Thank God Lemon1974 is more professional and sensible in his reply.Having too much buses in one service also wont do any good at all.
I thought SMRT also provides Workers' Transport services or is it that OC never appeared on WT svcs before? ![]()
How i wish they might use PA lances , by the way if 963R were to use OCs , WLDEP might be transferring more OCs from KJDEP or AMDEP in
Originally posted by TIB1234T:I thought SMRT also provides Workers' Transport services or is it that OC never appeared on WT svcs before?
SMB5Y did appear on WT service before.
btw RWS 68 and 88 fares do not incude the admission i think.
Originally posted by jayh272416:btw RWS 68 and 88 fares do not incude the admission i think.
Should be admission inculded. Do you think the bus will stop at the toll booth and ask every1 to pay?
wonder if they will include a RWS from marina/orchard to sentosa....
Originally posted by TownLink 291:Should be admission inculded. Do you think the bus will stop at the toll booth and ask every1 to pay?
So the fare of 963R also included the admission fee?
Infro from Today news paper :
Public Shuttle Bus :
RWS 8 (Vivocity & HabourFront to RWS) $2 Per Starts Jan 20 6AM - 1130PM daily
RWS 88 (City Hall MRT to RWS) $2 Per Starts Jan 30 7AM - 11PM Weekends & Public Holiday ONLY
RWS 68 (Outram MRT to RWS) $1.80 Per To Be Advised.
Public Express Service :
963R (Woodlands to RWS, route same as 963E) $1.50 to $2.35 Starts Jan 30 7AM - 1130PM Weekends. school and public holiday ONLY
Night Rider Services :
NR1 (Yishun to RWS via Suntec City, North corridor) $3.50 Starts Jan 29 1130PM - 4AM Fridays, Saturdays, and eve of Public Holidays ONLY
NR6 (Sengkang to RWS via Suntec City, North East corridor) $3.50 Same as NR1
The fare is per way.
SMB118E on RWS8
Front EDS showed like this
RESORTS WORLD
SENTOSA RWS8
Originally posted by azharjj:SMB118E on RWS8
Front EDS showed like this
RESORTS WORLD
SENTOSA RWS8
Wonder if 963R will follow the route details of 963E, with some changes.
" RESORT WORLD SENTOSA via 963R "
WDL AVE 3
" WOODLANDS INT via 963R "
RESORT WORLD SENTOSA
Originally posted by TIB1234T:
Wonder if 963R will follow the route details of 963E, with some changes." RESORT WORLD SENTOSA via 963R "
WDL AVE 3" WOODLANDS INT via 963R "
RESORT WORLD SENTOSA
Follow 963E route details as said on the news paper.
how come coming from outram park ($1.80) is cheaper than from vivo or cityhall....?
Report: Resorts World Sentosa Day one in operation; 11th Day for RWS8
Along with frequents SMB 0098D and SMB 0118E, 6 more were observed to have joined the service, all bearing the authorised Resorts World Sentosa advertisment, as was required by RWS in their tender. They are: SMB 0021A, SMB 0022Y, SMB 0029D, SMB 0036H, SMB 0037E and SMB 0038C.
Changes were made to the EDS. Initially supposed to show only "RWS 8", additional info was presented. The service number was moved to the right, while the words "Resorts World Sentosa" was added to show that the service plied to RWS.
Bus stop infrastructure was slightly upgraded as well. The exact bus stop location in Resorts World Sentosa has been marked out more clearly by the columns which had the words "SMRT Buses" and hence, a dedicated lane for the RWS8 buses. Dedicated bus stops for RWS8 were present, most notably the one outside Vivocity.
The number of buses added to the fleet was just right. During the mid-afternoon, loading was high, but not to the extent that buses were packed like sardines (I took SMB 0118E into RWS). However, when I went out of RWS at around 1720 hrs, all passengers were seated (I took SMB 0021A out of RWS).
During my afternoon spotting, which lasted from around 1445 hrs to 1730 hrs (note that in this point, I'm talking about what's observed on the service itself and not Resorts World Sentosa), the majority of the passengers were observed to be mainly senior citizens. There were indeed some teenagers and some adults, but children (including infants and babies in arms) did not quite seem to form the bulk of the passengers. Interestingly, at 1730 hrs, when I alighted from the bus, there were some students who were in their school uniforms (also taking RWS8) who also wanted to catch a glimpse of Resorts World Sentosa.
