Originally posted by off_service:No lah... If a few Citaros still ok... Don't all do RWS perm I
... I don't want weekend the only place to chase Citaros is at Sentosa..
Lol. True.
Originally posted by off_service:For everyone who is calling SMRT "irresponsible" to operate the RWS services, I would like everyone to read the tender for the shuttle services and it's T&Cs.
Apparently RWS shuttle tender had strict T&Cs on the kinds of buses used. The following are some of the terms:
1. Buses cannot be used to ferry students or workers (Private coaches out).
2. Buses cannot be above 5 years of age. (PA Lances, MB O405s out).
3. Buses must have public announcement systems. (All other models out).
Look at these criteria, it seems that only SMRT's OCs can meet them. Furthermore, only RWS8 operates daily. Since lesser buses are used during weekends, I don't see the need to cry over them operating the RWS shuttles.
I will only disagree if they deploy new Citaros on the shuttle.
Obviously this so called T&C is flawed. Why can't buses used to ferry students and workers be used, since they are not as utilised as public buses which are used daily for heavy commuter services??? In that case, buses used to carry the general public should be out as well. What kind of logic is this???
Secondly. if a public bus company can't even fulfill a proper bus service to the general public in the first place, why is it allowed to run long term contractual private bus services??? Shouldn't LTA be ensuring its guidelines to fulfill better bus services to be followed instead, rather than allow Singapore bus services standards being complained again and again because of the company's incompetency???
Thirdly, SMRTB as a public bus company, instead of using its own resources to improve its bus services further with its new buses, it rather choose to use them to run private shuttle services, while some of the public bus services under it still using run down buses such as the ELBOs, UDs and L113 Striders, or using the additional buses to improve the frequencies of many of it services with still bad frequencies. Moreover it is already so hard to hire BCs to drive more trips to improve service standards but instead of hiring them to improve services, they used them for other purposes. They can choose, have the option, not to run the private shuttle services if they are truly responsible in providing a public bus service with standards. They should have concentrated and improving more on their main core business first before being so obsessive in moving on to future private opportunities.
Lastly, buses from the Hippo Tours, Sentosa buses, and even SIA buses can also fulfill these T&C. And they provide buses with better conditions and tourists focused facilities, and not to mention more seats than the WAB buses. These buses are also fairly new and they have annoucement systems and more comfortable than public buses. Why LTA allow public buses to be used instead where Singapore public bus services isn't up to standards???
If SMRTB is so interested in providing long term private bus services, then give up its Bukit Batok and Yishun areas to SBST. In this way, they can use more of the free up resources for these services and the remaining to improve the poor connectivity in areas like Sembawang, Bukit Panjang and Yew Tee. Don't let commuters suffer and pay more for their medicore and irresponsible bus services!
Originally posted by off_service:For everyone who is calling SMRT "irresponsible" to operate the RWS services, I would like everyone to read the tender for the shuttle services and it's T&Cs.
Apparently RWS shuttle tender had strict T&Cs on the kinds of buses used. The following are some of the terms:
1. Buses cannot be used to ferry students or workers (Private coaches out).
2. Buses cannot be above 5 years of age. (PA Lances, MB O405s out).
3. Buses must have public announcement systems. (All other models out).
Look at these criteria, it seems that only SMRT's OCs can meet them. Furthermore, only RWS8 operates daily. Since lesser buses are used during weekends, I don't see the need to cry over them operating the RWS shuttles.
I will only disagree if they deploy new Citaros on the shuttle.
WLDEP OCs sure would be used up if they take all and there would be no OCs cameo on Woodlands service even 961 & 187 if they decided to used up all OCs.
Originally posted by vicamour:Obviously this so called T&C is flawed. Why can't buses used to ferry students and workers be used, since they are not as utilised as public buses which are used daily for heavy commuter services??? In that case, buses used to carry the general public should be out as well. What kind of logic is this???
Secondly. if a public bus company can't even fulfill a proper bus service to the general public in the first place, why is it allowed to run long term contractual private bus services??? Shouldn't LTA be ensuring its guidelines to fulfill better bus services to be followed instead, rather than allow Singapore bus services standards being complained again and again because of the company's incompetency???
Thirdly, SMRTB as a public bus company, instead of using its own resources to improve its bus services further with its new buses, it rather choose to use them to run private shuttle services, while some of the public bus services under it still using run down buses such as the ELBOs, UDs and L113 Striders, or using the additional buses to improve the frequencies of many of it services with still bad frequencies. Moreover it is already so hard to hire BCs to drive more trips to improve service standards but instead of hiring them to improve services, they used them for other purposes. They can choose, have the option, not to run the private shuttle services if they are truly responsible in providing a public bus service with standards. They should have concentrated and improving more on their main core business first before being so obsessive in moving on to future private opportunities.
