Originally posted by TIB657M:When did TIBS take over Yishun, Woodlands and North East-bound services?
TIBS was the main suplier of bus services in yishun during 1983, when there was no bus service there before 1983.
As for Woodlands and North East bounds, Woodlands is in 1983 (the original suplier there is SBS like SBS introduced 372(the current 903)on 7 Feb 1982) .
The north eastern bound buses were taken over in 1995 but when SBS win the bid to operate NEL, the north eastern buses were handed back to SBS in late 1999.
Originally posted by Gus.chong:
Yes. But remember that they are not Park Services in the first place.
eh, i don't think he mentioned that they were parks services, right?
or you assumed that he's making a link to parks services?
There was no parks service back then when 410 was introduced.
agreed. i think they were just going by the sequence after 390 was introduced..
Originally posted by ^tamago^:eh, i don't think he mentioned that they were parks services, right?
or you assumed that he's making a link to parks services?
no. I mean, the four services were not park services even though they were numbered 40x or something. Because once before TIB657M told that why 410 must be 410 and not 2xx or 3xx since it was a townlink service since 40x is meant for park service (but there were no parks service when 410 is introduced!) , and im afraid that you might make the same mistake so i write that statement. hope that you wont mind it.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:agreed. i think they were just going by the sequence after 390 was introduced..
can you explain to me this fully?
Originally posted by service_238:how come the topic of past depot and deployment became Routes of the past?
hey. the title also say is "Past bus routes and deployment."
Originally posted by ^tamago^:agreed. i think they were just going by the sequence after 390 was introduced..
Perhaps it's because since 4xx series routes were all special services, and "townlink" services were relative "special" at that time since it's a new concept, they numbered it something in the 4xx series?
no. I mean, the four services were not park services even though they were numbered 40x or something. Because once before TIB657M told that why 410 must be 410 and not 2xx or 3xx since it was a townlink service since 40x is meant for park service (but there were no parks service when 410 is introduced!) , and im afraid that you might make the same mistake so i write that statement. hope that you wont mind it.
but he never asked if they were parks services or not!
Originally posted by n4l:Perhaps it's because since 4xx series routes were all special services, and "townlink" services were relative "special" at that time since it's a new concept, they numbered it something in the 4xx series?
maybe. or was it then when they wanted to re-introduced a feeder service are giving up 353, the series was already in use by Pasir Ris so they went for the next highest ten, which was 41x?
can you explain to me this fully?
I believe he meant that 410 was chosen as it was the next sequence of numbers which was available. Notice that the pattern for feeder service numbers were like this:
22x - Bedok, 23x - Toa Payoh, 24x, 25x - Jurong, 26x - Ang Mo Kio....and the list goes on with existing services already having numbers between 27x - 40x. So, 410 was chosen for the new feeder service number as it was the next sequence in line.
Originally, the 40x series were reserved for special services which operates only on Sundays & PH. In addition, the 30x series were for Blue Arrow services.
Originally posted by Khairiano:heard from my uncle...
there were 3 Holiday Special service in Jurong
- Service 404
- Service 405
- Service 406
and 1 SAFTI service special
- Service 450
Service 404 ran from Jurong Int to Science Centre
Service 405 ran from Jurong Int to Jurong Bird Park
Service 406 ran from Jurong Int to Chinese & Japanese Garden
Service 450 ran from Jurong Int to SAFTI (Flat Fare 30cents)
Is it true?
Yesh.
Take note tat SAFTI is today's Pasir Laba Camp.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:maybe. or was it then when they wanted to re-introduced a feeder service are giving up 353, the series was already in use by Pasir Ris so they went for the next highest ten, which was 41x?
If I am not wrong:
the 22X series is in Bedok, the 29X series is in Tampines, and the 35x series belongs to pasir ris.
AMK-Wise would be the 26x series.
Actually 219, 22X was Bedok. 23X Toa Payoh. 24X Jurong Int, 25X Jurong Ind, 26X Ang Mo Kio, 27X Bt Merah, 28X Clementi, 29X Tampines, 30X Choa Chu Kang, 31X Serangoon (Weirdo 217), 32X Hougang, 33X Jurong East/ West (1980s), 34X Bt Panjang, 35X Pasir Ris, 36X Bt Batok, 37X Woodlands, 38X Eunos/ Ubi, 390 Airport, 400 Special Svs, 410 Bishan lor.
Originally posted by One Harmonius Blend:
and the 35x series belongs to pasir ris.
Thats the point he is making. 353 was a Bishan route from Sin Ming Terminal to Bishan St 31 (now Shunfu Rd). This was then absorbed into a new route, 57. Then 57 was amended to become Townlink 410, the first ever townlink, which really differs from what most people think of townlink services now (ie MUST pass through town centre).
Originally posted by sbst275:Actually 219, 22X was Bedok. 23X Toa Payoh. 24X Jurong Int, 25X Jurong Ind, 26X Ang Mo Kio, 27X Bt Merah, 28X Clementi, 29X Tampines, 30X Choa Chu Kang, 31X Serangoon (Weirdo 217), 32X Hougang, 33X Jurong East/ West (1980s), 34X Bt Panjang, 35X Pasir Ris, 36X Bt Batok, 37X Woodlands, 38X Eunos/ Ubi, 390 Airport, 400 Special Svs, 410 Bishan lor.
the 36X series does not exist anymore, the 37x series is only in Sengkang. Along with the 38x, But the 30x series belongs to CCK.