Overall, thanks to the help of some last minute publicity, the increased charges for private cars/reduced charges for public buses into Sentosa as well as the RWS8 signages and other infrastructure, many heeded the call to use public transport to enter the Resorts World Sentosa. Congestion was not a major problem for almost any bus, save for some slight bottleneck over at Telok Blangah Rd when RWS8 buses attempted to turn out of the Vivocity bus stop.
Originally posted by off_service:1. Regarding T&Cs, approach Sentosa and RWS. They made the rules. SMRT follows.
2. The shuttle service is awarded through tender. If SMRT gives good proposal, I don't see why RWS can't choose.
3. Most RWS services runs on weekends, which are the days where SMRT usually do most charter. With the amount of buses used on weekends and PH, I don't see how the charter will impact revenue services so much.
4. Using "rundown buses" for public services. I would think if given a choice SMRT would not put new buses on schedule charters, aka IKEA or Poly shuttles.
5. Hippo and SIA Hop-on have public service announcements (aka "Please move to the rear")? Someone besides vicamour please enlighten me.
6. If you live in the SMRT areas long enough, you will know ways to beat the "poor connectivity".
Your Qn5.
SIA Hop-on buses do not have "automated" public service announcements. But they can always be made by the driver and attendant(on the certain occasions when she is present)... ![]()
Originally posted by 105090:how come coming from outram park ($1.80) is cheaper than from vivo or cityhall....?
to encourage people to hope directly onto SMRT bus instead of taking competitor's trains to HarbourFront ![]()
Originally posted by carbikebus:Thank God Lemon1974 is more professional and sensible in his reply.Having too much buses in one service also wont do any good at all.
Even if you don't agree with Viva's opinions, there is no need for such comments, right? You are already a grown up with kids, some of your posts has make me wonder whether are you 16 years old or your actual age?
Originally posted by SMB66X:Infro from Today news paper :
Night Rider Services :
NR1 (Yishun to RWS via Suntec City, North corridor) $3.50 Starts Jan 29 1130PM - 4AM Fridays, Saturdays, and eve of Public Holidays ONLY
NR6 (Sengkang to RWS via Suntec City, North East corridor) $3.50 Same as NR1The fare is per way.
Just curious. will NR1 & NR6 stil calling at HabourFront Int?
Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Even if you don't agree with Viva's opinions, there is no need for such comments, right? You are already a grown up with kids, some of your posts has make me wonder whether are you 16 years old or your actual age?
Hallo thats my honest view on him.I do not intent to hint anybody or what.For those who feel the pinch then too bad lor,I'm a straight forward by nature.Did i say i dont agree with his opinions?Everyone has their own says what then why cant i?If you just wanna post here and educate peoples then its too bad.Then how old are you btw 50?
Originally posted by SMB66X:Infro from Today news paper :
Public Shuttle Bus :
RWS 8 (Vivocity & HabourFront to RWS) $2 Per Starts Jan 20 6AM - 1130PM daily
RWS 88 (City Hall MRT to RWS) $2 Per Starts Jan 30 7AM - 11PM Weekends & Public Holiday ONLY
RWS 68 (Outram MRT to RWS) $1.80 Per To Be Advised.Public Express Service :
963R (Woodlands to RWS, route same as 963E) $1.50 to $2.35 Starts Jan 30 7AM - 1130PM Weekends. school and public holiday ONLY
Night Rider Services :
NR6 (Sengkang to RWS via Suntec City, North East corridor) $3.50 Same as NR1The fare is per way.
if u refer to SMRT press release, the price of RWS68 is TBC... they have not confirmed anything yet. and accordingly to the news, RWS is subsidizing the entrance fee for bus passengers...
Originally posted by carbikebus:Thank God Lemon1974 is more professional and sensible in his reply.Having too much buses in one service also wont do any good at all.
So leaving commuters stranded in the bus stop when they can't even board the bus just because it was too overcrowded is a good thing for them??? If the current number of buses cannot cope with the load, then shouldn't they rope in more buses or higher capacity buses to take in the higher load rather than leaving commuters packed and those unlucky ones stranded in bus stops having to wait for the next one all the time??? You call this world class public transport???
If they can do it on services like 851, the past few weeks the situation has improved with more bendy buses, because before this, the OCs are unable to cope. Some of the unlucky ones got stranded in the bus stop, from Novena onwards, because the OCs cannot hold more people and most of them are packed to the brim.
