Just wanna do a quick check on something indirectly related to this:
Are Tampines Townlink Services still considered as "endless loop" services?
Wait wait, so how much is the transfer rebates for Parks services? ![]()

Originally posted by smrtbsbs:Just wanna do a quick check on something indirectly related to this:
Are Tampines Townlink Services still considered as "endless loop" services?
Operationally, the buses do not run endless loops. But trips on Townlink services exceeding 3.2km will still be charged 71¢ flat fare.
Actually since the fare is distance related, why the prohibition on same service transfers.
As long as the continuation is done within 45 minutes there should be no transfer penalties.
That would be really providing service to the people. They can take a bus, drop off and buy Toto and then resume the journey on the next bus.
Originally posted by mancha:Actually since the fare is distance related, why the prohibition on same service transfers.
As long as the continuation is done within 45 minutes there should be no transfer penalties.
That would be really providing service to the people. They can take a bus, drop off and buy Toto and then resume the journey on the next bus.
but cannot be the same svc. no. ![]()
Singapore’s public transport will switch to distance-based fares from Saturday.
Bus and train fares will be calculated based on distance-travelled and the type of service taken to get to a destination.
The Land Transport Authority, LTA, says under Distance Fares, commuters will no longer pay transfer penalties.
With the removal of this transfer penalty, commuters will have greater flexibility to decide on the best route to reach their destination.
If these choices involve transfers, they will no longer have to pay a fare penalty for the transfers.
LTA says senior citizens, students and children will also benefit with Distance Fares as they also no longer have to pay transfer penalties.
In addition, they will enjoy 25% and 50% discount off adult fares, and will only pay a flat fare for distances above 7.2km.
This means that they do not have to pay additional fare for distances beyond that.
Senior citizens will also continue to enjoy concession fare for journeys all day on weekends and public holidays and after 9am on weekdays.
LTA says to ensure that commuters only pay for the distance travelled; they must remember to tap in on entry and tap out on exit when travelling on public transport.
Otherwise, maximum fare will be charged.
Also from Saturday, commuters will be able to check their Distance Fares using the Public Transport Journey Planner available on www.transitlink.com.sg
LTA says in calculating Distance Fares, some commuters may find that they have to pay more for some of their journeys.
But it adds that when comparing Distance Fares with their current fares, commuters need to take into account that the 3% temporary fare rebate offered by the public transport operators (PTOs) last year which will expire on Saturday.
LTA says many have made fares comparison without factoring in the expiry of the 3% fare rebate. - CNA
Originally posted by Apalis56:Distance-based fares from Saturday
Singapore’s public transport will switch to distance-based fares from Saturday.
Bus and train fares will be calculated based on distance-travelled and the type of service taken to get to a destination.
The Land Transport Authority, LTA, says under Distance Fares, commuters will no longer pay transfer penalties.
With the removal of this transfer penalty, commuters will have greater flexibility to decide on the best route to reach their destination.
If these choices involve transfers, they will no longer have to pay a fare penalty for the transfers.
LTA says senior citizens, students and children will also benefit with Distance Fares as they also no longer have to pay transfer penalties.
In addition, they will enjoy 25% and 50% discount off adult fares, and will only pay a flat fare for distances above 7.2km.
This means that they do not have to pay additional fare for distances beyond that.
Senior citizens will also continue to enjoy concession fare for journeys all day on weekends and public holidays and after 9am on weekdays.
LTA says to ensure that commuters only pay for the distance travelled; they must remember to tap in on entry and tap out on exit when travelling on public transport.
Otherwise, maximum fare will be charged.
Also from Saturday, commuters will be able to check their Distance Fares using the Public Transport Journey Planner available on www.transitlink.com.sg
LTA says in calculating Distance Fares, some commuters may find that they have to pay more for some of their journeys.
But it adds that when comparing Distance Fares with their current fares, commuters need to take into account that the 3% temporary fare rebate offered by the public transport operators (PTOs) last year which will expire on Saturday.
LTA says many have made fares comparison without factoring in the expiry of the 3% fare rebate. - CNA
why do the article keep talking about senior citizens and students?
how many senior citizens are there? senior citizens dont travel as often as working adults.
students dont pay as much as adults when it come to travelling.
