Originally posted by QX179R:Bus captain keeps mum as woman eats and treats bus like home
This lowly-placed bus stop sign could cause serious injury
These bus stop signs at Bukit Timah have very sharp edges and are placed at a very low level, says STOMPer Killer Bus Stop.
The sender, who was nearly injured while walking, hopes to highlight the problem to the authorities in charge.
In an email dated October 15, STOMPer Killer Bus Stop says:
“The signage at this Jalan Anak Bukit bus stop opposite Bukit Timah Plaza is placed too low.
“It is very hazardous for pedestrians and users of this public bus stop as the edges are very sharp.
“I was walking towards this bus stop with my friend last night. As I was chatting away with my friend, I did not notice this signage with sharp corners.
“I almost hit my head against the sharp corner of the signboard and nearly injured myself. Luckily, my friend was quick enough to pull me away to avoid this catastrophe.
“I could have died on the spot if my friend did not notice it.
“I got a shock of my life how can this public hazard be around for so long?
“It can be very dangerous for old folks especially when they cannot see properly.
“It appears that this is not the first time someone has noticed this hazard, judging from what is written on it.
“Can the relevant authority do something about it?”
Originally posted by AEW5001:This lowly-placed bus stop sign could cause serious injury
These bus stop signs at Bukit Timah have very sharp edges and are placed at a very low level, says STOMPer Killer Bus Stop.
The sender, who was nearly injured while walking, hopes to highlight the problem to the authorities in charge.
In an email dated October 15, STOMPer Killer Bus Stop says:
“The signage at this Jalan Anak Bukit bus stop opposite Bukit Timah Plaza is placed too low.
“It is very hazardous for pedestrians and users of this public bus stop as the edges are very sharp.
“I was walking towards this bus stop with my friend last night. As I was chatting away with my friend, I did not notice this signage with sharp corners.
“I almost hit my head against the sharp corner of the signboard and nearly injured myself. Luckily, my friend was quick enough to pull me away to avoid this catastrophe.
“I could have died on the spot if my friend did not notice it.
“I got a shock of my life how can this public hazard be around for so long?
“It can be very dangerous for old folks especially when they cannot see properly.
“It appears that this is not the first time someone has noticed this hazard, judging from what is written on it.
“Can the relevant authority do something about it?”
LTA will change bus stop pole eventually.
SBS Transit, SMRT fined for not meeting standards
http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Transport/Story/A1Story20091015-173851.html
Details of non-compliant services :
SBST : 9, 33, 58, 91
SMB : 171, 925
Originally posted by sgbuses:SBS Transit, SMRT fined for not meeting standards
http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Transport/Story/A1Story20091015-173851.html
What happened to fare stage info on bus service signage?
http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Online+Story/STIStory_442267.html
(Btw, I don't think SBS Transit has anything to do with the bus stop signs)
Lol. 925 again. The forever candidate under fine.
not SMB lah, is SMRT
Lol 291 nvr kena.
OT:
Just came on Ch U news, showed an adless Svc 232 KUB at Toa Payoh Int for SBS Transit, TIB438D - 858 and TIB748J - 969 at Yishun, both heading to WRI.
Originally posted by TIB1234T:
OT:Just came on Ch U news, showed an adless Svc 232 KUB at Toa Payoh Int for SBS Transit, TIB438D - 858 and TIB748J - 969 at Yishun, both heading to WRI.
and channel 8, SBS566K on CT8
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:not SMB lah, is SMRT
Abbreviation of SMRT Buses
PTC saw improvements in public bus operators QoS standards
The quality of service provided by the two public bus operators had generally improved in the six months to May.
The Public Transport Council or PTC says both SBS Transit and SMRT
Buses have complied with the standards on service provision and
scheduled trips operated.
They have also continued to keep their bus breakdown and accident rates low.
But there were a few failures on adherence to scheduled headways and passenger loads.
As a result both incurred lesser financial penalties.
SBS Transit was fined $500, SMRT Buses $200.
Chairman of the Public Transport Council, Gerard Ee, says he’s
encouraged to see the improvements in the operators’ performance.
They have expanded their bus fleet and recruited more drivers to meet
the more stringent QoS standards on scheduled headways, which took
effect in August.
The PTC tracks and reviews the public transport operators’ QoS
performance and will announce the next six -monthly results in April
--938Live
Originally posted by bus555:
and channel 8, SBS566K on CT8
yup.
i LOLed all the way when i saw that. very old footage xD
Straits Times (2 out of 4 My Point forum letters about buses)
http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Story/STIStory_442803.html
Driving competence
'I look forward to zero jerkiness.'
