
And remembered that bus services going to Seletar Camp areas were all the while NAC buses by then. It was only when services 378 and 379 were withdrawn and merged with the existing 103, AC buses were introduced to the Seletar Camp
For 185
985 case, it was actually merged with 185 and 989 in July 2003 and ply beteween CCK and Geylang Lor 1. 989 was introduced in Aug 2001 between CCK and Changi Airport, it was quite parallel with 185's route between CCK and Jln Anak Bt, then it take the PIE to Changi Airport.
Originally posted by TIB1010Y:
294 + 375 = 3
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:275 is an exact duplicate of 131. MP wants to keep svc despite poor loadings. less than 20 people per trip. well it gives alternatives to passengers.
228 has the ring around bedok reservoir. it gives alternatives to passengers.
Last time feeder 274 too, after service 57 was introduced in 2005. This feeder was not withdrawn and remained a duplicate, until another new service 175 was introduced in 2007 and finally kicked feeder 274 out... ![]()
I dun tink SMRT wan to change 190 to 990. Haha...
190 looks like a very nice number! Dun tink they wan let SBST take the number!
Originally posted by Junyang700:I dun tink SMRT wan to change 190 to 990. Haha...
190 looks like a very nice number! Dun tink they wan let SBST take the number!
My suggestion of SMRT bus service:
Service 7xx For Bukit Panjang & Choa Chu Kang Service:
188E
788E
Service 8xx For Sembawang & Yishun Service:
Service 9xx For Bukit Batok & Woodlands Service:
Originally posted by TIB1010Y:I agree SMRT didnt not sort out the no into feeder n trunk svc. I oso don like toe mess up.
will b gd if all feeder / townlink/ intra town merger to form trunk svc
Some svc had already been rationalized
220 + 290 = 38
226 + 385 = 60
294 + 357 = 3
321 + 326 = 113
322 + 327 = 112
Add in for trunk service:
20 + 125 = 125 (Merged With Service 125 And Withdrawn)
28 + 152 = 28 (Merged With Service 152 And Extends To Toa Payoh Int).
Originally posted by SBS8533C:since 700 is odd one out, maybe suggest 971.
Miss the time when the service was still known as "Rapidbus >> 700". Looked cool with the EDS going ">>700"
Originally posted by sbst272:My suggestion of SMRT bus service:
Service 7xx From/To Bukit Panjang & Choa Chu Kang Int:
188E
788E
I dun really like this method, its like similar to the CAC Hispano's rego.. Svc no. starting with '9' is still nicer than '7'.
Originally posted by TIB537B:
Miss the time when the service was still known as "Rapidbus >> 700". Looked cool with the EDS going ">>700"
Is the so-called 'arrow' moving at the EDS? :)
Originally posted by SMB32T:I suggest that some services in Sembawang should be renumbered:-
Service 980
service 880
Service 981service 881
Service 167service 887
Service 859service 889
Since there's already a service 882
hmmm looks like a mirror to my suggestions....
deleted
Originally posted by SMRT BUSES LuvER:Is the so-called 'arrow' moving at the EDS? :)
The >> is not moving.
[>>700 Destination Terminal]
when it refreshes
[>>700 >>RAPIDBUS] or [>>700 RAPIDBUS]
so far this is the only route number i remember for an EDS that has a special icon beside it (>>) until the arrival of the Coolair EDSes and the FastForward logos.
Originally posted by TIB537B:
The >> is not moving.[>>700 Destination Terminal]
when it refreshes
[>>700 >>RAPIDBUS] or [>>700 RAPIDBUS]
The bus stop plate also >>700
Suggest:-
With this renumbering the WRI services will look more organised.
Originally posted by SBS8533C:since 700 is odd one out, maybe suggest 971.
75 also.
re numbering bus services
of coourse this is not a realistic idea as it will cause confusion among commuters. u wake up one day taking 21 for your generation of your life then suddenly they change svc21 to svc 4?! of course the older folks will go oh thats better, brings back my memroies and this is good.
but for others, they will go. whats this svc 4? huh? where my 21?
Although renumbering shd be taken in a mor fantasy look among us bus fans, whereby the mian aims
1) make it more uniform among bus svc no
2) to renumber bus svcs nos back to reflecting where they actually go.
Bus svcs numbers always had a specific meaning. u dun just call svc 5 vc 5, you cant do that. Svc 5 has to pass through Geylang Lor 1.And yet todays svc 5 does not even come close. U can argue it goes Psir Ris where 3 and 5 and 6 go. makes it nice. But others may remind you hat 34 5 and 6 all once Geylang lor 1 or kallang rd area. In fact i explains why svc 2 and 7 still ply by kallang MRT area...
