Originally posted by sbst275:
er... Actually hor, you can go use e distance fare calculator.In some cases ends up is 20c fare reduction.
agu you got example ma? most people do not see reductions beyond 10¢...
Originally posted by sbst275:Those tat kena ripped up is direct Express bus ride and those x-fer from NEL to Parks 408 to Labordor Park or 409 to Mt Faber.
agreed.... also those who take from some CCL stations to its interchanges with other lines where a cheaper & faster alternative requiring rail transfer is possible...
Originally posted by ^tamago^:agu you got example ma? most people do not see reductions beyond 10¢...
1 example I tried.
Say from Toa Payoh Lor 6/ Swimming Cplx (506) -> BBT (MRT) -> BNL -> SDC (182).
Old: $1.85 + $1 + $0.91/ $0.71 - $1 = $2.76/ $2.56
New: $2.05 + $0.25 + $0.10/ Free (NAC): $2.40/ $2.30
Another one
Sv 74/ NP -> Sv 109/ Yio Chu Kang Rd to Pasir Ris Dr 1 Blk 571.
Old: $1.41 + $1.31 - $0.50 = $2.22
New: $1.49 + $0.31 = $1.80
whoa swee but the route are usually long ![]()
Originally posted by ^tamago^:whoa swee but the route are usually long
Got 1 forumite LF, her fare from home to workplace down more than 10c also. From Tagore - Serangoon New Town.
Typically those taking bus - MRT not much savings.
Originally posted by dragg:the senior citizens and the students.
how many senior citizens are there? and how many travel regularly?
the students before the new scheme dont spend as much as the adults on transport.
Thanks to this new distane fares the cost of a MRT trip to and fro my school has shot up up to 25%!!! From 44 cents to 58 cents!!! So everyday I have to pay close to 30 cents everyday! Zzz ...
Sv 160 & 170 fare issue highlighted on Chinese news riao.
Seriously return leg from JB is lesser mileage tabulated.
TBH, it's still cheaper than purposely use coins pay for CW1 as long as they take MRT.
From the news, Malaysians & HI dun realise e impact. Handal Indah will become e biggest loser actually.
I'll cite 4 examples.
1) To/ Fro Larkin
i) NUS (Reference Ctrl Lib):
To NUS: <Old> $1.21 + $1.49 + $0.69 - $1: $2.39. New: $1.41 + $0.42 + $0.03: $1.86. Savings: $0.53
Back: <Old> $2.39. New: $0.71 + $0.90 + $0.27: $1.88. Savings: $0.51
ii) NTU (Reference North Spine):
To NTU: <Old> $1.21 + $1.53 + $0.91 - $1: $2.65. New: $1.41 + $0.43 + $0.04: $1.88. Savings: $0.77
Back: <Old> $2.65. New: $1.01 + $0.69 + $0.21: $1.91. Savings: $0.74
iii) Raffles Place:
To RFP: <Old> $1.21 + $1.81 - $0.50: $2.52. New: $1.41 + $0.53: $1.94. Savings: $0.58
Back: <Old> $2.52. New: $1.81 + $0.13: $1.94. Savings: $0.58.
iv) Jurong (Take 255 to Gul):
To Jurong: <Old> $1.21 + $1.53 + $1.21/ $0.91 - $1: $2.95/ $2.65. New: $1.41 + $0.43 + $0.09/ Free: $1.93/ $1.84. Savings: $1.02/ $0.81.
Back: <Old> $2.95/ $2.65. New: $1.25/ $1.05 + $0.55 + $0.14: $1.94/ $1.74. Savings: $1.01/ $0.91.
Kota Raya to be shown next post.
To/ From Kota Raya
NUS
To NUS: <Old> $0.91 + $1.49 + $0.69 - $1: $2.09. New: $1.25 + $0.54 + $0.03: $1.82. Savings: $0.27.
Back: <Old> $2.09. New: $0.71 + $0.90 + $0.24: $1.85. Savings: $0.24.
NTU
To NTU: <Old> $0.91 + $1.53 + $0.91 - $1: $2.35. New: $1.25 + $0.55 + $0.04: $1.84. Savings: $0.51
Back: <Old> $2.35. New: $1.01 + $0.69 + $0.19: $1.89. Savings: $0.46
RFP
To RFP: <Old> $0.91 + $1.81 - $0.50: $2.22. New: $1.25 + $0.65: $1.90. Savings: $0.32
Back: <Old> $2.22. New: $1.81 + $0.13: $1.94. Savings: $0.28
Jurong/ Gul
To Jurong: <Old> $0.91 + $1.53 + $1.21/ $0.91 - $1: $2.65/ $2.35. New: $1.25 + $0.55 + $0.09/ Free: $1.89/ $1.80. Savings: $0.76/ $0.55
Back: <Old> $2.65/ $2.35. New: $1.25/ $1.05 + $0.55 + $0.13: $1.93/ $1.73. Savings: $0.72/ $0.62
To Sungei Kadut next post. But it's obvious those taking to Woodlands Rd/ Yew Tee lugi.
Sg Kadut leg
Larkin side
To Sg Kadut: <Old> $1.21 + $0.91 - $0.50: $1.62. New: $1.41 + $0.32: $1.73. Hike: $0.11
Back: <Old> $1.62. New: $1.21 + $0.56: $1.77. Hike: $0.15.
