I remember those times when 103 had Mk 2s. Their suspensions were the best.
Scania CRBs on 109 also.
Best times were the LOs on 106 before transferring them over to TIBS. Then bendies parking at S'goon Int. Best :D
I remember taking Mercs on my beloved 156 and 147. I'll never forget them(:
The O305s on 61, their red rims and powerful and smooth acceleration.
the DM NAC O405s on 174, when raining can make people nauseaus as people close the windows and make the bus stuffy.
the jerky gear changing from the LO2X
Trans Island's Hinos...
remember taking 178 on Nissans in 2008, and after that switched to mercz only on 178, after it got perm.
Originally posted by One Harmonius Blend:remember taking 178 on Nissans in 2008, and after that switched to mercz only on 178, after it got perm.
Got OAC mercz perm last time: TIB470J (x-fered from 187) before downgraded to almost UD fleets
Originally posted by TIB657M:
Got OAC mercz perm last time: TIB470J (x-fered from 187) before downgraded to almost UD fleets
that was before 06' right? when did 178 downgrade to almost all UD fleets?
oh, the 3 perms, 590X,591T and 593M were out by around 1999 on 178, but after the above perms, were they other perms that did this service before?
Originally posted by demag_ac:Still remembered last time when the MRT started service between Yio Chu Kang and Toa Payoh, PWD constructed a bus terminal at Yio Chu Kang. Service 76 was then introduced with the former SABS 0303 (or 0309?) registered as SBS1 to SBS8 as part of its fleet of buses.
Took joyrides in them between my home along Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 to my primary school along Ang Mo Kio Ave 9.
Also not forgetting SBS9C, a Volvo B10M. Took it on my 1st ride on 76 back then. Still remember had to wait for almost half hour before it came. Though 76 was plying between YCK Ter and Marine Parade Ter, it ply on different road back then.
My 1st ride on a MB O303 AC, SBS8E, was taken on 100 instead on 76 in 1993 IIRC. MBO405 OAC was already plying on both 100 and 76 then, and all MBO303 were cameoing on other services. Still remember front desto was half the size of the current original, therefore some MBO303 on 100 had their desto put in front of the dashboard.
Also remembering full fleet Nissan UD on 13, but my 1st SBS Nissan UD was SBS25H on 55.
My 1st ride on a OAC Scania N113 was SBS46U on 55, when it was still plying between AMK and Marine Parade Ter.
Also remember MB OF1413 on 315 when I moved house to Serangoon. Two particular buses I remember was SBS5358J and SBS6777D, permer 315.
Cheers.
Also not forgetting, took SBS2452S, a Nissan UD NAC on 328 during a trip to Hougang Polyclinic. It was the one and only NAC UD in SBS fleet if I'm not wrong.
1st ride on Leyland Lynx, SBS3572Y, was on 265. Leyland Lynx was deployed on 24 and 106, before it was perm on 265, then became employee bus before dereg.
Cheers.
SMRT Nissan UD was nicknamed as *the place* shuttle services lol
cause i not sure why
Originally posted by SGCar:
Also not forgetting SBS9C, a Volvo B10M. Took it on my 1st ride on 76 back then. Still remember had to wait for almost half hour before it came. Though 76 was plying between YCK Ter and Marine Parade Ter, it ply on different road back then.My 1st ride on a MB O303 AC, SBS8E, was taken on 100 instead on 76 in 1993 IIRC. MBO405 OAC was already plying on both 100 and 76 then, and all MBO303 were cameoing on other services. Still remember front desto was half the size of the current original, therefore some MBO303 on 100 had their desto put in front of the dashboard.
Also remembering full fleet Nissan UD on 13, but my 1st SBS Nissan UD was SBS25H on 55.
My 1st ride on a OAC Scania N113 was SBS46U on 55, when it was still plying between AMK and Marine Parade Ter.
Also remember MB OF1413 on 315 when I moved house to Serangoon. Two particular buses I remember was SBS5358J and SBS6777D, permer 315.
Cheers.
Haha, talking about Nissan U31SCN, also remembered taking them when they were still perm on 13 before they were swapped for some other buses.
More memorable was the first day that TIBS started using MBO405 on Service 851, that particular day I was going home after school and went to the bus stop before YCK Terminal, and lo and behold, behind some Hinos and Nissans, a new bus was right in front of me.
At that time was too poor and to a commoner like me, have not heard of the internet yet. Only later after riding on these buses (TIB425 to TIB441) on Service 851 then know that it was a MBO405 with Hispano Body.
Originally posted by SGCar:Also not forgetting, took SBS2452S, a Nissan UD NAC on 328 during a trip to Hougang Polyclinic. It was the one and only NAC UD in SBS fleet if I'm not wrong.
1st ride on Leyland Lynx, SBS3572Y, was on 265. Leyland Lynx was deployed on 24 and 106, before it was perm on 265, then became employee bus before dereg.
Cheers.
First time saw SBS2452 was at Hougang Staduim, saw it from a distance and was wondering what the hell a TIBS bus was doing in SBS area with SBS decals and logo.
Much later then realised that it was SBS' Nissan U21
Originally posted by demag_ac:
First time saw SBS2452 was at Hougang Staduim, saw it from a distance and was wondering what the hell a TIBS bus was doing in SBS area with SBS decals and logo.Much later then realised that it was SBS' Nissan U21
Same feeling when SBS2452S stopped in front of me, I was like, when did 328 converted air-con, as UD OAC were deployed on 13 already. Then when I boarded the bus, I then get to know that it was a non aircon bus.
