oo..awesome bus!! ... so when does it starts operating?? Which service can i catch it on??
Next Tues, 855.
Originally posted by sgbuses:"Will ply various trunk and feeder routes" = cameos often
BEST Choice Choosen :)
Yishun snatch many 1st events..
1st HDB town to be served by Tibs in the late 1980s.. despite ex-SBS 160, 161, 164, 169 serves chong pang area. and W'lands was handover so not counted.
Wonder why SBS didnt want to serve Yishun at that time, I cant imagine how many svc will yishun have now if not them. n of cos those DD bus.. hehe
1st Bendy Bus launch in Yishun in 1995 (Svc 171)
Now 1st Citaro Bus launch in Yishun as well.. ( Svc 855)
I was expecting it on svc 851 =X cos it goes town area and can show-off to tourist? haha
Originally posted by TIB1010Y:Yishun snatch many 1st events..
1st HDB town to be served by Tibs in the late 1980s.. despite ex-SBS 160, 161, 164, 169 serves chong pang area. and W'lands was handover so not counted.
Wonder why SBS didnt want to serve Yishun at that time, I cant imagine how many svc will yishun have now if not them. n of cos those DD bus.. hehe
I was expecting it on svc 851 =X cos it goes town area and can show-off to tourist? haha
Not to forget the Yutong. XD
Anyway know where to buy the Citaro toy bus in Singapore? I used to saw it but cant rmb where. I got the HK version of Dennis Trident. Need help to paint the SBS livery
1st Bendy was in 1996. Svc 171.
Originally posted by TIB1010Y:Anyway know where to buy the Citaro toy bus in Singapore? I used to saw it but cant rmb where. I got the HK version of Dennis Trident. Need help to paint the SBS livery
You can check it out at Toys R us.
Anyway, Ahjack77 and I were along Lentor Ave this afternoon when we saw the Citaro passing opposite us!
In the bus there were lots of BCs. Route familiarisation? EDS was 'SMRT BUSES', big big one.
Originally posted by SBS2692R:Anyway, Ahjack77 and I were along Lentor Ave this afternoon when we saw the Citaro passing opposite us!
In the bus there were lots of BCs. Route familiarisation? EDS was 'SMRT BUSES', big big one.
Bus familiarisation would sound more appropriate
Add In:
1st Scania L113CRL [ELBO] "low-floor" bus launch in yishun in 1996 (Svc 851).
straitstime mention that this bus cost S$430 000......S$70 000 more than the OC....
I've knew it. The bus is meant for SMRT. Never failed to look at C& C when I take a bus that pass by there. Teh design is Superb!!!!!! Can't wait can't wait can't wait.
SMRT Buses is the greatest bus company that always keeps up with the world. Kudos to SMRT.
Anyone knows where I can see a better view pic of the bus??
how fast people's view of SMRT changes. just a few years back people were bitching about SMRT not maintaining their bus division and their buses and cleaniness and a mistake to merge TIBS with SMRT.
im also mystified by the newspaper reports.
"Depending on passenger feedback after the trial, SMRT may import more Citaros to replace its older models or to expand its 130-strong fleet."
sad that they only consider SMB series buses as their fleet and the TIB series as the "older models"...
Originally posted by TIB1083L:how fast people's view of SMRT changes. just a few years back people were bitching about SMRT not maintaining their bus division and their buses and cleaniness and a mistake to merge TIBS with SMRT.
Poor frequency & delays were a common occurrence.. example dusty seats on Habit bendys, serice 190, 700,960 poor frequency etc,.
Still got one more... Hino (TIB905Y) was first placed on 854.
When TIBS was formed in July 1982 by the SSB firm (operations commenced on 3 Apr 1983), its aim was to serve the northern part of Singapore (i.e. Woodlands, Sembawang & upcoming town of Yishun)
Originally posted by SMB66X:Yishun/Khatib is a green environmental place? Have OCs, Yutong, Citaro and Scania
You mean SBST Scania KUBs?
Originally posted by SBS8533C:
Still got one more... Hino (TIB905Y) was first placed on 854.
When TIBS was formed in July 1982 by the SSB firm (operations commenced on 3 Apr 1983), its aim was to serve the northern part of Singapore (i.e. Woodlands, Sembawang & upcoming town of Yishun)
Later Tibs responsibility expanded to include BPJ, SKG and PGL in 1995. Later on in 1999, SBS(T) won NEL tender and the great swap happened. Everything else is history.
Originally posted by wsy1234:
Citaro G? I prefer the NG313 or K310UA.
If 169 return to SBST hands confirm will tio B9TL perm.
It's the workers who let the company image down. I may go into a rant bout this but i'm telling this from honest opinion and observation. Bus drivers on same service not co-operating with each other to maintain frequency, resulting in delays.
For example, if you have 4 buses in a service running at 10 mins frequency and 3 of the buses 'run (chiong)' and reach destination very early, you can expect the remainder bus which stick to schedule to suffer the worst load. There are a few feeders where this happens. I once took a bus which broke down and the bus behind it refused to pick up the affected passengers. To make matters worse, there's lots of space in the bus. I hope SMRT can just reprimand these drivers to stick to schedule.
Also, there are drivers which dun care about time. Take their own sweet time to reach destination resulting in bunchup and delays. This is what i don't like about some SMRT services.
About the Citaro, the bus would give SMRT a good image that they CARE for passenger safety and not only cost. See this, SBST bought Scanias which were cheap but did gave a few issues to passengers. They didn't accept the OC demostrater for the expensive cost. SMRT buy OCs because they are good buses, though expensive in cost but at least they are buying quality product. You compare the OCs and KUBs. You will see the big difference. Also, SMRT took the initiative to refurb the DAFs and Scanias which recieved lots of complaints over the years. The addition of Citaro will let SBST see that sometimes, you have to sacrifice cost for customer satisfaction.
That said, however, getting a bus like the Citaro will not fully give SMRT a general good image where operations are concerned. SMRT should look into tightening up their service frequencies and reprimand drivers if they don't follow company rules and commit offences like being too early at the destination point and so on.
SBST buses....not even the MIIIs have cobwebs all over the ceiling.
I don't care if the MKIII can be such a slow-poke, but I certainly prefer it to the dirty bendies.
Talk about bunching, even their night buses can do that. Don't tell me there's traffic jam at night.
Originally posted by tintinspartan:It's the workers who let the company image down. I may go into a rant bout this but i'm telling this from honest opinion and observation. Bus drivers on same service not co-operating with each other to maintain frequency, resulting in delays.
Also, there are drivers which dun care about time. Take their own sweet time to reach destination resulting in bunchup and delays. This is what i don't like about some SMRT services
bunch-up often occurs when theres traffic jam, and that's beyond our control
Ever heard of downroute before?
Originally posted by iveco:You mean SBST Scania KUBs?
Yes.