Originally posted by sbst275:
That's why it's impt to have timetable scheduling control.
LOL service 966 15 - 30 mins frequency.
Originally posted by LTnF1fan:PTC is not the one implementing the changes. Its LTA that is doing it.
PTC is in charge of the fares.
Originally posted by LTnF1fan:PTC is not the one implementing the changes. Its LTA that is doing it.
Ic... Ok.... Paiseh for wrong info.
New long distance bus services will no longer be introduced in S'pore
SINGAPORE : The days of long distance bus services in Singapore may soon be a thing of the past.
Second Minister for Transport, Lim Hwee Hua, said commuters can expect to rely more on short-haul buses that connect to train stations.
She said this during a ministerial visit to the Kampong Ubi-Kembangan division on Sunday.
Mrs Lim spent Sunday morning meeting residents and participating in community activities, before fielding a slew of mostly transport-related questions during a dialogue with residents.
With the Land Transport Authority taking over central planning of bus routes, Mrs Lim took time to explain some key principles - including the need to for bus-train integration.
She said: "As we now build intensively a lot more rail lines, the 'hub and spoke' - in other words, working from the MRT stations and you have feeder bus services - becomes more viable, and it is a way that most of the other cities which have successful public transport systems have survived on."
Mrs Lim also told reporters that long bus routes - or what she calls "cross-country buses" - may no longer be needed.
She said: "We will not introduce new cross-country services, because those are really legacies of the past. But we will review every (existing) one to see whether they need to be sustained."
"Mrs Lim pointed out that as a bus journey gets longer, it becomes harder to accurately predict its arrival time. Small delays at each bus stop can snowball and lengthen the overall waiting time for passengers."
And with the Circle Line coming on board next month, even more commuters can be served by Singapore's MRT system.
Mrs Lim also addressed concerns on the new quota system for vehicles.
She explained: "If you have a drop in the number of cars that are de-registered, then the number of COEs available obviously goes down. So it is very difficult to say which way it will go. I would say it is driven more by economic conditions."
She cited two instances when the number of COEs dropped in the past, but prices did not shoot up.
From next month, the number of COEs available will be determined by the number of cars de-registered. - CNA/ms
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1046452/1/.html
She forgot that when MRT came, some bus svs were extended thks to rationalisation.
She also forgot that 858 is allowed to be extended today.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:LOL service 966 15 - 30 mins frequency.
Dun want to mention anything here but the schedule set by SMRT (running time allocation) is
Originally posted by sbst275:She forgot that when MRT came, some bus svs were extended thks to rationalisation.
She also forgot that 858 is allowed to be extended today.
Lucky 858 got entended at the right time.
Maybe today is the last day of introducing or extending of route?
Originally posted by SBS8032G:New long distance bus services will no longer be introduced in S'pore
SINGAPORE : The days of long distance bus services in Singapore may soon be a thing of the past.
Second Minister for Transport, Lim Hwee Hua, said commuters can expect to rely more on short-haul buses that connect to train stations.
She said this during a ministerial visit to the Kampong Ubi-Kembangan division on Sunday.
Mrs Lim spent Sunday morning meeting residents and participating in community activities, before fielding a slew of mostly transport-related questions during a dialogue with residents.
With the Land Transport Authority taking over central planning of bus routes, Mrs Lim took time to explain some key principles - including the need to for bus-train integration.
She said: "As we now build intensively a lot more rail lines, the 'hub and spoke' - in other words, working from the MRT stations and you have feeder bus services - becomes more viable, and it is a way that most of the other cities which have successful public transport systems have survived on."
Mrs Lim also told reporters that long bus routes - or what she calls "cross-country buses" - may no longer be needed.
She said: "We will not introduce new cross-country services, because those are really legacies of the past. But we will review every (existing) one to see whether they need to be sustained."
"Mrs Lim pointed out that as a bus journey gets longer, it becomes harder to accurately predict its arrival time. Small delays at each bus stop can snowball and lengthen the overall waiting time for passengers."
And with the Circle Line coming on board next month, even more commuters can be served by Singapore's MRT system.
She explained: "If you have a drop in the number of cars that are de-registered, then the number of COEs available obviously goes down. So it is very difficult to say which way it will go. I would say it is driven more by economic conditions."
She cited two instances when the number of COEs dropped in the past, but prices did not shoot up.
From next month, the number of COEs available will be determined by the number of cars de-registered. - CNA/ms
This sounds like we are gonna turn into a very heavy rail connected country like Japan. Buses will only serve the feeder corridors. There should be a balance of buses and trains and not over-relying on one mode of transport.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:This sounds like we are gonna turn into a very heavy rail connected country like Japan. Buses will only serve the feeder corridors. There should be a balance of buses and trains and not over-relying on one mode of transport.
The problem is train is too expensive to build and the new lines are semua 3 carriage trains.
With our high density population, MRT capacity is limited during the peak hrs as like buses.
Originally posted by SBS8032G:New long distance bus services will no longer be introduced in S'pore
retarded
Originally posted by SBS7322B:This sounds like we are gonna turn into a very heavy rail connected country like Japan. Buses will only serve the feeder corridors. There should be a balance of buses and trains and not over-relying on one mode of transport.
If like this, some students may not like it due to the fact that if they have theri bus concession, they still have to waste money on MRT to reach theri far end destinations.
To me, I hate this plan. I would prefer to take buses than MRT althought MRT can say fast.
The Circle Line. She means remove say Sv 22, tell ppl to squeeze on e NSL before taking CCL to one's office at Paya Lebar - Ubi???
Sounds everything is so simply CCL can solve everything overnight.
