CityShopper Services was already a failure since from the beginning
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:nope. add T shift so it affects AM off peak time too. sadly it is a kub. you guys will know which one next week.
ps. Forgot that the crossover to 34 is a T shift.
Originally posted by azharjj:CityShopper Services was already a failure since from the beginning
i agree... CS services were a failure, too long freq n too steep fares...
Add on, sv15A buses stop at Eunos Station[jln eunos] loop back b4 start as sv15 ret to Pasir Ris juz like old times when sv15 terminate at Eunos Int
Better deployment n utilisation of sv15
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
candidate for EEV replacement
too many EEV
n i dont like it coming too![]()
Try this!
If you are taking pic only,
Punggol-ers, take a pic of 581 outside the interchange, and go take NEL to Sengkang. And take LRT to Compassvale LRT stn.Take a pic of 578. Then you take 578 down to the city and take somemore pics of cS svcs. Then you take 579 along the transfer points. Take it to Tampines and take svc 3(or cross the ovrbridge to take 34) back to punggol
Sengkang-ers. Do the same except or the changing part only, you take a pic of 578 then go punggol to take 581. Then take whatever bus to go back to your home sweet home
Tampines-ers or Simei-ers, take 579, higlyhly valuable svc, to the city. Take some pictures of cS buses and take 578 or 581 on your wish. Then take the pictures. :)
And one thing to take note. If you are trying to take the tickets, suggested to take it with a day difference. Try to take the pictures near the interchange, as it will be easier, you can also take the buses going out :) Surely you will get a lot of rewards.
I will be trying to take some tickets when my mum brings me to the museum(at the SMU there) with my friend. And please... dun "harass" the bus captain.
Seriously, cS svcs are not really a failure to Tampines-ers and Simei-ers who dun get a really straightforward trip to the city. Mus take mrt transfer here and there then you get there one. Although the fares to me is a bit expensive, but the journey was pleasant too :)
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Try this!
Punggol-ers, take a pic of 581 outside the interchange, and go take NEL to Sengkang. And take LRT to Compassvale LRT stn.Take a pic of 578. Then you take 578 down to the city and take somemore pics of cS svcs. Then you take 579 along the transfer points. Take it to Tampines and take svc 3(or cross the ovrbridge to take 34) back to punggol
Sengkang-ers. Do the same except or the changing part only, you take a pic of 578 then go punggol to take 581. Then take whatever bus to go back to your home sweet home
Tampines-ers or Simei-ers, take 579, higlyhly valuable svc, to the city. Take some pictures of cS buses and take 578 or 581 on your wish. Then take the pictures. :)
And one thing to take note. If you are trying to take the tickets, suggested to take it with a day difference. Try to take the pictures near the interchange, as it will be easier, you can also take the buses going out :) Surely you will get a lot of rewards.
I will be trying to take some tickets when my mum brings me to the museum(at the SMU there) with my friend. And please... dun "harass" the bus captain.
Seriously, cS svcs are not really a failure to Tampines-ers and Simei-ers who dun get a really straightforward trip to the city. Mus take mrt transfer here and there then you get there one. Although the fares to me is a bit expensive, but the journey was pleasant too :)
Might as well you say take pix in the city. There's much much more buses there...
If you are to clear the CS Svcs in a day, including pix and tix. I think I could suggest you with a better idea.
Taking pix in the city, then get a ride on these svcs.
3 choices
1) 578 > 136 > 581 > 579
2) 581 > 136 > 578 > 579
3) 579 > 3/34 > 581 > 578
For your last paragraph, I think it'll sound much better if you replace the "-er"s with "residents of..."
i dont think the general public will miss these 3 services.. although theres quite good loads on Saturday evenings..
those paying concession fare of $1 seems very sad at the withdrawal of the city shopper services..
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Try this!
