Who the fish is Lim Hwee Hua? She ever take trains and buses before or not?
From not enought bus drivers divert attention to long haul route causing poor frequency and introducing new route will cause more jam on the road. very sad to hear from this so called ministers.
Originally posted by sbst275:
NEL soon going to be jammed packed as more and more flats at Sengkang & Punggol TOP.
Time to make more connections for the Punggol area. Having only 3 buses and 1 LRT serving Punggol East is pretty bad.
She ish also one of e MDs in Temasek Hldg - parent of SMRT.
Originally posted by TIB1234T:Yah, when more people complain about the MRT peak hour frequency, SMRT will feel stressed becos of the new plan, then in the end when SMRT can't cope with so many people, they will bound to intro new bus services again.
Are you sure? Given their main focus is rail business and not buses. SMRT will rather take on more rail lines and future rail lines in future in order to maximize their profits. Even if SBST or SMRT wants to introduce new bus services, do you think that LTA will approve them, since LTA will be the central planner in future? I already foresee that this LTA bus central planning is going to eliminate commuters' choice to take public buses in future, forcing everyone to take the rail, in which the rail will become to congested and slow, because of more stations and people. The cycle goes back, commuters gets fed up and buy and drive their own transport.
They have already planned ahead of what they want in future, do you think they will care about our pleas? So don't pin your hopes too high, study hard, work hard and get yourself your own car in future, instead of keep on worrying about such transport stuff all the time. You will have more important things to worry about when you grow up in future, don't let public transport woes be your burden in life.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:I have to no choice but to say that this isn't a political forum to post your political rants. This is a bus forum, I do not mind a bit of politics regarding the Land Transport but not rantings. There are political forums here in SGF to post your rants. Not to flame you but it's just a feedback.
Thanks for the feedback but you have to look at this problem at a bigger picture.
Firstly who are the ones that have been controlling and limiting all these aspects in public transport? Why does the public or the commuters do not have a say in improving public transport when such systems are to serve these people and they have to be forced to shallow the hard pill of "changing their mindsets"?
Territory rules, paying ERP charges are the worst implementations for public transport systems. And who are the ones that are suffering? Commuters.
Anyway I don't think I have not even gone into the extremes of being political yet, as compared to some of the posts in this forum, yet.
Originally posted by tanjun:Is there any place we can feedback about this? Do we feedback to LTA or SBST?
The most effective way is to LTA, since they want to control.
Let's just hope that many and more Singaporeans will go against such idea, so that a good public bus transport network will stay in future.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Time to make more connections for the Punggol area. Having only 3 buses and 1 LRT serving Punggol East is pretty bad.
Punggol needs some time la with the current number of units.
Originally posted by vicamour:
Thanks for the feedback but you have to look at this problem at a bigger picture.
Firstly who are the ones that have been controlling and limiting all these aspects in public transport? Why does the public or the commuters do not have a say in improving public transport when such systems are to serve these people and they have to be forced to shallow the hard pill of "changing their mindsets"?
Territory rules, paying ERP charges are the worst implementations for public transport systems. And who are the ones that are suffering? Commuters.
Anyway I don't think I have not even gone into the extremes of being political yet, as compared to some of the posts in this forum, yet.
I understand your plight. I think the government have to take the situation to ground level and check the condition and listen to people's feedbacks. They lack experience.
Splitting up bus route, later got a small overlap create more jam leh
Punggol needs some time la with the current number of units.
Pretty worried if Punggol 21+ at Punggol North develops at an alarming rate. SBST should seriously start building on their Punggol North LRT.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:I understand your plight. I think the government have to take the situation to ground level and check the condition and listen to people's feedbacks. They lack experience
You sure you understand why our civil society is weak?
The real irony is that the gahment says we're politically apathetic, and its no wonder.
How much do they consult the people before anything's implemented?
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Pretty worried if Punggol 21+ at Punggol North develops at an alarming rate. SBST should seriously start building on their Punggol North LRT.
For Sengkang & Punggol, LRT laid way before HDB develops e sector
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
You sure you understand why our civil society is weak?The real irony is that the gahment says we're politically apathetic, and its no wonder.
How much do they consult the people before anything's implemented?
to add on.
The profile of e planners these days. Probably out of 10, only 2 are heartlanders who takes public tpt or live in HDB flats at least in their younger days
For Sengkang & Punggol, LRT laid way before HDB develops e sector
Only Punggol North LRT wasn't laid. There's only a crossover track being done.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Only Punggol North LRT wasn't laid. There's only a crossover track being done.
U mean e proposed to P.Serangoon?
That one dun think it was really fixed into plan.
End of long service buses?
LONG-DISTANCE bus routes taking commuters from one part of Singapore to another could be a thing of the past.
Mrs Lim Hwee Hua, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office and Second Minister for Transport, said on Sunday that all such 'cross-country' services will be up for review.
No new cross-country bus services will be introduced either, she disclosed after a dialogue with residents from Kampong Ubi-Kembangan Constituency, part of Marine Parade GRC.