Originally posted by Khairiano:heard from my uncle...
there were 3 Holiday Special service in Jurong
- Service 404
- Service 405
- Service 406
and 1 SAFTI service special
- Service 450
Service 404 ran from Jurong Int to Science Centre
Service 405 ran from Jurong Int to Jurong Bird Park
Service 406 ran from Jurong Int to Chinese & Japanese Garden
Service 450 ran from Jurong Int to SAFTI (Flat Fare 30cents)
Is it true?
officially they are known as recreational series services or the 40x services
Originally posted by Scania:Thats the point he is making. 353 was a Bishan route from Sin Ming Terminal to Bishan St 31 (now Shunfu Rd). This was then absorbed into a new route, 57. Then 57 was amended to become Townlink 410, the first ever townlink, which really differs from what most people think of townlink services now (ie MUST pass through town centre).
35x orginaly belong to Bishan
Originally posted by SBS 1000U:
Where is MacPherson bus terminal?
Beside the Food Centre
if i not wrong was Blk 79
Last checked the foody centre under huge renovations.
Bus terminal parking spaces still exist.
Originally posted by SBS725T:I was browsing through some blogs with old images of Singapore and i came upon this:
I checked it with the current map(s) and apparently the old SBS Woodlands Depot is now where Kranji MRT Station stands. I wish to enquire more about this depot. Does this depot controls Svc 170 fleet in the past?
Good job
SBS woodlands depot house the SBS3xxx bsues.
Svc 170 uses 3xxx series indeed.
--story from fren
Svc 170 trips sometimes go into the depot to refuel.
Some even went to the workshop area to fix advertisements. imagine paxs still onbaord and the mechanics banging the bus side with hammers to fix a advertisement
fun fun fun
always a chance to visit the depot in such situations.
--
ZYX
Originally posted by sbst275:Actually 219, 22X was Bedok. 23X Toa Payoh. 24X Jurong Int, 25X Jurong Ind, 26X Ang Mo Kio, 27X Bt Merah, 28X Clementi, 29X Tampines, 30X Choa Chu Kang, 31X Serangoon (Weirdo 217), 32X Hougang, 33X Jurong East/ West (1980s), 34X Bt Panjang, 35X Pasir Ris, 36X Bt Batok, 37X Woodlands, 38X Eunos/ Ubi, 390 Airport, 400 Special Svs, 410 Bishan lor.
Speaking about 217 - that was when feeders fell into the 21x group, 210-218. However, for 217, it was the only living legacy of the 21x feeders with the original number retained despite the re-routing of the service to Serangoon Int until it was renumbered as 317.
TAKEOVER OF BUS SERVICES
1983 SBS -> TIBS (i did mention this before but i'll repost again here)
3 Apr 1983: 160, 167
8 May 1983: 161, 164
5 Jun 1983: 169
10 Jul 1983: 178, 204, 208
7 Aug 1983: 180, 182
4 Sep 1983: 181
9 Oct 1983: 372
1995 SBS -> TIBS
2 Jul 1995: 177, 179, 184
6 Aug 1995: 75, 343, 344
17 Sep 1995: 5, 187
1 Oct 1995: 176
5 Nov 1995: 171
17 Dec 1995: 59, 82, 103, 163, 214E, 214W
1999 SBS -> TIBS (CCK) / TIBS -> SBS (SKG/PGL)
25 Jul 1999: 190 (SBS -> TIBS) ; 864, 865, 866 (TIBS -> SBS)
29 Aug 1999: 185, 300, 302, 307 (SBS -> TIBS) ; 82 (TIBS -> SBS)
26 Dec 1999: 67, 172, 175, 188 (SBS -> TIBS) ; 103, 163, 820, 821(TIBS -> SBS)
2000 SBS -> TIBS
18 Jun 2000 : 77, 189, 361,365, 367
3 Sep 2000: 61
24 Dec 2000: 106, 173
Originally posted by Scania:Thats the point he is making. 353 was a Bishan route from Sin Ming Terminal to Bishan St 31 (now Shunfu Rd). This was then absorbed into a new route, 57. Then 57 was amended to become Townlink 410, the first ever townlink, which really differs from what most people think of townlink services now (ie MUST pass through town centre).
But dun forget it's possible tat the decision of not to re-use 35X prefix for this case is probably over e diff interchange location.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:Beside the Food Centre
if i not wrong was Blk 79
Last checked the foody centre under huge renovations.
Bus terminal parking spaces still exist.
reopened riao.
e parking bay now become head in parking bay
Originally posted by SBS8533C:
Speaking about 217 - that was when feeders fell into the 21x group, 210-218. However, for 217, it was the only living legacy of the 21x feeders with the original number retained despite the re-routing of the service to Serangoon Int until it was renumbered as 317.
I remembered 212 was for SP.
That 21X prefix was used for Changi Village, Marine Parade if I did remember.