I dunno that transfer can incur a penalty one ![]()
does it mean all along we paid a penalty for transfers?
extracted from todayonline.
again the above article mentioned the benefits to students, children and senior citizens. what about the adults? i believe they spend more on travelling than the other 3 groups.
so how do the average singaporean check which distance is shorter, hence pay less?
is there a website or hotline for checking?
Originally posted by dragg:
why do the article keep talking about senior citizens and students?how many senior citizens are there? senior citizens dont travel as often as working adults.
students dont pay as much as adults when it come to travelling.
The truth is, senior citizens do travel as much as, and perhaps more, than an average working adult.
Some senior goes to Chinatown and other areas to meet up with old friends almost on a daily matter.
For feeder services, many of them travel daily as well. Just check out Ang Mo Kio and Toa Payoh.
awww...gosh. i'm gonna be spending at least 45c more per week...just cuz of train fares..
Originally posted by TIB1051D:awww...gosh. i'm gonna be spending at least 45c more per week...just cuz of train fares..
I 13 x5 more cents leh! Plus tuition on Sunday 5 x2
Omg I have to pay 75c more/ week!?
i believe majority of the people will end up paying more.
If everyone ends up paying less, then it will means SMRT and SBST will be making less money.
I doutb that will happen. They will make more profit. That means somebody has to pay even more, to make up for those who pay less.
The fare stage system make the short distance traveller subsidise the long distance traveller. Now I think one third of the commuters will be paying less, the two third will be paying more.
If the SMRT and SBSY lose money, they can always improve the service by making the bus service go like a snake, so that it serve more people and people have more destinations to go to.
I paid $0.03 for my feeder today =P
i will be paying more than before. fuk
Dear all , i seeing a potential mess-up when your bus suddenly broke down and your train disrupt due to someone jumping over the rail
how is LTA , SBSTRANSIT going to reimburse for the disruption
To me , i calculated a big mess-up in this services
we going to end up paying more ..
the 42km is not realistic
some bus services run more than 42 km ard singapore .How is that going to benefit those low income workers ???
ok la.. today I "reap the benefits" of this new scam.. I took sv145 for 2 stops and another service for a few stops, total fare was 71cts. previously would cost me 69 + 19 = 88cts ![]()
also, for those taking feeder and transfer to Trunk, please alight from the feeder as late as possible as the feeder fare is capped.
Example: Journey from AMK ave 9 (opp Hospital) to HG ave 2 (Stadium)
268 from opp Hospital alighting at Ave 3 (Blk 109). this is the first transfer stop for 268 and 132.
132 from blk 109 to HG ave 2 (Blk 634). Fare is 71 + 38 = 109cts
Expensive option:
268 from opp Hospital alighting at Blk 5022 (last transfer stop)
132 from Blk 5022 to Blk 634. Fare will be 71 + 20 = 91cts
same distance, but different fares, as feeders have a fare cap.
Originally posted by syncopation_music:Dear all , i seeing a potential mess-up when your bus suddenly broke down and your train disrupt due to someone jumping over the rail
how is LTA , SBSTRANSIT going to reimburse for the disruption
To me , i calculated a big mess-up in this services
we going to end up paying more ..
the 42km is not realistic
some bus services run more than 42 km ard singapore .How is that going to benefit those low income workers ???
42km can be made up of a few rides on either buses or trains...
Originally posted by mancha:Actually since the fare is distance related, why the prohibition on same service transfers.
nobody will take the same service twice if it brings them to the same destination with the first bus. it prevents people from running errands along the route of a service.
the purpose of the new scheme is to increase profit.
how do the average commuter know which route is shorter? you cant go checking every time you make a trip right? is there such a service to check anyway?
how many will choose to switch transport just to save a few cents, especially on a hot or rainy day?
charging by distance is totally unfair. buses run up a lot of unnecessary distances just to pick as many people as possible. it is only fair (thought not realistic) if it travels straight.
Originally posted by dragg:the purpose of the new scheme is to increase profit.
how do the average commuter know which route is shorter? you cant go checking every time you make a trip right? is there such a service to check anyway?
how many will choose to switch transport just to save a few cents, especially on a hot or rainy day?
charging by distance is totally unfair. buses run up a lot of unnecessary distances just to pick as many people as possible. it is only fair (thought not realistic) if it travels straight.
to me short detour is ok because afterall we dun have so many bus resources available.