In order to get myself into office every morning, I need to take MRT and transfer to bus after that. I found an interesting thing about the bus I am taking daily, they like to come in pair. You can wait for 15 even 20 minutes, and then, two buses of the same number come together.
Just wonder wthether it is the rule of SBS that buses must come out in pair.
Quite the opposite. In fact, buses sometimes have to drive slowly on purpose to make sure they do not bunch together.
is liddat one la, traffic conditions make the bad item.
<!-- /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0cm; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";} @page Section1 {size:612.0pt 792.0pt; margin:72.0pt 90.0pt 72.0pt 90.0pt; mso-header-margin:36.0pt; mso-footer-margin:36.0pt; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} -->
The bus stop I am waiting is just several stops away from the terminal. Once I saw a lady question the driver why the buses like to come together, the driver shake his hand and gave no answer.
bus 2 early? or mayb bc wan 2 do downroute?
This morning near Parkway bus stop 0932hrs within 3mins sv15:
SBS8492L , SBS983P , SBS2795C, SBS8496D...
steady boh?
wahaha. once at tpy int while i was waiting for sv88, there no bus at all. then suddenly 4 came... a lo3x, 9613/9614, 9842 and a b9 came in at the same time occupy 2 sv159 berth. lol.
but most of the time the bus comes almost the same time as the same service on the opposite side of the road (not true at sometimes though)
Originally posted by jaaze:but most of the time the bus comes almost the same time as the same service on the opposite side of the road (not true at sometimes though)
lame observation.
Svc 28 (SBS9135L,SBS131G) bunching at New Upper Changi Rd (Bedok Stn) everytime mondae to fridae, i always see it.
last time 7x 74 came together.. the for next 30mins, no more 74 came... zzzzz
Originally posted by 105090:last time 7x 74 came together.. the for next 30mins, no more 74 came... zzzzz
74 always like that. I've seen 1 74 just waiting to turn right to leave Hougang Central Interchange, another 74 entering the berth to fetch passengers already.
Today SMB54E keep following SMB65Z`s butt on 945 today. Not just 1 trip every trip !
what is annoying is that the bus at the back tries its very best to go like a turtle and forces itself to ebreak at traffic lights to delay.
and poor passengers for the rest of the journey's bus stops gotta squeeze inside the front bus although paying the same fare.
and the bus at the back will be freezing cold because theres basically no one in the bus. very very efficient.
cheap thrill ah...
Originally posted by Y_Shun:what is annoying is that the bus at the back tries its very best to go like a turtle and forces itself to ebreak at traffic lights to delay.
and poor passengers for the rest of the journey's bus stops gotta squeeze inside the front bus although paying the same fare.
and the bus at the back will be freezing cold because theres basically no one in the bus. very very efficient.
It's not like that in every case buses bunch.Just today,i took 1898X on 9 in the morning and the bus be4 this was 906M.Both buses were downroutes.1898X came less than 5 mins after 906M departed my blk bus stop.So as u all know,1898X had only abt 5-6 people throughout the journey until Simei and it even skipped some stops cuz 906M had picked up most of the passengers.The amazing thing of 1898X was that the BC sped like crazy and beat several red lights just by a inch.From the speed it was going,i knew that this bus was trying to catch up with 906M.But the funny thing is despite how fast and madly it rammed its engine and sped,it still didnt manage to catch up with 906M.It lost the race.![]()
Saw 4 of 74 DDs and SD came to NP bus stop within 1 - 2 mins.
Then, 3 of 184 bendies came togather at BPI. I was like sian diao when I waited at NP bus stop for 20 mins for a very crowded 184 sia.
why always got these stupid topics ah.
