Originally posted by wsy1234:sbs 7000e was a good bus it much better then some air-con DD. it nice to see another scania DD on the road. that place is HG deport main gate by the way. look like BCs are testing the new bus.
oh that place is HGDEP main gate ah? i didn't know HOUGANG depot was located along ANG MO KIO st 63?
Originally posted by SBS9818A:oh that place is HGDEP main gate ah? i didn't know HOUGANG depot was located along ANG MO KIO st 63?
pasir ris sec in tampines.
siglap sec in pasir ris.
HGDEP at amk st 63 lah. ![]()
Originally posted by sinicker:pasir ris sec in tampines.
siglap sec in pasir ris.
HGDEP at amk st 63 lah.
tampines sec now at bedok. so means bedok north depot is at tampines ave 5 lor. and bukit batok depot is at choa chu kang lor. hahaha.
Originally posted by SBS9818A:tampines sec now at bedok.
moved back to tampines le...
the tampines sec at bedok was an holding site
I like the fact that the tag axle is the rearmost axle. I somehow don't like the drive axle being the 3rd axle, and the tag axle the middle. I just don't like it somehow :P
Originally posted by Raraken:I like the fact that the tag axle is the rearmost axle. I somehow don't like the drive axle being the 3rd axle, and the tag axle the middle. I just don't like it somehow :P
If this tag axle is of passive steering type as opposed to being fixed, then you reduce your turn radius, but your rear clearance has to be larger. To understand why, consider why the B10MA and the B10M-70 have tapered rears.
Originally posted by Raraken:I like the fact that the tag axle is the rearmost axle. I somehow don't like the drive axle being the 3rd axle, and the tag axle the middle. I just don't like it somehow :P
A tag axle is always behind the drive axle.
You are thinking of a pusher axle like those on Volvo deckers.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
If this tag axle is of passive steering type as opposed to being fixed, then you reduce your turn radius, but your rear clearance has to be larger. To understand why, consider why the B10MA and the B10M-70 have tapered rears.
The rear steering will make the bus swing sideways.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
why? Do u want to have lower fares? Scania really gives attractive offers.
lower fares and a 50/50 chance to fall and hurt yourself when the bus moves off.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:
The rear steering will make the bus swing sideways.
Yeah, hence as a car driver, I'm more wary of those with tag axle than those with pusher axle.
Of course its not paranoia...but the side-swipe radius is definitely larger.
Strange, but the trident's tag axle appears to be fixed rather than active/passive.
Yeah, hence as a car driver, I'm more wary of those with tag axle than those with pusher axle.Of course its not paranoia...but the side-swipe radius is definitely larger.
Strange, but the trident's tag axle appears to be fixed rather than active/passive.
Trident tag axles are fixed and continues on into the Enviro 500 series.
Centroliner deckers have active tags and work between 20 to 45 km/h. Mitsubishi Fuso Aero King series also have active tag axles.
As like Volvo, tag axles which are steerable have lesser allowed axle load than fixed ones; ie fixed tags can carry 2500 kg more than active tags (B12MA).
Yeah, hence as a car driver, I'm more wary of those with tag axle than those with pusher axle.Of course its not paranoia...but the side-swipe radius is definitely larger.
it's a fixed one, so although the rear radius is quite high, it doesn't tend to swing out as bad as the B10M superlong.
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Trident tag axles are fixed and continues on into the Enviro 500 series.
Centroliner deckers have active tags and work between 20 to 45 km/h. Mitsubishi Fuso Aero King series also have active tag axles.
As like Volvo, tag axles which are steerable have lesser allowed axle load than fixed ones; ie fixed tags can carry 2500 kg more than active tags (B12MA).
True... Steering components are more breakable than just a solid steel axle.
Some of the LOs make "bonk bonk" sounds as they go because the tag axle failed to go back to neutral position after turning and resist the forward motion.![]()
Some of the LOs make "bonk bonk" sounds as they go because the tag axle failed to go back to neutral position after turning and resist the forward motion.
i've seen.
some of them seem to be stuck in a slanted position.
damn.
damaging stuff.
doesn't happen on the VO3's though.
oh speaking of which.
i once saw this VO3 batch 1 with VO2 front rims on the tag axle, using the rear-rim type tyres. :lol:
i've seen.some of them seem to be stuck in a slanted position.
damn.
damaging stuff.
doesn't happen on the VO3's though.
oh speaking of which.
i once saw this VO3 batch 1 with VO2 front rims on the tag axle, using the rear-rim type tyres. :lol:
You ask me, within the DD fleet, the best maintained by far, with consideration of age, the volvo fleet is the best maintained, excluding the B9TLs.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:Sad, legendary 9888 got replaced by a piece of cr.. Oh.
It isn't that ugly afterall.Now, let's see if it can move smoothly.
i still want 9888 to come back to life![]()
Originally posted by AEW5001:
i still want 9888 to come back to life
Honestly.
9888 and 9889 were the worst maintained within the VSO fleet for some reason.
That's my opinion.
9888 didn't sound well, while 9889 had only just entered service when it had to head for repairs after sounding like a bumboat for many weeks.
i still want 9888 to come back to life
x2.
I may have a biased opinion.
Oh well fuck it, I HAVE a biased opinion, whatever.
But I think I prefer 9888 to this Scania crap.
Let's have more solid Australian metal than rattly Asian plastic.
9888 is an old VSO
9889 is ok at e moment, like any other vso.![]()
Originally posted by AEW5001:9888 is an old VSO
9889 is ok at e moment, like any other vso.
IMO.
I still love the 9889 bodywork best.
It's got the 90's angular look with the 2000's small headlamps.![]()
but it looks weird. :P
Originally posted by SBS7484P:but it looks weird. :P
at least there's variety![]()
at least there's variety
true, true...
better than 1101 pieces of sh... oh. ![]()
Originally posted by SBS9818A:tampines sec now at bedok. so means bedok north depot is at tampines ave 5 lor. and bukit batok depot is at choa chu kang lor. hahaha.
Nope, Bedok North depot can be seen if you take 10 from kent ridge side, but you get the partial view of it, it's around the simei industrial park area