Originally posted by jurongresident:
What's the need to ' pamper' 241 where it is already the shortest route in town and yet have a higher frequency than 179? Personally, I feel that the unnecessary number of fleet deployments on some services is the main factor why there are these problems now..
I heard this and like to share with you..
In the AM & PM peak, Service 179 and Service 241 loading is compatible. Svc 179 are mostly student while svc 241 are mostly working adults. These working adults are paying full adult fare while students are using concession. So which group of pple you should satisfy?
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I heard this and like to share with you..
In the AM & PM peak, Service 179 and Service 241 loading is compatible. Svc 179 are mostly student while svc 241 are mostly working adults. These working adults are paying full adult fare while students are using concession. So which group of pple you should satisfy?
Wat abt the load?
If tat is being e case, simply I'll ask where's ur social responsibility?
Is everything based on profits? To talk abt promoting public tpt.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I heard this and like to share with you..
Sorry to say but I rather fufill the needs of a group of students that don't throw complains about the service so much like working adults.
Reminds me.
There was 1 time when NTU's current acad yr just started, there was lots of mess at Pioneer MRT station. There wasn't enough 179 buses to go around (although do notice tat more are switching to 179A at BNL these days) back then. Effect? Buses like 241, 255 & 257 got stucked.
If u think 179's load is kacang puteh, go ahead continue play "241 & 179". Later 179 clogg up ur 241 not my barsa anymore.
Is 179 or 199 going to share berth at JP2 once it moves over? Got show to watch riao.
Originally posted by TIB1232Z:
Sorry to say but I rather fufill the needs of a group of students that don't throw complains about the service so much like working adults.
Sorry, most likely you are a student if I am not wrong. As if that the students does not misbehave at bus at all.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Sorry, most likely you are a student if I am not wrong. As if that the students does not misbehave at bus at all.
Sure I am one, I'm not a NTU or NIE student though. But, you seem to be missing the point here.
Students are grateful that there's a frequent bus service to bring them from school to the nearest MRT station, while working adults complain that there's no new bus, bus too noisy, bus too old etc...
Get my point? Apparently you didn't get my point earlier.
So sad. And before you start jumping into conclusions, please think through your tiny brain whether all students misbehave in the bus. So if you were a student once, you always misbehaved in the bus?
Originally posted by TIB1232Z:
Sure I am one, I'm not a NTU or NIE student though. But, you seem to be missing the point here.Students are grateful that there's a frequent bus service to bring them from school to the nearest MRT station, while working adults complain that there's no new bus, bus too noisy, bus too old etc...
Get my point? Apparently you didn't get my point earlier.
So sad. And before you start jumping into conclusions, please think through your tiny brain whether all students misbehave in the bus. So if you were a student once, you always misbehaved in the bus?
Well, that is possible but regarding grateful, I think it is because either they dont know much OR bcoz the 179 / 199 are fully airconed while the industrial estate bus are not. (And given that their working condition could be hot & sweaty on a non-aircon bus, the working adults of course will complain of being uncomfortable, despite, in terms of health, is not good for person who is hot and sweaty directly go to aircon-ed place. Futhermore, neither will the air pollution by the sweats of all passengers will do good for the bus as well)
And I am not critizing student.
SBS does dispatch 2 VO2x onto Sv 179 during the AM peak hrs.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Well, that is possible but regarding grateful, I think it is because either they dont know much OR bcoz the 179 / 199 are fully airconed while the industrial estate bus are not. (And given that their working condition could be hot & sweaty on a non-aircon bus, the working adults of course will complain of being uncomfortable, despite, in terms of health, is not good for person who is hot and sweaty directly go to aircon-ed place. Futhermore, neither will the air pollution by the sweats of all passengers will do good for the bus as well)
And I am not critizing student.
I'm not talking about JIS here. I'm comparing 179 with 241. Both are fully air-conditioned routes.
Originally posted by sbst275:Reminds me.
There was 1 time when NTU's current acad yr just started, there was lots of mess at Pioneer MRT station. There wasn't enough 179 buses to go around (although do notice tat more are switching to 179A at BNL these days) back then. Effect? Buses like 241, 255 & 257 got stucked.
If u think 179's load is kacang puteh, go ahead continue play "241 & 179". Later 179 clogg up ur 241 not my barsa anymore.
Is 179 or 199 going to share berth at JP2 once it moves over? Got show to watch riao.
With the NTU shuttle implemented, more or less it had helped with the loading. Please kindly give them some time to adjust.
