I'll list the isolated groups of passengers who are really adversely affected by the distance fare.
1) Trunk svs that were ex feeder Svs: 3, 17, 38, 51, 60, 63, 101, 112, 113, 143, 163, 859 (Sembawang feedering leg).
2) Jln Boon Lay JIS Svs: 2km jump
3) Parks, Express or rather Basic Plus Services.
4) Sv 155, 961C
5) Those tat are forced to make detour i.e. Sv 154 en-route Jurong at Woodsville Flyover. For some reasons, use flyover e turning dist is tabulated as well. Dist is tabulated.
6) Sv 160, 170. Now can't even switch svs bet CIQ n no way DBTF for Parc Oasis > WDL Ctr via 160 & 170 connection. Same goes for Kota Raya > WDL Ctr.
Fare hike never mind.
But bus and trains are still packed to the brim - sometimes with little chance to board until the 2nd or 3rd attempt.
Peopl are paying more for less. ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:6) Sv 160, 170. Now can't even switch svs bet CIQ n no way DBTF for Parc Oasis > WDL Ctr via 160 & 170 connection. Same goes for Kota Raya > WDL Ctr.
This one can explain?
Originally posted by gohby:You are entirely missing the crux of my post. The purpose of my post is to objectively and clearly point out that my fares has risen, by a significant extent, this time round. It was not meant to be a historical comparison of prices because: (1): There is no end to such historical comparison of prices (How far back do we want to compare to? When feeder fares were still 25¢? When policemen were still wearing shorts?); (2) That would be digressing from the very purpose of my post, and the topic (Distance Fares) in the first place.
Hmm.. you are using Oct 07-Oct 08 prices. Why? In 2007/8, though there was a bus hike where all the bus fares across all fare bands increased, people taking this bus journey (43/70/76->90) will benefit because they increased the transfer rebate from 25¢-40¢. In a sense, you are doing selective statistical comparison here. Incidentally (or purposefully), the 2008 fares are the priciest for that particular bus journey.
Why did you say in order to make a true comparison, take 2008 fares? Why can't I take 2009/07/06/05/04/03/02/01, etc etc etc where fares, as a whole, are lower as the true comparison? Kindly justify.
Evidently, you neglected the fact that when the transfer rebates rose from 25¢-40¢ in Oct 08, fares across ALL fare bands increased! That increase affected EVERYONE (though some will still benefit because of the increase in transfer rebates), it was reported that it's a fare hike. Hence, the increase of transfer rebates from 25¢-40¢ is NOT a blessing engendered by the bus companies; it's merely a transfer of revenue sources, for the revenue lost from this increase had been shrewdly incorporated in the increase of basic fares.
What about other fares that went uncommented? The senior citizen fares? According to your "true" comparison, the increment of senior citizen fares is even greater! Direct journeys lagi worse (as you've acknowledged).
I may be wrong, but from the way you crafted your post, the way you seemed so deferential towards SBST/PTC (such as thanking them for the subjective increase in rebates), you come across to me as someone with vested interests - are you working for SBST/SMRT, or a shareholder?
If you are neither, you can consider being either of the two.
Above all, let me reiterate that the point of my post is to show that people who do transfers may not benefit from distance fares, which is widely purported to benefit them in the first place. Senior Citizens, as whole, will also suffer. Adults taking direct journeys will suffer. Period.
I just want to tell you that in 2008 before the rebate is increase from 25 cts to 40 cts, the fare that you are paying is S$1.09....(based on 67 cents + 42 cents) So after the so called increase in 2008, you are paying 71 ct + (71-40 cts) = S$1.02.....and by further increase the rebate to 50 cts in 2009, you are paying S$0.88.... so within the past two years, the fare have decreased from 1.09 to 0.88. Now it have indeed increase back to S$1.01...but still it is lower than the 2008 price... and hey, the price that i took for 2008 is BEFORE increase to 71 cts price... Why is it the pricest price? You did not read carefully my post at all.
67 cents compare to 71 cents? which is more expensive?
if PTC DID NOT increase the rebate that time, then you will see the saving in the fare for transfer NOW... do you understand? I am taking 2008 price as that is the time when the transfer rebate increase to 40 cts.... in the previous years before 2007, there isnt any INCREASE in rebate.... so i do not wish to take it as example....like what i have mention, when there is decrease of fare from 1.09 to 0.88, no one appreciate...