MS WENDY LOW: 'Most bus drivers have a tendency to step hard on the brakes when stopping and this causes the bus to jerk continually. As a result, bus rides become very unpleasant. Passengers, especially the elderly, get a headache and feel nauseous. Will bus operators ensure proper training for their drivers and introduce a penalty system for those who cannot drive professionally? This will ensure that passengers get to enjoy smooth bus rides. I look forward to riding on SBS Transit and SMRT buses with zero jerkiness.'
New buses
'A bone-rattling, headache-inducing experience.'
MR MICHAEL LIM: 'The new Scania buses bought by SBS Transit are noisy, vibrate and give a bone-rattling, headache-inducing experience to passengers. This must be worse for the drivers who work on the bus 10 hours a day. Previous buses were more comfortable and offered smoother and quieter rides. Furthermore, luggage racks take up valuable seating space. They are redundant and should be converted to more desired and precious seats.'
STOMP article
Guy tries to fight with girl on bus
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/ugly_commuters/266930/guy_tries_to_fight_with_girl_on_bus.html
Originally posted by The Soon:Straits Times (2 out of 4 My Point forum letters about buses)
http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Story/STIStory_442803.htmlDriving competence
'I look forward to zero jerkiness.'
MS WENDY LOW: 'Most bus drivers have a tendency to step hard on the brakes when stopping and this causes the bus to jerk continually. As a result, bus rides become very unpleasant. Passengers, especially the elderly, get a headache and feel nauseous. Will bus operators ensure proper training for their drivers and introduce a penalty system for those who cannot drive professionally? This will ensure that passengers get to enjoy smooth bus rides. I look forward to riding on SBS Transit and SMRT buses with zero jerkiness.'
New buses
'A bone-rattling, headache-inducing experience.'
MR MICHAEL LIM: 'The new Scania buses bought by SBS Transit are noisy, vibrate and give a bone-rattling, headache-inducing experience to passengers. This must be worse for the drivers who work on the bus 10 hours a day. Previous buses were more comfortable and offered smoother and quieter rides. Furthermore, luggage racks take up valuable seating space. They are redundant and should be converted to more desired and precious seats.'
STOMP article
Guy tries to fight with girl on bus
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/ugly_commuters/266930/guy_tries_to_fight_with_girl_on_bus.html
Originally posted by Double_Decker:
A bus naturally jerks one time when it changes gear(downshift)
I like the downshift & upshift, especially the 2nd-3rd gear shift
Originally posted by Double_Decker:
Ms Wendy Low, you do not know how to drive a bus, you have no right to make such a comment. A bus naturally jerks one time when it changes gear(downshift). On the roads, there are many unexpected occurances and there is no way a bus can have "zero jerkiness". Our roads are not totally flat as well, and stepping brakes on uneven roads causes our legs to become unstable as the bus wheels "jump". A bus is a moving vehicle. Some degree of jerkiness will definitely be present when you are in a vehicle that is moving.
yeah haha. i like the way you say it.
you tell me which vehicle plying normally on the roads doesnt jerk?
Originally posted by Stage:
yeah haha. i like the way you say it.you tell me which vehicle plying normally on the roads doesnt jerk?
Nothing.
Originally posted by Stage:
yeah haha. i like the way you say it.you tell me which vehicle plying normally on the roads doesnt jerk?
bus 11 xD
Originally posted by TIB1234T:
Lol. 925 again. The forever candidate under fine.
go see SMRT's reply.
Say in Dec bus rosak. Audit is Jan 2010 - Jun 2010 leh.
there's no luggage rack for e buses. Tat's e tyre for goodness sake. I think when everyone boards the bus, we've forgotten that space is needed for the tyre esp for LE buses.
As for the brake, it isn't just the engine braking effect, the retarder is another factor as well
Originally posted by sbst275:
go see SMRT's reply.Say in Dec bus rosak. Audit is Jan 2010 - Jun 2010 leh.
audit is Jan 2010- Jun 2010? Are you sure? now is only 2009. See the PTC report carefully. Audit from Dec 2008- May 2009.
Originally posted by lemon1974:audit is Jan 2010- Jun 2010? Are you sure? now is only 2009. See the PTC report carefully. Audit from Dec 2008- May 2009.
year typo.
Even so, that 925's reasoning is fishy. prev and current round was mentioned of bus rosak