Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:i thinking how the fire still can occur even though when the bus engine was switched off.
TIB1224Y mentioned on page 11 on how electrical faults can start a fire. :)
Originally posted by service_238:
eh you thought u wanna RIP at 2200 posts?
owned? Lol.
Imagine. If Smrt's AMDEP caught fire, i think there would be more damage. If you take a DD on 70 and pass by it, you can actually see it's quite cramped. It's a wake up call to everyone.
ohhh no...i sympathize with all of u man... hmm... i believe that i have took S9888Y once..it was on "25" if i can remember correctly.. well, what gone is gone unless it can be recovered :x
Originally posted by SBS9818A:where was it mentioned that the buses were beyond repair?
buy and read the chinese newspapers la. Its no surprise that the news would wriggle its way there.
Originally posted by bus555:from what i think only.. it muz be started from 7440t then it spread to the other 5... sad.. but 9645g not affected right?
dont worry 9645G will be on 72 tomorrow. Just for you ok?
If the fire spread to SMRT's side there would be much more trouble...
Originally posted by SBS9622Y:If the fire spread to SMRT's side there would be much more trouble...
maybe they patch up 982Z liao do up nice nice, then it re-burn
lol.
Originally posted by SBS2692R:SMRT 'lives' next door. Haha! But still, i strongly believe it's an electrical fault, or maybe an oil leak. But whatever it is, everything's gone.
So we've gotta keep in mind that, regardless of long lifespan or not, prioritising mercs first instead of b9s or whatsoever; we have to cherish what we have in front of us. (:
I always believed wat u said in yr 2nd paragraph,and now i even more strongly beleive in it.
Originally posted by SBS9622Y:If the fire spread to SMRT's side there would be much more trouble...
thank God it didn't :D
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
if people want to create arson, then this is not a right timing for them to do so..
yes.... buses which cannot be deployed for the next working day gets replaced just before this time. and BC's start streaming in from 4am...
Originally posted by SBS2692R:Imagine. If Smrt's AMDEP caught fire, i think there would be more damage. If you take a DD on 70 and pass by it, you can actually see it's quite cramped. It's a wake up call to everyone.
and bendies aggreviated the situation... maybe time for Government to do something quick...
SIX double-decker buses, worth about $3 million, went up in flames at the Ang Mo Kio bus depot Sunday morning.
Bus drivers arriving for work at the depot along Ang Mo Kio Street 63 were confronted by the acrid smell of smoke, and the burnt-out shells of the smouldering half-dozen buses.
'There were so many policemen and firemen around. I was shocked to hear that six buses had been burned...this is the first time I have seen anything like this,' said one 44-year-old bus driver, who arrived around 5.30am.
The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) is currently investigating the cause of the fire, though it is not known at this point if someone deliberately set fire to vehicles, estimated to be about $500,000 each.
The SCDF added that the fire was contained within the six buses, as the rest of the fleet were parked farther away. A security guard on duty raised the alarm. No one was hurt.
To ensure the morning services were not disrupted, buses were redeployed from other depots. The six buses all plied the No.25 route from Ang Mo Kio interchange to Bedok interchange. A spokesman for SBS Transit told The Straits Times that the loss of the buses will have 'some impact' on day-to-day operations, but that it would try to minimise inconvenience to its commuters by redeploying buses where possible.
Read the full story in Monday's edition of The Straits Times.
I think the bus company end up making money lor because they can claim from insurance
Originally posted by fireice rox:SIX double-decker buses, worth about $3 million, went up in flames at the Ang Mo Kio bus depot Sunday morning.
Bus drivers arriving for work at the depot along Ang Mo Kio Street 63 were confronted by the acrid smell of smoke, and the burnt-out shells of the smouldering half-dozen buses.
'There were so many policemen and firemen around. I was shocked to hear that six buses had been burned...this is the first time I have seen anything like this,' said one 44-year-old bus driver, who arrived around 5.30am.
The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) is currently investigating the cause of the fire, though it is not known at this point if someone deliberately set fire to vehicles, estimated to be about $500,000 each.
The SCDF added that the fire was contained within the six buses, as the rest of the fleet were parked farther away. A security guard on duty raised the alarm. No one was hurt.
To ensure the morning services were not disrupted, buses were redeployed from other depots. The six buses all plied the No.25 route from Ang Mo Kio interchange to Bedok interchange. A spokesman for SBS Transit told The Straits Times that the loss of the buses will have 'some impact' on day-to-day operations, but that it would try to minimise inconvenience to its commuters by redeploying buses where possible.
Read the full story in Monday's edition of The Straits Times.
<!-- story content : end -->
Must buy paper :)
Tomorrow my school provide paper. YES! Confirm must read!
This is crazy... especially the B9s which got burnt
I havent even board 9888Y... sian =(
Let's see the fleet for service 25 in the near future... Shldnt be a problem i guess since AMDEP got plenty DDs to spare. I'm guessing 9489 to be perm =D
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Tomorrow my school provide paper. YES! Confirm must read!
im expecting 9489 to be perm on 25. Then maybe throw the spare LOs in to replace them. Say 9143, 9151, 9161.
Originally posted by azharjj:Let's see the fleet for service 25 in the near future... Shldnt be a problem i guess since AMDEP got plenty DDs to spare. I'm guessing 9489 to be perm =D
KUB! ![]()
Or whoever donates DD to 25 gets new KUBs in return. ![]()
B9s shldnt be even perm on 25 since it is not even WAB
it's kinda wasted that the B9s burnt. it's like wasting a WAB bus
Most fire actually started from electrical faults. Many people dont follow electrical safety. One example is my work place. Fridge faulty, tripped main power. But they keep switching it back on, until a loud "POMP" sound is heard. No idea what happened. No smoke seen.
An article here shows how even a SIMPLE electrical product can spark a fire:
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:9888... gone.
I lost the will to live.
THIS HAS GOT TO BE SOME KIND OF CORPORATE SABOTAGE!
HELLO. What kind of proof do you have to say that it's a CORPORATE SABOTAGE. I mean like seriously. Why would people want to stage a sabotage? What GOOD would it do to them?
SBS9888Y is special to everyone of us, bus enthusiasts. But well, it cant be brought back to life if she's really destined to go heaven earlier. Just move on from there! I'm sure she will lead a better life up there! Even if the world did unjustice to her by having her EDS removed, and now lead her to death.. I'm sure she will be well somewhere up there! :D RIP SBS9888Y! ä¸€è·¯èµ°å¥½ï¼Œè°¢è°¢ä½ ï¼�
Corporate sabotage?Make me laugh sia.Profitable public transport co are all owned by a single man.This aint europe or any other countries.Just because your fav bus burnt and you start to accuse something.Grow up lah there always be replacement.When the B9TLs batch2 coming in nobody give a hoot about old bus.The truth is pain.For 9888Y case yes its pain to see such a good bus die but thats fate.
When 8074 crashed SBST skipped registering new buses ending with 4.
Now that 7440 burned down, next thing you know SBST will never register a new bus with a '4' in it.
So no more 504X and 54XX buses.
story appeared on today straits times 1st pg..