As for senior citizens wise, that is the PTC decision.. and whether PAP will lose these senior citizens's vote or not, i cant say. My parents are also senior citizens and they are do affected by this increase... I am just telling you the example of increase in transfer rebates only and nothing else, which we cant change the facts that the price is already changed... unless you dun take bus or mrt..
and i am not working in PTC/SBST and i am taking public transport as well. I am do affected by the increase in direct fare....what i am mentioning is all about the increase in transfer rebates which caused in this so called increase of fare right now...
when PTC increase the fare in 2008 with increase in rebates, they still kenna a lot of complain...when in actual fact, many trips involving transfer are incurring less fares.
So imagine if they keep the transfer rebates as 25 cents from 2008 to now, the price that you will be paying as follows:
2008 - before increase in fare - 67 cents + 42cents = 109 cents
2008-2009(after increase in fare) -- 71 cents + 46 cents = 117 cents
2009- June 2010 - 69 cents + 44 cents = 113 cents (not 88 cents)
from July 2010 onwards - 101 cents (5.6 km)
so it is wrong for PTC to increase the rebates from 25 cts to 40 cts to 50 cts then.they should just keep it as 25 cents till June 2010, so that they can go claim that the fare involving transfer have indeed DECREASE.
Originally posted by supremebull:This one can explain?
They strictly follow e 'no x-fer to same service' rule. So tat means if using e calculator, you must take 170 full from Kranji > WDL CIQ > JB CIQ > Kota Raya. You can't take 160 in between.
As for the local leg, Parc Oasis > Ten Mile Junction via 160 & Ten Mile Junction > Woodlands Ctr via 170 are considered 2 diff trips.
singapore is such a small island.
see how people have to tabulate to choose the cheapest route.
if i didnt know i thought you people are travelling across europe.
Originally posted by lemon1974:I just want to tell you that in 2008 before the rebate is increase from 25 cts to 40 cts, the fare that you are paying is S$1.09....(based on 67 cents + 42 cents) So after the so called increase in 2008, you are paying 71 ct + (71-40 cts) = S$1.02.....and by further increase the rebate to 50 cts in 2009, you are paying S$0.88.... so within the past two years, the fare have decreased from 1.09 to 0.88. Now it have indeed increase back to S$1.01...but still it is lower than the 2008 price... and hey, the price that i took for 2008 is BEFORE increase to 71 cts price... Why is it the pricest price? You did not read carefully my post at all.
if PTC DID NOT increase the rebate that time, then you will see the saving in the fare for transfer NOW... do you understand? I am taking 2008 price as that is the time when the transfer rebate increase to 40 cts.... in the previous years before 2007, there isnt any INCREASE in rebate.... so i do not wish to take it as example....like what i have mention, when there is decrease of fare from 1.09 to 0.88, no one appreciate...
As for senior citizens wise, that is the PTC decision.. and whether PAP will lose these senior citizens's vote or not, i cant say. My parents are also senior citizens and they are do affected by this increase... I am just telling you the example of increase in transfer rebates only and nothing else, which we cant change the facts that the price is already changed... unless you dun take bus or mrt..
and i am not working in PTC/SBST and i am taking public transport as well. I am do affected by the increase in direct fare....what i am mentioning is all about the increase in transfer rebates which caused in this so called increase of fare right now...
when PTC increase the fare in 2008 with increase in rebates, they still kenna a lot of complain...when in actual fact, many trips involving transfer are incurring less fares.
So imagine if they keep the transfer rebates as 25 cents from 2008 to now, the price that you will be paying as follows:
from July 2010 onwards - 101 cents (5.6 km)so it is wrong for PTC to increase the rebates from 25 cts to 40 cts to 50 cts then.they should just keep it as 25 cents till June 2010, so that they can go claim that the fare involving transfer have indeed DECREASE.
Rebate of 50 cents? So that means SBS has effectively decreased prices over the years? Then how come their profits rise tremendously year after year?
You really need to educate me, a layman here. Tks.
No matter how much you debate or argue about this, majority of commuters will still be paying more.
And the CEO of the transport companies will be getting a bigger bonus at the end of the year.
Really. ![]()
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Rebate of 50 cents? So that means SBS has effectively decreased prices over the years? Then how come their profits rise tremendously year after year?
