got a feeling new BNL's design and JKN's bus stop terminal might not take crash load during peak hrs
Originally posted by Khairiano:from: http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/news/2009/7/18208/boon-lay-s-new-bus-interchange-set-to-open
Boon Lay's new bus interchange set to open
Jul 29, 2009 - The Straits TimesYeo Ghim Lay
WORK on the new air-conditioned Boon Lay bus interchange has been completed and it is expected to open during the year-end school holidays.
One of a new generation of transport hubs like the ones in Ang Mo Kio and Toa Payoh, the 32,000 sq m interchange will be linked to the Boon Lay MRT station and the Jurong Point 2 shopping centre.
About 150,000 commuters are expected to use it daily, said the Land Transport Authority (LTA).
Construction was completed recently and the LTA expects to hand over the interchange to SBS Transit next month, to train and familiarise its bus captains with the new facilities.
The interchange will open during the year-end school holidays to minimise any confusion, said an LTA spokesman.
The new interchange, which can hold up to 60 buses, has 31 boarding and alighting berths, said the LTA.
Commuters will be able to transfer between trains and buses in air-conditioned comfort as well as shop at the stores at the interchange.
The concourse of the interchange also leads directly to the first floor of the Jurong Point 2 shopping mall.
Currently, Boon Lay residents use a temporary bus interchange located next to the MRT station.
'The temporary interchange now is quite hot and the road leading to it is also very congested as there are only two lanes. Hopefully, the new interchange will solve these problems,' said Mr Joseph Foo, 58, chairman of the Pioneer Citizens Consultative Committee.
With the new interchange, commuters will no longer have to cut through the MRT station to get to Jurong Point.
Boon Lay resident Rachel Chew, 30, said: 'I sometimes just take a cab from Jurong Point back home to avoid walking back to the interchange. When the new interchange opens, I will probably take my feeder bus more frequently.'
Businesses at Jurong Point are also hoping that the new bus interchange will bring in more customers.
'We are looking forward to it. The crowds here are fairly okay, but I'm sure with the bus interchange opening, we will have more people walking in,' said Ms Nina Koh, supervisor at shoe store BeetleBug.
When they are saying that the 'new BNL Int has 31 boarding and alighting berths',it is really very confusing.Cuz it really means as if they are saying that as a total,there are 62 berths cuz they are saying that there are 31 boarding and alighting berths so there are 31 each for Boarding and alighting?Is that wat they are trying to say?Walan eh their phrasing ah really hopeless man can make people blur one.A very ironic and a stupid foolish mistake.I think a pri school kid also read this also confirm laugh one.![]()
31 berths what. nothing wrong.
Originally posted by Merczrox:When they are saying that the 'new BNL Int has 31 boarding and alighting berths',it is really very confusing.Cuz it really means as if they are saying that as a total,there are 62 berths cuz they are saying that there are 31 boarding and alighting berths so there are 31 each for Boarding and alighting?Is that wat they are trying to say?Walan eh their phrasing ah really hopeless man can make people blur one.A very ironic and a stupid foolish mistake.I think a pri school kid also read this also confirm laugh one.
31 boarding AND alighting berths
means 31 comprises BOTH of them
It did not state 31 Boarding and 31 alighting berths dont it? in any case the sentence structure is wrong also
The useless chairman of the Pioneer Citizens Consultative Committee again.
Originally posted by Merczrox:When they are saying that the 'new BNL Int has 31 boarding and alighting berths',it is really very confusing.Cuz it really means as if they are saying that as a total,there are 62 berths cuz they are saying that there are 31 boarding and alighting berths so there are 31 each for Boarding and alighting?Is that wat they are trying to say?Walan eh their phrasing ah really hopeless man can make people blur one.A very ironic and a stupid foolish mistake.I think a pri school kid also read this also confirm laugh one.
I think maybe you are reading too much into the sentence.
anyway 31 is correct. 22 end-on (B7 to B17), 6 boarding sawtooth (B1 to B6), 3 alighting sawtooth (though with 5 entrances so A1 to A5)
I think a pri school kid will look at you and confirm laugh. Becoz even he knows 31 boarding and alighting berths means BOTH. ![]()
Originally posted by Merczrox:
Singapore got too much money to waste wat.They dont know where to waste then they go waste on this type of projects.I also dont see the need for aircon ints.Our current ints are already good enough and are better than other countries ones.U should see other countries ints/terminals.They are in even more terrible conditions yet they still dont get an upgrade.They should be the ones getting this type of upgrades.
