Originally posted by lianamaster:They dunno one lah.
Because, they will still put you through theory and practical training to familiarise/refresh you; but of course, in relation to driving buses.
Okay thanks for the information. Anyway are you a BC or SL? You like quite know all these infor.:)
Originally posted by linwei20:Okay thanks for the information. Anyway are you a BC or SL? You like quite know all these infor.:)
No lah.... although I dun mind being one in the future.
I merely surfed the webby....
Originally posted by lianamaster:No lah.... although I dun mind being one in the future.
I merely surfed the webby....
haha isit? i also want to be one too, but you know how's the salary pay?
Originally posted by linwei20:haha isit? i also want to be one too, but you know how's the salary pay?
Basic pay apparently is from $1200.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Basic pay apparently is from $1200.
So deducted CPF already?
Originally posted by linwei20:So deducted CPF already?
I not sure about that.
Every BC is entitled to different amount of pay, depending on what kind of buses or slot that they drive.
On certain days or weeks if a BC gets to drive double-deck buses they earn extra $4 for each day they drive double-deck so 5 days of double-deck they earn $20.
Overtime pay also varies depending on the slot and total timerun for the day that they are doing. Usually BC claim overtime pay when they are doing P shift, S shift, T shift or Extended shift. If BC works more than 8 hours, they will get to claim overtime pay. Of course, the longer the overtime the more money BC will get to claim.
Interestingly, BC driving S shift they earn extra $9 so as usual drive 5 days of split shift they earn $45. So this means that S shift BC earns more money than A/P shift BC so S shift BC consider themselves lucky.
If a BC wants to work during their Off Days, their allowance would be doubled for that day. Say their allowance for a normal working day is about $40, they earn $80 if they work off day.
Of course, ranks also play a part of their salary too. If BC attains a senior bus captain role, they will earn money depends on the rank that they get. Of course, the higher the rank the more money they will get.
So in total a BC earns about $2000 plus every month although there are cases where some BC only earns about $1000 plus. Newcomers of course, earns about $1000 plus. China BC however, earns about $900 as there are provided with accomodations.
High ranking BC like 3-Bar Bus Captains or Chief Bus Captains earns about $3000 plus and can even stretch up to a maximum of $4000 plus if they work off days, almost everyday claim overtime pay, doing S shifts and drive double-deck most of the time.
Originally posted by SBS 8030 L:Every BC is entitled to different amount of pay, depending on what kind of buses or slot that they drive.
On certain days or weeks if a BC gets to drive double-deck buses they earn extra $4 for each day they drive double-deck so 5 days of double-deck they earn $20.
Overtime pay also varies depending on the slot and total timerun for the day that they are doing. Usually BC claim overtime pay when they are doing P shift, S shift, T shift or Extended shift. If BC works more than 8 hours, they will get to claim overtime pay. Of course, the longer the overtime the more money BC will get to claim.
Interestingly, BC driving S shift they earn extra $9 so as usual drive 5 days of split shift they earn $45. So this means that S shift BC earns more money than A/P shift BC so S shift BC consider themselves lucky.
If a BC wants to work during their Off Days, their allowance would be doubled for that day. Say their allowance for a normal working day is about $40, they earn $80 if they work off day.
Of course, ranks also play a part of their salary too. If BC attains a senior bus captain role, they will earn money depends on the rank that they get. Of course, the higher the rank the more money they will get.
So in total a BC earns about $2000 plus every month although there are cases where some BC only earns about $1000 plus. Newcomers of course, earns about $1000 plus. China BC however, earns about $900 as there are provided with accomodations.
High ranking BC like 3-Bar Bus Captains or Chief Bus Captains earns about $3000 plus and can even stretch up to a maximum of $4000 plus if they work off days, almost everyday claim overtime pay, doing S shifts and drive double-deck most of the time.
I have some questions to ask:
Triple post..
It's not easy doing S shift... you practically spend the entire day outside because you have to work from early in the morning to after dinner time. And somemore it's not guaranteed that you get to have paid mealbreaks.
Originally posted by linwei20:I have some questions to ask:
- Double Decker buses are train in SBST right? They provide the BC for the training?
- Can we choose the shift like S shift rather then A or P shift? Can?
- How do the BC get promote the rank? Is it their service being a BC? Eg. for 5 years will promote like this?
- How did you get those information? You working under SBST company?
SORRY ask so many questions:) Because i'm interested to be one too..
I try to answer to what I know of. Anything further ask the company when you apply for job. Info may not be guaranteed correct.
Pt 1: Yes. The will attain a certain 'certification' that they can drive DDs. That may be called a DD license, but as far as I know its only applicable in the company itself ie. its not a LTA license.
Pt 2: Depends on slot for SMRT side. SBST I not sure.
Pt 3: As like other companies, no matter office or construction work, it depends on work conduct, duration of work (long service etc) compliments/complains and such.
Pt 4: Don't think these information are top secret or what. These are public information. If you are really interested you should call the related companies' HR departments. What fellow forumnites can tell you are limited. I bet most of the information are from the employees themselves...
There are in fact, much more informations but just that i can't remember a few of them. Just posting up the basics. haha
Originally posted by SBS 8030 L:Every BC is entitled to different amount of pay, depending on what kind of buses or slot that they drive.
Thanks a lot pal!
Originally posted by linwei20:I have some questions to ask:
- Double Decker buses are train in SBST right? They provide the BC for the training?
- Can we choose the shift like S shift rather then A or P shift? Can?
