Originally posted by mochi_cake:I sent this to our Transport Minister today. Hopefully he can look into it and improve our buses efficiency one day....
Dear Sir,
It has been almost 2 years since the master plan in improving our Singapore's public transport has been announced to the general public. Since then, I have been looking forward to the day that our buses can indeed be our real alternative to a car. Last year April, based on a feedback I have given to the PTC, they assured me that by June last year (email dated 14th April 2008), the average frequency of the buses will be 12mins and by August this year, it will be 10 mins during the peak season.
I have been overseas the last one year and has got back to Singapore a few months back, looking forward to the changes that our public transport has undergone.
Nevertheless, I am in for a surprise this month alone when I took public buses to my destination. It seems to be in the same state as it was 2 years back, or even 10 years ago.
Take for example when I was on my way to work via bus service 55 on the 4th June (Thursday). Having boarded the bus at 7.50pm, it arrived at my destination at 8.55pm. The normal travelling time is 45mins but it took 1 hour 5mins on this day. It resulted in me being late for work and have to receive a penalty for being late.
On another occasion today, I checked out Iris next bus in ensuring that the waiting time at bus stop is kept to a minimal. It indicated that the next bus will be arriving at 6.14pm. I got to the bus stop at 6.10pm and started waiting. It finally arrived at 6.32pm, with a waiting time of 22mins. I have to cancel my appointment in the evening as a result.
With Singapore buses being one of the main transportation backbone in moving people around Singapore, it is hardly reliable for us to put our trust in it.
Please allow me to also share my disappointment with Singapore's public transport in our local online forums. Hopefully it will gather enough attention for our citizens to decide whether should further action be done to ensure quality and checks on our buses are in place. The penalty fine of a few thousands each quarter hardly deter bus operators at all. On the other hard, it makes the governance of our public transport a laughing stock.
With the looming H1N1 threat, can we afford public transportation to be overly congested? Do we want to increase the stress of living in Singapore with bad public transportation? We are currently promoting Singapore to be a city of the future and to attract people from around the world to live here. I heard that elections maybe coming soon and there maybe job rotation in the Transport Minister position. But please do ensure that the objectives which was set out 2 years ago are met. Public transportation is what millions of commuters in Singapore has to undertake each day.
lol
u be e new transport minister then![]()
Originally posted by Global Citizen:make public transort available 24 hours ......
Doubt that will become a reality.
a really touchy topic.
still it is relliabble aint it ,the Public transport. No point complaining when a 10 percent of your appointments and work u arrive late. It happens. in every city,. The odd traffic jam. the massive jam i might add. the sudden breakdown of traisn etc
as someone pointed out, in some villages oversea,, bsues come along every 1 hhour.
ZYX
-
Originally posted by SGCar:NR/Nightowls IMHO are not profitable to both SMRT and SBST, except that they just dun wanna announce.
Cheers.
That's why it only runs on certain days right? :)
Public transport has come a long way in Singapore alredy.
When pple complain, is it because they have come to expect so much more? Back in those days when there was no MRT, no 12 min bus frequency, no Iris and lack of connectivity, how did those pple get by? Did they also go the route of private transport?
For the 99% of the time that we get to our destinations safely and on time, do we show our appreciation? Yes, it can be damn frustrating when the wait for the bus is long and when the train breaks down, but at the same time, I am sure there were just as many times, if not more, when the bus/mrt comes on time. Why issit then there are only pple complaining of the lack of improvements in SG public transport?
delays, etc. are inevitable. what can be improved on though, is teaching our people to not dirty the buses (hard to teach.) and to keep up cleanliness and the condition of the buses.
Originally posted by pumpkin on bus:Public transport has come a long way in Singapore alredy.
When pple complain, is it because they have come to expect so much more? Back in those days when there was no MRT, no 12 min bus frequency, no Iris and lack of connectivity, how did those pple get by? Did they also go the route of private transport?
For the 99% of the time that we get to our destinations safely and on time, do we show our appreciation? Yes, it can be damn frustrating when the wait for the bus is long and when the train breaks down, but at the same time, I am sure there were just as many times, if not more, when the bus/mrt comes on time. Why issit then there are only pple complaining of the lack of improvements in SG public transport?
don't blame the public, if they don't keep increasing fares there will be fewer complaints.
Originally posted by Fantagf:don't blame the public, if they don't keep increasing fares there will be fewer complaints.
Complaints by public can be taken as feedbacks by the bus companies.
As for the fares, It also revolves around the world's economy. If they don't raise the fares when needed they will be making losses and won't be able to run the transport company. FYI SBST and SMRT are not running the bus routes for free.
Originally posted by Fantagf:don't blame the public, if they don't keep increasing fares there will be fewer complaints.
Yeah, in a way the public is held ransom to sbs and smrt for the constant fare increase...but there is a fare reduction just this april as well. the transfer rebate also went up liao.
Don't think got many other country in the world who is willing to get the fares reduced.
My point is that, at least the fare formula is there to balance the fare changes/proposals that are suggested by those greedy operators. And they are slowing moving towards thru-fare. Now, is that considered an improvement or at least a small step toward a better public transport system in SG?
