Originally posted by sbst275:CCL1 stations build so close.
1 at Bras Basah, another at Esplanade, another at Flyer there.
I remembered which mini star says to build MRT station every 400m. Come on, Mass Rapid Transit. He wants it to be Mass Tortise Transit si boh?
Same thought as what I posted due to my unhappiness.
Originally posted by sbst275:CCL1 stations build so close.
1 at Bras Basah, another at Esplanade, another at Flyer there.
I remembered which mini star says to build MRT station every 400m. Come on, Mass Rapid Transit. He wants it to be Mass Tortise Transit si boh?
Well, MRT stations might be everywhere in town but not so when out of town. Another thing is, how many lines do we have to transfer even though they seem to consider entering and exit the MRT network as a single ride?
Originally posted by sbst275:I'm saying is MRT capacity during peak hrs. Say the 30 min peak hr slot bet 0815 - 0845 (Based on RFP), the max EWL or NSL passengers is 16,800 per direction based on 2.5 mins & max 1400 ppl.
As for the station, I've a feeling CCL platform is built long enough for 6 carriage. Those who took e CCL standing in front might have noticed the straight lining of the platform is very long.
No, the design of the station had never meant to be enough for even 4 carriage. Look at the station first, all PSD are filled with a door, not like LRT station where it is possible for up to 2 or 3 cars I think.
Well, saying to that, it seemed to be a hint of more LRT lines in future? Seriously I wonder how MRT lines are going to be extended after North Shore (Coast) Line (The most famous rumoured line -- serving between CGA, PSR, PGL, Seletar and Sembawang) , Seletar Line (Rumoured line serving as NEL reliver, most likely covers Seletar - Jalan Kayu, Sengkang West, Serangoon Gardens, Geylang Bahru, and all the way down to CBD), Holland Line (Serve between Orchard, Ulu Pandan and BBT / CCK --- another rumoured line). By the way, Downtown Line, Thomson Line and Eastern Region Line are considered as the "3rd batch", where the earlier 3 mentioned are the upcoming "4th batch" MRT lines.
The 1st batch MRT lines should go to EWL and NSL while 2nd batch MRT lines is NEL and Circle (Consider that the CCL phase 1, originally Marina Line, covers DBG to Stadium is planned to open at 2006, 3 ~ 4 years after NEL)
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Yes. You are partially right. The CCL frequency is not very great. The demand is usually the Stage 1 - 3 as they serve the CBD to the heartlands.
I think on Weekdays peak hrs these corridor is going to give a headache.
HarbourFront - Buona Vista: PSA, MOT, Casino Regulatory Authority, MPA officals working at PSA Bldg, NOL Bldg workers + NUS undergrads.
Paya Lebar - Serangoon: Paya Lebar - Ubi.
But it's very subjective depending on people's travelling pattern.
But for sure, CCL's demand might be very very low on weekend. Something SMRT might have to be mentally prepared.
Originally posted by vicamour:Good, I foresee more complaints from commuters in the future, regarding to limited choices, overcrowding and when the rail system came to a standstill. And more protests and complaints and unhappiness about our transport syaytems in future.
And more people will turn to private transport because they do not have to squeeze with others and make numerous transfers just to get to one place. So to those younger people here, work hard and get your own transport here. The government don't serve for the people, they serve their own agendas to make themselves look good to others over the world. And be wise in who to vote for in future.
Yah, when more people complain about the MRT peak hour frequency, SMRT will feel stressed becos of the new plan, then in the end when SMRT can't cope with so many people, they will bound to intro new bus services again.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:The main idea of Stage 1 Circle Line is too link the whole of the commercial corridor. I really agree that the stations are really close.
I think it was Yeo C T.
That time he went around saying MRT can replace buses.
Now they realise they can't
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
Well, MRT stations might be everywhere in town but not so when out of town. Another thing is, how many lines do we have to transfer even though they seem to consider entering and exit the MRT network as a single ride?
yeap
*ahem* ageing population *ahem*
Originally posted by vicamour:Good, I foresee more complaints from commuters in the future, regarding to limited choices, overcrowding and when the rail system came to a standstill. And more protests and complaints and unhappiness about our transport syaytems in future.
And more people will turn to private transport because they do not have to squeeze with others and make numerous transfers just to get to one place. So to those younger people here, work hard and get your own transport here. And spread this message to your friends out there. The government don't serve for the people, they serve their own agendas to make themselves look good to others over the world.
They are denying the affordability problems of HDB housing that Singaporeans are facing in future, now they are adding more woes in the public transport to make life harder for Singaporeans. So be wise in who to vote for in future.
I have to no choice but to say that this isn't a political forum to post your political rants. This is a bus forum, I do not mind a bit of politics regarding the Land Transport but not rantings. There are political forums here in SGF to post your rants. Not to flame you but it's just a feedback.
Originally posted by TIB1234T:Yah, when more people complain about the MRT peak hour frequency, SMRT will feel stressed becos of the new plan, then in the end when SMRT can't cope with so many people, they will bound to intro new bus services again.
