Originally posted by marcteng:every thought of telling the driver to drive fast?
maybe next time i pissed, i go and tell him i am rushing for time
you SPH or SBST boss...
...standard reply "I got schedule to follow, wanna fast drive or take cab lah"
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Services with proportionately higher chances of getting a faster ride that I know of includes: 27, 88, 89.
for mi the some call slow one i onli know : 292
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Services with proportionately higher chances of getting a faster ride that I know of includes: 27, 88, 89.
88 is out. try 190.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:you SPH or SBST boss...
...standard reply "I got schedule to follow, wanna fast drive or take cab lah"
Got one auntie do that before. She was on 960 at 1030am at Bukit Panjang Plaza... and she said she wanted to arrive at Bugis Junction by 11am. She ask the bus driver not to pick up passengers and skip all the way, go express...
She kept pestering the uncle until he say... u wan fast u take taxi.... the bus will arrive bugis at about 1130am.
Den once oso on 960, got one commuter complain how come uncle drive so slow... Uncle say dun believe u see my schedule... den commuter see liao... no choice suck thumb...
if u are a student taking bus to school and the bus drive too slow like hell, i ensure that u will late for school and get detention for no reason.
Originally posted by marcteng:do u ever notice that some bus drivers, drive the bus damn slow.
feel very fedup and pissed off when you are in a hurry and the driver drive the bus damn slow. sometimes the driver drive and somehow wait for the greenlight to become red.
they are malingering I suppose, eat snake
To: marcteng
Please try to be a bus captain before you continue your nonsense here.
As they say, be in other people's shoes and experience what they experience before giving further comments.
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:if u are a student taking bus to school and the bus drive too slow like hell, i ensure that u will late for school and get detention for no reason.
Then take the earlier bus. You are the usual passenger, I am sure you know which bus can make it on time.
I can understand that drivers have a scheduled timing to meet and whatsoever shit....but the thing is that in certain cases where there is definitely no way to meet the timing and no matter how the bus driver slow down at 30kph at every junction, sure will still be early.
Think about midnight...all the feeder services. I just took sv 83 just now and when the bus was approaching my stop, he deliberately waited for the traffic to turn red but in the end never...it was around 2330hrs.
my point is that no point following timetable at such timings...really no people means no people, why not just go back interchange and just tell whoever is in charge that it's impossible to follow such a planned out timing at such times.
There's 2 way to this issue IMO
For people who are travelling in the bus, it might be a frustrating ride if the BC delibrately stops for traffic light or pulling into the bus stop when there is no alighting or boarding activities.
But to think of it, if BCs were to go ahead of their schedule without any restrictions, there would be also people complaning about the long waiting time in between. I heard from my dad that BCs are not allowed to be more than 5mins ahead of their schedule when they reach the terminating point if not they will risk their bonus being forfeited.
Originally posted by loki_chaos:I can understand that drivers have a scheduled timing to meet and whatsoever shit....but the thing is that in certain cases where there is definitely no way to meet the timing and no matter how the bus driver slow down at 30kph at every junction, sure will still be early.
Think about midnight...all the feeder services. I just took sv 83 just now and when the bus was approaching my stop, he deliberately waited for the traffic to turn red but in the end never...it was around 2330hrs.
my point is that no point following timetable at such timings...really no people means no people, why not just go back interchange and just tell whoever is in charge that it's impossible to follow such a planned out timing at such times.
....then why call it a scheduled bus service when there's no schedule to follow becuse no people means no people? think from the pax's view ba. they know the schedule roughly they wait for the bus. it might not seem that they take the bus everyday but they know the bus will arrive at schedule.
if there are some pax then what happens?
Originally posted by SinkTel:There's 2 way to this issue IMO
For people who are travelling in the bus, it might be a frustrating ride if the BC delibrately stops for traffic light or pulling into the bus stop when there is no alighting or boarding activities.
But to think of it, if BCs were to go ahead of their schedule without any restrictions, there would be also people complaning about the long waiting time in between. I heard from my dad that BCs are not allowed to be more than 5mins ahead of their schedule when they reach the terminating point if not they will risk their bonus being forfeited.
If they early more then a certain amount of time they can get statement and probably get their pay dock as they are not perfoming their job to the schedule.
That's why SBST/SMRT is called scheduled bus service operators
Originally posted by TIB537B:If they early more then a certain amount of time they can get statement and probably get their pay dock as they are not perfoming their job to the schedule.