Lastly, buses from the Hippo Tours, Sentosa buses, and even SIA buses can also fulfill these T&C. And they provide buses with better conditions and tourists focused facilities, and not to mention more seats than the WAB buses. These buses are also fairly new and they have annoucement systems and more comfortable than public buses. Why LTA allow public buses to be used instead where Singapore public bus services isn't up to standards???
If SMRTB is so interested in providing long term private bus services, then give up its Bukit Batok and Yishun areas to SBST. In this way, they can use more of the free up resources for these services and the remaining to improve the poor connectivity in areas like Sembawang, Bukit Panjang and Yew Tee. Don't let commuters suffer and pay more for their medicore and irresponsible bus services!
theres a need for image and presentations.. the OCs are and look new.. better than some chapalang private coaches out there. actually, i rather SMRT fully dedicate the buses to RWS and not use it half-and-half.. better to put RWS adverts.. like how budget terminal buses do..
imo, to a shareholder's view, having these contract may bring in better profits than regular bus services..
PS, is SMRT paid a fixed sum (ala Turf City) or on a per-passenger basis? if per passenger.. then risky la...
Originally posted by vicamour:Obviously this so called T&C is flawed. Why can't buses used to ferry students and workers be used, since they are not as utilised as public buses which are used daily for heavy commuter services??? In that case, buses used to carry the general public should be out as well. What kind of logic is this???
1. Regarding T&Cs, approach Sentosa and RWS. They made the rules. SMRT follows.
2. The shuttle service is awarded through tender. If SMRT gives good proposal, I don't see why RWS can't choose.
3. Most RWS services runs on weekends, which are the days where SMRT usually do most charter. With the amount of buses used on weekends and PH, I don't see how the charter will impact revenue services so much.
4. Using "rundown buses" for public services. I would think if given a choice SMRT would not put new buses on schedule charters, aka IKEA or Poly shuttles.
5. Hippo and SIA Hop-on have public service announcements (aka "Please move to the rear")? Someone besides vicamour please enlighten me.
6. If you live in the SMRT areas long enough, you will know ways to beat the "poor connectivity".
Originally posted by 105090:theres a need for image and presentations.. the OCs are and look new.. better than some chapalang private coaches out there. actually, i rather SMRT fully dedicate the buses to RWS and not use it half-and-half.. better to put RWS adverts.. like how budget terminal buses do..
imo, to a shareholder's view, having these contract may bring in better profits than regular bus services..
PS, is SMRT paid a fixed sum (ala Turf City) or on a per-passenger basis? if per passenger.. then risky la...
Yah. So far only SMB22Y & SMB38C got RWS ads.
Originally posted by 105090:theres a need for image and presentations.. the OCs are and look new.. better than some chapalang private coaches out there. actually, i rather SMRT fully dedicate the buses to RWS and not use it half-and-half.. better to put RWS adverts.. like how budget terminal buses do..
In that case, SMRTB should give up their public bus operations completely since public bus service do not fit into their image and help their shareholders to reap in more profits. They can run all the private shuttle services or coach services they want, from shopping mall shuttle sevices to city sighting services to IR services, and even chatered coach services. That will up their coporate a lot and reap in even much more profits for their shareholders.
Let SBST or other bus operators to concentrate on the North and Northwest areas with better public bus services instead.
Originally posted by off_service:1. Regarding T&Cs, approach Sentosa and RWS. They made the rules. SMRT follows.
2. The shuttle service is awarded through tender. If SMRT gives good proposal, I don't see why RWS can't choose.
3. Most RWS services runs on weekends, which are the days where SMRT usually do most charter. With the amount of buses used on weekends and PH, I don't see how the charter will impact revenue services so much.
4. Using "rundown buses" for public services. I would think if given a choice SMRT would not put new buses on schedule charters, aka IKEA or Poly shuttles.
5. Hippo and SIA Hop-on have public service announcements (aka "Please move to the rear")? Someone besides vicamour please enlighten me.
6. If you live in the SMRT areas long enough, you will know ways to beat the "poor connectivity".
As discussed, SMRTB can choose not to tender for it and use their resources to improve bus services instead. LTA also didn't even bother the sub standard services SMRTB has provided despite that it wants to improve bus services. They already do not have enough resources already and yet still wants to run private services.