Originally posted by Merczrox:
It's not like that in every case buses bunch.Just today,i took 1898X on 9 in the morning and the bus be4 this was 906M.Both buses were downroutes.1898X came less than 5 mins after 906M departed my blk bus stop.So as u all know,1898X had only abt 5-6 people throughout the journey until Simei and it even skipped some stops cuz 906M had picked up most of the passengers.The amazing thing of 1898X was that the BC sped like crazy and beat several red lights just by a inch.From the speed it was going,i knew that this bus was trying to catch up with 906M.But the funny thing is despite how fast and madly it rammed its engine and sped,it still didnt manage to catch up with 906M.It lost the race.
how many people are there in singapore, and what are the times that you meet buses bunching compared to the rest of the 4million++people in Singapore deducting you?
Originally posted by jayh272416:lame observation.
why is it lame? it's just a coincidence of two buses approaching in opposite directions usually meet. and I have seen it for the umpteenth time on many different services. esp those with low freq. eg 20 mins..
there may be or may not be a reason to it.. the planning of freq on the other side may coincide.
Originally posted by Enjoy Reading:<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:Compatibility> <w:UseFELayout /> </w:Compatibility> <w:DoNotOptimizeForBrowser /> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--> <!-- /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0cm; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";} @page Section1 {size:612.0pt 792.0pt; margin:72.0pt 90.0pt 72.0pt 90.0pt; mso-header-margin:36.0pt; mso-footer-margin:36.0pt; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} -->
don't you guys know why bus bunch? basically every bus and every driver have different capabilities, some are lambat king, some are felari fei ji shi. it also depends on the demand. if your bus tio people and your bus really bad pickup like VSO, you have a higher chance of being behind schedule and the bus behind you picks up less people as the earlier bus gets later and later when he picks more and more, the later bus gets nearer and nearer the earlier bus and picks less people den bunch loh and den the bus behind the later bus will get more people and be behind schedule as the later bus gets ahead of schedule for picking up less people. it also depends on different things like sudden school dismissal or varied peak hour demand where demand at bus stops have sudden strange increases.
everyday i see at least 2-3 bunchups. that is when i'm outside for only 1 hour. half an hour to sch and back. nothing unusual, you try living in other countries where the frequencies are far worse at least 30mins. Singaporeans just have no patience.
Originally posted by TIB1234T:Saw 4 of 74 DDs and SD came to NP bus stop within 1 - 2 mins.
Then, 3 of 184 bendies came togather at BPI. I was like sian diao when I waited at NP bus stop for 20 mins for a very crowded 184 sia.
74's frequency for AM Peak towards Buona Vista is extremely good. Bus comes around 1 - 2 mins. That's why it keeps coming.
As for 184, it always happens in the morning. Cos the bus is packed to the doors from Bukit Panjang to SIM, then it gets empty all the way. So the buses can catch up speed with each other and then it gets packed again in Clementi MRT back to Ngee Ann Poly and BC speeds back to Bukit Panjang Int for a new trip.
SMRT doesnt want to do shortworking trip. If not, there will be 184A and 184B. I think they find it no point since there is not many people boarding anyway along SIM to Clementi MRT and Ngee Ann Poly to Bukit Panjang in the morning. =)
Originally posted by Junyang700:
As for 184, it always happens in the morning. Cos the bus is packed to the doors from Bukit Panjang to SIM, then it gets empty all the way. So the buses can catch up speed with each other and then it gets packed again in Clementi MRT back to Ngee Ann Poly and BC speeds back to Bukit Panjang Int for a new trip.
SMRT doesnt want to do shortworking trip. If not, there will be 184A and 184B. I think they find it no point since there is not many people boarding anyway along SIM to Clementi MRT and Ngee Ann Poly to Bukit Panjang in the morning. =)
Last time got 184A (BPI - NP) during AM Peak but withdrawn after right turn from Clementi Rd was closed for the new flyover
Often is Habit doing 184A & bus went all the way to os Blk 73 same as then 74A
well, if the bus started early, but every bus stop have to stop to take in passenger and let them alight then it is very comman that the bus which set off later would catch up due to lesser commuter. It is a very well known common knowlegde.
So if I waited very long and a crowded bus come, I would wait an extra 5 minutes for the next to arrive... which is usually less crowded.