some bus stops are going to be having e new poles for on trial purposes
3 designs: for CBD, for bus - MRT major bus stop interchanges & major bus stops
http://app.lta.gov.sg/corp_press_content.asp?start=2139
Location of bus stops selected: http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/Bus%20Pole%20-%20Annex%20B.pdf
Bus stops getting new poles
CBD type: Orchard Rd/ Opp Meritus Mandrain, Stamford Rd/ SMU, Penang Rd/ Dhoby Ghaut Int, Victoria St/ Opp Bugis Junction, Raffles Quay/ One Raffles Quay, New Bridge Rd/ New Bridge Centre
Town Centre/ MRT Stn: Telok Blangah Rd/ Vivocity, C'wealth Ave West/ Clementi Stn, Bt Timah Rd/ Little India Stn, Ang Mo Kio Ave 6/ Yio Chu Kang Stn, Bt Batok Ctrl/ Opp Blk 628, Jln Eunos/ Eunos Stn, Outram Rd/ Outram Park Stn
Standard: Marine Parade Rd/ Parkway Parade, Jln Toa Payoh/ Opp Trellis Twr, Dunearn Rd/ Aft Rifle Range Rd, Ang Mo Kio Ave 6/ Bef Al-Muttaqin Mosque, Jln Bt Merah/ Opp Blk 120, Clementi Rd/ Ngee Ann Polytechnic, Sims Ave/ Aft Lor 1 Geylang
taken from: http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/Bus%20Pole%20-%20Annex%20B.pdf
why cant they just standardize?
the standard version is just appalling with the information overload. and cluttered design.
I think it's not very practical to place the route details on the pole. If it rains, it means that pax will have to look at the details under the rain!
Damn.
They get paid top salary to ask people to help them do their work.
See how smart LTA is, since they can't make up a decision on their own, they seek public feedback, so should anything go wrong in future, "look! 51% of the polled public said ok!"
Wah...now then the media announce.
some of e bus stops alrdy upgraded w/ electronic arrival display
i dont understand why some forumnites are complaining that they're seeking feedback. it's a good thing that they're getting the people involved in decision making on an issue that will affect them.
anyway i think they're all quite nice, refreshing change from the current ones which are decades old. Will the standard poles be for all normal bus stops? Or for selected ones only?
Originally posted by simnatic:i dont understand why some forumnites are complaining that they're seeking feedback. it's a good thing that they're getting the people involved in decision making on an issue that will affect them.
anyway i think they're all quite nice, refreshing change from the current ones which are decades old. Will the standard poles be for all normal bus stops? Or for selected ones only?
they are placing at those 'bigger' major bus stops to let commuters have a first hand look..
eventually I believe only 1 design will be taken and/ or w/ new suggestions
I seriously hate LTA, the current board + pole system is wnough, why spend unnessary money to merge both together, and in addition, they should spend money in how to improve bus services, not "improve" on these triva stuffs..............
deleted
Originally posted by TIB1182J:I think it's not very practical to place the route details on the pole. If it rains, it means that pax will have to look at the details under the rain!
at least there is route details and timings of 1st bus and last bus inside the bus stop.
The standard pole look very cheapskate... And look like other country's couldn't-care-less-about-public-transport type of bus stop pole with limited info. Looks like a typical pole found in other country. This will not do in SG.
i think that it would cost alot for the first two. so i think the third would be best. cheap yet has a new feel.
i rather it look simple. its just a bus stop. imagine every stop along lim chu kang having like full rotue details that? of course the bigger stops, the city stops and the stops nearest to the MRT should probably use the first and second one.
i think basically thats what LTA is planning to do hahaha.
They could install the bigger ones at those places with many bus services. Or maybe they might want to complie all the As into one plate.
Yio Chu Kang (Opp Blk 139) bus stop has many bus stop plates just on the pole. 2 normal plates, 70A, 76A, 147A, 156A, 103M/103M timings (3 of them), SMRT NR6 and 70M.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:The standard pole look very cheapskate... And look like other country's couldn't-care-less-about-public-transport type of bus stop pole with limited info. Looks like a typical pole found in other country. This will not do in SG.
at least things goes standardised
As for SWTs, actually those bus stops tat is e SWT's terminating pt, can just have a sticker to indicate Alighting only
Originally posted by sbst275:
at least things goes standardisedAs for SWTs, actually those bus stops tat is e SWT's terminating pt, can just have a sticker to indicate Alighting only
Standardized?
You see this new blue Priority Seat sticker before in the MRTs?
Somebody at the company must be paid tons of money to think of new colour schemes and design different stickers for these priority seats.
Some bus stop's new poles up liao
Anyway, SWTs ended up omitted
I dun understand why only selected bus stop had the new poles... Why not standardise all bus stop poles cause some bus stop for example in yishun seems to be the pole tt is made in 1970s - 1980s. Very old le
Originally posted by ---Max---:I dun understand why only selected bus stop had the new poles... Why not standardise all bus stop poles cause some bus stop for example in yishun seems to be the pole tt is made in 1970s - 1980s. Very old le
cos they want feedback
honestly, e option 2 and 3 (Town & other bus stops) can merge as in w/ or w/o MRT station details
Option 1 should remain for CBD area
Originally posted by sbst275:
cos they want feedbackhonestly, e option 2 and 3 (Town & other bus stops) can merge as in w/ or w/o MRT station details
Option 1 should remain for CBD area
Agreed
I think NP busstop tio liao. Cos LTA people is at there this evening fixing the poles.
other than e SWT issue, e FFW svs timing are placed at e rectangular boxes below
Lets go take pics of the old poles for nostalagic purposes then