Originally posted by marcteng:ya. how to adhere to the schedule esp during peak hours. common sense tell u that there are conditions on the road, like jams and accidents, not to mention overcrowding, when the BS have to tell everyone to move in and squeeze like sardines. when the bus is full and overcrowded, of cos dun expect the BS to drive at full speed limit.
alot has to be given to the BS for taking initiative and judgement and empowerment to make decisions. I once saw 2 buses arriving one after another, and then I have to wait a long time for the bus to arrive. schedule says one thing, but it is the humans who has the ability to make instant decisions and judgement and drive according to the road conditions.
I somehow agree with you. There are times when the piece of paper put at the dash becomes useless and you have to run at your own time in order to keep up with the headway. I've experienced this before so I know. There are 2 perm drivers out of 14 on my home service 812 that die-die also must follow that piece of paper in front of them so even if the front bus run ahead of schedule they also depart on time, if not later, then the headway pulls to 13-14 mins from original 10 mins during off peak.
Then when they realise they're late because their passenger loading increases, they drive recklessly and dangerously to try to keep up with the time written on that piece of paper in front again. -_-"
if the takeup as BS for sg is so bad, try enticing them with higher pay and bonuses and other benefits, which I doubt so, as the CEO of the company is trying to maximise profits and lower costs. higher pay/bonuses all add up the staff costs and reduce profits, so they will face this problem recruiting more BS from sg and recruit foreigners like malaysians for instance. maybe the manpower situation is so bad in future that they have to hire BS from India, China, Phillipines and Indonesians or Australians (they will greet u w goodday mate lol). I dun mind ang mo drivers though like Aussie or Americans. so far have not seen any ang mo BS lol.
Originally posted by marcteng:if the takeup as BS for sg is so bad, try enticing them with higher pay and bonuses and other benefits, which I doubt so, as the CEO of the company is trying to maximise profits and lower costs. higher pay/bonuses all add up the staff costs and reduce profits, so they will face this problem recruiting more BS from sg and recruit foreigners like malaysians for instance. maybe the manpower situation is so bad in future that they have to hire BS from India, China, Phillipines and Indonesians or Australians (they will greet u w goodday mate lol). I dun mind ang mo drivers though like Aussie or Americans. so far have not seen any ang mo BS lol.
Originally posted by jayh272416:
maybe cannot. You get aussie drivers, reverse scenario happens. ask in chinese they dun understand.
lol since english is first language in sg, they will say, can u speak in english pls. maybe hire those who can speak both english and chinese from aussie lol. there are a lot of aussies picking up second language like japanese, german, chinese and french and so forth.
Originally posted by marcteng:lol since english is first language in sg, they will say, can u speak in english pls. maybe hire those who can speak both english and chinese from aussie lol. there are a lot of aussies picking up second language like japanese, german, chinese and french and so forth.
not possible to get everyone to speak english. i even encountered situations on bus where pax dunno mandarin at all, only use dialect. get them to learn chinese can, but theres the problem of the pax cannot understand
Well, for one thing: Which ang moh want to work as BC/SL? They might as well work as BC in their own country XD.
And for me, sometimes, the reason the bus is late is....its a K230/OC. Even though traffic conditions, events etc. do play a part in the mediocre frequencies of buses, sometimes, its just the bus. At least be happy the bus even arrives. Our counterparts in M'sia, or even other countries may have to wait half an hour for the bus? Or sometimes, there are no buses even.
Originally posted by Raraken:Well, for one thing: Which ang moh want to work as BC/SL? They might as well work as BC in their own country XD.
And for me, sometimes, the reason the bus is late is....its a K230/OC. Even though traffic conditions, events etc. do play a part in the mediocre frequencies of buses, sometimes, its just the bus. At least be happy the bus even arrives. Our counterparts in M'sia, or even other countries may have to wait half an hour for the bus? Or sometimes, there are no buses even.
yup. my teacher has a relative who lives just outside KL. she says that even though she lives like so near the city, everyone owns a car because u cant rely on the buses. Can wait for 2 hours de.
Originally posted by sgbuses:If they are so confident about their schedule, then the timesheets should be public - let the public know at least the time the particular bus is due to arrive at the interchange/terminal. IRIS is one option, but there can also be no need to publish complicated timetables - just scribble on a whiteboard like in the TIBS era where the driver's name is hanged on for the trip.
yes!! i miss those timetable TVs...man..so far i only know it still exist in Woodlands...