Punggol-ers, take a pic of 581 outside the interchange, and go take NEL to Sengkang. And take LRT to Compassvale LRT stn. Wait for 25-35min Take a pic of 578. Then you take 578 down to the city and take somemore pics of cS svcs. Then you take 579 along the transfer points. Take it to Tampines and take svc 3(or cross the ovrbridge to take 34) back to punggol
Sengkang-ers. Do the same except or the changing part only, you take a pic of 578 then go punggol, wait for 25-35min to take 581. Then take whatever bus to go back to your home sweet home
you forgot what i said in bold.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
good idea but the route might be too long. 581 will lose out since most residents get a seat on NEL anyway to travel to town, so if 581 goes thru sengkang before going to town, no one from punggol will consider taking it except on the return journey. good thing is, we might be able to save probably 2 to 3 buses from this proposal.
haha, i agree. take NEL cheaper, faster, no jams on CTE etc. if merge, den surely e fares will decrease also since it goes to 2 neighbourhoods, den more ppl will board. haha. budden if merge sk n pgl, why dun merge hg oso wif ex-551. hahahaha.
frm wad i noticed, those hu patronize Cityshopper svcs, are only those regulars. weekdays true dere is low ridership. but for wkends, e load can be high. feel tat dey shld operate on wkends instead, den maybe when suntec convention centre gt events e.g. IT fair can bring them back to service?
but i will truly miss e service. sigh. no more comfty bus rides to town straight frm hse bus stop, can't get to enjoy e scenery anymore as i do get to enjoy in buses. can onli see e black shadows in NEL . yawns.
I WAN 581 BACK!!!![]()
awww awww awww man
come a quiz
which was ur fav CityShopper Service
Why ? from tampines MRT it took me 23 mins to zip to far east Plaza. it offered the fastest way home from tampines with run time sof 1hr 12 mins. today with 576 gone, run times from tampines to my home is now 1 hr 37 mins. chui
Whcih was your least taken City Shopper Service
I have NEL to Sengkang so why need the 578?
Whcih was the useless City Shopper Service
if i were to take 162 from Ang Mo Kio MRT there to town, the CityShopper only faster by 10 mins. useless lor.
Ever sit a high loaded CityShopper ride?
well i had a svc 581 ride with 37 pax on baord. thats high loading. Almost all seats taken.
comments
Maybe Cityshopper shd continue but with minibuses so as to justify operating the service. With small bus .Perhaps so private operator might aply to LTA for Cityshopper? who knows.
Wish llist
i've always wanted a CityShopper from Woodlands, Sembawang and Yishun direct to orchard.
ZYX
Cityshopper riders
types i anyhow imagine up....
A ) people who knock off from orchard work at 4pm and need to rush home
B) RGS girls who take bus to far east and trasnfer to relevant cityshopper to go home as cityshopper fare is $1 for students
C) bus fans who take and actually sleep on the bus as it offers seating and comfy and fast ride to some areas (i raise hand and admit)
D) Siao on bus fan who take the bus to go from Far east to suntec fast (hahha me)
E) wants a fast connection to east from town and hates MRT (me again)
F) shopping folks who have many things bought at Luios Vuttona and prada and YSL and have many bags and sit the bus home
G) people who can;t wait for 518 take 579
just some type of ppl take Cityshopper
Which type are u?
History on Orchard rd Special Bus Services
We have here a back in time trip to discover how special Bus services to orchard have evolved
1980s
No MRT then. the first recorded express service to orchard area was
Service 7 Chai Chee/bedok - Demspsey rd Ter(CMPB)
The service had an express sector between Changi rd via Nicholl HW and Stamford Rd (Capitol). While not specifically publicised as an express service to orchard, the service is mentioned here. Its partner services 6 and 8 went to Chinaotwn and Shenton Way prespectively using the same express sectors along Changi rds and Nicholl HW.
Service 390 Airport to orchard
Widely publicised in Hotel guidebooks and spead among tourists alike, svc 390 was the serviice to take from the Airport to orchard Rd. Service introduced in 1981. The service gained AIR-CON status in 1988. Service was withdrawn in 1994. (refer to 1990s section)
Service 168 (AIR0CON 168)
in 1985 the service went PARTIAL AIR-CON. Using the comfy Merc OF1417 air-coned buses with Merc O 303 designs of the day, people traveleling to orchard from Ang Mo Kio enjoyed comfy rides in air-con comfort. Withdrawn when MRT started in 1988 or so.