Cheers.
Volvo MK2s on 333
SBS1718H , SBS1846X and SBS1881T (a cameo)
SBS1881T used to perm 275 right?
I miss the day that the MK2s ride.....
Originally posted by SBS8533C:Did anyone remembers... a VSO on 291 & 410? Spotted SBS9807G did 291 (in 2006) and SBS9828X on 410 (in 2005).

SBS3796T's ticket

SBS3796T's video- Short ride on it on 131, video taken 11th Nov 2009
Originally posted by SGCar:Also not forgetting, took SBS2452S, a Nissan UD NAC on 328 during a trip to Hougang Polyclinic. It was the one and only NAC UD in SBS fleet if I'm not wrong.
Cheers.
I wonder if BNDEP had any O405s in their history?
I also found some good photos on the net:
For those who want to look at SBS2452S again or those who want to see it, heres the link to the picture:
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1065206516014012283rXLLUi
And 1 of the very new OAC U31SCN being pictured in the past before having its license plate:
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984193014012283BERrXb
MB OF1417:
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984181014012283ONSLbu
Brand new O405WA:
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984176014012283UPYyXA
Not to forget the O305:
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984169014012283rCcdJO
or the LO2X NAC:
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984165014012283ZbYPeE
and the Leyland Atlantean AN68:
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069983964014012283FjIFEC
SBS998Y n SBS999U on 290:
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069983985014012283dDfPSs
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069983995014012283svQLCS
SBS9888Y:
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984335014012283RCfXod
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984114014012283XtXtPi
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984123014012283NiRtrA
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984132014012283uRYlkB
Any photo of SBS9C???
Originally posted by Bus and Train LoVuR:Volvo MK2s on 333
SBS1718H , SBS1846X and SBS1881T (a cameo)
Don't for get the NAC buses:
SBS1892L (replaced SBS336H), SBS1894G (replaced SBS3858Z)
erm anyone know where is this taken at?
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1069984181014012283ONSLbu
Ok something about CSS lol
I remember the 2 CSS svc i took is 603, 605 (once only) and 608 (few times only)
i oso love to see 603 and 608 at upp cross st bus stop there lol and sometimes i pester my parents to let me take CSS svc (i dont know why) and at tat time i oso dont know it nvr operate on Sundays...
I remember I always wanted to take Nissan UD for 608 but always came DAF hispano but the ride was shiok.. i remember that the bus driver will always open the front door before stopping at the bus stop lol and at tat time i find the CSS DAF with advert seens to be always covering the windows lol...
so yeah tat all for my CSS ride hehe
Originally posted by bus555:Ok something about CSS lol
I remember the 2 CSS svc i took is 603, 605 (once only) and 608 (few times only)
i oso love to see 603 and 608 at upp cross st bus stop there lol and sometimes i pester my parents to let me take CSS svc (i dont know why) and at tat time i oso dont know it nvr operate on Sundays...I remember I always wanted to take Nissan UD for 608 but always came DAF hispano but the ride was shiok.. i remember that the bus driver will always open the front door before stopping at the bus stop lol and at tat time i find the CSS DAF with advert seens to be always covering the windows lol...
so yeah tat all for my CSS ride hehe
I never have any chance to ride any CSS service before..........
Anyway, how to calculate the fare stage for CSS service? Same as normal trunk service?
All deregistered old SBS buses gives me memories of bus spotting and rides in the past.
Most unforgettable rides:
- Volvo B57s and Albion Vikings on service 14
- Leyland Atlanteans BaCo, DM and WA L and R type on 133
- Scania N113CRBs on 16, 390
- Volvo B57s on Bedok and Tampines Feeders
- Leyland Atlanteans Metsec bodies (1977) on 159
- Leyland Lynx on 106, 267
- Volvo MK2 DM on 62, 176
- Leyland Olympians 2 axles on 143
- Mercedes Benz OF1413 Supreme Star on service 1
- Mercedes Benz O305 on 70, 74, 198
- Mercedes Benz OF1417 Hawke on 171
- Mercedes Benz OF1413 on Ang Mo Kio Feeders and JIS
- Mercedes Benz OF1417 DM and Leyland Victories on 139
- SBS 998Y and 999U on 18, 290, (195 for 999U) * Not supposed to be gone
- SBS 9888Y on 87 * Not supposed to be gone
- and many more...
- Hino HT238 on 800, 802, 854
- Nissan UD and Hino HT228 on 850
I noticed all svc have perm/cameo Volvo B10M mark 2 last time except 53, 135, 24, 26, 60??, AMK feeder, TPY feeder??, 145, 139, 88? 97?, and etc
Originally posted by SBS9C:I wonder if BNDEP had any O405s in their history?
BNDEP used to have O405s (DM and DM NAC).
Aircon Merc normally appear on mostly trunk services like sv 2, 6, 12, 19, 23, 65, 81,etc while the NAC ones sometime appear on trunk and feeder services like Bedok, Tampines & pasir ris ones.
Originally posted by bus555:I noticed all svc have perm/cameo Volvo B10M mark 2 last time except 53, 135, 24, 26, 60??, AMK feeder, TPY feeder??, 145, 139, 88? 97?, and etc
I think i recall 60, 88 & 97 used to have mk2s running. Hmm, as for 232, 238, 265 and 268 it did have mk2 before. 265 and 268 did have NAC mk2 cameoing if i'm not wrong.