Originally posted by TIB 781 L:
First was 178 getting fleet downgrade in 2006 - if I am not wrong, Now it is 852 getting what 178 did 4 years back.Seems like 980,178 and 852 isn't liked by SMRT much though.
178 and 852 are two services SMRT wants to scrap.
If you have seen the PTC website, they have tried a couple of times to reroute, amend and withdraw the route.. but was rejected by the PTC.
So they dump the buses they dun wan on those services lor.... but 178 commuters are complaining daily on STOMP and probably emails behind our backs.... until SMRT no choice but to deploy Scanias...
Originally posted by Junyang700:178 and 852 are two services SMRT wants to scrap.
If you have seen the PTC website, they have tried a couple of times to reroute, amend and withdraw the route.. but was rejected by the PTC.
So they dump the buses they dun wan on those services lor.... but 178 commuters are complaining daily on STOMP and probably emails behind our backs.... until SMRT no choice but to deploy Scanias...
hmm..so got nissan complain, got Elbo complain, wonder who so free keep go complaining abt Sv178.
Originally posted by Junyang700:178 and 852 are two services SMRT wants to scrap.
-removed-
Do they have plans re-routing 178 to Sembawang in the first place?
Anyway, If they really dislike 178 I wouldnt have seen the likes of 777A and co starting in the first place on weekends though, especially on a saturday. 858 doesnt get that kind of chance on a saturdays though.
Originally posted by pasirrisboy:MIGHT BE WRONG:
Suspected SBS8423L (BNDEP 3
running frequently on 359… Might be deployed to this service
SBS8423L:
BNDEP 38 – BNDEP 359(Not confirmed)
nope it's still a 38 perm
Ended up 178 gets 'better fleets' than 187 (only rigid perms) At least 178 never gets any ELBO perm.
Do they have plans re-routing 178 to Sembawang in the first place?Anyway, If they really dislike 178 I wouldnt have seen the likes of 777A and co starting in the first place on weekends though, especially on a saturday. 858 doesnt get that kind of chance on a saturdays though.
If I remember correctly service 178 was ever converted to FAC in early 1997 with the CAC Hino HT238Ks deployed then (later replaced by DAFs). In 1999 service 178 became full WLDEP controlled and not long after downgraded back to PAC for whatever reason with the NAC Nissan U31SCNs from WLDEP.
Year 2004 marked a bad times for service 178 once again and that was especially after service 950 was introduced. Some Scania perms from 178 went over to replace the 0405s (that went to 950) on other services like 167 and 961. Service 178 in return get those Nissan UDs, and in 2006 it was downgraded all the way to full Nissan UD fleet.
Originally posted by TIB 781 L:178 mercz perms doesn't live that long though. Thats a pretty long time.
Even though it has a full scania fleet but mercz cameos can get more than 3 though, but not common. By the way how long did TIB 782J permed 980?
In 1998 (when it was still NAC) it ever perm service 160 (before renumbered 980), then redeployed out. Then happened to be deployed to service 980 in 2000, that was also when TIB782J went thru AC conversion. In early 2001 TIB782J was redeployed to service 851 and stayed thru until the OC500LEs were rolled in.
I took 852 from Yishun to last 1 stop before reaching Bukit Batok. There are still people boarding at Bukit Timah area even though they can still take 66, 77, 157, 174 to go there.
Originally posted by SMB32T:
If I remember correctly service 178 was ever converted to FAC in early 1997 with the CAC Hino HT238Ks deployed then (later replaced by DAFs). In 1999 service 178 became full WLDEP controlled and not long after downgraded back to PAC for whatever reason with the NAC Nissan U31SCNs from WLDEP.Year 2004 marked a bad times for service 178 once again and that was especially after service 950 was introduced. Some Scania perms from 178 went over to replace the 0405s (that went to 950) on other services like 167 and 961. Service 178 in return get those Nissan UDs, and in 2006 it was downgraded all the way to full Nissan UD fleet.
TIB659H was the only Scania left on 178 being untouched.
Originally posted by TIB657M:
TIB659H was the only Scania left on 178 being untouched.
TIB659H was initially taken off from 178 too, but went back to perm again replacing TIB1249B which was laid up and deregistered.
I took 852 from Yishun to last 1 stop before reaching Bukit Batok. There are still people boarding at Bukit Timah area even though they can still take 66, 77, 157, 174 to go there.
Its the fastest route to Bukit Batok Interchange. 77 needs to go up the Toh Tuck Hills before heading back to Bukit Batok. 66, 157 and 174 stops near the interchange, but you have to walk 3-5 mins to the bus interchange...
Do they have plans re-routing 178 to Sembawang in the first place?Anyway, If they really dislike 178 I wouldnt have seen the likes of 777A and co starting in the first place on weekends though, especially on a saturday. 858 doesnt get that kind of chance on a saturdays though.
No. They wanted to scrap the route... Why would they extend it.
The PTC website (Before the revamp) has stated that SMRT wanted to scrap the entire route 178 last year.
It was rejected and SMRT then applied to convert it to a peak hour service, which was again rejected.
As I have mentioned earlier on better buses.... There are many complains sent in to SMRT over its buses.... STOMP is a good example. Service 178 Nissans (back then) and other buses serving the route often got stomped...