1990s
While 168 faded away apporx 3 years later, a new generation Service 162 (Yio Chu kang - Marina Centre/Shenton Way)appeared. The service ha d a cool express sector along Thomson rd and Newton rd. However said service express sector was cut in early 1996 and the service now calls at all bus stops along Thomson Rd.
1995 - The Express Services were introduced. 502 518 went to orchard.
With the demise of 390, a service 16E was introduced to as a form of "fast forward" to then svc 16 which was extended to Airport. 16E was later changed svc no to 36. Service 16E skipped national Sstadium and went by ECP but served parkway to Airport.
2000- a second set of Express services were introduced. in Set 2, Express Service 512 serving Hougang Int, Ave 8 , AMK Ave 3 and orchard was intrduced. however service operated during peak hours only and was directional based. For eg: evening peak operated from orchard to hougang. Svc was cut after NEL started.
2005 - fast Forward 14e 174e were introdcued. also Peak direction based express typed services.
2007 or 8 - SBS Cityshopper services were introduced.
2009 Aug - They were totolally withdrawn.
the article excluded CSS and Citybuzz and CBD 1 and 2 services.
ZYX
i have taken my 1st n my last
sv581
now i am thinking if 579 n 581 can call at bus stops outside fu lu shou cplx n sim lim sq while making their way to CTE...
Originally posted by TIB537B:CityBuzz, and now CityShopper withdrawn.
City Shuttle Service was withdrawn too.
:(
Next one: service 128 (?) ![]()
Originally posted by ZYX2005::History on Orchard rd Special Bus Services
We have here a back in time trip to discover how special Bus services to orchard have evolved
1990sService 162 (Yio Chu kang - Marina Centre/Shenton Way)appeared. The service ha d a cool express sector along Thomson rd and Newton rd. However said service express sector was cut in early 1996 and the service now calls at all bus stops along Thomson Rd.
1995 - The Express Services were introduced. 502 518 went to orchard.
2007 or 8 - SBS Cityshopper services were introduced.
ZYX
>New service 162 reintroduced on 25 feb 2001, lt also began calling at previously skipped stops along Bishan Rd, Upp Thomson Rd and Newton Rd on 16 dec 2001
>SBS express services were introduced in may 1997 not the year 1995
>SBST Cityshopper services were introduced in 15 dec 2007.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:History on Orchard rd Special Bus Services
We have here a back in time trip to discover how special Bus services to orchard have evolved1980s
No MRT then. the first recorded express service to orchard area was
Service 7 Chai Chee/bedok - Demspsey rd Ter(CMPB)
The service had an express sector between Changi rd via Nicholl HW and Stamford Rd (Capitol). While not specifically publicised as an express service to orchard, the service is mentioned here. Its partner services 6 and 8 went to Chinaotwn and Shenton Way prespectively using the same express sectors along Changi rds and Nicholl HW.
Service 390 Airport to orchard
Widely publicised in Hotel guidebooks and spead among tourists alike, svc 390 was the serviice to take from the Airport to orchard Rd. Service introduced in 1981. The service gained AIR-CON status in 1988. Service was withdrawn in 1994. (refer to 1990s section)Service 168 (AIR0CON 168)
in 1985 the service went PARTIAL AIR-CON. Using the comfy Merc OF1417 air-coned buses with Merc O 303 designs of the day, people traveleling to orchard from Ang Mo Kio enjoyed comfy rides in air-con comfort. Withdrawn when MRT started in 1988 or so.
1990s
While 168 faded away apporx 3 years later, a new generation Service 162 (Yio Chu kang - Marina Centre/Shenton Way)appeared. The service ha d a cool express sector along Thomson rd and Newton rd. However said service express sector was cut in early 1996 and the service now calls at all bus stops along Thomson Rd.1995 - The Express Services were introduced. 502 518 went to orchard.
