Originally posted by TIB958U:
There's no camera that cannot take night shot, except handphone cameras. One thing I missed out. Try to look for the EV +/- setting in your camera where you can play around with exposure value to try preventing desto from blowing if your camera cannot adjust shutter speed manually. Also, if your photos have alot of noise, it means you were using high ISO. You need to look for ISO setting in your camera and set at 80 or 100 which is the lowest for most typical compact cameras.
In fact, every camera can take night shot, only that the quality make the difference
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
OT: are u the one wearing green shorts and white T-shirt, tooking pictures at outside bnl today?
yes he is. that's his pe uniform duh...
OT: are u the one wearing green shorts and white T-shirt, tooking pictures at outside bnl today?
dang i got exposed! ![]()
never come and identify me ah ![]()
Originally posted by lifelikedrama:yes he is. that's his pe uniform duh...
no thats not my pe uniform ![]()
my pe uniform is green and black. my normal uniform is white and green. i rather my normal uniform cuz my pe uniform only one pocket ![]()
Originally posted by jayh272416:no thats not my pe uniform
my pe uniform is green and black. my normal uniform is white and green. i rather my normal uniform cuz my pe uniform only one pocket
don't act cute la u. ![]()
Originally posted by jayh272416:dang i got exposed!
never come and identify me ah
ltr i find wrong person that is not from sgf lah.
my principle is: if i saw a unfamiliar person taking pictures and recording cameos at certain places like bus-stops, bus int outside, 1st time wont come find u until u are recognised from sgf. next time if i see a person like u, i would approach u.
btw who is another malay adult accompanying u?
ltr i find wrong person that is not from sgf lah.my principle is: if i saw a unfamiliar person taking pictures and recording cameos at certain places like bus-stops, bus int outside, 1st time wont come find u until u are recognised from sgf. next time if i see a person like u, i would approach u.
btw who is another malay adult accompanying u?
my ex chem teacher ![]()
Originally posted by Stage:don't act cute la u.
serious leh ![]()
i got one formal uniform also. cover up whole body de. colour also the same one.
Originally posted by jayh272416:my ex chem teacher
lol teacher watching how passionate the bus fans is ![]()
i would love to hope that my school friends see my existence as bus fan ![]()
lol teacher watching how passionate the bus fans isi would love to hope that my school friends see my existence as bus fan
i was deemed as an lameo and idiot for liking buses from classmates.
some teachers gave the -_- face when my friend said smth like "he goes all the way to pasir ris to take photos of 88 buses"
i can only say that my school's PE teachers are
in the end, when they have no idea how to get to their destination.
"hey, from here how to go (somewhere) ah?"
Originally posted by Stage:
i was deemed as an lameo and idiot for liking buses from classmates.
some teachers gave the -_- face when my friend said smth like "he goes all the way to pasir ris to take photos of 88 buses"i can only say that my school's PE teachers are
in the end, when they have no idea how to get to their destination.
"hey, from here how to go (somewhere) ah?"
There's no camera that cannot take night shot, except handphone cameras. One thing I missed out. Try to look for the EV +/- setting in your camera where you can play around with exposure value to try preventing desto from blowing if your camera cannot adjust shutter speed manually. Also, if your photos have alot of noise, it means you were using high ISO. You need to look for ISO setting in your camera and set at 80 or 100 which is the lowest for most typical compact cameras.
hmm, then do i need to set the scene mode to night mode or something? and must i take only stationary buses at the bus stop at night?
I usually take the bus pictures with Sports mode when the bus is moving off at daytime.
Originally posted by TIB537B:
hmm, then do i need to set the scene mode to night mode or something? and must i take only stationary buses at the bus stop at night?I usually take the bus pictures with Sports mode when the bus is moving off at daytime.
Daytime shots you're doing fine. At night it is impossible to take pics of moving buses. So yeah, for night, only stationany buses at bus stops with tripod.
Your white balance is far too blue. It makes the bus very unnatural. I rather you use tungsten.
