huh.
si ginas.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Have anyone read the article on BC in today's ST?
Here are the main points in the article:
- SMRT trainees who fail driving test twice must repay $1000 in training costs within 6 months.
- SBST does not impose the above requirements.
- The bond signed by drivers with SMRT bounds them to reimburse SMRT their training cost if they fail the test twice.
- The sum of more than $1000 includes the daily training allowances that trainees receive.
- One guy mentioned already paid $260 for a second attempt in the test.
- SMRT felt that "this is to encourage trainees to do their best in training, as well as to emphasise the importance of the stringent job req, including road and passenger safety and customer service".
- Govt. sets aside $3.2 million to subsidise the training costs for S'poreans who sign up with SBST and SMRT as new drivers but apparently, the subsidy is for drivers applying for Class 4A licence, not Class 4, hence leaving people who apply for job at SMRT, at a lurch.
- Do note that SMRT is putting all drivers through Class 4 licence because they do not have enough in-house trainers for the Class 4A licence that is applicable only in SMRT and SBST buses.
- SMRT requires drivers to sign the bond, whether they are going for a Class 4 or Class 4A licence.
When is the paper? Must really have to pay for the licence?
Originally posted by linwei20:When is the paper? Must really have to pay for the licence?
It's in today's (24/06/2009) ST. Second page of Home section. I think you need to pay for the training sessions and tests ba... Not an easy task.
Originally posted by lianamaster:It's in today's (24/06/2009) ST. Second page of Home section. I think you need to pay for the training sessions and tests ba... Not an easy task.
so is 'Straits Time' newspaper?
you mentioned that need to pay for the training session right? Is which company? SMRT or SBS Transit?
Why you will say that it is not an easy task?:)
Originally posted by linwei20:so is 'Straits Time' newspaper?
you mentioned that need to pay for the training session right? Is which company? SMRT or SBS Transit?
Why you will say that it is not an easy task?:)
Yes. Today's Straits Times.
For SMRT buses, I think so. For SBST, I'm not sure... have to check it out.
It's not easy because people who enrol are not so well-off and take example those who enrol in SMRT buses; they earn about $1200 each month, have to go through vigorous training sessions, bearing in mind that they need to cough up money for the tests. Physically, they are stressed because they spend a lot of training hours on the roads. Mentally, they have to pass the driving test by the second attempt or else they will not get the job and worse still, have a debt of over $1000 due to the new implementation.
Life doesn't end there. Once they get the job, shift work and irregular timing due to contigencies will add to their woes. Of course, if you really passionate about the job, you will have the mental and physical strength to overcome your working blues and pamper your passengers and yourself to a stress-free bus trip everyday.
It's certainly not as easy task.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Yes. Today's Straits Times.
For SMRT buses, I think so. For SBST, I'm not sure... have to check it out.
It's not easy because people who enrol are not so well-off and take example those who enrol in SMRT buses; they earn about $1200 each month, have to go through vigorous training sessions, bearing in mind that they need to cough up money for the tests. Physically, they are stressed because they spend a lot of training hours on the roads. Mentally, they have to pass the driving test by the second attempt or else they will not get the job and worse still, have a debt of over $1000 due to the new implementation.
Life doesn't end there. Once they get the job, shift work and irregular timing due to contigencies will add to their woes. Of course, if you really passionate about the job, you will have the mental and physical strength to overcome your working blues and pamper your passengers and yourself to a stress-free bus trip everyday.
It's certainly not as easy task.
So SBST no need to pay for those training sessions? As compare to SMRT, which gross is higher?
If you say being a BC or SL is stress, hmmm what about Train Officer (TO)? i want to be TO after i completed my NS, but do we also have to pay for those fee too? and also how is the TO gross per month? Anyone know?
Originally posted by linwei20:So SBST no need to pay for those training sessions? As compare to SMRT, which gross is higher?
If you say being a BC or SL is stress, hmmm what about Train Officer (TO)? i want to be TO after i completed my NS, but do we also have to pay for those fee too? and also how is the TO gross per month? Anyone know?
I dunno le... I dun want to give false info.