With the demise of 390, a service 16E was introduced to as a form of "fast forward" to then svc 16 which was extended to Airport. 16E was later changed svc no to 36. Service 16E skipped national Sstadium and went by ECP but served parkway to Airport.2000- a second set of Express services were introduced. in Set 2, Express Service 512 serving Hougang Int, Ave 8 , AMK Ave 3 and orchard was intrduced. however service operated during peak hours only and was directional based. For eg: evening peak operated from orchard to hougang. Svc was cut after NEL started.
2005 - fast Forward 14e 174e were introdcued. also Peak direction based express typed services.2007 or 8 - SBS Cityshopper services were introduced.
2009 Aug - They were totolally withdrawn.
the article excluded CSS and Citybuzz and CBD 1 and 2 services.ZYX
I thought 518 used to be 505? was 390's route sth like tdy's 36?
I think svc 576 is the longest CS service... also very gd to joyride..
Suntec City - ECP (all the way 2 airport) - PIE - TPE - Tamp Ave 7.
Super long highway ride..
Yea. Actually CityShopper 576 is the best for me. took only about 20 min to reach Tampines. CityShopper 579 take a bit longer. Not as long as Express 518.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:Cityshopper riders
C) bus fans who take and actually sleep on the bus as it offers seating and comfy and fast ride to some areas (i raise hand and admit)D) Siao on bus fan who take the bus to go from Far east to suntec fast (hahha me)
E) wants a fast connection to east from town and hates MRT (me again)
i think you should not cover people who ride for free on these services
i took 578 back to Sengkang earlier.. load was good, about 13 passngers on return trip.. but the journey time was terrible... Along Rocher/ Rocher Canal Road, too many traffic lights and BC just loves to brake for the red light to come on.. upon reaching CTE, quite a smooth ride except near the PIE exit.
should just convert to wekeend service....
I WANT MY 579 TO STAY!! IT IS MY ONLY FAST-CONNECTION TO CITY! AND 1 MORE THING, 518 IS THE BIGGEST FAILURE EVER!! OVER-CROWDING ON THAT SVC DRIVES ME CRAZY! SHOULD USE DDs AND CHANGE THE ROUTE! INSTEAD OF THE ECP BRIDGE, ENTER THE CBD FROM SUNTEC VIA RAFFLES AVE AND USE THE ENTRANCE TO ECP NEAR THERE!!
Originally posted by 105090:i took 578 back to Sengkang earlier.. load was good, about 13 passngers on return trip.. but the journey time was terrible... Along Rocher/ Rocher Canal Road, too many traffic lights and BC just loves to brake for the red light to come on.. upon reaching CTE, quite a smooth ride except near the PIE exit.
should just convert to wekeend service....
which rego u took? haha. gd ah earned urself a tix while taking pix of 969G on 581 ytd. hehe.
heard dere's quite a number of ppl hu feedback-ed to e bcs from CS regarding e withdrawal. seriously, i tink if wan these svcs to stay, feedback to MP is more efficient. haha seems dey gt more power den us. hope it'll end up lyk svc 115 liddat, cancel it's withdrawal.
hahaha im dreaming~~
Originally posted by ZYX2005:awww awww awww man
come a quiz
which was ur fav CityShopper Service
Why ? from tampines MRT it took me 23 mins to zip to far east Plaza. it offered the fastest way home from tampines with run time sof 1hr 12 mins. today with 576 gone, run times from tampines to my home is now 1 hr 37 mins. chui
ZYX
SBS1984E wants to perm this! ![]()
Originally posted by sbs3715c:I WANT MY 579 TO STAY!! IT IS MY ONLY FAST-CONNECTION TO CITY! AND 1 MORE THING, 518 IS THE BIGGEST FAILURE EVER!! OVER-CROWDING ON THAT SVC DRIVES ME CRAZY! SHOULD USE DDs AND CHANGE THE ROUTE! INSTEAD OF THE ECP BRIDGE, ENTER THE CBD FROM SUNTEC VIA RAFFLES AVE AND USE THE ENTRANCE TO ECP NEAR THERE!!
Too bad SBS Transit thinks otherwise.