Originally posted by pumpkin on bus:Yeah, in a way the public is held ransom to sbs and smrt for the constant fare increase...but there is a fare reduction just this april as well. the transfer rebate also went up liao.
Don't think got many other country in the world who is willing to get the fares reduced.
My point is that, at least the fare formula is there to balance the fare changes/proposals that are suggested by those greedy operators. And they are slowing moving towards thru-fare. Now, is that considered an improvement or at least a small step toward a better public transport system in SG?
*clap clap clap*
read my post above yours before replying.
Originally posted by mochi_cake:I sent this to our Transport Minister today. Hopefully he can look into it and improve our buses efficiency one day....
Dear Sir,
It has been almost 2 years since the master plan in improving our Singapore's public transport has been announced to the general public. Since then, I have been looking forward to the day that our buses can indeed be our real alternative to a car. Last year April, based on a feedback I have given to the PTC, they assured me that by June last year (email dated 14th April 2008), the average frequency of the buses will be 12mins and by August this year, it will be 10 mins during the peak season.
I have been overseas the last one year and has got back to Singapore a few months back, looking forward to the changes that our public transport has undergone.
Nevertheless, I am in for a surprise this month alone when I took public buses to my destination. It seems to be in the same state as it was 2 years back, or even 10 years ago.
Take for example when I was on my way to work via bus service 55 on the 4th June (Thursday). Having boarded the bus at 7.50pm, it arrived at my destination at 8.55pm. The normal travelling time is 45mins but it took 1 hour 5mins on this day. It resulted in me being late for work and have to receive a penalty for being late.
On another occasion today, I checked out Iris next bus in ensuring that the waiting time at bus stop is kept to a minimal. It indicated that the next bus will be arriving at 6.14pm. I got to the bus stop at 6.10pm and started waiting. It finally arrived at 6.32pm, with a waiting time of 22mins. I have to cancel my appointment in the evening as a result.
With Singapore buses being one of the main transportation backbone in moving people around Singapore, it is hardly reliable for us to put our trust in it.
Please allow me to also share my disappointment with Singapore's public transport in our local online forums. Hopefully it will gather enough attention for our citizens to decide whether should further action be done to ensure quality and checks on our buses are in place. The penalty fine of a few thousands each quarter hardly deter bus operators at all. On the other hard, it makes the governance of our public transport a laughing stock.
With the looming H1N1 threat, can we afford public transportation to be overly congested? Do we want to increase the stress of living in Singapore with bad public transportation? We are currently promoting Singapore to be a city of the future and to attract people from around the world to live here. I heard that elections maybe coming soon and there maybe job rotation in the Transport Minister position. But please do ensure that the objectives which was set out 2 years ago are met. Public transportation is what millions of commuters in Singapore has to undertake each day.
You don't expect the transport system in Singapore to reach your expectations so quickly. You should actually be already satisfied as compared to other countries which have a more inefficient transport system. Having a waiting time of 22 mins is just coincidental and thus, happens only once a while. We have an average waiting time of 10-15 mins and that's considered quite remarkable as our transport system has improved since the last few decades.Your appointment was just a coincidence and that is so happened that the bus did not arrive on time. These only happen occasionally. You should be more flexible about these things.
Originally posted by pumpkin on bus:Public transport has come a long way in Singapore alredy.
Well, one reason they dun give up and press on despite the odds is because they have people who are understanding like you.
However, the public can always give feedback for improvements and they should understand that it takes time for them to deliberate and implement it.
Anyone who has taken RapidKL/Penang would agree with me that we should just bear with the majority if not all the "problems" with our bus system.![]()
This is what I call 得寸进尺.
People complain 15 mins too long, then they set it to 10 mins.
People see 10 mins still too long, request for even lesser waiting time.
Seriously, are people expecting buses to arrive in front of them the moment they reach the bus stop? Bus left liao also complain, bus bunch also complain, bus travel too fast complain, bus caught in jam, travelling time too long, also complain. Waiting time too long because of jam resulting from an accident, can you prevent that?
Then should buses fly instead?
They don't even appreciate the efforts of people in the scheduling department who are working their heads off just to ensure that most services comply 10 min headway during peak hour. And then hor, it's not they never set it to 10 mins, they set liao, but bus still bunch, why? 1) Passenger loading too high, resulting in behind bus catching up easily; 2) Frequent jam. In fact the lesser the headway, the higher the chance of bunching, so why bunching also must complain? Most people complain that they miss the bus, next bus came together with 2 other buses only 30 mins later. Be glad that at least the bus arrived.
If you think you will be late, then take an earlier trip lor. If you think you might miss the bus, then go down earlier lah.
Originally posted by Oceane:This is what I call 得寸进尺.
Seriously, are people expecting buses to arrive in front of them the moment they reach the bus stop? Bus left liao also complain, bus bunch also complain, bus travel too fast complain, bus caught in jam, travelling time too long, also complain. Waiting time too long because of jam resulting from an accident, can you prevent that?
They don't even appreciate the efforts of people in the scheduling department who are working their heads off just to ensure that most services comply 10 min headway during peak hour.