I remembered they gave me a reply of a big NO to more bus services. They said SMRT's policy is only MRT. Buses only to feeder.
i feel that 157 may be amended or went into history. 9055J on 157 with Drypers ad featured on Channel 8 and Channel U News
Originally posted by sbst275:
It's alrdy a medium demand line.If I'm not wrong w/ the number of train ordered, peak hr freq CCL can go is max 4 mins.
Cant be. Yes, it is a medium demand line because it was planned as Marina Line consist only 6 stations which is the now CCL 1, but the frequency cant be 4 mins as they can just simply buy more trains and possibly share depot in Gali Batu if DTL is under SMRT (Which is way bigger than Kim Chuan, for downtown ones) assuming lack of space in Kim Chuan. I remembered that when they built Botanic Gardens, they have also built a cut-box tunnel there for reserve Interchange. Maybe there is a connection there? Who knows!?
What is certain is that this cannot be done in NEL even they buy extra 25 trains instead because the train signalling system is not that fast. The CCL one has a faster responsive system, AFAIK despite the real problem is the lack of trains, and consider the Marina Bay Extension, which is like ...???
I also wonder who the hell had suggested the epic failure Marina Line because there seemed to be no space for depot? Share with NEL? Hell no who ask them use 3rd rail instead of pantographs used in NEL.
I think on Weekdays peak hrs these corridor is going to give a headache.HarbourFront - Buona Vista: PSA, MOT, Casino Regulatory Authority, MPA officals working at PSA Bldg, NOL Bldg workers + NUS undergrads.
Paya Lebar - Serangoon: Paya Lebar - Ubi.
But it's very subjective depending on people's travelling pattern.
But for sure, CCL's demand might be very very low on weekend. Something SMRT might have to be mentally prepared.
Adapting to the Circle Line's demand is the duty of SMRT to monitor when the Line fully opens.
Can i say, i hate LTA now?
thanks to Kapong Ubi residence for complaining trunk service/cross country service
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Adapting to the Circle Line's demand is the duty of SMRT to monitor when the Line fully opens.
*points to wat SPH lament abt NEL back then
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Cant be. Yes, it is a medium demand line, but the frequency cant be 4 mins as they can just simply buy more trains and possibly share depot in Gali Batu if DTL is under SMRT (Which is way bigger than Kim Chuan, for downtown ones) assuming lack of space.
What is certain is that this cannot be done in NEL even they buy extra 25 trains instead because the train signalling system is not that fast. The CCL one has a faster responsive system, AFAIK despite the real problem is the lack of trains, and consider the Marina Bay Extension, which is like ...???
Note that Kim Chuan Depot is gonna share some of it's space for DTL C951 Bombardier MOVIA trains.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Cant be. Yes, it is a medium demand line, but the frequency cant be 4 mins as they can just simply buy more trains and possibly share depot in Gali Batu if DTL is under SMRT (Which is way bigger than Kim Chuan, for downtown ones) assuming lack of space.
like it or not, face it based on the current ordered figure.
NEL's 25 train can still manage to provide 3.5 mins freq thks to some schedule technique which I noticed
*points to wat SPH lament abt NEL back then
Amazingly the ridership of NEL has increased over the past few years. ~_~
I think it was Yeo C T.That time he went around saying MRT can replace buses.
Now they realise they can't
Actually, they still think they can.
By 2020, we will double the RTS network from 138km today to 278km (see Figure 3.5). This will increase our RTS density from 31km per million population today to 51km per million population by 2020. This is comparable to that in cities like New York and London, and surpassing that in Hong Kong and Tokyo. Within the Central Area, commuters will be able to access an RTS station within 400m, or five minutes’ walk, on average.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Amazingly the ridership of NEL has increased over the past few years. ~_~
it's like kena owned
Even EWL freq dun even get a proper 2 mins freq these days. Mostly 3.5 mins.
Originally posted by n4l:Actually, they still think they can.
Aiyo, didn't ESC's report mention abt developing underground?
Looks like gotta start give and take of building more MRT riaos.
Originally posted by n4l:Actually, they still think they can.
By 2020, we will double the RTS network from 138km today to 278km (see Figure 3.5). This will increase our RTS density from 31km per million population today to 51km per million population by 2020. This is comparable to that in cities like New York and London, and surpassing that in Hong Kong and Tokyo. Within the Central Area, commuters will be able to access an RTS station within 400m, or five minutes’ walk, on average.
The closest Singapore can possibly go is to be like HK MTR system. It's really world class transport.
Is there any place we can feedback about this? Do we feedback to LTA or SBST?
Ease of commuting by train does not seem to improve from what I see with the kind of expected density.
Originally posted by tanjun:Is there any place we can feedback about this? Do we feedback to LTA or SBST?
LTA. They control the overall Transport system.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Ease of commuting by train does not seem to improve from what I see with the kind of expected density.
NEL soon going to be jammed packed as more and more flats at Sengkang & Punggol TOP.
Both new towns can provide 191,000 units of houses leh.