So fast can K230 go from 0km to 60km???
Originally posted by lemon1974:cos a lot of services in AMDEP does not use the rectangular desto.. no point go specially make new side desto....it is not cheap....
also, look at the past, HGDEP take in O405/LO3x when new, then throw out these buses to AMDEP/SLBP, and then take in brand new MK3/4/VO3x... look at AMDEP/SLBP....they have been using LO3x since 90s..... while HGDEP take in so many Brand New VO3x/MK4 that time...
Further, since you are saying that BNDEP/HGDEP/BBDEP can take in Wright , then PLS DO NOT complain that AMDEP take in Citaros, because the logic is the same...... it seem weird that you did not complain BNDEP/BBDEP take in Wright earlier, but you go complain about AMDEP take in Citaros.... the wright are replacement of VO2x/LO3x, not for VO3x... so why now HGDEP go take in wrights?
Originally posted by Vincent Lee:Bro!u think sbs transit cannot affort to buy the rectangular desto ?is up to them to decide ! and now already 2011 u still talk about it for 20 years storys ! lastly u r the one who said wright r for replacing lo3/vo2 !dat why i ask u bndep dun hv lo3/vo2 still can take in wright/citaro ? furthermore bn svc 5 and 17 wrights r replacing vo3 batch 2 or 3 buses instead of vo3 batch 1!
Yest when TIB982Z was going off svc,i saw that it's rear EDS was showing the number '002' .What kind of code is that?? ![]()
Originally posted by SBS8675B:
I believe that it is due to the current old Serangoon interchange which got issues with PIW facilities. If not services 81, 100, 105, 109 and 317 would have became WAB long time ago.And also because service 109 is not declared WAB, it is at a disadvantage end. Service 109 used to have its fleet upgraded to almost full fleet K230UBs in the 2nd half of 2009, now back to reality with MK3s again...
TPY interchange also same issue.... sv26/31/139/145/155/88 all not WAB and the upgrading is only to be completed in 2014????? and SBST should really transfer out the KUBs from Sv100 to other HGDEP service that can be WAB..... really no point putting on Sv100 right now...
Originally posted by Vincent Lee:Bro!u think sbs transit cannot affort to buy the rectangular desto ?is up to them to decide ! and now already 2011 u still talk about it for 20 years storys ! lastly u r the one who said wright r for replacing lo3/vo2 !dat why i ask u bndep dun hv lo3/vo2 still can take in wright/citaro ? furthermore bn svc 5 and 17 wrights r replacing vo3 batch 2 or 3 buses instead of vo3 batch 1!
they can afford the rectangular desto but why they want to waste money to do so? why dun they just use the KUB with EDS instead?
pls do not ask me why BNDEP is taking in Wrights (when they dun have LO3x/VO2x). THIS is the same logic when you are complaining that AMDEP is taking in CITAROS when there is no MK3 in AMDEP. You are the first one who complain that Citaro should not go to AMDEP since no MK3 in AMDEP.. I am just using the same logic to ASK BACK to you.... Since BNDEP can take in Wrights (when no LO3x/VO2x to replace), so it is logical for AMDEP to take in Citaros as well. You are simply jealous that HGDEP have not take in any citaros yet.... you will have 17 years to take the citaros.. why worry so much?
Originally posted by SMB128B:hmmm... i thought u live in hougang? shift liao so fast?
and even if you live in fernvale(which i doubt so),you should've known that it gets sardined everyday when all the fernvale residents flock to sengkang int from compass point to take 163 home. Other than that, there are still routines where 163 gets sardined:
TPY<--->Fernvale, TPY<--->Thomson, around TPY(THE CRUCIAL FOR PIW), Sengkang Central<---Fernvale (weekends)
Ok la....I had to relocate to Fernvale for 2-3 months to renovate my place.
Personally I found that place has a rather charming feel....especially when I train for my IPPT. The place is really cooler by a couple of degrees! But that charm disappears whenever I had to wait for 163. I'll curse and swear and get hot and flustered. My trip from Fernvale to Punggol Road took 45 min while my trip from Punggol Rd to Woodlands took 30 min. Oh the irony. Haiz.
