Originally posted by SBS9818A:oh, so you're the technical expert now la?
Engine/glass fire sounds a bit far-fetched. Maybe more of an oil leakage.
Originally posted by One Harmonius Blend:the first part makes sense though, think what will happen if the engine is overheat
it is at 3.30am and the buses would have been back from route service for at least 2 hours already. don't tell me 2 hours is insufficient for engine to cool down?
Originally posted by SBS8533C:I only took SBS9888Y on 25, 133, 154 when it was perm on these services.. by breaking the bad news about the demo bus being burnt down on a pre-dawn fire, it is a catastrophic waste..
I took it when it was on 87 and 502, when EDS was still fitted on the bus. Hope SBST can salvage those B9 and B10.
Cheers.
Originally posted by sgbuses:Engine/glass fire sounds a bit far-fetched. Maybe more of an oil leakage.
Diesel cannot combust at regular pressure....However....Engine oil can...
it pretty obvious from the photos, the fire didnt start from the engine. The engine compartments are still pretty visible and intact, but rather the chassis kinda warped..
AMDEP no security guard or any staff or technician at night doing work want meh? Must be have sercurity gurad post infront want ba? Why Braddell Bus Depot have guard post infront where as AMDEP don't have?
Any source of correct info of which are the 6 buses kena burnt down? SBS9888Y seems confirm bus.
Cheers.
Originally posted by linwei20:AMDEP no security guard or any staff or technician at night doing work want meh? Must be have sercurity gurad post infront want ba? Why Braddell Bus Depot have guard post infront where as AMDEP don't have?
HQ leh dey
Originally posted by SGCar:Any source of correct info of which are the 6 buses kena burnt down? SBS9888Y seems confirm bus.
Cheers.
Check every B9TL, B10TL etc. bus rego sometimes later to see which bus have de-registered.
Originally posted by linwei20:AMDEP no security guard or any staff or technician at night doing work want meh? Must be have sercurity gurad post infront want ba? Why Braddell Bus Depot have guard post infront where as AMDEP don't have?
AMDEP has two security guard posts. one at the entrance and one at the exit. i fail to see the relevance of this question though.
Originally posted by bus555:SBS9888Y specs:
First B10TL in Singapore (in fact the world i think, even hk havent have them yet i think?)
First low floor bus in Singapore
First Bus in Singapore to have EDS (electronic destination system)
First bus to have TV mobile
First b10TL to have ZF gearbox
First b10TL to have EDS removed
and etc... oh well R.I.P SBS9888Y (1998-2010)
Hope sbst can buy a better bus to replace SBS9888Y looks i think :(
think hk had them first as some demo in some exhibition.....
more b9s to replace these buses? n i haven even taken it yet :(
Originally posted by sgbuses:Of course they have bought insurance. Would be crazy if they didn't.
What if it was a new bus actually caught fire? Wouldn't they have to scrap WAB status of some routes?
Then sbs has some things to blame on, like the company that sell the new bus to sbs why it can catch fire easy. When time go by there will be no more old buses on the roads and the spare buses will be WAB so why worry? for the time bringing just split the old and new buses to one side and of cause if all the old buses burn down then too bad sbs has to out source service to PTE companies for a while.
no guard post? you're not looking hard enough. any Tom, Dick and Harry could have walked in already then....
and 3.30am is actually the start of the busiest time for the people inside, from despatchers preparing duties, starters checking on which buses to replace, to parking attendants shifting buses to the right lots to cleaners...
lucky the SCDF fire station is near by just at the next road behid the depot. if not I think the way I saw the burned buses park just as i drive past the depot It will at least more then 6 buses and maybe the offices also burn down
Originally posted by wsy1234:
Then sbs has some things to blame on, like the company that sell the new bus to sbs why it can catch fire easy. When time go by there will be no more old buses on the roads and the spare buses will be WAB so why worry? for the time bringing just split the old and new buses to one side and of cause if all the old buses burn down then too bad sbs has to out source service to PTE companies for a while.
What I'm pointing out is that spliting the buses between new and old is not a feasible solution.
Originally posted by wsy1234:
This is a bad hare day for SBST. ![]()
OMG...can't think this will happen in SBS......sign...new DD bus gone just like that..
Originally posted by SBS9818A:it is at 3.30am and the buses would have been back from route service for at least 2 hours already. don't tell me 2 hours is insufficient for engine to cool down?
Insufficient
Take 21 for eg, it reports back to AMK depot at around 0145, 0445 down to st mikes, engine barely had a rest though
AMK O405 oso kanna burn many yr ago i think was late 1990s..
i like how people's thoughts really go wild.... ![]()
i read from HK bus forum that the 3 leylands on route 25 were completely burnt down
Originally posted by One Harmonius Blend:Insufficient
Take 21 for eg, it reports back to AMK depot at around 0145, 0445 down to st mikes, engine barely had a rest though
oh really ah? find me a duty where there is less than 4 hours of rest between the PM shift portion and the AM shift portion.
Originally posted by sinicker:i like how people's thoughts really go wild....
Originally posted by Ngweitong:is it possible for 9888y to be sent to volgren for repair? sad to see a demo just gone like that...
2 Volgren demos gone within 5 months. First was Mercs TP1854 in Dec 2009, and now VSO SBS9888Y.