Originally posted by sBs_boy:Seriously, what you've mentioned is just based on students travelling patterns. Do u have actual figures to support ur claims ?Train to BIS then NSL to AMK ? I think bus is faster than train.
Nobody will take CCL > NSL to Toa Payoh from Serangoon. It simply makes no sense at all. Not only you have to make transfer and having to squeeze, u have to pay more. Most of the Serangoon Residents who go to Toa Payoh would only need to pay 69c.
you sure bus 853 is faster than e CCL - NSL connection to Yishun? bus will never be faster... imagine 4 mins (2 mins for NYJC tat side) to Bishan and another 3 mins to AMK. MRT ends up marginally faster than bus alrdy
somemore e station is almost right outside NYJC
it's 2nd fare band if it's from S'goon station. if it's e squeeze factor, bus 128 would have better loading alrdy. it's because it's still faster
for all you may know, ppl might alight at Bishan to CCL take to S'goon to get to Potong Pasir to work at Macpherson... no need to queue long for Sv 8 ![]()
I don't know. But if I am not in a rush for time, I would rather take the bus over the MRT to Bishan.
I have to walk a full 5 to 6 minutes to the MRT station. And if it rains it won't be pretty. Another 1 to 2 minutes walk in the Lorong Chuan MRT itself. And then I have to wait for the MRT. If I use IRIS and I know when exactly my bus arrives, I will take the bus over the MRT.
I guess it all boils down to whether one is willing to walk the distance to the MRT station for perhaps a faster ride (and walking from one line to the other) or whether one prefers a more direct (point to point, bus stop to bus stop) but maybe slower bus ride.
But I think MRT would be faster between Serangoon to Yishun. Can't say the same for AMK and maybe Bishan if you weigh in the walking distance etc for some as compared to a more direct route. Difference is really negligible.
But between 53 and 58, I think that service 58 could be shortened from Pasir Ris to Serangoon.
Originally posted by sBs_boy:i dont see how 13 153 133 853 135 24 22 be affected by CCL ?
true about 13. evening peak, an ADD already early yet still exactly same load as normal.
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:true about 13. evening peak, an ADD already early yet still exactly same load as normal.
peak hr demand likely wun change tat much cos NEL is quite packed alrdy, ppl might decide to siam
e issue is off peak load ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:
you sure bus 853 is faster than e CCL - NSL connection to Yishun? bus will never be faster... imagine 4 mins (2 mins for NYJC tat side) to Bishan and another 3 mins to AMK. MRT ends up marginally faster than bus alrdysomemore e station is almost right outside NYJC
it's 2nd fare band if it's from S'goon station. if it's e squeeze factor, bus 128 would have better loading alrdy. it's because it's still faster
for all you may know, ppl might alight at Bishan to CCL take to S'goon to get to Potong Pasir to work at Macpherson... no need to queue long for Sv 8
basically they say they are not going to withdraw services but after looking at the load at the CCL i wont be surprised if they change their mind. i'm sure when they do, SMRT would be very eager to withdraw 853.
peak hr demand likely wun change tat much cos NEL is quite packed alrdy, ppl might decide to siame issue is off peak load
well most of the ADD are split with the exception of one or two.
but then again, ppl are still choosing which mode of transport to take. also if SMRT decides not to improve e NSL off peak freq, it might turn off ppl for getting crowded
but still, e off peak load would be easy target for ppl to switch
actually i think the worst hit is the times just before and after peak periods esp like at 10am-11.30am, 3pm-4.30pm where the frequency goes to 6mins and trains are uber pack. terrible.
most of e time is 7 mins... next train timing slot always turn blank one ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:most of e time is 7 mins... next train timing slot always turn blank one
blank means no prediction for next. ![]()
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:basically they say they are not going to withdraw services but after looking at the load at the CCL i wont be surprised if they change their mind. i'm sure when they do, SMRT would be very eager to withdraw 853.
More people may take Service 107/107M for those travelling from Serangoon/Potong Pasir to Geylang Bahru/Kallang Bahru and vice-versa
853 is the only service that brings ppl from serangoon to yishun in less than 30mins ...