Nope. I disagree about the sardine part. Sardine would be services like 74 (DD and SD), which was why I keep bringing it up. Bukit Timah stretch, AMK stretch, Serangoon stretch, you literally huff and puff and suck in stomach and squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeze. I didn't have to do that with 163. I gave up on 74 after a while, and switched to the unreliable 151....whose loading also easily exceeds 163 during daytime.
Of course, there's always room for improvement, and 163 is no exception. But relative to other services, 163 might take a backseat from SBST point of view.
Originally posted by SBS8675B:
I believe that it is due to the current old Serangoon interchange which got issues with PIW facilities. If not services 81, 100, 105, 109 and 317 would have became WAB long time ago.And also because service 109 is not declared WAB, it is at a disadvantage end. Service 109 used to have its fleet upgraded to almost full fleet K230UBs in the 2nd half of 2009, now back to reality with MK3s again...
When 109 first started in 2006, I was so damn happy that I had another way to get to Pasir Ris.....only to find out that its frequency was so koyok that I gave up on it.
Now its frequency is so much better and there's WAB buses on it. I wouldn't even dream about making noise about 109 now because it used to be such a b*tch waiting for the bus last time even during peak hour (20min). Worse than 161 when it first started!
Originally posted by lemon1974:they can afford the rectangular desto but why they want to waste money to do so? why dun they just use the KUB with EDS instead?
pls do not ask me why BNDEP is taking in Wrights (when they dun have LO3x/VO2x). THIS is the same logic when you are complaining that AMDEP is taking in CITAROS when there is no MK3 in AMDEP. You are the first one who complain that Citaro should not go to AMDEP since no MK3 in AMDEP.. I am just using the same logic to ASK BACK to you.... Since BNDEP can take in Wrights (when no LO3x/VO2x to replace), so it is logical for AMDEP to take in Citaros as well. You are simply jealous that HGDEP have not take in any citaros yet.... you will have 17 years to take the citaros.. why worry so much?
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Ok la....I had to relocate to Fernvale for 2-3 months to renovate my place.
Personally I found that place has a rather charming feel....especially when I train for my IPPT. The place is really cooler by a couple of degrees! But that charm disappears whenever I had to wait for 163. I'll curse and swear and get hot and flustered. My trip from Fernvale to Punggol Road took 45 min while my trip from Punggol Rd to Woodlands took 30 min. Oh the irony. Haiz.
Nope. I disagree about the sardine part. Sardine would be services like 74 (DD and SD), which was why I keep bringing it up. Bukit Timah stretch, AMK stretch, Serangoon stretch, you literally huff and puff and suck in stomach and squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeze. I didn't have to do that with 163. I gave up on 74 after a while, and switched to the unreliable 151....whose loading also easily exceeds 163 during daytime.
Of course, there's always room for improvement, and 163 is no exception. But relative to other services, 163 might take a backseat from SBST point of view.
fine...i admit no sardine on the afternoon off peak for mon-fri, since you want me to say 163 bo ayam brand... but still 163 got crowd most of the time leh, u dunno only what...
now, i turn concentration onto 372. damn crowded. check out my video in youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yADMDLGCS4
you will then know why 372 MUST replace the volvo with KUB euro 4(not from sengkang int though, 163 very kelian liao, and kind of so is 156).
Originally posted by SMB128B:fine...i admit no sardine on the afternoon off peak for mon-fri, since you want me to say 163 bo ayam brand... but still 163 got crowd most of the time leh, u dunno only what...
now, i turn concentration onto 372. damn crowded. check out my video in youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yADMDLGCS4
you will then know why 372 MUST replace the volvo with KUB euro 4(not from sengkang int though, 163 very kelian liao, and kind of so is 156).
Wa. Don't remind me about 156. Can wait until Singapore win World Cup also the bus still refuses to appear. Gave up on this service as well, trying to get back to Hougang from Clementi.
Ok la....I mean, the MKIIIs are leaving already, no point trying to push for its removal when it will come in months to come.
