Is good for those long distance,for those with existing short distance who ay $0.61, will increase to $0.71. It is unfair
Originally posted by sinicker:wont reply one....
it'll take eons to reply.
and I can tell you they wun admit to lots of flops in public tpt sector in recent days. They'll forever tell u BNL Int was properly planned for e future.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:nope, there will be a discount based on how long is the mileage of your NAC portion:
up to 3.2km: 5¢ "discount"
3.3km to 4.2km: 10¢ "discount"
4.3km to 5.2km: 15¢ "discount"
5.3km to 6.2km: 20¢ "discount"
over 6.3km: 25¢ "discount"
I see..
then wat abt the current rebate for Sv 408 & 409?
Originally posted by Acx1688:so gahmen attempting to recoup its losses?!
very typical one de la. Even uni fee when times are bad they'll 'hold' for one year de.
The student/ senior citizen fare adjustment super obvious. Max is abv aprrox current 9 fare stage.
So like taking Sv 66 from Bendemeer to Hwa Chong from 45c becomes 58c riao.
Originally posted by sbst275:
I see..then wat abt the current rebate for Sv 408 & 409?
no more transfer rebates for NiteOwl, Chinatown Direct & Parks as per new bus stop posters.
Originally posted by sbst275:The student/ senior citizen fare adjustment super obvious. Max is abv aprrox current 9 fare stage.
So like taking Sv 66 from Bendemeer to Hwa Chong from 45c becomes 58c riao.
That;s good. Rich kids studying in bt timah need to pay more :) Tg Rhu also.
Originally posted by winya:Is good for those long distance,for those with existing short distance who ay $0.61, will increase to $0.71. It is unfair
eh not 0.71 some are up to .81... so pls check your bus stop fare table...
Originally posted by ^tamago^:no more transfer rebates for NiteOwl, Chinatown Direct & Parks as per new bus stop posters.
Wa liaoz eh.
Esp for 408 & 409 there's no alt svs.
If I take Svc 40 from MacPherson Sec to Tg Katong Rd,instead of Svc 135 which is shorter,my fare will be higher?
Originally posted by 360safehelp:If I take Svc 40 from MacPherson Sec to Tg Katong Rd,instead of Svc 135 which is shorter,my fare will be higher?
all along it's alrdy diff fares unless it's student fare.
If tat's e case, yes.
I think Sv 179, 199, 405 got slight increase or decrease in mileage reflected.
Looks like there are some bugs in the calculator.
Eunos/Paya Lebar to Bishan is calculated at 14.4km even though Eunos is 1.1km away from Paya Lebar.
Even better, the fare between Paya Lebar and Bishan is calculated at 145 cents (NS/EW fare) even though travelling on the CCL (Bishan - Sgn - PYL: 2.7 + 4.7 = 7.4km) is cheaper at 140 cents.
If i'm not wrong this distancs fare thing starts next saturday..
Originally posted by Yusry:Looks like there are some bugs in the calculator.
Eunos/Paya Lebar to Bishan is calculated at 14.4km even though Eunos is 1.1km away from Paya Lebar.
Even better, the fare between Paya Lebar and Bishan is calculated at 145 cents (NS/EW fare) even though travelling on the CCL (Bishan - Sgn - PYL: 2.7 + 4.7 = 7.4km) is cheaper at 140 cents.
Nicoll Highway - Lorong Chuan
Calculator: $1.50 (via CCL)
Cheaper way: $1.40 (via NEL)
Nicoll Highway - Bishan
Calculator: $1.58 (via CCL)
Cheaper way: $1.44 (via NSL)
Nicoll Highway - Marymount
Calculator: $1.66 (via CCL)
Cheaper way: $1.48 (via NSL)
Promenade - Serangoon
Cheaper way: $1.46 (via NEL)
Promenade - Lorong Chuan
Calculator: $1.54 (via CCL)
Cheaper way: $1.50 (via NEL)
Promenade - Marymount
Calculator: $1.66 (via CCL)
Cheaper way: $1.48 (via NSL)
Esplanade - Bartley
Esplanade - Serangoon
Calculator: $1.54 (via CCL)
Cheaper way: $1.40 (via NEL)
Esplanade - Lorong Chuan
Cheaper way: $1.44 (via NSL)
Bras Basah - Bartley
Bras Basah - Serangoon
Cheaper way: $1.24 (via NEL)
Bras Basah - Lorong Chuan
Calculator: $1.40 (via NSL)
Another Way: $1.40 (via NEL)
Dhoby Ghaut - Tai Seng
Calculator: $1.50 (via NEL)
Cheaper Way: $1.21 (via EWL)
I hope you have written to LTA with the above information discrepancies. I have done with mine.
The SGN-Bras Basah is a very obvious discrepancy. SGN is in between Potong Pasir and Kovan, but the fare is more than Kovan-Brash Basah and Potong Pasir-Bras Basah.