The govt. can consider giving more GST credits to my account. ![]()
Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:Boonlay interchange?
ii no see aircons lea
U will see soon.... ![]()
Well, at least I can understand what the 31 means. ![]()
i wonder what happened to the proposed joo koon ter?
would be good to amend 79, 193, 252, 254, 255 and 257 to terminate there. probably 79 and 193 would do a loop system like what it does in boon lay but this time round 79 will extend to joo koon and loop inside 252's joo koon circle segment while 193 will go from tuas to joo koon, changing shift for 193 can be done at joo koon instead. i presume there are less than 15 lots at the joo koon ter which estimates 5 services (185, 252, 254, 255 and 257, 79 and 193 to loop there) being able to PARK at joo koon ter and so i presume 185 can probably extend to joo koon ter as well. 252 should ply from joo koon - boon lay mrt (loop) with out going into boon lay interchange.
boon lay is currently overcrowded, my idea would increase joo koon's utilization and help ease boon lay's overcrowding.
boon lay needs change. change is good. ![]()
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:i wonder what happened to the proposed joo koon ter?
would be good to amend 79, 193, 252, 254, 255 and 257 to terminate there. probably 79 and 193 would do a loop system like what it does in boon lay but this time round 79 will extend to joo koon and loop inside 252's joo koon circle segment while 193 will go from tuas to joo koon, changing shift for 193 can be done at joo koon instead. i presume there are less than 15 lots at the joo koon ter which estimates 5 services (185, 252, 254, 255 and 257, 79 and 193 to loop there) being able to PARK at joo koon ter and so i presume 185 can probably extend to joo koon ter as well. 252 should ply from joo koon - boon lay mrt (loop) with out going into boon lay interchange.
boon lay is currently overcrowded, my idea would increase joo koon's utilization and help ease boon lay's overcrowding.
boon lay needs change. change is good.
why not u suggest to SBST ?
btw if boon lay int opens, joo koon ter should have been up too...
if not, very crowded =.= esp peak hrs
Joo Koon boarding point is tat bus stop leh
I think w/o upgrade and bus terminal is up, going to be havoc ![]()
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:i wonder what happened to the proposed joo koon ter?
there are 18 proposed lots of Joo Koon Terminal. Havent been there since the time before Joo Koon Stn opened.. not sure how's the progress now.. if there's any..
the wall poster of new Boon Lay aircon int put "coming your way 4th quarter 2009", not 3rd already
stix pasted on top of the word "3rd"
Originally posted by service_238:
there are 18 proposed lots of Joo Koon Terminal. Havent been there since the time before Joo Koon Stn opened.. not sure how's the progress now.. if there's any..
if this keeps delay, boon lay a/c int opening date may be postponed.
I prefer Sv 193 to stay at its current route and shorten 182 and 192 to Joo Koon instead. 251 can be consider shortened to Joo Koon also.
Also, for 254, it can consider starting from Tuas Terminal and loop at Joo Koon MRT so that Joo Koon term will not be too crowded while it can also utilise Tuas term.
Maybe Svcs 182, 185, 192, 251, 252, 255 and 257 can be relocated to Joo Koon Term while 254 can be amended to loop at Joo Koon from Tuas Term?
Cannot move so many svcs to joo koon's lor. I kinda presume a kind of (loop) for some svcs(due to limited parking at BNL). All these svcs need to serve from BNL cos of many factors like all feeders stop there. Those RC or wat would not allow them to move some of these svcs to Joo Koon. With the new int which is same as the former int, it should able to cope even better than the current temp one(cos more exits and bus parking split up).
Boon lay would still be the busiest in Sg. lol.
It seems SG's new or makeover interchanges are getting more compact! Maximising the landspace? yet bus services' frequency and riderships perceived to be increasing in the years to come. (For example, AMK)
There are always ppl who need to proceed to Boon Lay to transfer to connecting buses
Originally posted by Tident:It seems SG's new or makeover interchanges are getting more compact! Maximising the landspace? yet bus services' frequency and riderships perceived to be increasing in the years to come. (For example, AMK)
longer running time w/ higher traffic volume is one reason
Originally posted by Tident:It seems SG's new or makeover interchanges are getting more compact! Maximising the landspace? yet bus services' frequency and riderships perceived to be increasing in the years to come. (For example, AMK)
i find singapore bus frequency quite okay. infact most bus services frequency are getting better and better. unless is due to a breakdown, i'll understand.
deleted double post
Originally posted by SBS8131D:I prefer Sv 193 to stay at its current route and shorten 182 and 192 to Joo Koon instead. 251 can be consider shortened to Joo Koon also.
Also, for 254, it can consider starting from Tuas Terminal and loop at Joo Koon MRT so that Joo Koon term will not be too crowded while it can also utilise Tuas term.
Maybe Svcs 182, 185, 192, 251, 252, 255 and 257 can be relocated to Joo Koon Term while 254 can be amended to loop at Joo Koon from Tuas Term?
probably 185 can merge with 252?
The berth sign inside the interchange looks like the airport boarding berth.