You really need to educate me, a layman here. Tks.
you forgot there's things like receipts from shop rentals and advertisment.
Obvious u have been not noticing how e transfer rebate has been evolving. From 0c in e cash fare era to 25c to 40c to 50c and now fares based on total mileage.
So far I think e best joke is the 0.1km addition in between Bt Panjang Int LRT transfer stop and alighting bay.
I'd thought DBTF tabulation ends once e bus enters Int compound.
Originally posted by dragg:singapore is such a small island.
see how people have to tabulate to choose the cheapest route.
if i didnt know i thought you people are travelling across europe.
Small isn't tat small either.
Another issue is there are times if a certain bus comes and gets me to a pt able to transfer to my eventual destination I can still take.
Say at Jln Toa Payoh/ Opp Trellis Twr to HarbourFront with direct bus 57, 143 & 145. Fares range bet $1.33 n $1.37 ($1.31 before distance fare).
Distance are 11.4km (Sv 57), 11.6km (145), 12.0km (143).
There's 2 other possible scenario.
1) Take Sv 56 if it arrives to Little India MRT and x-fer to NEL: $1.40 ($1.43 bef Distance fare). Distance: 9.6km. This is the fastest route.
2) Take Sv 5 to Lower Delta Rd and x-fer to Sv 65: $1.29 ($1.30 bef Distance fare). Dist: 10.9km
car cost up, public tpt cost also up, those who can afford it choose car lah
Originally posted by sbst275:
you forgot there's things like receipts from shop rentals and advertisment.Obvious u have been not noticing how e transfer rebate has been evolving. From 0c in e cash fare era to 25c to 40c to 50c and now fares based on total mileage.
so any idea how much income is derived from shop rentals and advertisement? And why the constant applications to PTC to increase prices while also raising rebates at the same time?
Originally posted by Rock^Star:so any idea how much income is derived from shop rentals and advertisement? And why the constant applications to PTC to increase prices while also raising rebates at the same time?
they need to balance the books, increase profits YoY, make the ministers, shareholders and commuters all happy.
Its a complicated formula. On cover, seems like everyone is having a good bargain. Inside, CEOs nd shareholders are laughing all the way to the bank
Originally posted by Rock^Star:so any idea how much income is derived from shop rentals and advertisement? And why the constant applications to PTC to increase prices while also raising rebates at the same time?
there's e annual report.
Even though the x-fer rebates are evolving, dun forget there's overall bottomline and all other issues.
I'm more inclined to believe the x-fer rebate evolve movement is more to do w/ govt politics.
Originally posted by lemon1974:I just want to tell you that in 2008 before the rebate is increase from 25 cts to 40 cts, the fare that you are paying is S$1.09....(based on 67 cents + 42 cents) So after the so called increase in 2008, you are paying 71 ct + (71-40 cts) = S$1.02.....and by further increase the rebate to 50 cts in 2009, you are paying S$0.88.... so within the past two years, the fare have decreased from 1.09 to 0.88. Now it have indeed increase back to S$1.01...but still it is lower than the 2008 price... and hey, the price that i took for 2008 is BEFORE increase to 71 cts price... Why is it the pricest price? You did not read carefully my post at all.
from July 2010 onwards - 101 cents (5.6 km)so it is wrong for PTC to increase the rebates from 25 cts to 40 cts to 50 cts then.they should just keep it as 25 cents till June 2010, so that they can go claim that the fare involving transfer have indeed DECREASE.
Your explanations are pretty clear but the rebate increases are actually reluctant, considering the public anger at the relentless price hikes. And from late 2008 onwards the Lehmann bros crisis came, it was inevitable that SBS had to increase the rebates in view of many Sgporeans facing hardships. So it wouldnt be really right to say that SBS was wrong to have increased the rebates because it wasn't an option at all.
The rebate crap is just a cushion such that the transport operators need not permanently reduce prices at all.
there's e annual report.Even though the x-fer rebates are evolving, dun forget there's overall bottomline and all other issues.
I'm more inclined to believe the x-fer rebate evolve movement is more to do w/ govt politics.
well so u cant justify in exact figures how much income is derived from these 2 avenues? Then why even bother to mention it in the first place? lol. Since you are a bus enthusiast, appreciate if you may point out where I may find the annual report online. It would be clear cut there, I believe.