That's why SBST/SMRT is called scheduled bus service operators
If they are so confident about their schedule, then the timesheets should be public - let the public know at least the time the particular bus is due to arrive at the interchange/terminal. IRIS is one option, but there can also be no need to publish complicated timetables - just scribble on a whiteboard like in the TIBS era where the driver's name is hanged on for the trip.
and 187 (scanias onli)
Originally posted by marcteng:do u ever notice that some bus drivers, drive the bus damn slow.
feel very fedup and pissed off when you are in a hurry and the driver drive the bus damn slow. sometimes the driver drive and somehow wait for the greenlight to become red.
they are malingering I suppose, eat snake
Try being in the shoes of BCs. You cannot expect to be bus racers, driving at 120 km/h. They have the big responsibility to take safety measures for the passengers and drive them to their destination. Sometimes, it's irritating when BCs drive so slow, but it's better than the BCs drive fast and kena accident and many injured.
Take an earlier bus lor.. at least won't late or have slow buses.
Slow buses are onli good for sleeping ![]()
Originally posted by sgbuses:If they are so confident about their schedule, then the timesheets should be public - let the public know at least the time the particular bus is due to arrive at the interchange/terminal. IRIS is one option, but there can also be no need to publish complicated timetables - just scribble on a whiteboard like in the TIBS era where the driver's name is hanged on for the trip.
haiz...the timesheet is not revealed to the public probably got reason ba. Although the public more or less if they frequent the route they should roughly know the timing themselves after a few trips everyday at the same time.
Originally posted by TIB537B:haiz...the timesheet is not revealed to the public probably got reason ba. Although the public more or less if they frequent the route they should roughly know the timing themselves after a few trips everyday at the same time.
30's new timesheet at int office can go there n look also no one care
since when the bus arrive on time or on cue/schedule anyway. I once waited for a bus to arrive (10 mins schedule) and it took 20 mins. I am sure you have your fair share of waiting longer than usual for the bus to arrive.
there are variables on the road like traffic accidents, traffic jam, exigent circumstances on the bus, like people fighting, molesting, sick, or passengers fell down the steps and got injured and so forth. if there is an accident on the road, there is no way the bus is meeting the schedule. furthermore, there are manpower issues faced by the bus company, as not many sg tend to take up the job. what abt those drivers who are on mc and unable to work for the day, those who took urgent leave, annual leave and so forth. if the driver has a stomache and he has to drive out in 5 mins time from the interchange, there is no way he is going to do that.
why the bus drive need to adhere to the schedule so punctuality. I feel that the driver should be given leeway to make his/her judgement and drive according to the road conditions, not as if telling BS to speed like F1 drivers, as some implied, hell no. Drive according to the road conditions, and at the speed limit given, no more, no less. driving at 10-30 km/hr seems like a nuisance to passengers and other road users, not asking the BS to overdrive at 70 km/hr. I believe the speed limit for bus is between 50-60 km/hr.
if the time to arrive at the interchange is at 11.30pm, change it to the range of 11.30pm to 11.50pm, 20 or even 30 mins time for leeway and other circumstances.
Finally to suggest deducting pay or bonuses for BS who do not meet the schedules, its very extreme and ridiculous as the pay for BS is already very low and the takeup for BS it already low by sg. if you are going to punish these and that, who the hell will go take up the job. for those who are doing their job well, pay them in the form of incremental increase yearlyand giving out higher bonuses to reward them.
lol.
worst is 966.
U miss the bus, you wait long long to wait for another.
Originally posted by Ajen:lol.
worst is 966.
how long? what is the schedule like, arriving in 5-10 mins range?
it could be overcrowding lar.
Originally posted by marcteng:how long? what is the schedule like, arriving in 5-10 mins range?
it could be overcrowding lar.
15-20 mins off peak. 10-15 mins peak hours.
Originally posted by Ajen:lol.
worst is 966.
not only wait long...the nxt one come u may not hav the chance to get in...wonder why they dun use bendies. Is it bcos of the loop at Marine Parade?
depends on the traffic condition along PIE for 966.
If got massive jam, then need to wait more than half an hour.
My record is 45mins.
Originally posted by SBS7382C:not only wait long...the nxt one come u may not hav the chance to get in...wonder why they dun use bendies. Is it bcos of the loop at Marine Parade?
yup. .and im not sure if there's downroute from Marine Parade .
Originally posted by SBS7382C:not only wait long...the nxt one come u may not hav the chance to get in...wonder why they dun use bendies. Is it bcos of the loop at Marine Parade?
Originally posted by Ajen:depends on the traffic condition along PIE for 966.
If got massive jam, then need to wait more than half an hour.
My record is 45mins.
ya. how to adhere to the schedule esp during peak hours. common sense tell u that there are conditions on the road, like jams and accidents, not to mention overcrowding, when the BS have to tell everyone to move in and squeeze like sardines. when the bus is full and overcrowded, of cos dun expect the BS to drive at full speed limit.
alot has to be given to the BS for taking initiative and judgement and empowerment to make decisions. I once saw 2 buses arriving one after another, and then I have to wait a long time for the bus to arrive. schedule says one thing, but it is the humans who has the ability to make instant decisions and judgement and drive according to the road conditions.