Originally posted by marcteng:I remember in the 80s when I was a kid, also same problem, the driver driving the bus damn slow. 80s where got GPS system de.
but still, they have a schedule to adhere to. just that back then, they must report to the timekeepers at the terminals or interchanges of the end of his trip.
Originally posted by jayh272416:
bendy did 966 before.

Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:
Diao......
Can't believe my eyes...
Originally posted by SBS7382C:not only wait long...the nxt one come u may not hav the chance to get in...wonder why they dun use bendies. Is it bcos of the loop at Marine Parade?
No. 966 route is able to put bendies. It is because the demand isn't so high. Or you can say it fluctuates. The load can be very high during peak hours while during non peak hours it will have very little load. Junyang700 feedbacked to SMRT about the frequncy of 966 but they only added 1 more bus.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Diao......
wow ![]()
Originally posted by Junyang700:
Got one auntie do that before. She was on 960 at 1030am at Bukit Panjang Plaza... and she said she wanted to arrive at Bugis Junction by 11am. She ask the bus driver not to pick up passengers and skip all the way, go express...
She kept pestering the uncle until he say... u wan fast u take taxi.... the bus will arrive bugis at about 1130am.
Den once oso on 960, got one commuter complain how come uncle drive so slow... Uncle say dun believe u see my schedule... den commuter see liao... no choice suck thumb...
the pax is good enough being able nto see schedule.......sometimes i still need to peep to clarify the reason of slow speed for SMRT< SBST see DDU cal liao
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:
x-over from 963. 966 nvr deployed bendies on A/P & S shift b4.
Originally posted by gunner77:Anyway based on my experience, indian drivers always drive fast
today i was taking bus to mrt, i was already late, lucky got this indian driver that drive fast, overtaking another bus in front to reach the bus stop 1st coz the bus in front was like driving at standard speed
must follow company order like tat
salute to indian drivers man!
To be frank, cheena & indian BC/SL are usually the ones who have no law on the roads and schedule. They chiong like hell which they are the ones who usually make my schedule outing from late to early, just like Sv 27 that i boarded yesterday when a cheena BC drove a k230. Chiong like crazy from Sengkang to Hougang.
Originally posted by SBS9364S:
x-over from 963. 966 nvr deployed bendies on A/P & S shift b4.
Yes, To be exact, 966 never had any bendies from the start apart from that crossover which is now replace by any 963 rigids.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:No. 966 route is able to put bendies. It is because the demand isn't so high. Or you can say it fluctuates. The load can be very high during peak hours while during non peak hours it will have very little load. Junyang700 feedbacked to SMRT about the frequncy of 966 but they only added 1 more bus.
wad abt bendies during peak?
Originally posted by SBS7382C:wad abt bendies during peak?
That is the hour when WLDEP always faces a shortage of bendies where all the S-Shifts will start taking every bendy that is avalible from the depot especially for the case of the feeders, where shifts that uses rigid perms will have bendy cameos (911S101). That is why there are a lot of x-over slots that uses bendy because it is like killing 2 birds with one stone; like using 1 bus for 2 services (i.e. 900S151 slot where a bendy does 2 900A trips before 969)
i always enjoy fast n furious driver..
cool!!
i only know morning around 630-830 like that 243 is very reliable. less then 5 min between each bus
but the annoying part is when the bus driver STOPS at a green light for a split second, thinking it would turn red.
Originally posted by musli_bar:but the annoying part is when the bus driver STOPS at a green light for a split second, thinking it would turn red.
Oh ok. so you're ok with the bus captain risking his life and the lives of other passengers for the sake of saving a mere few minutes?
Originally posted by TIB537B:Oh ok. so you're ok with the bus captain risking his life and the lives of other passengers for the sake of saving a mere few minutes?
not asking the bus to drive 100km/hr. buses have speed limit, not asking them to drive to the maximum speed limit like 60km/hr.
drive normally, not speed nor drive extremely slow as well. that is all we are asking for. the onus is on the driver to drive according to the road conditions. if approaching a bus stop, dun expect the driver to drive at speed of 60 km/hr lar. 20-30km/hr should be the speed approaching bus stop.