U have to ask them.... I'm not working there...
Originally posted by lianamaster:I dunno le... I dun want to give false info.
U have to ask them.... I'm not working there...
Can help me ask???? Please??
i feel like asking them all this, but i scare they may not want to answer me.. but who can i ask?
Originally posted by linwei20:Can help me ask???? Please??
i feel like asking them all this, but i scare they may not want to answer me.. but who can i ask?
Ask those bus fans who always lookout for cameos/bus guides in interchanges.
U sound so desperate for the job.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Ask those bus fans who always lookout for cameos/bus guides in interchanges.
U sound so desperate for the job.
err how do i know which is bus fans? but i want train fans de.. where to find?
haha yea i sounds like desperate, but i love trains when i'm small, so i want to be a TO in the future, that is what my life will be:) So i'm now getting more information on it.. That's why i sound desperate ba.. haha
Originally posted by linwei20:err how do i know which is bus fans? but i want train fans de.. where to find?
haha yea i sounds like desperate, but i love trains when i'm small, so i want to be a TO in the future, that is what my life will be:) So i'm now getting more information on it.. That's why i sound desperate ba.. haha
U finished NS already? Now studying or what?
Perhaps you can go to their respective websites and email them your enquires.
Originally posted by lianamaster:U finished NS already? Now studying or what?
Perhaps you can go to their respective websites and email them your enquires.
Nope haven't, but i know have to completed NS first, therefore i'm searching all those information first, then after my NS, i know what to do:)
Anyway, have a NITEC Cert, is it able to apply for TO? i have email them before, but there is no reply for very long time already..
Originally posted by linwei20:Nope haven't, but i know have to completed NS first, therefore i'm searching all those information first, then after my NS, i know what to do:)
Anyway, have a NITEC Cert, is it able to apply for TO? i have email them before, but there is no reply for very long time already..
Sorry, but I am not sure about TO thingy...
after the show i tot 88 is from soon lee ....
study more la, dont think of driving buses.
i already have a Class 4 license.
so would SMRT make me sign the bond?
do any of you know of any bus drivers with a diploma then?
then does the route master in the office earn more than the drivers?
Aiyo driving an auto bus is so simple.Just get the turning radius right it will be alright.The problems and stress are caused by passengers and other road users only.I'm sure within 2 attempt you can pass the test with flying colours.Just that they need someone with serious attitude for work.
Originally posted by muziq bus:i already have a Class 4 license.
so would SMRT make me sign the bond?do any of you know of any bus drivers with a diploma then?
then does the route master in the office earn more than the drivers?
How do you got the class4 license? Class4 license is what type of vehicle?
Originally posted by linwei20:How do you got the class4 license? Class4 license is what type of vehicle?
http://www.pcdc.com.sg/courses.asp
Class 4 : Heavy Motor cars and Motor Tractors > 2500 kg.
They are common goods vehicles bearing Y-plates.
Originally posted by Whatdatoot:study more la, dont think of driving buses.
wei wei wei...
for all u know...
next time need degree hor...
not enough driver...
then where got bus to take?
pls lor...
being a driver ish no big deal....
nothing to be ashamed of ....
Originally posted by lianamaster:http://www.pcdc.com.sg/courses.asp
Okay..
So those SBST and SMRT buses have to be over 21years old then can drive is it?
Originally posted by lianamaster:http://www.pcdc.com.sg/courses.asp
Okay..
Originally posted by linwei20:Okay..
Requirements
So, there's no need to be 21 years old.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Requirements
- Minimum Secondary 2 education/WPL Level 3, or an equivalent
- Possess a valid Class 3/4/D/E driving license, with minimum 1 year driving experience
- Able to speak simple English
- Male/female Singaporeans, SPRs and Malaysians are welcome to apply
So, there's no need to be 21 years old.
okay thanks.
Anyway 1 year driving experience, if no car, how to have the experience? They will know?
Originally posted by linwei20:okay thanks.
Anyway 1 year driving experience, if no car, how to have the experience? They will know?
They dunno one lah.
Because, they will still put you through theory and practical training to familiarise/refresh you; but of course, in relation to driving buses.