In todas age as more n more bus svcs nhumbers get anyhow names, some like me find it more confusing actually ion our "Nostalgi persos cases".
but certainly i cna put forth my reasons for bus renumbering of the following service. This of coruse must not be carried out in real life..hahah
Svc 3 -Punggol - Tampines
To show its true meaning, svc 3 shd be what they call a two segment service no. service. between Punggol to Loyang Ave - 357. between loyang Ave - tampines - 294. This in effect means svc 3 shd be a feeder two-serviced service with desto flipping at Loyang Ave from 357 to 294 and vice versa.
Svc5 The bus does not ply geylang Lor 1.
the bus plys kaki Bukit area and eunos area. In that essence it should be called 68. A uniformity of bus svcs nos will appear along bedok resv rd where 65 66 67 and this 68 will serve the road of this name abate diff stretches
Svc 6 oughto be a feeder svc called 356
Svc 8 despite its namesake the service does not ply geylang Lor1. but since the namesake has connotations of AIR-CON 8 and N113CRB to it, I see fit that the service remain erronously named so as to reserve memeories of OACs doing the route then.
Svc 9 is cut short from geylang lor 1. the svc no may stay as it was cut chsort ina mendments.
Svc11 doesnot ply katong. nor does it plied Chinatown.
Propose rename svc46. this will throw the service back to its 1970s orgins and its orginal svc no, 46.
Svc 21 As explained above. svc 21 is actually a reincarnation of svc 4. hence rename svc 4
Svc34 does not go bedok. yet it is so called.
reanme - svc 84 as it goes Punggol
Svc 111 poor service was cut short until it no longer plies Hougang. Neverthless, as the 19x rannge is fully used, there is no way the svc can be renumbered.
Svc186 - the service is whats left of 185 to shenton way with a bit of 122 in it. the service shd be rename svc126.
Svc131, Some might argue that it does not ply AMK. but the simple fact is svcs 130 and 131 were introduced as Balestier Rd svcs. So no argument on that to change. Furthermore most will not know that 131 once ran till TPY as svc 141. having the 4 changed to 3 is a nice reminder for me.
Svc147 this does not go TPY. but it once did. no change needed.
Svc154 - again once plied TPY.
Svc156 - A trend breaker. it does not even go near TPY. Said service shd be called 117 instead to reflect its Sengkangness alongside with sc119.
Svc158 is another one. But it once ran TPY. no chnage needed.
Svc161. This one was a case of no more numbers left. Still the said svc never did ran to Upp thomson Rd. a rename to svc116 might seem fit for this Hougang to Woodlands svc.
Svc168 Another one. This time again it does not run to Upp Thomson rd. not that its predecessor AIR-CON 168 did as well. But neverthless, the svc shd be called svc 968 under SMRT numbering system for Woodlands and digit ending with 8 for plying Tampines Ave 1.
Svc172 - once ran bt timah rd
Svc175 - running out of numebrs in the western side, it had to be called 175. A better number would have been svc 1 for the fact it terminates at geylang lor 1 and serves towards west llike the old svc 1 did. however another might argue that svc 1 should ply Chinatown . But in this case, we are out of svc nos to use...hee
Svc181 - another case of running out of bus svc nos in the west. Could be called 244. Svcs hardly goes into town to ever reach Chiantown. Also calling it 181 confuses me with te old 181 that used to run WDL to Crawfurd past my house. i Cringe everytime i see 181 buses. In fact i always say 181 to refer to 961. its a part of my life and 181 will never desert my life. (Some might think i am crazy lol)
Svc985 - a foolish mistake to call this svc 985 just because it was former 185. (8x series gSBW. thhis causes confusion that 985 goes Sembwang. of course some wd not be sad to seethe said svc extend to SBW so as to reclaim its rihtful nameskae. A better name would had been 978. (in uniformity with 975 and 970 plying Bt batok / Bt panjang)
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:re numbering bus services
of coourse this is not a realistic idea as it will cause confusion among commuters. u wake up one day taking 21 for your generation of your life then suddenly they change svc21 to svc 4?! of course the older folks will go oh thats better, brings back my memroies and this is good.
but for others, they will go. whats this svc 4? huh? where my 21?
Have to get used to it. It's like everyday you take service 80 from Tampines to Hougang Ave 3 then one day you find out you have to take service 72.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:Svc 21 As explained above. svc 21 is actually a reincarnation of svc 4. hence rename svc 4
Svc34 does not go bedok. yet it is so called.
reanme - svc 84 as it goes Punggol
Service 21 was introduced when service 4 was still around. It was when service 21 was extended to St. Michael's then service 4 was withdrawn. Service 67 was at the same time amended to cover part of its route between Tampines and Geylang.
Service 34 was Bedok - Changi Airport in the past.