Kota Raya side
To Sg Kadut: <Old> $0.91 + $0.91 - $0.50: $1.32. New: $1.25 + $0.36: $1.61. Hike: $0.29!
Back: <Old> $1.32. New: $1.21 + $0.49 = $1.70. Hike: $0.38!
Originally posted by sbst275:
Got 1 forumite LF, her fare from home to workplace down more than 10c also. From Tagore - Serangoon New Town.Typically those taking bus - MRT not much savings.
coz im absorbing the 10c from her savings...
Originally posted by sbst275:To Sungei Kadut next post. But it's obvious those taking to Woodlands Rd/ Yew Tee lugi.
You should try Senoko and Gambas areas as well
Originally posted by service_238:
You should try Senoko and Gambas areas as well
I think for Senoko, cannot tabulate for Kota Raya... cos of that 'same service' crap.
Gambas I take it as 170 - MRT - 969.
To Gambas from Larkin: <Old> $1.21 + $0.91 + $0.69 - $1: $1.81. New: $1.41 + $0.20 + $0.03: $1.64
Back: <Old> $1.81. New: $0.71 + $0.44 + $0.60: $1.75
To Gambas from Kota Raya: <Old> $0.91 + $0.91 + $0.69 - $1: $1.51. New: $1.25 + $0.20 + $0.04: $1.49
Back: <Old> $1.51. New: $0.71 + $0.44 + $0.52: $1.67
Senoko
Maybe 170 - 856.
Let's see
From Larkin to Senoko: <Old> $1.11 + $0.91 - $0.50: $1.52. New: $1.29 + $0.24: $1.53
Back: <Old> $1.52. New: $1.01 + $0.60: $1.61.
From Kota Raya: There's a new journey crap!
Today, when I took TIB1165J, I tap in and after travelling 0.6km, I tap out..and the price is still $0.00!! :D
lets say you board and alight after one bus stop for a particular bus how much do they charge? 71cts?
Originally posted by SMB66X:I tap in on TIB1039R and tap out immediately @ 0.0 KM!! And I paid $0.00!!! Woo!!
Today, when I took TIB1165J, I tap in and after travelling 0.6km, I tap out..and the price is still $0.00!! :D
I did that and BC scold me.. Well done -.-
Well, they wont do that for commuters to pay lesser right?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
mileage is tied to costs. and if it were displacement, then if i had to run errands, i can come back to my original starting point within 2 hours and pay nothing.
then we can start card pooling between close people. if i want to go to A and my brother wants to come home from A, we could tap in, exchange cards midway, and we'll both pay nothing. cool eh?
You got me wrong le.
Displacement between two bus stops is tabulated for the distance
so the Yishun - opp blk 757 will be counted as 0.3 instead of the current 0.8.
think this is more fair.
NOT displacement for the whole ride. LOL.
Originally posted by dragg:lets say you board and alight after one bus stop for a particular bus how much do they charge? 71cts?
71¢. but if you were transferring from another ride, this part of the ride will be free to 4¢, since the chargeable distance is cumulative.
Originally posted by jayh272416:You got me wrong le.
Displacement between two bus stops is tabulated for the distance
so the Yishun - opp blk 757 will be counted as 0.3 instead of the current 0.8.
think this is more fair.
NOT displacement for the whole ride. LOL.
Oh sorry for that :(
Fares will be higher per km if they were calculated in this manner, and the fare you pay under displacement-based fare will be roughly the same as distance-based fare.
And it incentivises bus companies to not use express routes whose displacement of the 2 bus stops far away might be much less than that of distance required to reach there. A closer distance between 2 bus stops will become preferred as they don't seem to "lose" that much.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:71¢. but if you were transferring from another ride, this part of the ride will be free to 4¢, since the chargeable distance is cumulative.
what if there is no transfer?
why should i pay 71cts if i am travelling only 1 bus stop if its distance based? so now bus are charging like taxis?
Originally posted by sbst275:Sv 160 & 170 fare issue highlighted on Chinese news riao.
Seriously return leg from JB is lesser mileage tabulated.
TBH, it's still cheaper than purposely use coins pay for CW1 as long as they take MRT.
but wad if let's say i don't transfer b4 n after n still take sv170 from Kranji direct to Larkin?
Recall the Original Fare before "temporary fare reduction kicks in and expired on 2 Jul 2010".
http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/press/2008-09-24-01-S.aspx
Adult: Min $0.71
Anyway, the km system was designed by LTA, verified by LTA and amount charged decided by LTA.
There may be savings for those who change service within 45min upon exit.
Eg Hougang Stadium > Bedok Interchange
Previously you can only take 1 service. Eg 854 all the way or 25 all the way.
Now: If you take 854, you think it is full or you want to meet your friend along the service route, you can choose to alight. Within 45min upon exit (2 hr rule apply) you take 25, the total fare charged is the same (as it is TOTAL distance).
Is it about choice, take the fastest bus /transfer to bus less pack.
However, we cannot take back same service eg 25, alight then 25 again. full fare charged
Try out www.publictransport.sg (the calculator icon on the right)