Originally posted by Scania:He doesn't understand that 24, 27, 34 and 53 are high demand routes.
One reason why service 27 has a relatively high demand is that it is the only service that has fast and direct link between Sengkang and Tampines. Service 34 is also a much faster route from Tampines to Punggol, though service 3 goes to Punggol from Tampines too.
Whereas service 36 benefits those staying in Marine Parade area which is not even served by any MRT at all.
Originally posted by sbst275:
you dun even know of a thing call bus lane
u like talking like these buses are travelling at 70km/hr then no traffic light exists in this world. Just accept the fact man. Come on pls, today is the 1st day operation of Boon Lay can we talk something related to this? and not MRT vs Bus?
today's observation
1) Sv 194 is back to e long queues again
2) Boon Lay Way/ Os & Opp Boon Lay MRT Stn response not strong as yet and bus stop poles are installed w/ SBS plates.
3) Temp Boon Lay Int is now undergoing partial demolishing works. Only SBS's office and coffeshop in ops
4) TV Screen at new int displays only welcome and NTU/ NIE svs message
5) MRT station displays "Passengers heading to NTU/ NIE, please proceed to the old int to board the bus until further notice"
6) 4 SMRT parking lots allocated at e end, however drivers prefer to park at parallel parking lot
7) Sv 30 suffering from parking space shortage.
8) As brotherchen1982 pointed out, Sv 179A is now at B4, 179 & 199 at B5. Former poster boards now used for 179 & 199's info display.
9) BNL Int display board has slot left empty for 179 & 199.
10) seems tat sawtooth berths are meant for 4 svs
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
u like talking like these buses are travelling at 70km/hr then no traffic light exists in this world. Just accept the fact man. Come on pls, today is the 1st day operation of Boon Lay can we talk something related to this? and not MRT vs Bus?
wat's e bus lane for? It's not abt speed, it's abt smooth flow of bus movement. It's e same goes for expressway.
you believe MRT can take everyone? I tell you this, MRT was only designed for 1m pax back in 1982. In reality w/o upgrade, today's load is e max it can take. I hope not like one day, end up in HK where MTR imposed peak hr surcharge to get ppl to e buses and KMB was made to introduce some svs
There's lots of things from e past tat's haunting us again. It's only you've no idea abt from the way e past 2 pages of post been going on.
I'll leave tis piece
The current way of how bus and MRT system works is simply to protect SMRT. if buses could go w/ rapid svs after some adjustment and w/ more bus lanes, let's see wat happens.
The system has to evolve to handle 5m ppl living in this island. MRT will never be the only mode of transport since it's costly to build and not every area is suitable for MRT ops i.e. Tuas South in reality
wat's e bus lane for? It's not abt speed, it's abt smooth flow of bus movement. It's e same goes for expressway.you believe MRT can take everyone? I tell you this, MRT was only designed for 1m pax back in 1982. In reality w/o upgrade, today's load is e max it can take. I hope not like one day, end up in HK where MTR imposed peak hr surcharge to get ppl to e buses and KMB was made to introduce some svs
There's lots of things from e past tat's haunting us again. It's only you've no idea abt from the way e past 2 pages of post been going on.
I believe the bus lane not every part of the road. Traffic lights are there. Even how pack MRT is, they still got the dedicated way. SBS always says this. With the removal of seats and increase of freq I can see slight improvement. I need not worry of loading issue Since I am taking from Pioneer.
Eway Jam is too common nowadays with those crazy drivers around.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Eway Jam is too common nowadays with those crazy drivers around.
I am glad they have license at least. ![]()
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I believe the bus lane not every part of the road. Traffic lights are there. Even how pack MRT is, they still got the dedicated way. SBS always says this. With the removal of seats and increase of freq I can see slight improvement. I need not worry of loading issue Since I am taking from Pioneer.