Originally posted by TIB958U:Some add-on tips on night phototaking at somerset stn over my past experience. At night, the backgroud of somerset stn bus stop is rather dark as it if full of trees as compared to the bright lighting effect on the bus. Therefore if you use your auto/prirority mode setting on your camera, the camera may tend to give an exposure value to expose the tress bright enough, thereby causing your bus & the bus's desto/EDS to be overexposed. This is the time where you need to use the full manual mode and then adjust values accordingly. There are also times when I get stuck with a choice of not blowing out the EDS but with a slightly darker picture ot blowing out the EDS with a bright picture. Some examples of slightly darker pics but EDS not blowed at all.
A correct colour balance should show like this:
Originally posted by sgbuses:A few exceptions where you find Coolair EDS is easier than usual to shoot :
- Night shots
- When it rains
- Or when it is about to rain, big time! (I got a perfect shot in sunny day, within minutes I was totally drenched)
The shutter speed to capture Euro V EDS needs 1/50. You need 1/50 or lesser in order to capture full EDS.
Why night shots are able to?
At night your setting would definitely lower then 1/50.
When it rains?
Given netural atmosphere, your shutter speed would definitely gets lower between 1/3 to 1/60.
Originally posted by Simple_boi:
The shutter speed to capture Euro V EDS needs 1/50. You need 1/50 or lesser in order to capture full EDS.Why night shots are able to?
At night your setting would definitely lower then 1/50.When it rains?
Given netural atmosphere, your shutter speed would definitely gets lower between 1/3 to 1/60.
evening shots also can. i managed to capture full EDS with SBS8093E on 60 and SBS8533C on 196
U should not be using night mmode lah, sports mode or whatever mode when night shooting. experince tells me those all modes are
useless
Use the P mode and overexpose the settings. Hold the cam steady and see if you can shooot a shot clearly. Dun forget u can always shoot at big MP and later crop the pic to make it clear.
Shooting at night takes practice. You dun get it right in the first three months. i learned the hard way how to handle night shooting. Of course then i had a friend who taught me well. and pointed out tips as we go for "learning sessions". My first few night shots were horrid. But once you got the han gof it you cna get a clear shot 60 percent chance. You will still get blurry shots...
And mind you i dun use a tripod when doing night shooting. it just is not my style.
ZYX
Ok lah i talk talk talk all the camera lingo.. can make ppl blur one. Maybe u read the following b4 going back to PAGE 1 to properly read the setting ideas...
Camera Term Origins : Film Camera
This one will be about the character called Film Camera. i will BOLD camera terms so that you cna catch them while seeing the article.
In the late 18xxs, people were beginning to discover that when you expose light to some paper laced with a certain chemcial X (this dumb guy dunno what they use actually, so feel free to fill this in for me). , ah hem, expose light to paper laced with certain chemicals, you get some marks and images to initate the process it was found that a flash of light was needed to agitate the paper with chemicals.
A further process was needed to develop out the pciture from the film.
this seemed a cool way to capture what you are looking at. the process is later called takking a photograph. the laced chemicals paper came to be called film.
So it was then they built the first camera. Chuck the film into the back behind a hole called aperature . build a flash bulb above the hole and voila the thing that cna capture images that u want.
naturally as it progressed, people found that sometimes their pictures came out all white or overexposed. or when have too little light, the pictures when developed were just kinda dark.
So they thought, how about we make the hole bigger and smaller , and thus aperature could be adjusted to let in the right amount of light they wanted. But still it was not enough and pixs were still not good...Ok so we control the hole size, what are we missing here... ah time. i wish to contol the amount of time light strikes my film..
So to solve this they invented the shutter to control the amount of light based on time( lest you get those bright overexposed pictures again. So it was that shutter measurements came about in times particualrly in small amounts of time like seconds, eg : 1/5 seconds shutter. meaning based on the light conditions we control that only 1/5 seconds of time, light falls on the film.
And so as picture taking progressed and and more and more sensitive film was developed for better pixsand i a not sure if sensivitivty cna be adjusted on todays film cameras then came
the digital camera
The digital camera basic set up followed closely to its forefathers the film camera. In replacement of film was a light senstive electronic film called the CCD. ...With digital technology, the "film" could be made more sensitive or less sensitive to light bby use of electornics. Thus came the ISO settings on digital cameras.
conclusion
with the understanding of how the good OLD camera works, u will understand how todays modern digi cam works
ZYX
Yeap i think i have mentioned already u need at most a 1/50 shutter setting to snap Scania
and dun get too suprised if overseas buses too need this setting
before singapore got their KUB with such difficult EDS to snap, i viisted Hokkaido in 2006 and learned the hard way how to snap a good 1/50 EDS pix.