The demand for service 241 had increased.
In the beginning, Boon Lay had also received many complaints by you guys of their End On berth. Currently, I see the situation had improved and no officers needed to diverse the traffic without the implementation of Jump-bus or whatever system.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
With the NTU shuttle implemented, more or less it had helped with the loading. Please kindly give them some time to adjust.The demand for service 241 had increased.
In the beginning, Boon Lay had also received many complaints by you guys of their End On berth. Currently, I see the situation had improved and no officers needed to diverse the traffic without the implementation of Jump-bus or whatever system.
The NTU-D is quite limited as in that early days it can't help much. ADDs can't cope, not to say those typical 40 seater. Post 0930 freq reverts to 15 mins while 179 runs at 3 mins freq. NTU-D does not have PM peak freq.
Even so, can 241's demand match w/ 179's more than 20,000 riders a day?
Demand for 241 has increased, same goes to NTU's annual intake inclusive of evening p-t students.
If u do not know, thks to BNL's mess future int would cease to feature end on berths. Even so, moving in and out is still tricky.
With the NTU shuttle implemented, more or less it had helped with the loading. Please kindly give them some time to adjust.The demand for service 241 had increased.
I believe those complaints were targeting the design of the interchange. That gave SBST a hard time but situation is quite smooth now, with occasional bunching.
i am from NTU.
and i have no comments to add on but to just watch with popcorn.
here we go again....
Originally posted by sinicker:i am from NTU.
Show ended leh...
Originally posted by sbst275:The NTU-D is quite limited as in that early days it can't help much. ADDs can't cope, not to say those typical 40 seater. Post 0930 freq reverts to 15 mins while 179 runs at 3 mins freq. NTU-D does not have PM peak freq.
Even so, can 241's demand match w/ 179's more than 20,000 riders a day?Demand for 241 has increased, same goes to NTU's annual intake inclusive of evening p-t students.
If u do not know, thks to BNL's mess future int would cease to feature end on berths. Even so, moving in and out is still tricky.
More or less, it helps and with more buses running on svc 179A I had also seen improvement.
2 ways of high demand crowd. With 2 primary schools, 1 secondary school loading and passengers going to work had always been a challenge for the operater. 241's demand is exceptionally high during the weekends when CHC even take place.
Boon Lay is the largest interchange and one of the interchange with the most bus services. With the limited space, end on berth is needed rather than squeezing all the bus services in 1 area. More importantly, it will defintely jam up the entrance and exit of the interchange.
More or less, it helps and with more buses running on svc 179A I had also seen improvement.2 ways of high demand crowd. With 2 primary schools, 1 secondary school loading and passengers going to work had always been a challenge for the operater. 241's demand is exceptionally high during the weekends when CHC even take place.
Boon Lay is the largest interchange and one of the interchange with the most bus services. With the limited space, end on berth is needed rather than squeezing all the bus services in 1 area. More importantly, it will defintely jam up the entrance and exit of the interchange.
I've mentioned way bef abt e CHC members. Since they dun even move to e upper deck, I'd rather remove ADDs on Weekends to add 1 SD.
Originally posted by sbst275:I've mentioned way bef abt e CHC members. Since they dun even move to e upper deck, I'd rather remove ADDs on Weekends to add 1 SD.
I believe most of them did move up to the upper deck.
u believe?
I saw in my own eyes they simply refuse to do so. End up ppl along e way can't even board tat 50% loaded LO3x.
Might as well remove ADDs and replace w/ KUBs since they love to squeeze.
Originally posted by sbst275:
u believe?I saw in my own eyes they simply refuse to do so. End up ppl along e way can't even board tat 50% loaded LO3x.
Might as well put Merc... can squeeze more people....
u believe?I saw in my own eyes they simply refuse to do so. End up ppl along e way can't even board tat 50% loaded LO3x.
Double post. Sorry.
if i'm from CHC (which i am not), i also wouldnt go up upper deck.
i'm not a resident from the west. but whenever i visit the west, i see 241's ADD consists of 10% load on upper deck, 90% load on lower deck. imo scania will do a better job.
Agreed.Simply,alot of feeders r lik tat.See 225 also.All squeeze n push into the lower deck and upper deck i tink ony ard 10 ppl seating.Wat for waste DD lik tat sia wen more trunk svcs which needs DDs badly can take in tis DDs instead????I tink they shld jus take away the DDs from 225 and throw kubs instead....