Eway Jam is too common nowadays with those crazy drivers around.
how much can the MRT take in e long run? There's increase of freq sure or not? Days back EWL PM peak freq at 3 mins. removal of seats how much more can you carry? I pity for the folks.
at least bus lanes you get a smoother journey, it isn't all abt speed and being faster than MRT always. You always think it must be 70kph or watever.
now you admit this, "I need not worry of loading issue Since I am taking from Pioneer." Sure, you dun care abt ppl along e way can't board
indirectly tis MRT talk exposes how come end up BNL Int so small, NTU svs can't move in
no emphasis on buses even on feedering. spend $24m
Originally posted by sbst275:I'll leave tis piece
The current way of how bus and MRT system works is simply to protect SMRT. if buses could go w/ rapid svs after some adjustment and w/ more bus lanes, let's see wat happens.
The system has to evolve to handle 5m ppl living in this island. MRT will never be the only mode of transport since it's costly to build and not every area is suitable for MRT ops i.e. Tuas South in reality
Singapore public transport is screwed up, and that's a fact, no point arguing for so many pages. Many people know building up these rails are just for covering the cracks of a mis-managed company, in the name of improving public transport. And they like to compare themselves with worse off countries to glorify themselves. If they still continue to increase the population without thinking, responsibility and proper considerations for their own citizens, no matter what, private transport or public transport, the transport woes will never be solved. Want a country full of tunnels and tunnels will mean more problems coming in. Who suffers, the citizens.
This problem still evolves around the people who creates the problem. And the authorities do not have a specific solution to address all these problems. CTE jam, more ERP, widen even wider instead of a viaduct to seperate city bound to new town bound drivers to reduce jams. Bus and MRT crowded, just remove more seats so that more people can squeeze in. And now the population increase at a alarming rate, yet transport facilities, like this bus interchange, are still that small.
So you see, all these kinds of solutions, what are they really thinking???
Originally posted by SMB32T:
One reason why service 27 has a relatively high demand is that it is the only service that has fast and direct link between Sengkang and Tampines. Service 34 is also a much faster route from Tampines to Punggol, though service 3 goes to Punggol from Tampines too.Whereas service 36 benefits those staying in Marine Parade area which is not even served by any MRT at all.
OT post -.-
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I think JP need to manage their cars entering the carpark. These cars are causing jam at both sides. Service 240, 241 freq affected badly.
and the taxis too. the taxi stand there always jam until the left lane of JW Ctrl 3, making the bus got to turn into right lane then left again.
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
and the taxis too. the taxi stand there always jam until the left lane of JW Ctrl 3, making the bus got to turn into right lane then left again.
defensive driving technqiue
anyway, Boon Lay Way eventually only has 2 lanes at Boon Lay Garden tat side
SBS8625X on 242 broke down at the exit at about 2pm. ![]()
Which... caused a mini jam at the exit loh.
The traffic flow seemed very much OK today, maybe because it's just a Sunday, but I observed that often there will be a long snaking queue of buses turning right into the interchange (sawtooth). Maybe can evaluate again tomorrow at the very least, if not 4th Jan. ![]()
SBST staff were having an impromptu meeting at about 2pm, something to do with scheduled breaks.
Will the screens at the BNL int. show the departure timings of buses?
Jurong West Central 3 is just too narrow.
LTA might consider widen the roads to ease congestion. Otherwise, jia lat.
.... wrong post.....
Everyone is welcomed to view the BIH Special on the first day of the New Boon Lay Interchange at http://businfohub.com/cms/media/special/newboonlayint.
Had to say, svc 30 really lacks parking lots. Took SBS343L on 30, driver had to park at svc 246 lot.
How come now 1 service has only 2 berths? Interesting...
Originally posted by lianamaster:How come now 1 service has only 2 berths? Interesting...
squeeze lor
even e sawtooth berths have 4 queues
squeeze loreven e sawtooth berths have 4 queues
Space contraints taking a toll....
Originally posted by lianamaster:Jurong West Central 3 is just too narrow.
LTA might consider widen the roads to ease congestion. Otherwise, jia lat.
it's actually ok. not tat many cars are using it
More problematic is tat Jurong West Central 2 tat 157 & 198 now using en - route BNL
CNA news video boleh!
Started e video clip w/ Sv 178 UD at alighting bay!