If you are talking about weekends/PHs, so what about the services that are overcrowded during weekends, like 960, 980, 190 etc??? SMRTB can't even cope with the overcrowding for these services, so isn't not using the additional resources to relieve these loads bad enough??? And the frequencies of some services during weekends are really bad. (I waited for 852 once for almost 35 mins.) So neglecting public bus services is acceptable??? Then why telling people to take public transport with this kind of sub standards???
Hippo and SIA buses can fix these announcement systems if they can be awarded with the contract, even if they do not have such in-built systems. There is such thing called flexibility. There is not need to install something first in order to show that you can service something. Such things can be proposed and installed later, even accordingly to the requirements of such private services. And do these services need such annoucements like "Please move to the rear" instead of the location of the bus stop???
And if a commuter have to think of ways to beat the poor connectivity of a place, then that transport operator is a failure in serving that place, because it cannot provide good connectivity and commuters have to think of ways by themselves for better routes. Then why not I just drive???
Originally posted by vicamour:
In that case, SMRTB should give up their public bus operations completely since public bus service do not fit into their image and help their shareholders to reap in more profits. They can run all the private shuttle services or coach services they want, from shopping mall shuttle sevices to city sighting services to IR services, and even chatered coach services. That will up their coporate a lot and reap in even much more profits for their shareholders.Let SBST or other bus operators to concentrate on the North and Northwest areas with better public bus services instead.
But a monopoly will cause a drop in service standards
In that case, SMRTB should give up their public bus operations completely since public bus service do not fit into their image and help their shareholders to reap in more profits. They can run all the private shuttle services or coach services they want, from shopping mall shuttle sevices to city sighting services to IR services, and even chatered coach services. That will up their coporate a lot and reap in even much more profits for their shareholders.Let SBST or other bus operators to concentrate on the North and Northwest areas with better public bus services instead.
You seem very anti-SMRT.
What can you do if SMRT wants to wayang? They think this is a good way of promoting the brand to the public and make money from different areas.
Maybe you can get people who share the same ideology as you to stage a protest.
Originally posted by sbs&tibs:You seem very anti-SMRT.
What can you do if SMRT wants to wayang? They think this is a good way of promoting the brand to the public and make money from different areas.
yes....he against SMRT
what the public will see and experience first-hand regularly is how they operate their basic bus services, not how they run buses on a contracted service that they may only take sporadically. promoting their brand has to start from the bottom-up.
Yes, I can do nothing. But many commuters out there can do other things, complain, use their own transport, etc.
It is all about service provision. We, as commuters, pay, and we pay more for fare increases every year for these services, in hope that the services continue and even improve the current services. SMRT a few years back ask for fare increases without credible justifications, while they already made millions to pay their shareholders. Looking at the current situation, another fare increase will likely to come this year. Are you as a daily commuter happy that the higher amounts that you pay from the fare increase use to fund a private shuttle service rather than improving the current daily medicore services that you take, in the name or excuse of "higher operating costs"??? If you are, I'm surprised.
I don't have to gather people to support me and protest in this forum. Even everyone disagrees, I stand to my views.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:But a monopoly will cause a drop in service standards
But looking at the current situation, is it better??? Competition virtually don't really exist.
Originally posted by vicamour:And if a commuter have to think of ways to beat the poor connectivity of a place, then that transport operator is a failure in serving that place, because it cannot provide good connectivity and commuters have to think of ways by themselves for better routes. Then why not I just drive???
I find this a very biased argument. Sometimes it is not that the bus companies do not want to improve the connectivities. Like my MP. He has gotten SMRT to improve services in my town. Too bad the idea got axed by PTC. So who should I blame?
We must always remember that when a bus company seems to be doing nothing, it does not mean they are really doing nothing. Remember people are complaining SMRT has no WAB buses? Yah the OCs just popped out at UCC in 2008.
I still remember somebody complaining about SMRT not introducing any services for the past don't-know-how-many-years.
Yet, when SMRT introduces some, they complain again.
So it's all about complains, complains and complains. When will people ever be satisfied?
No service complain, got service liao still complain. Never bring in new buses complain, bring in liao still complain. Everything don't have complain, give you liao also complain.
Haiyo. The most failed concensus and epic failure of the year lah. If you want better bus services, go make your own. If not, shut up and appreciate what has been given.
In fact other countries have like better transport systems than Singapore - if that is what you believe. So migrate out of Singapore; I'd be much happier if there is one less of a whiner here.
Originally posted by off_service:I find this a very biased argument. Sometimes it is not that the bus companies do not want to improve the connectivities. Like my MP. He has gotten SMRT to improve services in my town. Too bad the idea got axed by PTC. So who should I blame?
