Originally posted by marcteng:not asking the bus to drive 100km/hr. buses have speed limit, not asking them to drive to the maximum speed limit like 60km/hr.
drive normally, not speed nor drive extremely slow as well. that is all we are asking for. the onus is on the driver to drive according to the road conditions. if approaching a bus stop, dun expect the driver to drive at speed of 60 km/hr lar. 20-30km/hr should be the speed approaching bus stop.
hey marcteng, sorry to disappoint you but are you at the same frequency as musli_bar and me? your reply's having very little link.
We're discussing on
"but the annoying part is when the bus driver STOPS at a green
light for a split second, thinking it would turn red."
yes i strongly agreed. super slow especially after peak hours. last time when i reach home, i still can see the sun. now by the time i reach home, the moon is out.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:No. 966 route is able to put bendies. It is because the demand isn't so high. Or you can say it fluctuates. The load can be very high during peak hours while during non peak hours it will have very little load. Junyang700 feedbacked to SMRT about the frequncy of 966 but they only added 1 more bus.
today at PP saw the info panel for 966 Next bus 04 mins, subseq bus 06 mins ![]()
the 3rd bus confirm must be eons later.. (say 30+ mins) either the first bus was held up in some PIE jam or the 2nd bus chiong all the way or some helluva improvement in freq (which is highly unlikely)
Originally posted by Lyxor:yes i strongly agreed. super slow especially after peak hours. last time when i reach home, i still can see the sun. now by the time i reach home, the moon is out.
These are very common de. Especially evening periods at Farrer Road the direction towards Lornie Road/PIE is jammed very terribly.
Originally posted by SBS 8030 L:
These are very common de. Especially evening periods at Farrer Road the direction towards Lornie Road/PIE is jammed very terribly.
if that stretch is jammed terribly, then what's the opposite direction in the mornings?
Originally posted by musli_bar:but the annoying part is when the bus driver STOPS at a green light for a split second, thinking it would turn red.
There are three arrows before the lights right? I don't know if this is taught in driving schools, but here is how a SL shared about how he uses those arrows to cross the junction in a timely and safe fashion.
Upon crossing first arrow: Survey the junction, look for any abnormalties (accident, people etc). Green light, proceed on, amber light, brake smoothly to a stop.
Upon crossing second arrow: Foot off the accelerator, standby on brakes. Observe lights; if turn amber then brake smoothly to a stop.
Upon crossing third arrow: Step on accelerator. Jamming brakes at this point even at an amber light would cause passengers to fall down and the vehicle might get caught by the red light camera.
Originally posted by SBS7382C:not only wait long...the nxt one come u may not hav the chance to get in...wonder why they dun use bendies. Is it bcos of the loop at Marine Parade?
nOPE as i said in prev threads on sv966, the fleet is able to support the passengers, unless u r a regular sv966 user, pls refrain from saying sv966 need bendies
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:
There are three arrows before the lights right? I don't know if this is taught in driving schools, but here is how a SL shared about how he uses those arrows to cross the junction in a timely and safe fashion.Upon crossing first arrow: Survey the junction, look for any abnormalties (accident, people etc). Green light, proceed on, amber light, brake smoothly to a stop.
Upon crossing second arrow: Foot off the accelerator, standby on brakes. Observe lights; if turn amber then brake smoothly to a stop.
Upon crossing third arrow: Step on accelerator. Jamming brakes at this point even at an amber light would cause passengers to fall down and the vehicle might get caught by the red light camera.
i only use 2 arrows at the traffic junction... release acclerator before first arrow.. and step on it/brake at the 2nd arrow.. 3rd arrow is nothing given the speed.. lol..
Originally posted by service_238:
if that stretch is jammed terribly, then what's the opposite direction in the mornings?
i quoted 1 example only lol.
Originally posted by Acx1688:nOPE as i said in prev threads on sv966, the fleet is able to support the passengers, unless u r a regular sv966 user, pls refrain from saying sv966 need bendies
i think adding one rigid to reduce the frequency time is good...but bendys is not needed
Originally posted by jaaze:today at PP saw the info panel for 966 Next bus 04 mins, subseq bus 06 mins
the 3rd bus confirm must be eons later.. (say 30+ mins) either the first bus was held up in some PIE jam or the 2nd bus chiong all the way or some helluva improvement in freq (which is highly unlikely)
Hmmm. Depends, sometimes I speculate that to happen usually on weekends.
I peeped at the DDU[or whatever u call that] of a bus with the Departure/Arrival timing.
