Originally posted by Superbus:Intensive period for Scania's city bus sales - Scania's official press release
Scania has received several large order for city buses in recent months. A total of 460 buses will be delivered to Singapore, Australia and Great Britain. Good environmental and fuel performance as well as high vehicle and service quality were crucial factors behind the choice of Scania as a bus supplier.
The single largest order is from Singapore, where operator SBS transit has ordered 200 more buses for delivery between November 2009 and May 2010. Since 2007, SBS Transit has ordered a total of 1,100 city buses from Scania, making the company one of Scania's biggest bus customers in the world today.
oh my... another 200 Euro Vs ? to replace MK3
sooner or later SBST single deck buses will only consist of 1000+ similar scania k230ub models as well as small number of volvos
merc buses r walking into sbst history.....
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:The Elbos are the worst failures, followed by Scania L113CRL (SMRT). These 2 models though younger than the MBO405, already looked so haggard and the engines seemed to be in poorer condition.
In the 1st place the elbos were not meant to be aircon buses. Tibs converted them in 2001 so as to achieve an entire fac fleet. Elbos had not even reach 15 yrs lifespan yet go on layup already lolx.
So far the 0405s r the most reliable smrt buses on the road, but sad to say tat doesn't include the bendies.
Umw lances is another of smrt's fleet which r poorly maintained as well, and if i m not wrong there were also lances like 931X n 936H tat ever caught fire n was deregistered in the early days?
lol when mkiv's die sbst will buy scanias again?
Originally posted by azharjj:oh my... another 200 Euro Vs ? to replace MK3
Possible.
900 euro 5s just nice to replace all mercs and crbs. Another 200 euro 5 means mk3s be the next in line to go off.
The 150 volvo DDs likely to replace either lo3x or vo2x.
Originally posted by fireice rox:The front absorbed all the impact from the accident. Speed and the force plays a part too. Normally during an rear-end collision, the vehicle at the back would suffer the most damage
yes. not forgetting that a bendy is heavier than a rigid bus, and that the former is likely stationary or negative velocity. it speaks a lot when it comes to law of conservation of momentum....
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:I believe in majority of accidents, the extent of damage is due to the impact of collusion and not so on the bodywork. Speed, amount of force, size & type of vehicles involved in collusion, road conditions etc.
For modern buses which are made up of more fibreglass components instead of metal, it helps to reduce capital cost, dead weight of the bus and hence greater fuel economy.
Our Habits uses fibreglass panels too, but why can they withstand impacts so much better?
The trick lies in the structure, not the panels that covers the structure. The framework is what supports and made up of, a bodywork. The fibreglass panels are merely cosmetic parts that cover up the bus, much like the difference between bones and skins.
Most modern bodywork used aluminium as their structure material. Depending on the aluminium alloy, their strength varies. There are 2xxx, 3xxx, 6xxx, 7xxx etc. series of alloys, all with their unique strength and properties. Pure aluminium is too weak. My school's Engineering workshop ever used a pure aluminium sheet. Its abt 5mm thick. I can dent it by just punching hard with my fist. Aluminium is a SUPER poor impact resistor. It cannot withstand hard impacts. I shan't go further into this, later become too cheem.
Hispano Habit, however, uses steel (or stainless steel) as their structure materials (according to product pdf. file). Steel is extremely hardy when it comes to resisting impacts. However its main drawback is its weight. Steel has higher yield point (the point where metal fails under constant strain) compared to aluminum. It has a unique bending properties too.
I still trust a Habit, as its bodywork is tested with accordance to EU safety standards (including rollover tests).
Just wondering which regoes will SBST use for the registering of these new buses?
Hope to see those 8**4 gaps filled, or maybe those unused regoes like SBS2839K - SBS2987R (except SBS2888T), or even SBS3923T - SBS3999A can be used too.
The Volvo DDs should be using SBS7500D onwards for sure.
Originally posted by SBS8258Y:sooner or later SBST single deck buses will only consist of 1000+ similar scania k230ub models as well as small number of volvos
merc buses r walking into sbst history.....
