I would like to calculate the actual cost of travelling from my home to school. To get there, i'll take a bus to bedok mrt and take the mrt to boon lay and take 179/199 to my destination.
I checked the sbs and smrt websites to find out the fares and they are as follows:
1) bus ride to bedok mrt : 69 cents
2) mrt ride from bedok to boonlay station: $1.77
3) from boonlay to ntu: 91 cents for 179 and $1.11 for 199
Adding these up amounts to $3.37 (if i take 179) and $3.57 (if 199 is taken)
If rebates are applied, what is the actual cost?
What would be the rebate cost for the mrt and the bus rides ?
50 cents per transfer made within 45 mins for up to 4 trips.
Means there is no rebate when i take 179 after alighting from boon lay mrt?
Since the mrt ride is at least 50 mins.
your ez link card has a chip. inside the chip is indeed an internal clock. the clock will start ticking when u tap out of Boon lay Stn. it means u now have 45 mins to get onto a 179 to get a nice trasnfer rebate.
it is odd that u bring this up. My fren who study in NUS also din know there was such a thing as trasnfer rebate. but luckily for him i had a phamplet on the new fare revision with me so i chucked him the phamplet and said
"read"
freind " ?"
read HERE (point at section with rules for trasnfer rebates)
freiind "?"
me : 'oh for god's sake, read"
Freind stones out stares at phamplet for 20 secs (he was reading)
freind "ooooh, thats nice. so i've got these 45 mins time windows eh?"
Me " faintz". "yes"
ZYX
lol i oso dunno got rebate... jus scan card and go..
Terms and Conditions for Transfer Rebates
How does smrt mrt and sbs calculate the rebates?
When I tapped the card on the bus ezlink reader, I dont remember seeing a 50cent rebate before. It was 25cents and recently, i saw 40 cents. (I looked at the number in the brackets)
I'm not sure about the rebates on mrt trains. Its very hard to see, compared to the bus card readers.
I'm using an adult ezlink card, not a concession one.
to check the rebates, you can use the GTMs located at the MRT stns to check ur ezlink trips & it should state the rebates given..
Eh I also want to calculate my daily fare and transfer rebate!
1) Bus ride to Pasir Ris Mrt: 69 cents
2) Mrt ride to Pioneer Mrt: $1.82
3) from Pioneer to NTU/NIE: 69 cents (if alight @ lib), 91 cents (if alight @ Sch of CEE)
total cost: $3.20 (if alight @ lib), $3.44 (if alight @ Sch of CEE)
But then right, the T & C for transfer rebates says:
-Transfer Rebates apply to a maximum of three valid transfers on a journey which must be completed within two hours
If I get the bus @ 6:10am, I'll reach school by 8:00am. So I can still get the transfer rebates of $1.50 in total is it?
Originally posted by RvnRooRon84:Eh I also want to calculate my daily fare and transfer rebate!
1) Bus ride to Pasir Ris Mrt: 69 cents
2) Mrt ride to Pioneer Mrt: $1.82
3) from Pioneer to NTU/NIE: 69 cents (if alight @ lib), 91 cents (if alight @ Sch of CEE)
total cost: $3.20 (if alight @ lib), $3.44 (if alight @ Sch of CEE)But then right, the T & C for transfer rebates says:
-Transfer Rebates apply to a maximum of three valid transfers on a journey which must be completed within two hours
If I get the bus @ 6:10am, I'll reach school by 8:00am. So I can still get the transfer rebates of $1.50 in total is it?
Yes. Maximum 3 transfers mah.
I eg 4 u
Start--------Bus ride----Pasir Ris MRT----Pioneer MRT-------NTU
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->
$0.69 + $1.82 + $0.69 - $1.50 = $1.70
Originally posted by MingFreeman:How does smrt mrt and sbs calculate the rebates?
When I tapped the card on the bus ezlink reader, I dont remember seeing a 50cent rebate before. It was 25cents and recently, i saw 40 cents. (I looked at the number in the brackets)
I'm not sure about the rebates on mrt trains. Its very hard to see, compared to the bus card readers.
the 50-cent rebate only started on 1.4.09. It complies to buses and MRTs.
Originally posted by MingFreeman:How does smrt mrt and sbs calculate the rebates?
it means changing to any bus/MRT/LRT within 45 minutes from the last bus/MRT/LRT station you tapped out from.
from 1st April all rebates are now 50 cents regardless of anything.
Here is an example. All fares by ez-link card.
Mr. A is travelling from Bedok North St 3 to Nanyang Drive at NTU.
Mr. A boards a bus 225W at 8am at Bedok North St 3 and takes it to Bedok Int. He reaches Bedok Int and taps his card at 8.05am upon alighting and walks to the MRT.
He transfers to the MRT at 8.10am where he will get a transfer rebate which means a deduction of 50 cents from his full fare as long as he transfers to the MRT within 45 minutes from the time he alighted from the earlier bus.
He boards the MRT all the way to Boon Lay and reaches there at 9am. He then alights. He then decides to have breakfast at McDonalds in Jurong Point that stretched to 9.25am and walks to Boon Lay Interchange and boards a bus 179 at 9.35am. As it has been only 35 minutes, he will still be given a transfer rebate of 50 cents from the 179 fare also. He then reaches NTU Library 1 at 9.50am, and walks to his lecture venue right on time to attend a 10am lecture.
Fare calculation
Trip #1
Service 225
Bedok North St 3 - Bedok Int
69 cents
Boarded: 8am, alighted 8:05am
Trip #2
MRT Train
Bedok MRT - Boon Lay MRT
$1.77 (-50cents transfer rebate)
$1.27
Boarded 8.10am, alighted 9am
Trip #3
Service 179
Boon Lay Int - NTU
91 cents (-50 cents transfer rebate)
41 cents
Boarded 9.35am, alighted 9.50am
Transfer rebates are not applicable for MRT to MRT transfers but MRT to LRT transfers are applicable. Alsom transfers from a bus to another bus of the same service number or subsidisary service, i.e sv 179 to 179A does not qualify for transfer rebate.
The transfer rebate applies for up to 3 transfers made. Means you can take 4 buses in a row with 3 having transfer rebates but you must take the 4th bus/MRT within 2 hours from the start of your first trip.
Hope this helps.
just asking, the fifth trip will be counted as a new ride right? will u then be allowed to continue on with transfers for the 6th and 7th rides and so on?
fifth trip is a new trip, just like that time amazing race, i kena a lot of fifth rtip no rebate, anyway, NEL stations can print last 20 trip cost, den u can see which got rebate which dun have