Arrival to the interchange timing was shown 06:15pm
Yet the bus was like around 5stops away reaching and the BC was driving so slowly. Time on the bus: 0645pm.
wah i dont even notice first, second, third arrows.
just zham accelerator lah. ![]()
There are three arrows before the lights right? I don't know if this is taught in driving schools, but here is how a SL shared about how he uses those arrows to cross the junction in a timely and safe fashion.Upon crossing first arrow: Survey the junction, look for any abnormalties (accident, people etc). Green light, proceed on, amber light, brake smoothly to a stop.
Army taught their personnel this when they sent them for defensive driving course. :)
Originally posted by Y_Shun:I peeped at the DDU[or whatever u call that] of a bus with the Departure/Arrival timing.
Arrival to the interchange timing was shown 06:15pm
Yet the bus was like around 5stops away reaching and the BC was driving so slowly. Time on the bus: 0645pm.
Driver relax relax so can ban lu later xD. (Must be mealbreak later xD)
Aiya no need to defend bus drivers liao lah, the facts are there, so many people experience how they slow down the bus or stop even before traffic lights turns red, still wanna argue for what?
Everything oso increase, price lah fares lah, promise to serve us better. Bullshit i tell ya. Then why not increase the shedule frequency?
Upon crossing first arrow: Survey the junction, look for any abnormalties (accident, people etc). Green light, proceed on, amber light, brake smoothly to a stop.Upon crossing second arrow: Foot off the accelerator, standby on brakes. Observe lights; if turn amber then brake smoothly to a stop.
Well-said... This don't just apply to buses, it applies to ALL vehicles on the roads. Ultimately, the guidelines are clearly stated. It's up to drivers whether they want to follow or not.
Originally posted by Squirrel<3Nuts:Aiya no need to defend bus drivers liao lah, the facts are there, so many people experience how they slow down the bus or stop even before traffic lights turns red, still wanna argue for what?
Everything oso increase, price lah fares lah, promise to serve us better. Bullshit i tell ya. Then why not increase the shedule frequency?
One incident today as an example, took the 8210J on FFW 174e today back to Boon Lay as i all along know tht the BC driving this bus will always chiong & i also need to go home early. BC already lambat like hell he still want to drag and drag and drag. I could have alighted at Orchard Rd and hopped on SBS9042X on Sv 174. When it arrived at BNL, both reached at the same time. Was utterly dissapointed with this BC as his back bus SBS8898A on FFW 174e already overtook him & despite that he still continued to drag and drag and drag & i angrily stomped to Sv 172 berth. Seriously, if i am a normal commuter i could have complained him to the route master.
I'm not saying that we should not defend Bus Captains but as we know that an Express service, commuters paying Express fares we should at least get a level better ride than what of a normal trunk service. He go slowly due to he is early or heavy traffic on the roads i still can understand. But given that the BC is late and he drag even slower than a trunk service i've got nothing to say. So the moral of the story is this: Doesn't mean that an Express service would guareentee you a fast ride.
Originally posted by Squirrel<3Nuts:Aiya no need to defend bus drivers liao lah, the facts are there, so many people experience how they slow down the bus or stop even before traffic lights turns red, still wanna argue for what?
Haha one thing that some folks may not be able to see is increasing frequency also increases air pollution. Frequency needs to be rationalized at times. Very good frequency but empty buses, or acceptable frequency and a bus that you can board?
Empty buses (and very good frequency) on one side of the road may starve the other direction of sufficient buses. While you enjoy on one side, the other side may be suffering... It all goes down to Theory of Relativity.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:i think adding one rigid to reduce the frequency time is good...but bendys is not needed
Route planner need to make sv966 freq more reactive... if u have taken a ride from Woodlands to MP, u realise tt most of the time SC is NT driving at optimum speed... dragging esp occurs at BKE[MP bound]
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Haha one thing that some folks may not be able to see is increasing frequency also increases air pollution. Frequency needs to be rationalized at times.
That's the purpose of Scania KUBs and MB OCs right? To be able to cope with the demands of passengers, yet being environmentally friendly. As for whether the buses are reliable enough to stay green for the next 5 years, that's another issue. ![]()
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Empty buses (and very good frequency) on one side of the road may starve the other direction of sufficient buses. While you enjoy on one side, the other side may be suffering... It all goes down to Theory of Relativity.
Well, for me, probablilty of seeing empty buses is 1%. 99% of the time will I encounter half-full or fully packed buses. ![]()
23 from Tamp Interchange is super empty. I was the only one to board the bus
And if you board some loop services near the looping point, they are also empty ![]()
Originally posted by jaaze:23 from Tamp Interchange is super empty. I was the only one to board the bus
And if you board some loop services near the looping point, they are also empty
what time you board the bus?
non-peak?
sometimes 23 at ard 4+pm....
one is at the T-junction outside, next one boarding liao. ![]()