i think smrt should place some buses to amk depot..
Originally posted by SBS9364S:
If dun hv any 11, ppl need 2 walk 2 national & indoor stadium.
ya. agree. and kallang shuttle de operating hours usually on off peak hrs. or starts at 11. so ppl cnt go to there early without 11
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:lol. svc 243, approved but rejected by RC members
Saw 1 Scania K230 display the amended 243 route details before.
Hear rumour that amendment of 243 will take place when the new Boon Lay A/C Int opens...
Originally posted by lianamaster:Dun suan 178 leh, that service brings me a lot of childhood memories one neh... I took it many times in the early 90s one...
Got history one u know... must preserve that service at all costs...
852 was cut short once back then. It used to run all the way to Boon Lay Interchange.
Cut even more and it's going to become a duplicate of 157. Then might as well withdraw 852 altogether and have passengers take 157 then switch buses at Lornie.
11 will still afloat, at least for now. Once Stadium station is completed though, this service might be allowed to cut back or disappear.
If SBST no longer provides service 11, we physically still have our own "service 11".
Originally posted by off_service:For some reasons, SMRT keeps wanting to withdrawl 852, but never made any moves to try to improve the loadings for the service (lenthening headway excluded).
There was a plan to withdraw service 852 back in March 1996 under the Woodlands bus rationalisation, after the Woodlands MRT extension opened in Feb 1996. In the end, only a cutback of route from Boon Lay to Bukit Batok.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:u want route extension......
Extend to Changi Airport. Bring back service 989.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
Extend to Changi Airport. Bring back service 989.
Yes.. I would like them to bring back 989 that serves Changi Airport.
Or extend 985 to loop at Siglap Road like SBST 76/135 or Marine Parade Road or SMRT 966.
There is a demand for svc11 unless SBST improves frequency of sv16 to 4mins headway if not, it is ridiculous since Circle Line nt yet to Stadium...
sv11 introduced when sv31 amended to end at TPY
Originally posted by TIB1234T:
852 is abit like 178 lor. Ka-na-sai svc.
852 and 178 are the classic services that were probably leftovers from the bus-mrt rationalisation that did not materialise.
Quite sad to see these 2 legacy svcs deteriorate like that. If you guys remember another legacy that SMRT killed were the CSS services. I used to take CSS 608 to the stadium during my school days.
Originally posted by pumpkin on bus:852 and 178 are the classic services that were probably leftovers from the bus-mrt rationalisation that did not materialise.
Quite sad to see these 2 legacy svcs deteriorate like that. If you guys remember another legacy that SMRT killed were the CSS services. I used to take CSS 608 to the stadium during my school days.
Both 852 and 178 are classic services, no wonder they are the main services for the deployment of Nissan UDs. Legacy buses for legacy services. ![]()
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:Saw 1 Scania K230 display the amended 243 route details before.
Hear rumour that amendment of 243 will take place when the new Boon Lay A/C Int opens...
hows the amended route looks like ? do u know ?
btw i wonder why they want to amend 243... the route is good le
Originally posted by sgbuses:852 was cut short once back then. It used to run all the way to Boon Lay Interchange.
Cut even more and it's going to become a duplicate of 157. Then might as well withdraw 852 altogether and have passengers take 157 then switch buses at Lornie.
11 will still afloat, at least for now. Once Stadium station is completed though, this service might be allowed to cut back or disappear.
That is precisely the plan. You found out! LOL...
Originally posted by off_service:For some reasons, SMRT keeps wanting to withdrawl 852, but never made any moves to try to improve the loadings for the service (lenthening headway excluded).
They probably think its useless, since the MRT exists from Yishun to BB and is faster.
But the loadings during peak hours aren't that bad with the students leaving school and stuff, after peak its undeniably horrible. Perhaps it's also because students have concessionary fares/concession pass and they aren't making much money off it, or losing a considerable sum with that service :\
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:Saw 1 Scania K230 display the amended 243 route details before.
u should be refering the EDS only displayed 243 without G or W
Originally posted by tranquilice:
There was a plan to withdraw service 852 back in March 1996 under the Woodlands bus rationalisation, after the Woodlands MRT extension opened in Feb 1996. In the end, only a cutback of route from Boon Lay to Bukit Batok.
did they try 2 withdraw 178 also?
Originally posted by sgbuses:11 will still afloat, at least for now. Once Stadium station is completed though, this service might be allowed to cut back or disappear.
feeder service frm kallang leisure park to popular areas arld there like cage?
Originally posted by sgbuses:852 was cut short once back then. It used to run all the way to Boon Lay Interchange.
Fron YCK to BB, 852 is fastest. Calculated time & distance alr. By MRT, it's far coz need 2 go North area whereas 852 onli cover central area. By bus, 30 to 35 can reach. By MRT, abit the same, but later den 1 to 2 mins.
& 11 wont be affect if stadium destructs, coz need 2 serve ppl 2 indoor, cage & leisure park.
Originally posted by azharjj:
hows the amended route looks like ? do u know ?btw i wonder why they want to amend 243... the route is good le
cos they are not benefited by the opening of BLE.
Originally posted by SBS7382C:did they try 2 withdraw 178 also?
SMRT wanted to make 178 a peak hour service previously but the appeal was rejected.
Originally posted by jayh272416:
zeero six seven xD
67 goes to Boon Keng MRT ha?
Originally posted by SBS9818A:67 goes to Boon Keng MRT ha?
Originally posted by p228:Yes.. I would like them to bring back 989 that serves Changi Airport.
Or extend 985 to loop at Siglap Road like SBST 76/135 or Marine Parade Road or SMRT 966.
that's abit too long though ...
Originally posted by p228:Yes.. I would like them to bring back 989 that serves Changi Airport.
That might possibly cause duplications with 853C or 31.
Originally posted by SBS9818A:67 goes to Boon Keng MRT ha?
Walkable imo, otherwise just rationalize 67 to serve Boon Keng MRT then go back to its original route.