Admin's note - this is a thread for bus drviers to post some of the experinces they have... Pls adhere to the guidlines .
As i have said in the introduction thread, i am actually a BC with SBST for 2.5 years.
Something happened last night made me really angry. For 2.5 years, i've more or less seen many unreasonable pax, but this incident last night nearly made me want to beat up the pax. Please allow me to complain.
I was driving a DD for P shift. At around 11.15pm, my last trip, i reached the Hua Xin Court bus stop along Marine Parade. I realised no one was at the bus stop and no one wanted to alight, so i naturally just skip the stop, travelling ard 30-40 km/h as i do so(which is slow).
As my bus go over the bus bay(the furthest end), this man, quite old, suddenly appeared n flag for my bus. My natural instinct is obviously to slow down even more n try to stop the bus for him. However, i realised that i can no longer steer into the bus bay since i already go over the furthest end. I wanted to just ignore him since there was no way i can stop safely(my only other option is to stop on the road, which isnt allowed according to law). Suddenly this old man threw something at my bus, which I believe is some tiny stone from the road. When he did that, my instinct is to stop immediately upon hearing the loud sound. So i did. I opened the door for him and he boarded.
This was what he said,
"YOU NEVER STOP AR!"
"Sorry." I replied. But i didnt think i was wrong anyway. Just saying it as a SOP.
"WHAT SORRY! U RUSHING FOR BLOODY FUNERAL AR!"
I immediately got angry and turn around to stare at him as he made his way to the green seat. He turned and stare at me, and then i ignored him n continued my journey.
I was furious abt this incident. I wasnt really at fault to start with and i said sorry as well. He still got the cheek to scold?! I already let him board the bus AGAINST THE LAW by stopping outside bus bay. What more does he want?!
Sorry for the long story. I had to get it off my chest. Passenger nowadays really too much le.
I wasnt rushing for time by the way. I was ahead of schdule.
forgive and forget :)
besides, the uncle , and most paxs don't really know BC's job scope and SOPs. So they naturally will assume they are the passengers (im the biggest mindset). So usually when dealing with passengers who post about BCs and buses being this and that in this forum i usually post -> You try to be a BC first before coming back to post more.
Originally posted by Double_Decker:Suddenly this old man threw something at my bus, which I believe is some tiny stone from the road. When he did that, my instinct is to stop immediately upon hearing the loud sound. So i did. I opened the door for him and he boarded.
How big is the stone? If it's enough to cause damage, it can be considered as an act of vandalism.
Originally posted by sgbuses:How big is the stone? If it's enough to cause damage, it can be considered as an act of vandalism.
No idea. I checked my bus when i finished my journey n i didnt see any damage. I hope i didnt miss it, if there was any :(
Since your bus was over the bus bay, for safety, I felt that you didn't need to stop, even if he throw something at the bus.
Just on Tuesday afternoon, I witnessed this incident:
A service 162 WAB (didn't take down rego) just pulled out of the bus stop outside Hub Synergy Point (along Anson Rd) and turned into the next lane (2nd lane from the left). The traffic light was red. Then there was a woman rushing across the traffic light crossing from M hotel, she knocked at the bus doors to alert the BC, but then the BC didn't open the door as the bus was already out of the bus stop. She continued knocking until the traffic light almost turned green and then the BC opened the doors.
Originally posted by tranquilice:Since your bus was over the bus bay, for safety, I felt that you didn't need to stop, even if he throw something at the bus.
Just on Tuesday afternoon, I witnessed this incident:
A service 162 WAB (didn't take down rego) just pulled out of the bus stop outside Hub Synergy Point (along Anson Rd) and turned into the next lane (2nd lane from the left). The traffic light was red. Then there was a woman rushing across the traffic light crossing from M hotel, she knocked at the bus doors to alert the BC, but then the BC didn't open the door as the bus was already out of the bus stop. She continued knocking until the traffic light almost turned green and then the BC opened the doors.
By traffic law, i wasnt supposed to stop. But these people EXPECT us to stop if not sure will go complain n make us waste time making statement n arguing with sometimes unreasonable route masters. They even can say that LTA law require buses to stop in ALL bus stops and OPEN its front door REGARDLESS of whether there are any people at the bus stops(this law really exist, just that BCs never do so due to tight schedule and customer's expectation not to stop unncessasarily n slow down the journey).
In other words, when this pri*k appeared, i was already doomed. He should not EXPECT people to stop anyhow for him. These people too much le.
Originally posted by Double_Decker:
By traffic law, i wasnt supposed to stop. But these people EXPECT us to stop if not sure will go complain n make us waste time making statement n arguing with sometimes unreasonable route masters. They even can say that LTA law require buses to stop in ALL bus stops and OPEN its front door REGARDLESS of whether there are any people at the bus stops(this law really exist, just that BCs never do so due to tight schedule and customer's expectation not to stop unncessasarily n slow down the journey).In other words, when this pri*k appeared, i was already doomed. He should not EXPECT people to stop anyhow for him. These people too much le.