It was in Hokkaido that i trained msyelf to set high shutter to capture EDS. At that insatnce i already had a mannual camera for a few months so i knew i ahd to be steady n not let a bbus move when i shoot at low shhutter. (i was already trained at night shot by then also =) )
At one instance i was facing a Fuji heavy industries (FHI) bodyworked bus in some part of Asahikawa near the ramen village. I had finsihed my ramen meal early and so could come out for a while to snap bus pixs.
The bus had EDS on. ok great. I llike EDS bus... i set my cam to P mode. snap.
Whey why no EDS?
the bus was caught at a light and the japs drivers were smart enough to know I wuz a bus fan so he din creep up behind the car in front.
i had a whole 24 secs to snap the pix.
I tried all sorts of aperature shutter and ISO settings.
after approximately 10 shots the bus moved. I HAD NOT CHECKED MY PIX YET.
upon review later in the tour coach, i found that the pics of the bus shot below1/50 shutter, the EDS came out clear. I learned the hard way...no one told me abt this EDS problem ...
So when it came that Singapore get the KUBs in 2007, i was already well prepared and could snap Scania EDS but the first few weeks were toruture as i started to learned i needed aperature to stop up to compensate for slow shutter lest i over expose the pic. I began to befreind the tiny exposure meter on screen at this point.
hahaha
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:Yeap i think i have mentioned already u need at most a 1/50 shutter setting to snap Scania
and dun get too suprised if overseas buses too need this setting
before singapore got their KUB with such difficult EDS to snap, i viisted Hokkaido in 2006 and learned the hard way how to snap a good 1.50 EDS pix.
It was in hokkaido that i trained msyelf to set high shutter to capture EDS.
At one instance i was facing a Fuji heavy industries (FHI) bodyworked bus insome part of Asahikawa near the ramen village. I had finsihed my ramen meal early and so could come out for a while to snap bus pixs.The bus had EDS on. ok great. i set my cam to P mode. snap.
Whey why no EDS?
the bus was caught at a light and the japs drivers were smart enough to know iw sas a bus fan so he din creep up behind the car in front.
i ahd a whole 24 secs to snap the pix.
I tried all sorts of aperature shutter and ISO settings.
after approximately 10 shots the bus moved. I HAD NOT CHECKED MY PIX YET.
upon review later in the tour coach, i found that the pics of the bus shot below1/50 shutter, the EDS came out clear. I learned the hard way...no one told me abt this EDS problem ...
So when it came that Singapore get the KUBs in 2007, i was already erl prepared and could snap Scania EDS but the first few weeks were toruture as i started to learned i needed aperature to stop up to compensate for slow shutter lest i over expose the pic. I began to befreind the tiny exposure meter on screen at this point.
hahaha
ZYX
For neutral atmosphere, which means no sunlight but just pure brightness without sunlight, it would be just possible to use P mode either.
Show you one rainy shot that I tried once:
Shutter: 1/3, F:2.7, ISO:80
But if your hand isn't stable enough, try higher ISO. BUT!!! Your shots will be less visible to all the rain drops. Depends on the person's likings.
Maybe one can try Rainy Nightshots?
Anyone tried?

ah yeah Mr kenny bring out a good point
P mode in such settings can shoot Scania EDS. it means those with point and shoot camera can also take KUB pix without loss of EDS pixels in such rain and dark settings.
but then hor if you think abbout it, With a higher shhutter setting of 1/3 , (I suspect the 1/3 is based on the darkness of the place n not rain drops problem...?)
with such high 1/3, dun you think the rain drop will elongate as u capture the rain drop at such long shutter?
I ean its like u matrix the raindrop and it froze there for more than 1/3 a second.
ZYX
Originally posted by Simple_boi:A correct colour balance should show like this:
Thanks =) can share some tips & tatics on getting a nice white balance for night shots? By experience if use I normal tungsten, can be quite yellow. My camera actually has this thingy to adjust colour balance manually, wonder if anyone here uses such a feature.
Originally posted by Simple_boi:Maybe one can try Rainy Nightshots?
Anyone tried?
Tried once, that was on Christmas Eve last year, taken during a heavy downpour, then the picture came out with alot of lines for some reason...