Originally posted by Scania:Would anyone count Hougang Festive Mall, Gek Poh Shopping Centre, Yew Tee Place, and those in Tampines and Pasir Ris as Shopping Centres? These HDB shopping centres are nicely termed neighborhood centres.
eh.. strictly speaking those were considered shopping centres if based on 1970s terminology.
Boon Lay Place, Rochor Centre were the likes of it
but today's ones lack number of shops
Originally posted by Scania:Would anyone count Hougang Festive Mall, Gek Poh Shopping Centre, Yew Tee Place, and those in Tampines and Pasir Ris as Shopping Centres? These HDB shopping centres are nicely termed neighborhood centres.
true, cos I can get anything I want at a lower price.
Honestly speaking, anyone with the right frame of mind would not stay in Jurong unless they work there or grew up from there, or their parents stay there. Who would want to stay so far away from the CBD and the Airport?
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:i been watching and that is why I tell my friend not to purchase flats there but in towns like queenstown and redhill.
Let's sit down and see the development lor.
Of course people want towns like Queenstown, Redhill, Toa Payoh and Bishan, but then again do you think young couples and msot middle income families would be able to afford a flat in these areas now? These are expensive.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:i been watching and that is why I tell my friend not to purchase flats there but in towns like queenstown and redhill.
Let's sit down and see the development lor.
dun be fooled
these areas BTO flat prices are so ex
30 yrs of your life slave for housing loan
Originally posted by sbst275:
dun be fooledthese areas BTO flat prices are so ex
of course their income is there la. They can just stay there for 3-5 yrs and the property prices will rise 2X. why not? Can sell and buy a flat in Jurong then still got money in the pocket.
dun be fooledthese areas BTO flat prices are so ex
Yah lah, he don't understand that it is also quite easy to travel from Queenstown and Redhill, cos technically speaking, they are under Central Singapore.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
of course their income is there la. They can just stay there for 3-5 yrs and the property prices will rise 2X. why not? Can sell and buy a flat in Jurong then still got money in the pocket.
sure or not?
$8k is the HDB ceiling limit. I'll tell u, property price rise is nonsense. Sorry for being crude
Back in 1980s, $70k is also 1 flat, now $270k is still 1 flat. end up only PAP Govt gain from property tax. open your eyes
higher property price = cost of living also goes up
Originally posted by Scania:Honestly speaking, anyone with the right frame of mind would not stay in Jurong unless they work there or grew up from there, or their parents stay there. Who would want to stay so far away from the CBD and the Airport?
Of course, raising property prices that means ur house value go up and more facilitates. 2 Eway to airport and CBD then no major jam and ERP. why not?
Why not you try buying one and tell me whether you can finance it? If people living in outer areas have problems financing a flat, then what about these flats. Look at things as a whole.
sure or not?$8k is the HDB ceiling limit. I'll tell u, property price rise is nonsense. Sorry for being crude
Back in 1980s, $70k is also 1 flat, now $270k is still 1 flat. end up only PAP Govt gain from property tax. open your eyes
higher property price = cost of living also goes up
read up more, maybe you know better when you start to buy house. Now buying flats are not as easy as the past. It is not always 1+1 =2. You need to think of many factors. We are getting out of topic here =)
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:read up more, maybe you know better when you start to buy house. Now buying flats are not as easy as the past. It is not always 1+1 =2. You need to think of many factors. We are getting out of topic here =)
I'm not going to carry on
But a flat over your roof is still simply a flat over your roof
Of course, raising property prices that means ur house value go up and more facilitates. 2 Eway to airport and CBD then no major jam and ERP. why not?
From Jurong go city also need to pay ERP leh
Why would people stay in a place 40km by road away from the Airport when other towns are the most 20 km from the airport. Somemore, staying the Central and East means 3 expressways are easily avaliable to the Airport.
Originally posted by Scania:Why not you try buying one and tell me whether you can finance it? If people living in outer areas have problems financing a flat, then what about these flats. Look at things as a whole.
Many of my friends and families bought houses. That's why ur income must be there. No money yet? I think stay wit ur parents is the best choice.
If you really want to count premium housing, which is condos and private housing, I dare say there are more of such housing in the Central and Eastern part of Singapore than the Far West, probably Bukit Timah is the furthest most people would want to go, not Jurong, even though there are a few small such estates there.
Originally posted by Scania:From Jurong go city also need to pay ERP leh
Why would people stay in a place 40km by road away from the Airport when other towns are the most 20 km from the airport. Somemore, staying the Central and East means 3 expressways are easily avaliable to the Airport.
Of course is nearer la, but I dun really go airport that often. Sometimes taking train even faster.
i dun need to pay 2 times ma.. or pay liao then still got to jam. (CTE)
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Of course is nearer la, but I dun really go airport that often. Sometimes taking train even faster.
i dun need to pay 2 times ma.. or pay liao then still got to jam. (CTE)
Hello, if you stay in the central, eastern or northern part of Singapore, you would have inherited the skill of escaping ERPs, and I dare say CTE northbound is smooth flowing right now during evening peak. Then again traffic jam is an indicator of how popular regions are.
Originally posted by Scania:If you really want to count premium housing, which is condos and private housing, I dare say there are more of such housing in the Central and Eastern part of Singapore than the Far West, probably Bukit Timah is the furthest most people would want to go, not Jurong, even though there are a few small such estates there.
natural
it goes with where is more developed
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Of course is nearer la, but I dun really go airport that often. Sometimes taking train even faster.
Lets say Toa Payoh or AMK, the furthest places from the Airport in the eastern half, it takes just 20+ mins to the Airport, taking a train would enable people in Jurong to reach probably Queenstown or Redhill only.
Originally posted by Scania:Hello, if you stay in the central, eastern or northern part of Singapore, you would have inherited the skill of escaping ERPs, and I dare say CTE northbound is smooth flowing right now during evening peak. Then again traffic jam is an indicator of how popular regions are.
now it's Upp S'goon Rd tat area is congested. Not to say Jln Toa Payoh
PIE's evening peak jams terrible, from Bt Timah all e way to KPE. I think SBS might look at diverting 74e and 151e away
Originally posted by Scania:If you really want to count premium housing, which is condos and private housing, I dare say there are more of such housing in the Central and Eastern part of Singapore than the Far West, probably Bukit Timah is the furthest most people would want to go, not Jurong, even though there are a few small such estates there.
so how many ppl in Singapore can afford the condos and private housing in Singapore with the least subsidy? New Condos are up everywhere in the west. from centris to Keppel bay? Jurong is more or less filled up but the new facilitates interest many new residents.
let me tell u e reality.
the majority are ppl who hit e $8k HDB limit and they can't even really afford condo. Neither I believe there's subisdy. MBT say got to calculate cost of land.
Hello, land cost? so you want ppl to live on e streets or void decks?
Originally posted by Scania:Lets say Toa Payoh or AMK, the furthest places from the Airport in the eastern half, it takes just 20+ mins to the Airport, taking a train would enable people in Jurong to reach probably Queenstown or Redhill only.
Of course is faster but I dun need to wait for another train and make 2 transfers.
Please take out your street directory, tell me what is along the big pieces of land above ECP and below Changi Rd/New Upp Changi Rd and Upp Changi Rd East, only the small patch of land known as Marine Parade is HDB. And I'm just bringing out the condo thing cos you brought up the high cost HDB flats, since you are so willing to discuss on high cost living.
Of course is faster but I dun need to wait for another train and make 2 transfers.
How many people take the MRT to catch a flight? As a frequent traveller on the Changi Airport extension, I would say no, most people who do so are backpackers and foreign workers and people who stay in the East.