Originally posted by vicamour:
Why bother to argue with these people???It is already obvious that they merely support the company just because they buy better buses, not providing better services. Simply shallow minded. And disregrding the "old TIBS" buses in their fleet simply irks me on this company even further. If not for TIBS bus, would SMRTB be what it is today??? "130 strong fleet", so the rest of the 600 odd buses are "trash" and not part of the SMRTB fleet??? Never mind, not commenting any further, or else these fan boys will continue their mindless reasonings again.
And yes, I waited 40 mins for 961 along Woodlands Road last week, evening peak. Really, that's called "good service" to you all.
from the moment you came into the bus forum, i have yet to see any non-derogative comments from you.
you has seriously neglected that SMRTB is still a company, a transport operator who still provide a service to the commuters. you don't predict bus fans likes SMRT because of their buses, and SBST because they provide good services. but because both companies are transport operators which should aim at providing services and related services, and for bus fans to like it can be as simple as because of 1 transport operator that only operates buses around their vicinity that as bus fans it plays a part to liking that service or the company since they have grown up taking buses from the service/company.
at least via complaints does a transport operator become better, and even better if the transport operators takes the initiative even before they receive the complaints. SBST and SMRTB doesn't really take the initiative. before you say about the bad points of SMRT, why not talk about the same thing for SBST? do take note im only using examples to illustrate, and i have no intention to rant on these services nor do i want to use this to judge which is the better transport operator because i find that there's no need to.
i have ever waited for 45 minutes at the city area for a 162 to come. during peak hours even. it fails terribly to see the bus being jammed packed with passengers and with passengers not being able to board. that's not all, as a near-daily commuter of 162, i have yet to see any visible improvement of its frequency. i can wait up from 10 - 35 minutes for 1 bus till the end of peak hours and with this sort of frequency even during off-peak, its not only because of the jams, but also the neglection.
how about taking another service as an example? service 132. another service with not much, if not no improvement to its frequency for the past decade that i've been taking it. i have ever waited from 15 - 35 minutes per bus during peak hours. and some of these buses would have been quite full already. during off-peak its frequency can sometimes be very bad also. i have ever waited for much longer than the maximum 16 minutes frequency during off peaks. how to justify this sort of frequency when there's no jams in most part of the roads it goes to during off-peak. even if there is, the jams had been quite minor and 132 can easily go past the jams within a few minutes.
for SMRTB, i can wait for 985 for 20-30 minutes during peak hours and around 20 minutes even during off-peak hours. 985 can be quite full even during peak hours. at some point of time, its full to the entrance. its the fastest way to get to bukit batok from toa payoh via bus. not to mentioned there may be jams up on the expressway which makes the frequency worse and lesser chance to get up on the bus.
a few other SMRTB services share the same kind of frequency, like 178, 852, though i waited lesser for these two. around 18-25 minutes for them during peak hours at most. off peak hours is much better at around 15-20 minutes. however for these two services i still have a chance to get up on the bus and sometimes find myself a seat at the same time even during peak hours. also, both services are also jammed quite a bit during peak hours. nonetheless, the few services that i've waited the longest and with the longest frequency comes from SBST.
the services and buses of SBST and SMRTB has their good and bad points, but im not affected by the bad points but rather the good points? why? they are still the service provider, and we pay for these services. though we have the right not to take their services if some people thinks the services or buses is bad (maybe due to personal preferences for some), we can also complain to the relevant transport operator about the services or buses in query to improve them. we shouldn't condemn the relevant transport operators just because of the quality the provide because the passengers and the company themselves helps to improve them further. i don't. but you, you, along with a few other bus fans here condemn SMRT for such a service they provide. and for most of your (not theirs, theirs is lesser) comments in the bus forum it has been like this.
and in bold, kindly don't call others fan boys. you may say this because you have not meet any bus fans before. even if you have heard hearsay about the bus fans in general, its not enough for you to call them fan boys. it is very rude, and if you haven't realised it, you are generalising most bus fans as fan boys, when most of us aren't. if you have meet bus fans in bulk before and ever interacted with them before saying that they are fan boys, then i have nothing else to say about this. though there may be more and more younger bus fans joining this hobby, im hoping that you are not generalising us as fan boys because of the age factor, if you are, sorry to say, as an adult, you are disgracing yourself here.
this is not a rant zone. not for you to rant and rant about others, or to post complains from the complaints you hear from your friend (as what you said last year from your first few posts). you in your first post you made last year have commented others not to judge a bus company by their standards. and yet you are already doing that in your post here, as with most of the replies with similar contents you have posted in other topics. i hope you can reflect on what you are saying now, the comments you said about SMRTB in the other topics with what you have said in your first few posts.
Originally posted by BusSpeeder:and in bold, kindly don't call others fan boys. you may say this because you have not meet any bus fans before. even if you have heard hearsay about the bus fans in general, its not enough for you to call them fan boys. it is very rude, and if you haven't realised it, you are generalising most bus fans as fan boys, when most of us aren't. if you have meet bus fans in bulk before and ever interacted with them before saying that they are fan boys, then i have nothing else to say about this. though there may be more and more younger bus fans joining this hobby, im hoping that you are not generalising us as fan boys because of the age factor, if you are, sorry to say, as an adult, you are disgracing yourself here.