Originally posted by JJxJJ:retarded
Yah. Might as well take away all the bus services and build the MRT stations like the bus stops at every 400m. See what would happen when there is even more unexpected incidents.
The problem is train is too expensive to build and the new lines are semua 3 carriage trains.With our high density population, MRT capacity is limited during the peak hrs as like buses.
That's very true. Singapore is a small country and due to the small land space, stations have to be reduced in length which thus affects the train's car length. Unlike HK and Japan they have 8 cars(HKMTR), 12 cars, 16 cars and 20 cars (JR Narita Line).
Originally posted by TIB1234T:
If like this, some students may not like it due to the fact that if they have theri bus concession, they still have to waste money on MRT to reach theri far end destinations.To me, I hate this plan. I would prefer to take buses than MRT althought MRT can say fast.
Yeah. But if that happens most likely bus concession prices will go down while MRT concession will go up.
Originally posted by sbst275:The Circle Line. She means remove say Sv 22, tell ppl to squeeze on e NSL before taking CCL to one's office at Paya Lebar - Ubi???
Sounds everything is so simply CCL can solve everything overnight.
Considering CCL has only 3 cars...... It would be of a bigger problem. Yes, they may have bought more train sets but to compare the efficiency of a 3 car train system to a 6 or more car train system, the 6 or more car train system will be more efficient. To support that, there is a limit to an amount of train sets running in a portion of the line as they cannot be too close too each other (or else accidents may happen).
I'm saying is MRT capacity during peak hrs. Say the 30 min peak hr slot bet 0815 - 0845 (Based on RFP), the max EWL or NSL passengers is 16,800 per direction based on 2.5 mins & max 1400 ppl.
As for the station, I've a feeling CCL platform is built long enough for 6 carriage. Those who took e CCL standing in front might have noticed the straight lining of the platform is very long.
To be frank the only pros of MRT is being faster with no traffic lights, other than that I would prefer to take bus if I am not rushing for time for a more comfortable trip.
Just look at the state of our MRT now, it turns to be very squeezy, sometimes during peak hours you can't even find a place to stand, let alone finding a seat.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Considering CCL has only 3 cars...... It would be of a bigger problem. Yes, they may have bought more train sets but to compare the efficiency of a 3 car train system to a 6 or more car train system, the 6 or more car train system will be more efficient. To support that, there is a limit to an amount of train sets running in a portion of the line as they cannot be too close too each other (or else accidents may happen).
It's alrdy a medium demand line.
If I'm not wrong w/ the number of train ordered, peak hr freq CCL can go is max 4 mins.
Originally posted by supremebull:Can do u-turn? Request to widen the u-turn further down the road, and since there's a 3-lane buffer for the bus to turn, shouldn't be a problem.
A more radical remedy will help solve this problem, by avoiding PIE totally.
Originally posted by sbst275:I'm saying is MRT capacity during peak hrs. Say the 30 min peak hr slot bet 0815 - 0845 (Based on RFP), the max EWL or NSL passengers is 16,800 per direction based on 2.5 mins & max 1400 ppl.
As for the station, I've a feeling CCL platform is built long enough for 6 carriage. Those who took e CCL standing in front might have noticed the straight lining of the platform is very long.
You have only seen Stage 3 of the Circle line. The main problem doesn't lie with that corridor. It lies with the CBD areas like Stage 1. Promenade station and Dhoby Ghaut Interchange. The land is way too little to build a 6 car station.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:You have only seen Stage 3 of the Circle line. The main problem doesn't lie with that corridor. It lies with the CBD areas like Stage 1. Promenade station and Dhoby Ghaut Interchange. The land is way too little to build a 6 car station.
CCL1 stations build so close.
1 at Bras Basah, another at Esplanade, another at Flyer there.
I remembered which mini star says to build MRT station every 400m. Come on, Mass Rapid Transit. He wants it to be Mass Tortise Transit si boh?
It's alrdy a medium demand line.If I'm not wrong w/ the number of train ordered, peak hr freq CCL can go is max 4 mins.
Yes. You are partially right. The CCL frequency is not very great. The demand is usually the Stage 1 - 3 as they serve the CBD to the heartlands.
Originally posted by Junyang700:Hard. 175 uses West Coast Highway.
61 goes into the lonely and ulu roads inside Commonwealth estate. And the demand is pretty high from Holland Village to Harboufront (especially the Commonwealth estate), given that 61 is the only route available for them.
Sv 61 cutback to Bt Batok - Geylang Lor 1 via Geylang Bahru (follow Sv175). Sv175 split into two at Bt Merah, eastern sector extend to Eunos (follow Sv 61).
Good, I foresee more complaints from commuters in the future, regarding to limited choices, overcrowding and when the rail system came to a standstill. And more protests and complaints and unhappiness about our transport syaytems in future.
And more people will turn to private transport because they do not have to squeeze with others and make numerous transfers just to get to one place. So to those younger people here, work hard and get your own transport here. And spread this message to your friends out there. The government don't serve for the people, they serve their own agendas to make themselves look good to others over the world.
They are denying the affordability problems of HDB housing that Singaporeans are facing in future, now they are adding more woes in the public transport to make life harder for Singaporeans. So be wise in who to vote for in future.
Originally posted by sbst275:CCL1 stations build so close.
1 at Bras Basah, another at Esplanade, another at Flyer there.
I remembered which mini star says to build MRT station every 400m. Come on, Mass Rapid Transit. He wants it to be Mass Tortise Transit si boh?
The main idea of Stage 1 Circle Line is too link the whole of the commercial corridor. I really agree that the stations are really close.