Originally posted by 105090:they need to balance the books, increase profits YoY, make the ministers, shareholders and commuters all happy.
Its a complicated formula. On cover, seems like everyone is having a good bargain. Inside, CEOs nd shareholders are laughing all the way to the bank
I'm curious, year after year, they hike the prices. Then they also raise the rebates. SO I wonder if they actually make more compared to previous years from this profit centre alone, not including the other forms of revenue.
Anyone can enlighten?
Originally posted by Rock^Star:well so u cant justify in exact figures how much income is derived from these 2 avenues? Then why even bother to mention it in the first place? lol. Since you are a bus enthusiast, appreciate if you may point out where I may find the annual report online. It would be clear cut there, I believe.
There's e annual report to read. Ltr ppl here come and dispute the fig since got ppl like charlize whole day accuse fare hike when some lucky ppl get $1 fare reduction.
In any case:
Bus revenue: $546m (2009) vs $580m (2008)
Rail: $109.2m vs $106.5m
Ads: $27.3m vs $30.9m
Rentals: $14.6m vs $12.8m.
http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/download/SBST_AnnualReport09.pdf
Originally posted by sbst275:6) Sv 160, 170. Now can't even switch svs bet CIQ n no way DBTF for Parc Oasis > WDL Ctr via 160 & 170 connection. Same goes for Kota Raya > WDL Ctr.
feel like checking this one out. by right should suspend ride as per old system.
There's e annual report to read. Ltr ppl here come and dispute the fig since got ppl like charlize whole day accuse fare hike when some lucky ppl get $1 fare reduction.In any case:
Actual this one the revenue drop is due to the minimum 2-cent discount plus upping transfer rebate from 40¢ to 50¢. now waiting for FY 2010.
There's e annual report to read. Ltr ppl here come and dispute the fig since got ppl like charlize whole day accuse fare hike when some lucky ppl get $1 fare reduction.In any case:
Tks :) Very clear cut indeed. Revenue has dropped due largely to the rebates given from 2008 onwards.
Interestingly enough, revenue has also increased by $30-$60m a year from 2005 till 2008. Not surprising given the constant hikes before 2008. And then the Lehman crisis struck in late 2008, so that could largely explain the initiative to raise rebates subsequently. Perhaps projected forecasts have predicted that 2009 would be a year of lower earnings from bus rides, therefore some scholar at the top decides to implement a recession proof distance based fare to ensure that revenues do not drop again? haha.
Nevertheless, they still made the 2nd highest profit after tax among all the years from 2005-2009, due largely to "internal funds generated". Anyone knows what that means?
I have read your post more than carefully and I understand what is the point you are trying to drive across.
Firstly, you've are trying very hard to point out that for that particular trip (43/70/76->90) the fares had decreased from $1.09 in 2007, to $1.02 in 2008 and $0.88 in 2009. I get your point loud and clear. Thanks to your elaboration in the first paragraph, I don't have to type what you've typed to explain what I was saying in the previous post. The reason why I said you were doing selective statistical comparison and that you took the priciest fares is because for that particular trip, you chose 2007 fares (as opposed to fares from other years) as a basis for comparison. As far as that trip is concerned, it would be the priciest in 2007 because it was $1.09 (as opposed to $1.02 in 08 or $0.88 in 09) What you are doing, is accentuating the fare decrease for that particular trip concerned. Though in 2007, the starting fares is 67¢ and in 2008, 71¢, it is irrelevant here. Because what I am talking about is the fares for that particular trip (ie. 43/70/76->90) is the priciest in the 2007 example you've listed previously. Get it??
Next, let me again reemphasise that I get what you are saying with your irrelevant examples. You are saying "if PTC did not", "so imagine", etc. These examples, esp those you quote 2008-2009 117¢ & 2009-2010 113¢ are merely prices that you extrapolated, that you concluded with the false assumption that if transfer rebates did not increase, direct fares will still increase in the same magnitude throughout all those years. Do take note that you are basing your arguments on deductions and hypotheses, not based on facts here. The reason why fares rose across fare bands in 2008 is because it was used to cover the increase in transfer rebate. That is a fact. Period. Like I said previously: the loss in revenue due to the increase in transfer rebates from 25¢-40¢ in 2008 is fully covered by the fare hike across fare bands, which affects EVERYONE. There is no loss of revenue incurred by the bus companies in this sense; in fact, there is an increase in revenue because the revenue gained by increase in fares across all fare bands is greater than the loss of revenue due to the increment of transfer rebate. You said "when PTC increase the fare in 2008 with increase in rebates, they still kenna a lot of complain...when in actual fact, many trips involving transfer are incurring less fares." Now do you see why are there still a lot of complaints? For the many trips that involves transfer that see a reduction in fares, there are MORE trips that do not involve transfer and hence see an increase in fares. See the BIG picture instead of harping on the specifics.