Originally posted by lemon1974:hmm..so got nissan complain, got Elbo complain, wonder who so free keep go complaining abt Sv178.
I think is those rich tai tai who do not have driving license staying along Upper Bukit Timah Road... LOL....
Not working, but educated.... everyday take 178... to West Mall... den buay song.... type email complain!!
Or maybe the people living there really hard to please.... if you have noticed... the more popular complains in stomp came from Service 178.
Little complains came from services like 190, 960, 966 where people squeeze on to the buses everyday...
Originally posted by Junyang700:No. They wanted to scrap the route... Why would they extend it.
The PTC website (Before the revamp) has stated that SMRT wanted to scrap the entire route 178 last year.
It was rejected and SMRT then applied to convert it to a peak hour service, which was again rejected.
As I have mentioned earlier on better buses.... There are many complains sent in to SMRT over its buses.... STOMP is a good example. Service 178 Nissans (back then) and other buses serving the route often got stomped...
If PTC really scraps 178, this will really more DISTARIOUS to the commuters than deploys UDs back!!! Somemore, I don't think 178 duplicates with other services (This is the only convenience for people living in Taman Jurong to take it to Woodlands)
What will happen if SMRT really wants to revive 368Y, 369U, 370P, 375B? 178 partial UD service and 981 full UD fleet again?
Originally posted by Junyang700:
Not working, but educated.... everyday take 178... to West Mall... den buay song.... type email complain!!
One day, I should really ask the celebrities like: Peifen, Jia Hui etc.... to joyride with me on ELBOs or UDs on 178, 187, 852. I would like to listen to their feedbacks though.
Surprisingly, 187 never gets stomped lol. Luckily, SMRT deployed 2 S Split OCs and bendies to supplement crowd during the peak.
If PTC really scraps 178, this will really more DISTARIOUS to the commuters than deploys UDs back!!! Somemore, I don't think 178 duplicates with other services (This is the only convenience for people living in Taman Jurong to take it to Woodlands)What will happen if SMRT really wants to revive 368Y, 369U, 370P, 375B? 178 partial UD service and 981 full UD fleet again?
SMRT doesnt really care. They scrapped 5, 179, 344, 345 earlier on.... and did not care about Bukit Panjang residents plea and complains... The current affairs programme, Qian Xian.. even reported on this issue....
MP Teo kept persisting... until they had no choice... introduce 920.... and 970.... den he persisted until 922 came in.. LOL...
One day, I should really ask the celebrities like: Peifen, Jia Hui etc.... to joyride with me on ELBOs or UDs on 178, 187, 852. I would like to listen to their feedbacks though.Surprisingly, 187 never gets stomped lol. Luckily, SMRT deployed 2 S Split OCs and bendies to supplement crowd during the peak.
if 187 gets stomped, it is usually cuz of their ELBOs.
Originally posted by SMB32T:
If I remember correctly service 178 was ever converted to FAC in early 1997 with the CAC Hino HT238Ks deployed then (later replaced by DAFs). In 1999 service 178 became full WLDEP controlled and not long after downgraded back to PAC for whatever reason with the NAC Nissan U31SCNs from WLDEP.
So how long did 590X,591T and 593M's stint last?
If PTC really scraps 178, this will really more DISTARIOUS to the commuters than deploys UDs back!!! Somemore, I don't think 178 duplicates with other services (This is the only convenience for people living in Taman Jurong to take it to Woodlands)What will happen if SMRT really wants to revive 368Y, 369U, 370P, 375B? 178 partial UD service and 981 full UD fleet again?
2) I'm sure most of us know (by this time) whether they really want to come back or not. I will not comment any further though.
1) The only convinent service from Coporation Road onwards - You notice no SBST svcs does not pass the front part of Yuan ching area to Woodlands though.
369U and 375B will be back shortly. both are spotted with new blue seats in AMDEP. 370P should be back also. most likely will go to Sv178/852. So SMRT claims that it have 9 nine buses is wrong leh - 363/365/366/369/370/375/185/194/196/204/205/207/1255. total 13 UDs leh...
Originally posted by lemon1974:369U and 375B will be back shortly. both are spotted with new blue seats in AMDEP. 370P should be back also. most likely will go to Sv178/852. So SMRT claims that it have 9 nine buses is wrong leh - 363/365/366/369/370/375/185/194/196/204/205/207/1255. total 13 UDs leh...
spotted 369U and 375B with trade plates travelling along amk ave 6 two weeks back.
Originally posted by lemon1974:369U and 375B will be back shortly. both are spotted with new blue seats in AMDEP. 370P should be back also. most likely will go to Sv178/852. So SMRT claims that it have 9 nine buses is wrong leh - 363/365/366/369/370/375/185/194/196/204/205/207/1255. total 13 UDs leh...
I think SMRT did not include the 4 perm training buses: 196, 204, 205 and 207
And anybody spot 196, 204 recently?
I think SMRT did not include the 4 perm training buses: 196, 204, 205 and 207And anybody spot 196, 204 recently?
all 3 Nissan (194/196/204) are parking inside KJDEP everyday at same spot.. seldom move around.. except for that day when 194 go do Sv172....
Among all 13, 3 for training?