If you look at ridership....Sengkang still loses out to many of the mature estates like where I reside now. That's the likely reason why Sengkang peeps can kao tiew and nothing comes out of that. Patience...the Citaros and KUBs would soon take over Singapore.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
Wa. Don't remind me about 156. Can wait until Singapore win World Cup also the bus still refuses to appear. Gave up on this service as well, trying to get back to Hougang from Clementi.Ok la....I mean, the MKIIIs are leaving already, no point trying to push for its removal when it will come in months to come.
If you look at ridership....Sengkang still loses out to many of the mature estates like where I reside now. That's the likely reason why Sengkang peeps can kao tiew and nothing comes out of that. Patience...the Citaros and KUBs would soon take over Singapore.
EY EY EY HELLO LEH, WHEN I SAY I WANT 156 KANA SAI TAKE IN CITARO? EVENING RUSH HOURS SARDINED LIKE LUNG BURST WANT O530 FOR WHAT?
Truly speaking, 156 should mainly concentrate on KUB Batch 1/2. I LOVE KUB EURO V on 156. As for 163, since no sardine, good impression, KUB taken away, TPY also bad air, and sengkang or even north-east people want citaro, 163 will be FIRST CHOICE for citaro for all.
New bus or not, it's still a bus.
In fact I'd rather B10M still deployed to some bus svs
Originally posted by sbst275:New bus or not, it's still a bus.
In fact I'd rather B10M still deployed to some bus svs
To me each bus has its own good points.
The B10M has the most seats amongst the SDs because its impossible to remove their seats in a practical fashion.![]()
Good for long haul routes like 161/168.
And the B10M is pretty quiet and comfy in their overdrive gear. And they didn't display the rocking horse tendency over bumps.
Some forget that each B10M variant represented the best of SBS fleet when they were introduced.
I still remember my excitment with the arrival of the MKIII (aircon Volvo!), and the Superbus LOs (aircon DD!), the VO2X (quiet and smooth NAC DD!).
Strange as it might sound, typing it gave me a smile. It's so many years already, but I still can recall taking these types for the first time on routes like 18 and 31.
Wa. Don't remind me about 156. Can wait until Singapore win World Cup also the bus still refuses to appear. Gave up on this service as well, trying to get back to Hougang from Clementi.Ok la....I mean, the MKIIIs are leaving already, no point trying to push for its removal when it will come in months to come.
Sengkang consider quite good already, if you compare with Sembawang, Bukit Panjang... ![]()
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Some forget that each B10M variant represented the best of SBS fleet when they were introduced.
I still remember my excitment with the arrival of the MKIII (aircon Volvo!), and the Superbus LOs (aircon DD!), the VO2X (quiet and smooth NAC DD!).
Strange as it might sound, typing it gave me a smile. It's so many years already, but I still can recall taking these types for the first time on routes like 18 and 31.
I beg to differ, and in my own opinion, the O.405 was actually the best among the 3 European models introduced (Mk IIs, N113CRBs and O.405s) by SBS. The only thing about the Mercs which irked me was the amount of Mercs around.
The Mk 3s were horrid, and are still horrid and looks very dated for its age (not surprisingly, as it is basically a Mk 2 DM with slight modernisation and air con). The Mk 4 DMs dint give a better impression, the Striders and DM3500s were and still are the best Mk 4s (note: not B10Ms in general).
And the Mk 3s and Mk 4 DMs gives people a claustrophoic feel. Dark, gloomy and so space constrainted, made worse by the low roof.
In terms of crush load, the B10Ms are actually the worst performers among the standard floor chassis, its chassis is unable to accomodate additional standing space, narrow aisle throughout the bus and esp for the Mk3s and 4s the flooring goes up and down and slightly up as you walk through the bus, making standing a chore if you happen to stand on the inclined portion, and a great disincentive for people to move back (although at the back of the Mk 2s it felt roomier).
Its quite ironic that the Mk IIs are still the best B10Ms SBS had.
Not a B10M hater here, I love the Mk IIs, and I love them (all variants) as coaches/charter work buses, but really, the current ones SBS have aren't that great as citybuses from a commuter POV.
Apologies for being as blunt as Top Gear here.