Originally posted by lemon1974:there is a limit on how much buses they can deploy on certain services esp 190/980. 190 is already having great frequencies. more buses mean more jams.. and esp along orchard during weekend? the traffic are heavy and buses are alway caught in jam..and for certain period, demands are one sided... in morning, buses to CCK are not full. for Sv 980, they alway deploy bendy buses on weekend (but they can make it full fleet bendy on weekend lah).. They can make it 5 mins frequency one way (to City during afternoon) but what abt the return trip? all buses are empty and then ppl will complain again why Sv980 to SBW come at 5 mins and all buses are empty? why sv167 come at 12 mins etc etc... all these also apply to SBST (which reduces a lot of buses on weekend)
All right, even more buses cannot be deployed in 190, then how about more down routes or even make 700/700A a better alternative to 190 instead to ease the loads of 190??? It seems that 700, although an alternative, but doesn't do much in attracting the 190 crowd. It's really a big mistake that the services in the Northwest are taken away from SBS in the 1990s. You also reminded me that bendies pose a problem to in the crowded roads in Singapore, so this is an example on why this is one of the reasons that LTA bans bendy buses, because they take up a lot of road space and in bus bays, which cause long bus queues.
As for 960 and 980, they do not have fantastic frequencies at night, especially 980, the range is around 14 minutes. So why not put more buses instead??? And it doesn't have to be a two way service to service the commuters. How about a short working trip, like 960A or 980A??? Monitoring the commuters travelling pattern and introduce such short working trip services, for example, 980, if the commuter loadings are heavy from Bugis to Novena, then why not a short working trip from North Bridge Road to Novena MRT??? If SMRT wants to maximize its resources to squeeze out more profits to their shareholders, then the buses after these shortworking trips can be used to run NR services from city or Employee Buses to sent employees home at night. And all these services can be serviced by night shift BCs.
Originally posted by vicamour:So leaving commuters stranded in the bus stop when they can't even board the bus just because it was too overcrowded is a good thing for them??? If the current number of buses cannot cope with the load, then shouldn't they rope in more buses or higher capacity buses to take in the higher load rather than leaving commuters packed and those unlucky ones stranded in bus stops having to wait for the next one all the time??? You call this world class public transport???
If they can do it on services like 851, the past few weeks the situation has improved with more bendy buses, because before this, the OCs are unable to cope. Some of the unlucky ones got stranded in the bus stop, from Novena onwards, because the OCs cannot hold more people and most of them are packed to the brim.
All right, even more buses cannot be deployed in 190, then how about more down routes or even make 700/700A a better alternative to 190 instead to ease the loads of 190??? It seems that 700, although an alternative, but doesn't do much in attracting the 190 crowd. It's really a big mistake that the services in the Northwest are taken away from SBS in the 1990s. You also reminded me that bendies pose a problem to in the crowded roads in Singapore, so this is an example on why this is one of the reasons that LTA bans bendy buses, because they take up a lot of road space and in bus bays, which cause long bus queues.
As for 960 and 980, they do not have fantastic frequencies at night, especially 980, the range is around 14 minutes. So why not put more buses instead??? And it doesn't have to be a two way service to service the commuters. How about a short working trip, like 960A or 980A??? Monitoring the commuters travelling pattern and introduce such short working trip services, for example, 980, if the commuter loadings are heavy from Bugis to Novena, then why not a short working trip from North Bridge Road to Novena MRT??? If SMRT wants to maximize its resources to squeeze out more profits to their shareholders, then the buses after these shortworking trips can be used to run NR services from city or Employee Buses to sent employees home at night. And all these services can be serviced by night shift BCs.
So?If you're darn good in talking bring this matter up to the authorities lah rather than ranting here.Majority of us here doesnt work for LTA,PTC bla bla.Or better still take a post in public transport and see what improvement you can make.You make a point yes and i agreed to that what your channel is improper.Instead of debating your unhappiness towards SMRT why not your bring this to PTC attention just like my Uncle did last time for S67.See the result now 67 frequencies has improved.You nitpicking SMRT buses here also no point.Action speak louder than words and because of this it can be trun into flame war for no reason.Ok back to topic pls.
Y do they need annoucment system 4 the RWS Services?
Originally posted by Scania96:Y do they need annoucment system 4 the RWS Services?
cuz RWS is gay
sarcasm aside, i have no idea.
Originally posted by off_service:
We must always remember that when a bus company seems to be doing nothing, it does not mean they are really doing nothing. Remember people are complaining SMRT has no WAB buses? Yah the OCs just popped out at UCC in 2008.
That was because the govt step in and force them to buy WAB buses.
If the law wasnt put in place, u think smrt will buy new buses ?