Oh no , 1100 scania k230ub
Originally posted by Bus and Train LoVuR:Oh no , 1100 scania k230ub
Yeah, and should Scania go bust (Which shouldn't happen), SBST will be stuck with 1100 buses with no spare parts available, then need to cannibalise ^_^
Seriously, 1100 KUBs?
Originally posted by Raraken:Yeah, and should Scania go bust (Which shouldn't happen), SBST will be stuck with 1100 buses with no spare parts available, then need to cannibalise ^_^
Seriously, 1100 KUBs?
Buy frm OEM distributor lor. If Scania go burst, i think merc, volvo going to close down 1st. Somemore, scania nearly bought over MAN.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Buy frm OEM distributor lor. If Scania go burst, i think merc, volvo going to close down 1st. Somemore, scania nearly bought over MAN.
Roflmao.
It's the other way around
MAN nearly bought over Scania AB but it wasn't allowed.
edit: And just to addon, Volvo nearly took over Scania too.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Buy frm OEM distributor lor. If Scania go burst, i think merc, volvo going to close down 1st. Somemore, scania nearly bought over MAN.
await more flame posts below.
From what I can gather, Comfort DelGro have a disliking for manufacturers who use Selective Catalytic Reduction in their engines in order to meet Euro 4/5/EEV. In Australia, Comfort DelGro Cabcharge's (CDC) largest operation, Westbus/Hillsbus in Sydney's west is purchasing only Scania buses with Exhaust Gas Recirculation (coincidence perhaps?). I believe that CDC do not wish to invest in AdBlue refuelling infrastructure, even though a Mercedes-Benz OC 500 LE consumes over 10L less diesel per 100km than a Scania K230UB. While the Mercedes-Benz chassis is more expensive than the Scania chassis and the engines require AdBlue, the ~20% lower diesel consumption equates to significant savings over the lifetime of each vehicle. In addition, the SCR concept allows for a better performing, cooler running engine, extending engine life and service intervals.
Regards,
Dave
Originally posted by n4l:edit: And just to addon, Volvo nearly took over Scania too.
And is now owned by VW.
Originally posted by n4l:Roflmao.
It's the other way around
MAN nearly bought over Scania AB but it wasn't allowed.
edit: And just to addon, Volvo nearly took over Scania too.
oh paiseh.. I apologize for the wrong info stated above. It is the other way round but there were dispute in between the transactions and end up the transaction fail. Scania actually want to buy GM Powertrain production plant instead.
But Scania now obtained more sales in Asia, but MAN faces decline in their sales.
Originally posted by .SBS9888Y.:await more flame posts below.
I guess only childish and ppl with low EQ does that..
Originally posted by Raraken:Yeah, and should Scania go bust (Which shouldn't happen), SBST will be stuck with 1100 buses with no spare parts available, then need to cannibalise ^_^
Seriously, 1100 KUBs?
haha.
Originally posted by Superbus:1. Gemilang is ONE of the major coachwork company. But certainly not for most of the express buses shuttling regularly between Singapore and Malaysia. SKSbus-made coaches has more units running than Gemilang.
2. I would like to see some factual evidence to back up your alleged claims that the citybus bodywork design by Gemilang is less durable than the express coach bodywork design. Please do not quote statements based on your visual assessments or observations, but rather from the technical aspect of the structural design itself.
Luckily sgbuses helped me by backing up with that pic of that 'famous' 8074K accident.So looking at that pic,that damage is pretty little for u eh?Almost the whole head is gone.Honestly to say,TIB1138M is the bus which shld have suffered the most damage as it was rammed in the rear which is the most vital part for it since it's engine is located there.And amazingly,TIB1138M got repaired faster and came out faster then this bus all thanks to the experience of SMRT and not to mention the strong solid body of a famous European bodywork.This stupid bus just a small ram and the whole head is torn open so easily like a plastic taperware.So just imagine.If 900 of this type of accidents had happened,would u still be backing up for ur gemilang?
Thanks to sgbuses for the help anyway.Greatly appreciate it.
Originally posted by jayh272416:yup. u see SBS8074K. one bang and its out for X months, X nearly hitting the double digits.
Wat else do u expect when a super solid European bodywork clashes with a lousy piece of shit plastic type of bodywork?U saw the answer urself in the accident.