Originally posted by SBS 1000U:Sengkang consider quite good already, if you compare with Sembawang, Bukit Panjang...
Sembawang cannot say bro,Only 4 and half service,Bt Panjang at least 75 got Citaros.700/970 got frequent WAB bus cameo.Woodlands more worse,Many services,Big areas with huge population only 858 certified WAB.I've ever email to them ask what happen,1st reason Depot structure not allowed to keep more buses and the current buses still going strong.How to store new buses if those stupid Taxis,Bus Plus buses also parked there?WLDEP can easily fit in 315 buses if there are no Taxis and the damm minibuses.KJDEP also not fit,Its just a factory lay out and ditto for AMDEP.Think Tong Tar Tpt depot also much more bigger.They should venture new land for both KJ and AM.
Originally posted by Scania:I beg to differ, and in my own opinion, the O.405 was actually the best among the 3 European models introduced (Mk IIs, N113CRBs and O.405s) by SBS. The only thing about the Mercs which irked me was the amount of Mercs around.
The Mk 3s were horrid, and are still horrid and looks very dated for its age (not surprisingly, as it is basically a Mk 2 DM with slight modernisation and air con). The Mk 4 DMs dint give a better impression, the Striders and DM3500s were and still are the best Mk 4s (note: not B10Ms in general).
And the Mk 3s and Mk 4 DMs gives people a claustrophoic feel. Dark, gloomy and so space constrainted, made worse by the low roof.
In terms of crush load, the B10Ms are actually the worst performers among the standard floor chassis, its chassis is unable to accomodate additional standing space, narrow aisle throughout the bus and esp for the Mk3s and 4s the flooring goes up and down and slightly up as you walk through the bus, making standing a chore if you happen to stand on the inclined portion, and a great disincentive for people to move back (although at the back of the Mk 2s it felt roomier).
Not a B10M hater here, I love the Mk IIs, and I love them (all variants) as coaches/charter work buses, but really, the current ones SBS have aren't that great as citybuses from a commuter POV.
Thing was, O405 are no better onto peak hour loading. It's equally narrow and short in length (overall standing area length).
All thanks to the engine placement.
Originally posted by SMB128B:fine...i admit no sardine on the afternoon off peak for mon-fri, since you want me to say 163 bo ayam brand... but still 163 got crowd most of the time leh, u dunno only what...
i dun think that is called crowded...maybe you should take a look at the queue for 168 or even 911 at WRI in the evening before you call this crowded.
Originally posted by TIB1051D:i dun think that is called crowded...maybe you should take a look at the queue for 168 or even 911 at WRI in the evening before you call this crowded.
Can't blame people ma......they've never seen the true sardine before.
That sort of loading is possibly only comparable to 101 but nobody has bothered to call that service "neglected".
And I believe 101 is even more crowded.
Upp S'goon Rd jam lor... Before NEL started.
That why I wondered do ppl really want competition and buses flooding up the place.. hahaha
Yah, I've seen how crowded the crowd for 101 can be.
Originally posted by Scania:I beg to differ, and in my own opinion, the O.405 was actually the best among the 3 European models introduced (Mk IIs, N113CRBs and O.405s) by SBS. The only thing about the Mercs which irked me was the amount of Mercs around.
I loved all the new types that were introduced.
The 0405s, the B10Ms, the 113s, were the main types that shuttled me to and from school/work for so many years already. They each have their specific good points and I do agree on the bad points you raised.
The MKIII ain't handsome but it certainly got its job done...ah, but I am also not into the cramped interior and the crappy legroom wasn't helpful. Still I appreciate that it got me from Point A to B although around the early and mid 2000s I was thinking I would start out in solid form and end up in liquid form when the aircon became chui. Its largely rectified now and I just scrunch up my legs a little and sleep, safe in the knowledge that the bus would still get me to where I want eventually.
Good workhorse, but workhorse it literally is.
Originally posted by sbst275:Yah, I've seen how crowded the crowd for 101 can be.
When it rains, its IMPOSSIBLE to board this bus at all.
But isn't it so for many feeders?
Rain, no umbrella, llst cannot walk back