We must always remember that when a bus company seems to be doing nothing, it does not mean they are really doing nothing. Remember people are complaining SMRT has no WAB buses? Yah the OCs just popped out at UCC in 2008.
by saying that the constituency member of parliament HAD to intervene in the affairs of the public transport operator to improve the quality of service, it simply implies that the PTO was unwilling to do anything in the first place and the MP had to step in to sort out the mess.
Originally posted by TIB1232Z:I still remember somebody complaining about SMRT not introducing any services for the past don't-know-how-many-years.
So it's all about complains, complains and complains. When will people ever be satisfied?
No service complain, got service liao still complain.
Haiyo. Epic failure.
people will be satisfied when they introduce measures to serve them better. if they introduced a new basic bus service to better serve underserved areas i don't think people would have as much grouses. but to set aside capacity to operated CONTRACTED bus services when their own basic services can be beefed up is what infuriates people.
u notice that SMRT is mostly the one getting the bad press, hardly SBST? in the TIBS era it was the other way around.
Originally posted by SBS9818A:people will be satisfied when they introduce measures to serve them better. if they introduced a new basic bus service to better serve underserved areas i don't think people would have as much grouses. but to set aside capacity to operated CONTRACTED bus services when their own basic services can be beefed up is what infuriates people.
u notice that SMRT is mostly the one getting the bad press, hardly SBST? in the TIBS era it was the other way around.
I would say the impact is minimal. Most of the RWS services so far that are going to commence will operate during weekends - when there is a slight reduction in most of the basic services' operating fleets from the weekdays with the exception of RWS8.
And the reduction in operating fleets can offset for the usage of operating fleets in RWS services.
If there's any impact, it should be quite minimal. I for one will not jump to any firm conclusions yet as I would rather observe and make observations.
Originally posted by TIB1232Z:
I would say the impact is minimal. Most of the RWS services so far that are going to commence will operate during weekends - when there is a slight reduction in most of basic services operating fleets from the weekdays with the exception of RWS8.And the reduction in operating fleets can offset for the usage of operating fleets in RWS services.
If there's any impact, it should be quite minimal. I for one will not jump to any firm conclusions yet as I would rather observe and make observations.
it will still be an eyesore to most commuters when they see buses running on these services while they face problems getting on board their home services or end up waiting 20 minutes just for the bus to arrive. SMRT seems to have forgotten the ethos of what a public transport operator ought to be like.
Originally posted by SBS9818A:it will still be an eyesore to most commuters when they see buses running on these services while they face problems getting on board their home services or end up waiting 20 minutes just for the bus to arrive. SMRT seems to have forgotten the ethos of what a public transport operator ought to be like.
I myself have my frustrations too. I have placed hopes in that 857 can be better improved during weekdays and weekends.
Yes a public transport operator should exercise more responsibility - I've been duped many many times but there's nothing much I would do about it; I take it as part and parcel of everyday life and I'm glad I have a habit of leaving house much earlier for important appointments or events because there's no telling when something goes terribly wrong.
Still, I'd like to see how it is like when SMRT rolls out the new/revised service changes next weekend first. :)
Originally posted by TIB1232Z:I still remember somebody complaining about SMRT not introducing any services for the past don't-know-how-many-years.
No service complain, got service liao still complain. Never bring in new buses complain, bring in liao still complain. Everything don't have complain, give you liao also complain.
Haiyo. The most failed concensus and epic failure of the year lah. If you want better bus services, go make your own. If not, shut up and appreciate what has been given.
In fact other countries have like better transport systems than Singapore - if that is what you believe. So migrate out of Singapore; I'd be much happier if there is one less of a whiner here.
Introducing new basic services in areas they serve and introduce private services that are not in areas that they serve is entirely different thing. I appreciate the new services like 882, 854E and 963E.
However if they want to serve the areas that they are interested and allocated, then provide a proper one with the resources you have. If not, then get out of that place to stop the misery of commuters. TIBS in the past, despite small and limited resources, they gave their best in providing good bus services. That goes the same for SBS.
And the worst thing is that despite years of complains and complains, bus maintanance is still as bad. Look at the bendies, good example. The once fine buses brought in by TIBS are mostly ruined now because of poor maintainance.
The kind of mentality you gave from your "If you want better bus services, go make your own. If not, shut up and appreciate what has been given." statement, clearly indicates that Singapore public transport is at sub standards, and won't give a damn to improve further because of that silly mindset. Many people would still give a better comparison over Hong Kong and Europe bus services to Singapore ones. No wonder most Singaporeans still rather use their own private transport, than taking a bus. They are just too tired of the kind of services that was rendered to them.
Originally posted by off_service:I find this a very biased argument. Sometimes it is not that the bus companies do not want to improve the connectivities. Like my MP. He has gotten SMRT to improve services in my town. Too bad the idea got axed by PTC. So who should I blame?