Originally posted by Scania:Because my favourite bus was the N113CRBs.
I know.I was just joking.
Originally posted by Merczrox:
Luckily sgbuses helped me by backing up with that pic of that 'famous' 8074K accident.So looking at that pic,that damage is pretty little for u eh?Almost the whole head is gone.Honestly to say,TIB1138M is the bus which shld have suffered the most damage as it was rammed in the rear which is the most vital part for it since it's engine is located there.And amazingly,TIB1138M got repaired faster and came out faster then this bus all thanks to the experience of SMRT and not to mention the strong solid body of a famous European bodywork.This stupid bus just a small ram and the whole head is torn open so easily like a plastic taperware.So just imagine.If 900 of this type of accidents had happened,would u still be backing up for ur gemilang?
even if another habit hit TIB1138M the same way at same speed, the habit will have suffer the same damage as SBS8074K. The back part of the habit is the engine portion.. and any bus travelling at 50km hit suddenly onto another bus will suffer severe damage. And for SBS8074K, the fire fighters have CUT OUT the front part of the bus to rescue the BC. the actual damage is not that severe. pls go and read through the archive first.
Originally posted by Merczrox:
Has it occur to anyone here that the reason for the damage might due to the structure of the low floor chassis that might cause it to "dive" beyond a higher chassis platform, which causes the frontal damage to be more prominent??? This causes the front part of the chassis of a low floor bus to diverge below another chassis which has a higher platform, hence cause more substaintial frontal damage. Moreover a moving object tends to sustain higher damages when hitting a stationary object, because of the impact forces. Think about it.
Sadly to say this kind of automobile bodywork technology has already existant in modern cars already and is tested and proven. To bus operators, it helps to reduce weight and hence reduce fuel consumption. Drawback is that a more sustaintial damage is inevitable because structure is used for impact forces absorption. Impact absorption is the key to modern automobile bodywork in the modern automobile technology era. Has it ever ocurred to you all that despite the bus having suffered from that degree of damage, the bus captain only suffer a broken leg, instead of being killed at such levels of frontal damage???
Thus it is not just the 900 KUBs that will have this kind of problem as well, but the 133 OCs as well, as they all use Gemilang bodyworks. There is nothing much we can really do since our local GLC linked bus operators wants to choose Malaysian bodyworks as their bus body builders, in order of gaining higher profitabiliy, rather than the well being of the general public. Rather than just arguing here, wwhy not to give your feedback to SBST and SMRT instead on why they choose Gemilang???
If you look at China automobiles, it would be much more worse. Look at the crash tests of China cars, it will really scare many people. But at least the bus has been duly repaired and back on service now instead of being scrapped, after the period of necessary and responsible investigation, instead of sub standard repairing works and back to service without much proper tests for assurance.
Originally posted by lemon1974:even if another habit hit TIB1138M the same way at same speed, the habit will have suffer the same damage as SBS8074K. The back part of the habit is the engine portion.. and any bus travelling at 50km hit suddenly onto another bus will suffer severe damage. And for SBS8074K, the fire fighters have CUT OUT the front part of the bus to rescue the BC. the actual damage is not that severe. pls go and read through the archive first.
Such kinds of accidents won't have happened if not for SMRTB's demanding runtime schedules which causes drivers to speed or/and driving recklessly in order to be on time for the timetables.
Seriously, 1100 KUBs?
SBST has got to have 100% confidence that the new buses are flawless to have such a large continuous order.
While fleet commonality has its advantages, putting everything into one or a few baskets has its associated risks.
For a manufacturer to close down, that isn't the worst-case scenario. Heaven forbid if any accident or fault discovered results in a parts recall.
In 2004, all Citaro G bendies in London are ordered off the road when a faulty part was discovered resulting in the buses going up in flames "for no apparent reason". At one time, SMRT's entire C751B fleet was forced off service for months to be inspected due to a faulty gearbox.
No need for me to tell you what happens if a PTO loses half its entire operating fleet.
Adding on to Bendies off the road in london > politics
CDG buying more Scania, volvos > Swedish
is tt somethin to do with our submarine purchase/tech tfr[mayb] from kockums[Swedish] > my 2c worth