- How do the BC get promote the rank? Is it their service being a BC? Eg. for 5 years will promote like this?
- How did you get those information? You working under SBST company?
SORRY ask so many questions:) Because i'm interested to be one too..
Simply put it this way. A bus captain works long hours. You have to wake up at 3-4 plus am if your doing A or S shift and have to work until 12-2plus am if you work P shift. Most drivers arent really satisfied with the working conditions in SBS Transit and SMRT too.
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:Simply put it this way. A bus captain works long hours. You have to wake up at 3-4 plus am if your doing A or S shift and have to work until 12-2plus am if you work P shift. Most drivers arent really satisfied with the working conditions in SBS Transit and SMRT too.
What is the timing for P shift? Evening what time to end of depot?
Anyway if my license is Class3A, can I possible to apply? Because they stated 3/4/D/E, so wondering 3A cannot is it?
Originally posted by linwei20:What is the timing for P shift? Evening what time to end of depot?
Anyway if my license is Class3A, can I possible to apply? Because they stated 3/4/D/E, so wondering 3A cannot is it?
between 1230pm - 430pm start. my advise is to drive delivery lorry if you want something more fulfilling.
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:between 1230pm - 430pm start. my advise is to drive delivery lorry if you want something more fulfilling.
Then class3A license acceptable?
Originally posted by linwei20:Then class3A license acceptable?
yeah just prepare for more training. being a bus captain get ready for lots of discipline. prepare for less pay and more kou qian until you happy (:
just dun regret after you start working, life isnt that easy as just driving different buses at 60kph here and there. you can take my word by asking any bus captain out there, whether they are happy with the work conditions. i can tell you alround 85% aren't.
Originally posted by linwei20:What is the timing for P shift? Evening what time to end of depot?
Well just like what SBS9888Y is going to say, good luck to you being a bus captain be it in SBST or SMRT. It's seriously not easy being a bus captain. You will face many bo liao complaint letters aiming at you something like driving with 1 hand, did not ask a passenger to stop eating/drinking on the bus, drive too slow or too fast, never wait for passenger, drive off which your bus is alr out of the bus-stop lane and many many more lah. You behind schedule ur break or meal break cut shorten so you will have to run and run like mad, you ahead of schedule by a few minutes u kanna by OCC so you will have to drive slowly and slowly until it irritates you.
Originally posted by SBS 8030 L:Well just like what SBS9888Y is going to say, good luck to you being a bus captain be it in SBST or SMRT. It's seriously not easy being a bus captain. You will face many bo liao complaint letters aiming at you something like driving with 1 hand, did not ask a passenger to stop eating/drinking on the bus, drive too slow or too fast, never wait for passenger, drive off which your bus is alr out of the bus-stop lane and many many more lah. You behind schedule ur break or meal break cut shorten so you will have to run and run like mad, you ahead of schedule by a few minutes u kanna by OCC so you will have to drive slowly and slowly until it irritates you.
somehow, there are some angles that u cannot see some passengers eating/drinking, be it CCTV or the mirror. plus, some BCs may not be more daring to request them to stop. like last time, got a student left a bubble tea cup on the bus, then the BC halt him, in the end that student buay song then hit him.
i dont find drive too fast is a problem. if u are late of meeting ur friends/go work/go school, u always hope the bus to drive faster if u are late. if really too slow, then surely i will complain.
drive slow is not the problem. driving quickly to meet schedules is the main culprit i feel. but yeah there are times where its just too slow, but driving slow is better than trying to catch up with the schedule.
Originally posted by Double_Decker:I’m a BC myself and i hate driving fast. Far too dangerous. I don’t like other BCs to drive fast also. No sense of security and i don’t feel safe. Driving real slow like 35km/h is fine. I mean, it’s a public transport, it’s meant to cater to everyone including the passengers in the forthcoming bus stops, hoping the bus can wait for them by arriving on time. That’s why i really hate pple who complain abt slow driving. So selfish.
But i never needed to drive like 20-25km/h unless last bus. I’ve driven MANY services before and i feel there isnt really a timetable that is so long that BCs need to go like 20km/h. Some are really overdoing it.
Is it damn stress to be BCs? Heard alot of people say that BCs very stress, especially RM complain to you?
Originally posted by Double_Decker:I’m a BC myself and i hate driving fast. Far too dangerous. I don’t like other BCs to drive fast also. No sense of security and i don’t feel safe. Driving real slow like 35km/h is fine. I mean, it’s a public transport, it’s meant to cater to everyone including the passengers in the forthcoming bus stops, hoping the bus can wait for them by arriving on time. That’s why i really hate pple who complain abt slow driving. So selfish.
But i never needed to drive like 20-25km/h unless last bus. I’ve driven MANY services before and i feel there isnt really a timetable that is so long that BCs need to go like 20km/h. Some are really overdoing it.
Hi
I was a former bus driver.
I used to have to drive fast, because I had no choice. I used to drive Service 174(some 14 years+ ago), and only have 105 minutes to travel from Boon Lay to New Bridge Road during peak hours.
The traffic jam at Jalan Jurong Kechil between 8 to 9am was the worst. Then we had to drive up that steep slope which was beside Beauty World Centre. From Jalan Jurong Kechil to Dunean Road, usually took 20 minutes. I would have got only 50 minutes left, not forgetting the 2nd major jam at Farrer Road.
If I don't speed, then I would be late and penalised.
Heard that nowadays drivers won't be penalise for being late. How nice.
Which service are you driving?