All right, fair enough. You and your MP done your part. For this matter, I would say PTC and LTA is not right, since the route can provide better connectivity. Since your MP even requested PTC to introduce the route, then that route must have must be justifiable enough for that action from a MP and SMRT.
WAB buses are a requirement in future. Earlier or later, they still have to come one day.
Originally posted by SBS9818A:by saying that the constituency member of parliament HAD to intervene in the affairs of the public transport operator to improve the quality of service, it simply implies that the PTO was unwilling to do anything in the first place and the MP had to step in to sort out the mess.
Well, this is not an isolated problem. Different situations can give different problems.
Remember the issue of the withdrawal of service 115???
Originally posted by vicamour:WAB buses are a requirement in future. Earlier or later, they still have to come one day.
1. So SMRT prefers to introduce new "WAB" routes without the WAB. While other heartland services are crying out for WAB access. Corporate responsibility, anyone?
2. It's not that expensive to install voice announcement systems. If that's the only requirement stopping other operators from bidding for it, chinese manufacturers are more than happy to supply them at a relatively low cost (SMRT probably are using those ones too).
From my honest opinion since they buy OCs their bus service do improved a bit.At least not so bad compared to 3-4 years ago when SMRT just take over.Ok i do not fully agreed they win the contract but again there is no "competition" and alternative to commuters also.Giving all bus routes to SBST also would not satisfied peoples.Sure got many complains.Just like peoples who dislike SMRT there will be peoples who anti-SBST also.So what is done is done.Live and let live.
Originally posted by vicamour:And the worst thing is that despite years of complains and complains, bus maintanance is still as bad. Look at the bendies, good example. The once fine buses brought in by TIBS are mostly ruined now because of poor maintainance.
The kind of mentality you gave from your "If you want better bus services, go make your own. If not, shut up and appreciate what has been given." statement, clearly indicates that Singapore public transport is at sub standards, and won't give a damn to improve further because of that silly mindset. Many people would still give a better comparison over Hong Kong and Europe bus services to Singapore ones. No wonder most Singaporeans still rather use their own private transport, than taking a bus. They are just too tired of the kind of services that was rendered to them.
All right, fair enough. You and your MP done your part. For this matter, I would say PTC and LTA is not right, since the route can provide better connectivity. Since your MP even requested PTC to introduce the route, then that route must have must be justifiable enough for that action from a MP and SMRT.WAB buses are a requirement in future. Earlier or later, they still have to come one day.
Well, this is not an isolated problem. Different situations can give different problems.
Remember the issue of the withdrawal of service 115???
Bro even though i drive and ride i still appreciate what both SBST & SMRT is doing for the public.I understand your feelings but again we can do nothing if this so call PTC are there.I remember vividly when i was in SMRT our so called bus division proposed a new route from Sembawang to Bt Panjang via highways but solely rejected by them.Another proposal to extend 857 to Sembawang also got rejected for no apparel reasons.So we cant blame SMRT solely on this.I feel that PTC try to create an impression that SMRT is just only a back up so called 2nd bus operator after SBST.
Originally posted by sgbuses:If that is true, that means 963R/NR1/NR6 buses must be full-fleet OCs, Citaros or Yutong. That's gonna be quite a change!
i dun think 963R/NR1/NR6 are consider as tendered "charterd services" by RWS. They are still basic bus services operated by SMRT on weekend/PH.. So i dun think it is board by the T&C of RWS shuttle to use new buses etc.. only RWS8/68/88 are the real RWS shuttle.
If you are talking about weekends/PHs, so what about the services that are overcrowded during weekends, like 960, 980, 190 etc??? SMRTB can't even cope with the overcrowding for these services, so isn't not using the additional resources to relieve these loads bad enough??? And the frequencies of some services during weekends are really bad. (I waited for 852 once for almost 35 mins.) So neglecting public bus services is acceptable??? Then why telling people to take public transport with this kind of sub standards???
there is a limit on how much buses they can deploy on certain services esp 190/980. 190 is already having great frequencies. more buses mean more jams.. and esp along orchard during weekend? the traffic are heavy and buses are alway caught in jam..and for certain period, demands are one sided... in morning, buses to CCK are not full. for Sv 980, they alway deploy bendy buses on weekend (but they can make it full fleet bendy on weekend lah).. They can make it 5 mins frequency one way (to City during afternoon) but what abt the return trip? all buses are empty and then ppl will complain again why Sv980 to SBW come at 5 mins and all buses are empty? why sv167 come at 12 mins etc etc... all these also apply to SBST (which reduces a lot of buses on weekend)