I noticed that the same fare discrepancy occurs in the current fare system. To Potong Pasir costs 105 cents and Kovan 145 cents, but Serangoon costs 155 cents because they decided to calculate based on the CCL instead of NEL. Very sneaky of them. But luckily with the fare calculator we can see the actual distance and expose their scam.
The calculation between DBG and Tai Seng should be 136 cents. 2.1 km on the CCL is a 15-cent premium on top of base fare of 121 cents for 8.9 km.
Originally posted by Yusry:I hope you have written to LTA with the above information discrepancies. I have done with mine.
The SGN-Bras Basah is a very obvious discrepancy. SGN is in between Potong Pasir and Kovan, but the fare is more than Kovan-Brash Basah and Potong Pasir-Bras Basah.
I noticed that the same fare discrepancy occurs in the current fare system. To Potong Pasir costs 105 cents and Kovan 145 cents, but Serangoon costs 155 cents because they decided to calculate based on the CCL instead of NEL. Very sneaky of them. But luckily with the fare calculator we can see the actual distance and expose their scam.
The calculation between DBG and Tai Seng should be 136 cents. 2.1 km on the CCL is a 15-cent premium on top of base fare of 121 cents for 8.9 km.
I've written to them. Hopefully the system wont be as cocked up as the calculator..
No wonder I find $1.21 is awfully cheap when the minimum amongst all the calculations above is $1.24 with NEL premium included..
WITH the impending changeover to distance fares on Saturday, I have been using the distance fares calculator provided by the Land Transport Authority to calculate fares.
While on it, I have noticed a discrepancy in the way train fares are calculated. In certain situations, it calculates a longer but direct trip even though a shorter route exists.
Take for example, a trip from Bras Basah to Potong Pasir, Serangoon and Kovan stations. A trip to Potong Pasir is 5km away and Kovan is 8.6km away. One would expect Serangoon station, situated between Potong Pasir and Kovan stations, to be between 5km and 8.6km away.
However, the calculator gives a distance of 11.4km by virtue of a direct train line between Serangoon and Bras Basah stations.
A quick calculation shows that the shorter distance should be 7.2km. The excess 4.2km given by the calculator means an overcharge in the fare by 34 cents.
From Paya Lebar to Dhoby Ghaut, the reverse occurs. A shorter trip of 6.8km is calculated on the East-West line with a subsequent transfer on the North-South Line instead of the 7.4km direct trip on the Circle Line.
With buses, commuters can choose to transfer for a cheaper fare or take a direct bus with a higher fare. With the train network, there is no such option.
The above examples show that in some cases, the cheaper fare with transfers is charged, and in others, the higher but direct fare is charged. This discrepancy should be eliminated.
Yusry Harfuddin
http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/OnlineStory/STIStory_546840.html
and the reply was really outrageous....
WE REFER to Tuesday's Forum Online letter by Mr Yusry Harfuddin ("Distance fare calculation glitches").
Today, the fare between a pair of stations is based on the fastest route of travel. This takes into account the walking and waiting time required if a switch to another rail line is involved. Travel surveys conducted by the Land Transport Authority confirmed that commuters do take into account walking and waiting times when deciding on their route of travel. Hence, we have retained this fare-setting principle under distance fares.
The examples cited by Mr Yusry are consistent with the principle of setting fares using the fastest route. For a journey from Bras Basah to Serangoon station, the fare is based on the fastest travel route via the Circle Line. This does not require the commuter to make any switch between rail lines as Serangoon is also on the Circle Line. Similarly, using the fastest-route principle for the journey from Bras Basah station and Kovan stations, the travel route for fare computation is via a switch to the North-East Line at Dhoby Ghaut station (instead of at Serangoon station). This explains why the fares are higher for a journey from Bras Basah to Serangoon than from Bras Basah to Kovan, even though the former is located nearer to Bras Basah.
Nonetheless, we have noted Mr Yusry's point. As more new rail lines are opened, we may review the fare-setting principle in the future.
Eugene Tan
Secretary
Public Transport Council
Helen Lim (Ms)
Deputy Director, Media Relations
Land Transport Authority
wa kaoz
Why would ppl want to make 1 big round on CCL esp its CBD leg takes eons to cover
Yeah lor. And why wouldn't someone choose to go by Dhoby Ghaut just to pay a lower fare? Why should he be paying more?
They even want to make the bus fans angry.
Tsk tsk. ![]()
Disadvtangeous for those who take direct (single) trip.... More expensive than current one... But advtageous for those who make at least 1 transfer....
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Yeah lor. And why wouldn't someone choose to go by Dhoby Ghaut just to pay a lower fare? Why should he be paying more?
I think it's like Sv 155's case for buses.
kns, want ppl to take 100 to further down change to 155. 155 freq not tat good, miss 1 wait nong nong leh ![]()
crap reply. Next time just boycott the premium mrt fares (i.e. NEL and CCL) and take buses instead. Hopefully not in a hurry.