Describing such services as 'a legacy of the past', she said: 'We will review every one to see whether they can be sustained, because of the strong correlation between the lack of reliability in bus arrival timings and the length of the bus route.
'As you can imagine, the longer the route, the more uncertainty (in bus arrival timings) because of traffic conditions along the way that will accumulate as you get towards the end of the route.'
The minister was speaking to reporters after a dialogue at the Kampong Kembangan Community Club, during which transport matters took centre stage.
-- ST
legacy of e past.
Sv 5, 43, 45, 48, 57, 59 how she explain?
As always wat ppl abt e gabrament, word is from them we just listen.
to add on.The profile of e planners these days. Probably out of 10, only 2 are heartlanders who takes public tpt or live in HDB flats at least in their younger days
The yellow "die-die-must-give-way" box is another example of barking up the wrong tree.
U mean e proposed to P.Serangoon?That one dun think it was really fixed into plan.
Punggol North LRT wasn't proposed to extend till it crosses the water to reach Pulau Serangoon(a.k.a. Coney Island). It was a branch line of 4 stations from PW2. After some research and Google Earth-ing and getting some old street directories I found out that the last station, PN4 Coney Island is situated near a bridge linking to P. Serangoon.
It was meant to serve upcoming development of Punggol 21+.
The yellow "die-die-must-give-way" box is another example of barking up the wrong tree.
those boxes just create more accident.
come on la, longer bus journey is all thks to them giving COE like free for e past recent yr creating jams.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Punggol North LRT wasn't proposed to extend till it crosses the water to reach Pulau Serangoon(a.k.a. Coney Island). It was a branch line of 4 stations from PW2. After some research and Google Earth-ing and getting some old street directories I found out that the last station, PN4 Coney Island is situated near a bridge linking to P. Serangoon.
It was meant to serve upcoming development of Punggol 21+.
bingo.
Tat one apparently is only 'proposed', never got into concrete plans.
bingo.Tat one apparently is only 'proposed', never got into concrete plans.
If the HDB wants to really develop that part of Punggol North, SBST will start work on the LRT.
those boxes just create more accident.come on la, longer bus journey is all thks to them giving COE like free for e past recent yr creating jams.
Brings to mind, the sudden hike in COE couple of days ago.
I thought the gahment was going to deny the sudden hike like they deny housing prices are increasing too rapidly.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:If the HDB wants to really develop that part of Punggol North, SBST will start work on the LRT.
tat part to clarify, it's more for leisure than for housing projects.
and it's LTA tat builds e LRT. We dun follow BOT system
Brings to mind, the sudden hike in COE couple of days ago.I thought the gahment was going to deny the sudden hike like they deny housing prices are increasing too rapidly.
I think soon lots of crap going to start knocking.
If COE hits $70k, should mini star think of scrapping ERP?
hey COE & HDB prices all from MBT's time.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:I understand your plight. I think the government have to take the situation to ground level and check the condition and listen to people's feedbacks. They lack experience.
Originally posted by phillipC:Who the fish is Lim Hwee Hua? She ever take trains and buses before or not?
From not enought bus drivers divert attention to long haul route causing poor frequency and introducing new route will cause more jam on the road. very sad to hear from this so called ministers.
If all these so called ministers are really that serious in listening and helping, public transport would have been longed improved many years back. They should have gone in person to see how badly managed the bus and rail network is now. And the increasing population is adding pressure and woes to many aspects in the country's infrastructure, including public transport.
Even if they expand the system in future, with the increasing of population in future, relying on one mode of system, will not only add to more overcrowding but more gridlocks as well. Not to mentioned more fare increases in order to recoup back the losses of building and maintaining such expensive systems.
Seriously, they do only see the surface of every problem. Let's look at the bolded part for examples.
Not enough bus captains. Have they ever wondered why not many Singaporeans wants to drive buses? Pay structure wise is low. Even if the working hours can be long, if the pay structure can be improved even further, more Singaporeans might be interested. And the recognition of such jobs like bus captains, waiters, cab drivers, etc, have the government done enough? All these are service lines which the service sector will be the main propellor of the Singapore economy in future.
If long haul routes are affected by other traffic conditions and new bus services add more jams to the existing roads, then why not build a comprehensive guided bus system, which only allows for PUBLIC buses to use, and do not add to more traffic woes to the existing roads? Building such systems are more flexible and cheaper than light rail and public bus services can be almost uninterrupted by other traffic conditions.
Obviously, they are just side stepping problems, for their own agenda. And shifting from one problem to another problem to avoid solving the root problem. Like this was mentioned somewhere, these so called ministers have already lose touch with its people long ago.
And stop increasing the population. Singaporeans have enough of all these nonsense.
I disagree. Bus services should remain. Dont cut long haul routes. I believe passengers, we have the right to choose. Okay amend a little bit, for eg, to serve as transferring points at new mrt stations. And not cutting them down completely.
Remember when the NEL was built. They wanted to withdraw 147. I take 147 from time to time, and i observe that its a really useful bus service, and it would inconvinient everybody if its withdrawn. Same goes to other services.
Okay exception case, Sv115. Lol.