He/she is a girl or a boy?
Originally posted by SMB66X:He/she is a girl or a boy?
someone told me that he felt like crying after reading your post..
Originally posted by SMB66X:He/she is a girl or a boy?
a boy. it is very obvious that most bus fans here are male. and since he said fan boys i used that in as an example.
Originally posted by Stage:
someone told me that he felt like crying after reading your post..
i have very long not posted in this forum ... but for the interest for this bus make i post
This merc is really a break through from the mundane K230 and 0C500LE bodywork...good work to SMRT to bring in something new (another is yutong).
The design is also good.... a flat entry for eldery to go to the back, often the front seats are filled and eldery is being forced to stand
the plug door is also a slight break from the normal style of plug'
also, the bodywork look so nice
hope that SMRT will maintain the bus in good condition
oooh. btw i saw 1209S on 190 today. the brownish parts of the livery is repainted back to its former glory. as goos as new. thats god to wsee (: well i take that back (:
Originally posted by SBS7485P:oooh. btw i saw 1209S on 190 today. the brownish parts of the livery is repainted back to its former glory. as goos as new. thats god to wsee (: well i take that back (:
is your keyboard ok. LOL
Originally posted by Ngweitong:so will there be any outings organised on coming tues? And does anyone have timings for citaro?
Aiyo, bus not out on revenue service still ask for timing? Do old fashioned way lah. Camp there for 2+ hours :P
Total journey time won't be that long, so don't think will have to wait 2+ hours.
Luckily coming out on Tuesday. If Wednesday, I will be sad, cos got Specs Course >.> 3 days of March Hols wasted.
Originally posted by Raraken:Aiyo, bus not out on revenue service still ask for timing? Do old fashioned way lah. Camp there for 2+ hours :P
Total journey time won't be that long, so don't think will have to wait 2+ hours.
Luckily coming out on Tuesday. If Wednesday, I will be sad, cos got Specs Course >.> 3 days of March Hols wasted.
3-4 Hour if you want to camp there. 2 Hour plus could be a little less. Yishun > Harbourfront = 1h 30mins(around...If I am not wrong) and Harbourfront > Yishun is also 1h 30mins(if I am not wrong). Plus Traffic, resting, bus stop could add up to 3hours 30mins or more/less.
Wow i am so lucky man.Particularly on tuesday,i finish at 1230pm.But i will always b dismissed ard 11am.My teacher very good one.Everytime let us go at 11am.Sometimes even at 1030am also.Haha..Me tyco..So on tat day,can catch the Citaro.But feel quite lazy to catch it also.Haha..
Originally posted by jayh272416:is your keyboard ok. LOL
??
Originally posted by Merczrox:Wow i am so lucky man.Particularly on tuesday,i finish at 1230pm.But i will always b dismissed ard 11am.My teacher very good one.Everytime let us go at 11am.Sometimes even at 1030am also.Haha..Me tyco..So on tat day,can catch the Citaro.But feel quite lazy to catch it also.Haha..
Hope you catch it!
Originally posted by Raraken:Aiyo, bus not out on revenue service still ask for timing? Do old fashioned way lah. Camp there for 2+ hours :P
you frm ncc huh? then gd luck for your spec course lor... better do well in your mutual...
so any of your camping? where and time? most probably i'll be going to harbourfront...
Originally posted by Ngweitong:so any of your camping? where and time? most probably i'll be going to harbourfront...
I am camping @ Yishun Bus Interchange. Time is in the morning. If Citaro not on service, would sms to SMB92U(where he camp @ harbourfront) and then I would go camp for Yutong.
Is it really confirm svc 855?? if yes. Dun mind wasting my fare to go Yishun and wait...... Huhuhu...
Originally posted by khai_babaiyi:Is it really confirm svc 855?? if yes. Dun mind wasting my fare to go Yishun and wait...... Huhuhu...
If Citaro not on 855 on that day, can still take Yutong what :)
Hahaha. Well, Yutong. Hmm. Tried already. But dun mind taking it again if its there. Hahahahahahha...I
Originally posted by SMB66X:I am camping @ Yishun Bus Interchange. Time is in the morning. If Citaro not on service, would sms to SMB92U(where he camp @ harbourfront) and then I would go camp for Yutong.
good idea... i shall go to yishun maybe... i have not tried yutong yet
Originally posted by Ngweitong:so will there be any outings organised on coming tues? And does anyone have timings for citaro?
Maybe can check back what time SMB1H started revenue? Should be approximately same time. But as what some fans said, camping there would be useful.
Unable to camp with all, got lots of shit uncleared, thanks to my colleague, sianz.
Cheers.
One thing for sure, the Citaro is a move for a better accessibility in public transport. Imagine the current LE models like the KUBs and OCs, at most 5 seats available for elderly, while the Citaro opens up all the seats previously inconvenienced by the 2 steps for the elderly and the passengers.
I hope that this trial be a successful one, and will lead to Citaro Gs/ similar 100% low floor buses be purchased for the benefit of passengers and a growing population. From what i know, SMRT's gonna get feedback @ their webbie at smrt.com.sg/citaro, so do support the accessibility cause rather than the bus.
Originally posted by SMB66X:Hope you catch it!
Haha thanks..
Some Ideas/plan for all if Citaro isn't on Tuesday...