If you think you will be late, then take an earlier trip lor. If you think you might miss the bus, then go down earlier lah.
i guess they can go invent a teleportation device ![]()
Sadly, some people just don't appreciate and summore flame ppl like no other business....
Originally posted by Oceane:This is what I call 得寸进尺.
They don't even appreciate the efforts of people in the scheduling department who are working their heads off just to ensure that most services comply 10 min headway during peak hour. And then hor, it's not they never set it to 10 mins, they set liao, but bus still bunch, why? 1) Passenger loading too high, resulting in behind bus catching up easily; 2) Frequent jam. In fact the lesser the headway, the higher the chance of bunching, so why bunching also must complain? Most people complain that they miss the bus, next bus came together with 2 other buses only 30 mins later. Be glad that at least the bus arrived.
If buses fly, we need traffic lights in the air lol.....
Originally posted by lianamaster:Well, one reason they dun give up and press on despite the odds is because they have people who are understanding like you.
However, the public can always give feedback for improvements and they should understand that it takes time for them to deliberate and implement it.
Reminds me of the time someone went to Stomp regarding why there weren't new low-floor buses serving JW St 91. 3 days after that article was published, 241 received it's first EEV, and 1 week after that, 99 received it's EEV perms too.
Efficiency at it's best. ![]()
Originally posted by Oceane:
Reminds me of the time someone went to Stomp regarding why there weren't new low-floor buses serving JW St 91. 3 days after that article was published, 241 received it's first EEV, and 1 week after that, 99 received it's EEV perms too.Efficiency at it's best.
Can 241 a WAB service? Hope B9 oso cameo on 241 too if it becomes WAB service.
Originally posted by Oceane:
Reminds me of the time someone went to Stomp regarding why there weren't new low-floor buses serving JW St 91. 3 days after that article was published, 241 received it's first EEV, and 1 week after that, 99 received it's EEV perms too.Efficiency at it's best.
I heard that there were already complain way before the article was posted.
Originally posted by SBS 8030 L:i can bet with u that almost 30% of bus fans have gf / wife. You paid for a costly bike, haha u dumbass u owe the bank $$$ while for us we take public transport everyday we pay cheap and we still get to our destination that we want and also we spend on more things that we want while you the dumbass who owe the bank $$$ have to spend wisely and thrifty.
Hey Idiot! If u don't know what u talk abt. Don't humiliate yrself.
Why I ask people to get motorbike/bike becos its cheap. Remember I did not encourage people to get car. I recoup all my cost in bicycle in 6months. I spend only $10/$20 on my easylink card every month. Before that I spend abt $120-$150.
Don't forget, I haven even calculate the time I save using my bike.
Riding bike is the way to save money and spend wisely and thrifty. Plus , u need not get high blood pressure, late appointment.
Spend money and late, that is the worst thing. I ride bicycle, no emission, no petrol. Since I recoup back my bic cost, there is no cost to my transport if I use bic.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:If buses fly, we need traffic lights in the air lol.....
competition wif planes at cga
Originally posted by SBS7322B:If buses fly, we need traffic lights in the air lol.....
Off-topic:
MRT train. LOL. Tats y MRT trains had served better convenience den buses, tats y CCL had introduced.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:You don't expect the transport system in Singapore to reach your expectations so quickly. You should actually be already satisfied as compared to other countries which have a more inefficient transport system. Having a waiting time of 22 mins is just coincidental and thus, happens only once a while. We have an average waiting time of 10-15 mins and that's considered quite remarkable as our transport system has improved since the last few decades.Your appointment was just a coincidence and that is so happened that the bus did not arrive on time. These only happen occasionally. You should be more flexible about these things.
Rubbish, TS incident is just the ice tip of all kind of ridiculous bus arriving time. I still remember a thread abt waiting more than 45mins. So many reply, people curse and swear. I go to many forum, plenty of reply cursing stupid Sg public bus service. It not as I malign abt public bus in spore. Its a real live fact that Sg public bus is not really worth what u pay and the worry of so many people held ramsom by public transport.
When u talk abt what non efficient transport system in other countries. U must remember we pay more than them for personal transport.
Originally posted by zenden9:
Rubbish, TS incident is just the ice tip of all kind of ridiculous bus arriving time. I still remember a thread abt waiting more than 45mins. So many reply, people curse and swear. I go to many forum, plenty of reply cursing stupid Sg public bus service. It not as I malign abt public bus in spore. Its a real live fact that Sg public bus is not really worth what u pay and the worry of so many people held ramsom by public transport.When u talk abt what non efficient transport system in other countries. U must remember we pay more than them for personal transport.
quite sure everyone has their fair share of unhappiness toward the service standard of the buses at times. i am not saying to not complain. complaining can be a form of constructive feedback to improve certain areas.
my point in my earlier posts is to say that a single shot to blast tthat there is no improvement in singapore's private transport is just unfair. like all singaporeans, if i see something not right, i also will complain mah. Just that i won't say that that there are no improvements outright. just as we complain abt the many faults, we must also recognise and appreciate the plus points of our public transport system.