The reason why no one (or rather, you should say not many people) appreciated the fare decrease from $1.09 to $1.02 is because only a handful of people who took certain transfers will benefit marginally. The majority of them experienced a fare hike. How to appreciate? (Check out the stats yourself) Even if it had benefited me in that case, the savings in fares would have been happily returned to the bus companies by the increase in other direct bus journeys that I take! You've to understand the BIG PICTURE. Surely 43/70/76->90 is not the only trip I take!
The only real fare decrease (not any sort of fare increase masquerading as a "fare decrease") they had was in 2009. Reason was because the economy wasn't doing well, and the revenue of the transport companies remained high. Though they are profit-maximising companies, they shouldn't be always earning more and more at the expense of the citizenry (or commuters in general)! (I am not even talking about making a loss here) Do note that there is an increasing trend in their revenue, coupled with an increasing trend in bus fares throughtout the years prior to 2009. (And btw, I personally welcomed the fare decrease, though it was rather minimal)
I disagree with you that PTC is wrong in increasing the fare rebates from 25¢-50¢. In fact, I think it's a very smart move. Because they increased the fare rebates from 25¢-40¢, they now have a very good excuse to raise all the fares across all fare bands, and earn more as a result. Also, people who do not analyse deeply enough, who do not see the big picture, will be thinking, like you: Hmm.. the fare rebates have increased... that's good news! Unfortunately, you have failed to see beyond that superficial decrease in transfer rebates, that transport fees, as a whole, has increased.
Right, so you aren't working in the transport companies and you take public transport and your bus fares has risen as a result of the implementation of distance fares. Your parents have been adversely affected too. (If I got you correctly) Hopefully you aren't a shareholder, if not your words won't hold much weight here. It's good that such people exist because it allows bus companies to raise fares more easily, knowing that people like you will not see past the surface and will be always appreciative of the transport operators, no matter how poorly they've performed. (So long as they don't perform worse than Mumbai, Jakarta, Bangkok, Johannesburg, etc etc can already lah) To this, I have nothing to say - as a fellow commuter, I shake my head with resignation.
I don't know why you mentioned about PAP here. This is not speakers' corner and my post had no intention of linking this with politics / political party in any way - they are not, in my opinion, linked.
Lastly, let me repost my previous first paragraph because I felt you did not read my post properly in the first place;because if you don't, you can argue until the cows come home and it'd still be a fruitless argument in the end.
The purpose of my post is to objectively and clearly point out that my fares has risen, by a significant extent, this time round. It was not meant to be a historical comparison of prices because: (1): There is no end to such historical comparison of prices (How far back do we want to compare to? When feeder fares were still 25¢? When policemen were still wearing shorts?); (2) That would be digressing from the very purpose of my post, and the topic (Distance Fares) in the first place.
Now, I pray you've understood why I posted in the first place and think more deeply before you make another irrelevant retaliatory remark. Good night.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Your explanations are pretty clear but the rebate increases are actually reluctant, considering the public anger at the relentless price hikes. And from late 2008 onwards the Lehmann bros crisis came, it was inevitable that SBS had to increase the rebates in view of many Sgporeans facing hardships. So it wouldnt be really right to say that SBS was wrong to have increased the rebates because it wasn't an option at all.
The rebate crap is just a cushion such that the transport operators need not permanently reduce prices at all.
In 2007/8, they raised the transfer rebates from 25¢-40¢ and raised the fares across all fare bands at the same time (eg. 67¢-71¢, etc etc). On the whole, they aren't making a loss at all; in fact, their total revenue increased! So clever of them hor? :D
Ok confirmed riaos
Sv 160 > 170 transfer no more allowed.