Bus shure die die le, after whole thing opens.
you sure bus 853 is faster than e CCL - NSL connection to Yishun? bus will never be faster... imagine 4 mins (2 mins for NYJC tat side) to Bishan and another 3 mins to AMK. MRT ends up marginally faster than bus alrdysomemore e station is almost right outside NYJC
for all you may know, ppl might alight at Bishan to CCL take to S'goon to get to Potong Pasir to work at Macpherson... no need to queue long for Sv 8
i'm sure that CCL - NSL will take longer ...
Originally posted by TIB930Z:853 is the only service that brings ppl from serangoon to yishun in less than 30mins ...
Yeah, but, is 853 faster than MRT? IF it's not, after whole thing open, this svc will shorten from GL1 -> UEC, if i am not wrong
Just hope by then LTA's central planning dont screw everything up.
Originally posted by service_238:Just hope by then LTA's central planning dont screw everything up.
yeah.....
NYJC students have e CCL station right outside their skool, dun need to wait so far to get Sv 853 anymore
2 mins to Bishan, walk 3 mins to NSL platform... another 4 mins of waiting time + 12 mins to Yishun
Originally posted by service_238:Just hope by then LTA's central planning dont screw everything up.
yeah...
anw LTA shld hav planned this when they did the NEL rationlisation...aft all the ccl started consruction then
SMRT would take advantage to withdraw 853 when LTA says bus services can be withdrawn. firstly CCL, NSL is faster over 853. secondly fares by 853 is cheaper than CCL change NSL (SMRT rather charge higher fares at a faster travel time), this is a threat to CCL demand and would cost them to lower profits. people on 853 can switch to CCL and SMRT would have lower operating costs with 853 axed.
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:SMRT would take advantage to withdraw 853 when LTA says bus services can be withdrawn. firstly CCL, NSL is faster over 853. secondly fares by 853 is cheaper than CCL change NSL (SMRT rather charge higher fares at a faster travel time), this is a threat to CCL demand and would cost them to lower profits. people on 853 can switch to CCL and SMRT would have lower operating costs with 853 axed.
Agreed... And for 853 to be truly cost viable, SMRT has to really dig its ass to reroute 853 so it won't shoot itself in the foot profit-wise... And 853 needs to be extended, not to Lor 1 Geylang Ter, but further down(maybe on to loop at Sims Place?)... Its current routing on Weekdays is unsustainable and unrealistic, but that is the sad reality of the failure of SMRT Buses and its poor planning.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Agreed... And for 853 to be truly cost viable, SMRT has to really dig its ass to reroute 853 so it won't shoot itself in the foot profit-wise... And 853 needs to be extended, not to Lor 1 Geylang Ter, but further down(maybe on to loop at Sims Place?)... Its current routing on Weekdays is unsustainable and unrealistic, but that is the sad reality of the failure of SMRT Buses and its poor planning.
actually 853 was there under TIBS not SMRT before the CCL plan. so you cant blame.
If SMRT withdraws service 853, it may gives more business to SBST if service 853 passengers take other alternative bus services.
Potong Pasir - Serangoon - Ang Mo Kio: service 133
Serangoon - Potong Pasir - Kallang Bahru: service 107
Geylang Bahru - Kallang MRT: service 26
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:actually 853 was there way before the CCL plan. so you cant blame it.
I know... But since SMRT made plans for the CCL, they should have made plans for the rationalisation too... And that is poor planning on SMRT's part. Well that isn't really that surprising, given SMRT's extremely "wise" ways of submitting a PTC application to reroute 852 to AMKDepot(cutting the profits), and not rerouting 853(cutting even more profits, or should I say, competition between its rail and bus divisions)... No wonder SMRT makes paper losses like the ones u see~...
Originally posted by tranquilice:If SMRT withdraws service 853, it may gives more business to SBST if service 853 passengers take other alternative bus services.
Potong Pasir - Serangoon - Ang Mo Kio: service 133
Serangoon - Potong Pasir - Kallang Bahru: service 107
Geylang Bahru - Kallang MRT: service 26
such losses are quite small cos they are current rivalling over these sectors.