That's why people like him need to have a taste of a BC's life !![]()
By traffic law, i wasnt supposed to stop. But these people EXPECT us to stop if not sure will go complain n make us waste time making statement n arguing with sometimes unreasonable route masters. They even can say that LTA law require buses to stop in ALL bus stops and OPEN its front door REGARDLESS of whether there are any people at the bus stops(this law really exist, just that BCs never do so due to tight schedule and customer's expectation not to stop unncessasarily n slow down the journey).In other words, when this pri*k appeared, i was already doomed. He should not EXPECT people to stop anyhow for him. These people too much le.
acherly, me oso quite pity u all one.
coz me tink dat the fault lies wif ur company for not educatin the public.
nw u say dis, me tink otherwise liao.
ppl dun flw the law, u all dulan; u all dun flw sure is got reason one? ![]()
@ Double_decker,
I know how you feel like. Since is already over and just forget it ba:) Relax and cool down!
Hmm anyway, you are a Bus Captain? Can know some information? What's the basic gross salary when just recruit? Is it difficult to get into BC?
They even can say that LTA law require buses to stop in ALL bus stops and OPEN its front door REGARDLESS of whether there are any people at the bus stops(this law really exist, just that BCs never do so due to tight schedule and customer's expectation not to stop unncessasarily n slow down the journey).
All bus stops are compulsory not request stops? o.O
That's going to make journeys awfully lot slower. I prefer that LTA mandates it to be treated as request stops and BCs being observant and use discretion, whom these days they are very expert at already.
Double_decker,
even if there is no passenger at the bus stop, BC will also have to drive into the bus stop bay and open the door?
Originally posted by linwei20:
Hmm anyway, you are a Bus Captain? Can know some information? What's the basic gross salary when just recruit? Is it difficult to get into BC?
Basic is $1050 for malaysian and PRs or $1200 for Singaporeans. You need to pass the traffic police's test first to obtain your class 4A license and then pass SBSTs driving test before you can become a BC.
only $1200?
But just recruit, have to go through all those trainings right? While on going the training, we also will get $1200 per month? They deducted CPF already or haven't?
You mean have to get a class3 license then can apply for class4A license? Is it difficult to control a bus? Because i want to be a BC after i ORD. So i'm getting more information. Hope you can give us more detail of being a BC and in the company of SBSTs.
Originally posted by linwei20:Double_decker,
even if there is no passenger at the bus stop, BC will also have to drive into the bus stop bay and open the door?
Yup, that's according to LTA law. But no BCs follow it and LTA does not really enforce it until complains come in.
Originally posted by candiz:only $1200?
Then what do you expect? I roughly know a BC will pay around $1200-$1500? Haha..
Originally posted by Double_Decker:Yup, that's according to LTA law. But no BCs follow it and LTA does not really enforce it until complains come in.
Is just wasting time if there's no passenger at the BS.
Anyway, will those BC increase pay every each year? What time you usually wake up to go to the depot/interchange to take your bus?
But just recruit, have to go through all those trainings right? While on going the training, we also will get $1200 per month? They deducted CPF already or haven't?
You mean have to get a class3 license then can apply for class4A license? Is it difficult to control a bus? Because i want to be a BC after i ORD. So i'm getting more information. Hope you can give us more detail of being a BC and in the company of SBSTs.
Only will get a daily allowance (paid on weekly basis) while training. Forget how much le.
Usually your net pay will be ard $1400 to $1700 :)
And you need to have a class 3 license for at least 1 year before you can apply to become a BC. Buses are not difficult to control. Just ensure that the back wheels can pass thru when turning or sqeezing thru tight spaces(check your mirrors to roughly see the location of the wheels).
Double_Decker,
Sorry to disturb you again, keep asking you so many questions:)
Anyway, how did you apply for a BC? Roadshow and you go to the HQ? Why didn't you join SMRT but SBSTs? Just want to know what's the difference from SMRT:)
Originally posted by linwei20:Double_Decker,
Sorry to disturb you again, keep asking you so many questions:)
Anyway, how did you apply for a BC? Roadshow and you go to the HQ? Why didn't you join SMRT but SBSTs? Just want to know what's the difference from SMRT:)
U are serioulsy going OT, it might be better for you to just pm him with your questions
Only will get a daily allowance (paid on weekly basis) while training. Forget how much le.Usually your net pay will be ard $1400 to $1700 :)
And you need to have a class 3 license for at least 1 year before you can apply to become a BC. Buses are not difficult to control. Just ensure that the back wheels can pass thru when turning or sqeezing thru tight spaces(check your mirrors to roughly see the location of the wheels).
Oh so you mean that, on going the training, i won't get $1200 first? They pay per month or they basic on the hour that you drive that month?
Net pay? You mean already deducted CPF? Just now you say that just recruit is $1200, why now is $1400-$1700?
Okay, what if the bus breakdown or half way the journey, i feel like going to the toilet to do business, how?
TS, do u know who some bus drivers purposely drive the bus very slow, like 30km/hr all the way?
are they malingering?
Oh so you mean that, on going the training, i won't get $1200 first? They pay per month or they basic on the hour that you drive that month?
Net pay? You mean already deducted CPF? Just now you say that just recruit is $1200, why now is $1400-$1700?
Okay, what if the bus breakdown or half way the journey, i feel like going to the toilet to do business, how?
do biz at the bus interchange lor before driving out.
bus breakdown? call the company tow operator to tow the bus la
Originally posted by dkcx:U are serioulsy going OT, it might be better for you to just pm him with your questions
Haha sorry! Forgive me..
Originally posted by marcteng:TS, do u know who some bus drivers purposely drive the bus very slow, like 30km/hr all the way?
are they malingering?
Most of the time it's due to having too much time in the schedule.
There really are some BCs who purposely drive very slow to 'geng' downroute aft being caught in jams. These are the BCs that shd be complained.