Wah chim chim calcaulations.
Originally posted by -StarDust-:Wah chim chim calcaulations.
isnt it ridiculous having to calculate the price for daily transport?
this is a stupid scheme.
i wonder who is the smart alec who came up with it.
Bus fares actually increase and the worst hit is senior citizens. They used to pay 69cts from east to west (travel after 9am)but now it is distance travelled. No wonder CEO SMRT received payment of more that $4 million as reported in the ST
Here's the website For the Distance Fares Calculator: http://www.publictransport.com.sg/publish/ptp/en/distancefare.html
Originally posted by dragg:isnt it ridiculous having to calculate the price for daily transport?
this is a stupid scheme.
short dist = ok
long dist = fork out more $
They are good at figures...till everybody blurrrrr....and thought that they pay less.....good job lta.
Originally posted by AEW5001:
but wad if let's say i don't transfer b4 n after n still take sv170 from Kranji direct to Larkin?
Huh?
For now there's a prob w/ free choice bet 160 & 170.
Originally posted by dragg:isnt it ridiculous having to calculate the price for daily transport?
this is a stupid scheme.
then distance tabulation for taxi is a stupid scheme.
Say make it flat fare $50 from Airport even if it's to Pasir Ris, Tampines.
Originally posted by likeyou:They are good at figures...till everybody blurrrrr....and thought that they pay less.....good job lta.
because you dun even bother to check.
Like e 170's case, little did those student realise if they're studying in NTU especially, they get a close to 15 - 20% fare reduction.
Originally posted by dragg:what if there is no transfer?
why should i pay 71cts if i am travelling only 1 bus stop if its distance based? so now bus are charging like taxis?
In e first place in the transfer rebate days there's a minimum distance i.e. 4 fare stages or approx 3.2km.
There's always a basic cost commuter has to pay i.e. bus facility itself or in other cases say manufacturing cost for consumer goods.
Originally posted by sbst275:
then distance tabulation for taxi is a stupid scheme.Say make it flat fare $50 from Airport even if it's to Pasir Ris, Tampines.
i say daily transport. so its buses. i didnt know you take taxi as a daily mode of transport.
and to compare taxis to buses show you are not right up there.
Originally posted by dragg:i say daily transport. so its buses. i didnt know you take taxi as a daily mode of transport.
and to compare taxis to buses show you are not right up there.
There are always ppl who prefer to take cabs being not liking to squeeze w/ people. Not to say u like ppl carrying lots of shopping bags squeezing w/ you in e MRT train during peak hours?
I've said in prev page, u dun like tabulate. Ok, we follow Hong Kong. Flat fare based on entire journey. Take 1 bus stop or to e end is e same.
Originally posted by likeyou:They are good at figures...till everybody blurrrrr....and thought that they pay less.....good job lta.
most people cant and wont be bothered to check every trip they make.
just this point alone is advantageous to them.
if you are outside and needs to travel from point a to point b will you try to find out which route is shorter and hence, cost less? even if you are at home you will find it troublesome.
There are always ppl who prefer to take cabs being not liking to squeeze w/ people. Not to say u like ppl carrying lots of shopping bags squeezing w/ you in e MRT train during peak hours?I've said in prev page, u dun like tabulate. Ok, we follow Hong Kong. Flat fare based on entire journey. Take 1 bus stop or to e end is e same.
how much hong kong charge for transport do not affect us. it neither make us better nor worst. so it makes no point comparing.
as you mentioned above taxis gives convenience, comfort and privacy to passengers, hence the higher charges. so it logical and reasonable.
buses cant give you the same thing that taxis do.
Originally posted by dragg:how much hong kong charge for transport do not affect us. it neither make us better nor worst. so it makes no point comparing.
as you mentioned above taxis gives convenience, comfort and privacy to passengers, hence the higher charges. so it logical and reasonable.
But taxi as like buses, charges on distance.
In any case it's a 3 cents thought. Singapore is the only country that tabulates your fare based on total distance clocked.
In other countries, it's like Hong Kong flat fare based on terminal pt A to terminal pt B or Penang whereby it's RM2 (RM4 if take 2nd bus, RM6 for 3rd ride regardless of distance).
Either system has its merit but flat fare system will disadvantage short distance travellers especially in our MRT - feeder bus concept.
Originally posted by dragg:how much hong kong charge for transport do not affect us. it neither make us better nor worst. so it makes no point comparing.
Ouch. ![]()
Originally posted by -StarDust-:Wah chim chim calcaulations.
Do we need an accountant or MBA grad to understand the calculations? ![]()
But taxi as like buses, charges on distance.In any case it's a 3 cents thought. Singapore is the only country that tabulates your fare based on total distance clocked.
In other countries, it's like Hong Kong flat fare based on terminal pt A to terminal pt B or Penang whereby it's RM2 (RM4 if take 2nd bus, RM6 for 3rd ride regardless of distance).
Either system has its merit but flat fare system will disadvantage short distance travellers especially in our MRT - feeder bus concept.
why do you keep mentioning the flat fare system? i did not say i support that.
have you ever heard the phrase "dont fix what is not broken." why did they change to the distance based fare? why? if not for more profit.
what is wrong with the old system of charging?
Originally posted by dragg:why do you keep mentioning the flat fare system? i did not say i support that.
have you ever heard the phrase "dont fix what is not broken." why did they change to the distance based fare? why? if not for more profit.
what is wrong with the old system of charging?
Old system less profits, so change to more profitable system.
They already remove a fair bit of chairs in the MRT carriages to squeeze in more people for maximum profitability.
To make more money, have to make people pay more lor. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Old system less profits, so change to more profitable system.
They already remove a fair bit of chairs in the MRT carriages to squeeze in more people for maximum profitability.
To make more money, have to make people pay more lor.
thats exactly what i have in mind.
i wonder why sbst275 is so supportive of this system.
Originally posted by dragg:thats exactly what i have in mind.
now u previously said they take advantage because ppl dun check. That's seriously a sign of arrogance. You hear ppl tell you fare hike, but is yours?
1 example: From Woodlands Centre to Boon Lay MRT via 170 & MRT @ Kranji.
Old: 3.5 fare stage ($0.69 fare) + 16.8km MRT ride ($1.53) - rebate (50c) = $1.72.
New: $0.71 (2.5km bus ride) + $0.93 MRT ride (16.8km). This 93c top up is based on the MRT fare table for 19.3km journey (2.5km + 16.8km). Hence it works out to be $1.64.
The new system is better than e old one because your unused fare stage onboard e bus journey (0.5 fare stage for tis case) cannot be claimed for MRT credits.
now u previously said they take advantage because ppl dun check. That's seriously a sign of arrogance. You hear ppl tell you fare hike, but is yours?1 example: From Woodlands Centre to Boon Lay MRT via 170 & MRT @ Kranji.
Old: 3.5 fare stage ($0.69 fare) + 16.8km MRT ride ($1.53) - rebate (50c) = $1.72.
New: $0.71 (2.5km bus ride) + $0.93 MRT ride (16.8km). This 93c top up is based on the MRT fare table for 19.3km journey (2.5km + 16.8km). Hence it works out to be $1.64.
The new system is better than e old one because your unused fare stage onboard e bus journey (0.5 fare stage for tis case) cannot be claimed for MRT credits.
so in short you believe more people will benefit from the new system? i.e. the transport companies will make less money?
Originally posted by dragg:so in short you believe more people will benefit from the new system? i.e. the transport companies will make less money?
overall they're actually going to collect less revenue w/ today's travelling pattern i.e. at least 1 transfer per total journey.
Originally posted by dragg:thats exactly what i have in mind.
He's a shareholder.