Originally posted by sbst275:
to me short detour is ok because afterall we dun have so many bus resources available.
that is not the point.
they should not charge based on distance.
Originally posted by dragg:that is not the point.
they should not charge based on distance.
if not we would end up like Hong Kong. Fares based on e entire distance (flat fare). Either way dun really sound right for 1 gp of passengers.
Originally posted by mancha:If everyone ends up paying less, then it will means SMRT and SBST will be making less money.
I doutb that will happen. They will make more profit. That means somebody has to pay even more, to make up for those who pay less.
The fare stage system make the short distance traveller subsidise the long distance traveller. Now I think one third of the commuters will be paying less, the two third will be paying more.
If the SMRT and SBSY lose money, they can always improve the service by making the bus service go like a snake, so that it serve more people and people have more destinations to go to.
Actually they're also hoping in e long run w/ distance fare, it'll attract more ppl to take public tpt.
More incentive to upgrade to bigger buses ma ![]()
this thursday I'm gonna experience this distance based fare thingy liao..![]()
Wa.. 408, 409 fare back to $1 riao.
Practically CT, Parks back to normal.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Wait wait, so how much is the transfer rebates for Parks services?
SBS webbie says dun have leh
mmm.. Wat abt Potong Pasir - Boon Lay & x-fer to 246 to Meiji. The 3c top up would become free ride (5c discount but since it's 3c, becomes free?).
Dunno wat's going on w/ DBTF chart. kee siao
Wah Piang. all my trips were up by 4 cents regarding transfer or no transfer. This is day light robbery!
Originally posted by phillipC:Wah Piang. all my trips were up by 4 cents regarding transfer or no transfer. This is day light robbery!
me up my 7 cents per trip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i feel they should use displacement between two consecutive stops instead... doesnt make sense that they use the full distance inclusive of all the twists and turns
Originally posted by jayh272416:i feel they should use displacement between two consecutive stops instead... doesnt make sense that they use the full distance inclusive of all the twists and turns
mileage is tied to costs. and if it were displacement, then if i had to run errands, i can come back to my original starting point within 2 hours and pay nothing.
then we can start card pooling between close people. if i want to go to A and my brother wants to come home from A, we could tap in, exchange cards midway, and we'll both pay nothing. cool eh? ![]()
just the 2cts increase on all feeder services alone guaranteed a tidy profit.
what about the 25cts rebate for transfers? thats another tidy sum.
Originally posted by dragg:just the 2cts increase on all feeder services alone guaranteed a tidy profit.
Not only this. Before distance fare, when I took svc 112 from Hg South Food Centre to the bus stop opp hg plaza, it only costs me 69 cents. Now it costs me 81 cents! That's 12 cents increase. Imagine if I take it everyday, I will need to pay extra 24 cents per day and this adds up to about $4.80 extra per month. Multiplied by the number of passengers, you can imagine the profit they can earn.
Anyway, with this new distance fare, I think that some services like 112 and 113 should be converted to feeder or townlink. Somehow it makes no sense for commuters to pay more to take a service which is plying intra town.
Paying 20c more per day...
I keep hearing ppl saying their fare increased, where is the 67% of the commuters whose fare decreased??? All died or took cab or drive liao huh??
Originally posted by Kenashi:Paying 20c more per day...
I keep hearing ppl saying their fare increased, where is the 67% of the commuters whose fare decreased??? All died or took cab or drive liao huh??
the senior citizens and the students.
how many senior citizens are there? and how many travel regularly?
the students before the new scheme dont spend as much as the adults on transport.
Originally posted by dragg:the senior citizens and the students.
how many senior citizens are there? and how many travel regularly?
the students before the new scheme dont spend as much as the adults on transport.
for them it's obvious, you make transfer you save $$. you dun as in direct bus, you lugi.
Originally posted by dragg:just the 2cts increase on all feeder services alone guaranteed a tidy profit.
There's no more transfer rebate.
It's based on total distance i.e. 5km on 1st bus, 7km on 2nd sv, so it's total 12km fare.
Originally posted by meltz:any rebate for transfer from bus to mrt or mrt to bus ?
nope
you take MRT 5km, bus 2km, it's taken as 7km under MRT fare table (of course depends on CCL/ NEL or NSL/ EWL).
Originally posted by sbst275:
nopeyou take MRT 5km, bus 2km, it's taken as 7km under MRT fare table (of course depends on CCL/ NEL or NSL/ EWL).
Originally posted by meltz:
hmm chim so simply mean no rebate .. sian
er... Actually hor, you can go use e distance fare calculator.
In some cases ends up is 20c fare reduction.
Originally posted by Kenashi:Paying 20c more per day...
For me, travelling to NTU is drastically cheaper now. To get to work, taking a different bus stop makes a 6-cent difference. The old fare was somewhere in between.
Those tat kena ripped up is direct Express bus ride and those x-fer from NEL to Parks 408 to Labordor Park or 409 to Mt Faber.
Flyover turning dist need to tabulate..
Think we can tear down flyover and convert back to one lane per direction road riao. Wa kaoz end up can have almost 1km diff over flyovers.