http://theonlinecitizen.com/2010/07/distance-based-fare-an-outrageous-hike-in-disguise-says-nsp/
Sbst, what you think of this article? ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:Ok confirmed riaos
Sv 160 > 170 transfer no more allowed.
If that is the case, I won't walk to Block 303 trip from my house and take 160 to CIQ anymore, then wait 170/170X to JB as I know if miss 160, confirm must wait more than 10 minutes de.
Instead, I will take 187 from my house to BPJ, then go Ten Mile to take 170 to JB via CIQ.
Originally posted by charlize:http://theonlinecitizen.com/2010/07/distance-based-fare-an-outrageous-hike-in-disguise-says-nsp/
Sbst, what you think of this article?
1st thing there's ppl that benefitted from it. 2nd seriously, those who really lugi are super special cases whereby its due to historical issues.
Those that kpkb over revised fare/ distance band fares there's always ppl benefit, some lugi.
Now I'm still trying to find out and highlight some real glitches.
Originally posted by TIB657M:
If that is the case, I won't walk to Block 303 trip from my house and take 160 to CIQ anymore, then wait 170/170X to JB as I know if miss 160, confirm must wait more than 10 minutes de.Instead, I will take 187 from my house to BPJ, then go Ten Mile to take 170 to JB via CIQ.
Sorry 170 & 170X switching also cannot. Practically the most special 'same bus sv' transfer is totally not allowed even travelling within Singapore.
Another glitch. If one takes say MRT > NAC bus i.e. JIS. The NAC bus fare is still based on aircon fares. Whereas if you start ur trip on a NAC bus, there's e pro-rated reduction.
hi sbst275,
dont get what you mean about the 160/170 issue.
say Kranji MRT to JB Larkin
170 blue > 160 > 170 red.... the 170 red trip is new trip? how about 160?
Kranji MRT to JB CIQ
board 160, then change to 170... also new trip, or distance fare?
and yes, the fare jumped 69cts to 109cts
Originally posted by 105090:hi sbst275,
dont get what you mean about the 160/170 issue.
say Kranji MRT to JB Larkin
170 blue > 160 > 170 red.... the 170 red trip is new trip? how about 160?
Kranji MRT to JB CIQ
board 160, then change to 170... also new trip, or distance fare?
and yes, the fare jumped 69cts to 109cts
Simply you can only take1 service straight. Say 160 from Kranji/ Kota Raya, must stay taking 160 all e way across e border/ Kranji.
Else it's considered new trip.
Even though fares are up especially for to/ from Kota Raya, those taking to say Jurong with 1 more bus transfer aft MRT actually benefits. For MRT only, it's those going to near CBD stations tat will see 0 or reduction.
For MRT only transfer (To Kota Raya).
NSL stations: Beyond Khatib will see reduction. Khatib itself is +3c.
EWL stations: Beyond Jurong East will see reduction. Jurong East itself is +5c
Dun need to mention NEL/ CCL for now w/ e cut off point.
This is based on back to JB where distance clocked by 170X is longer.
Will post to Larkin later.
ot a little bit here, took the train today & noticed the increase of $0.09..![]()
Originally posted by QX179R:ot a little bit here, took the train today & noticed the increase of $0.09..
From Simei to?
Originally posted by sbst275:
From Simei to?
kembangan..
Originally posted by QX179R:kembangan..
got increase? wa kaoz.
before this so-called cut in fares thingy started, I only paid $1..
To Larkin
Swee la.
Choa Chu Kang (-2c), Yew Tee (+12c) & Sembawang (-11c) Admiralty (+5c).
distance based travelling....
more ppl staying at fringe of singapore...
esp punggol and jurong...
tsk tsk...
Originally posted by GHoST_18:distance based travelling....
more ppl staying at fringe of singapore...
esp punggol and jurong...
tsk tsk...
those commuting from the edges of singapore to town may see a little increase. those travelling across the island say pasir ris to tuas naval base or tampines to NTU will see some savings.
Orchard - Tampines via MRT increase 15c. 146c to 161c
Simply you can only take1 service straight. Say 160 from Kranji/ Kota Raya, must stay taking 160 all e way across e border/ Kranji.Else it's considered new trip.
Even though fares are up especially for to/ from Kota Raya, those taking to say Jurong with 1 more bus transfer aft MRT actually benefits. For MRT only, it's those going to near CBD stations tat will see 0 or reduction.
what is the mode of the ezylink reader when reaching woodlands checkpoint? suspended mode? or normal entry/exit mode?
Simply you can only take1 service straight. Say 160 from Kranji/ Kota Raya, must stay taking 160 all e way across e border/ Kranji.Else it's considered new trip.
why like that? arent they supposed to be mutually exclusive services?
how about 950 customers? now also can suka suka board 160/170 or also new trip?
Originally posted by 105090:why like that? arent they supposed to be mutually exclusive services?
how about 950 customers? now also can suka suka board 160/170 or also new trip?
No idea.
950 haven't try calculator yet.
Originally posted by lemon1974:what is the mode of the ezylink reader when reaching woodlands checkpoint? suspended mode? or normal entry/exit mode?
Still "checkpoint" mode i.e. ride suspended ride resumed.
Unless that's just for show only...![]()
No idea.950 haven't try calculator yet.
agu, want to know if you did went down to JB to test with ez-link card? if not i think maybe the calculator was not coded with the "suspend ride" and "resume ride" mechanism for checkpoints...
might go down one of these days to see see also...
Originally posted by ^tamago^:agu, want to know if you did went down to JB to test with ez-link card? if not i think maybe the calculator was not coded with the "suspend ride" and "resume ride" mechanism for checkpoints...
might go down one of these days to see see also...
JB leg didn't try as yet. Dunno if the online calculator takes it based on the strictly no x-fer to same service thingy to think of it.
But that Jurong East > Woodlands Ctr tried. 2x new trip.
Originally posted by gohby:In 2007/8, they raised the transfer rebates from 25¢-40¢ and raised the fares across all fare bands at the same time (eg. 67¢-71¢, etc etc). On the whole, they aren't making a loss at all; in fact, their total revenue increased! So clever of them hor? :D
That would make perfect sense as these rebates apply strictly to transfers. What percentage of commuters take direct journeys? What was the change in revenue for direct journeys year after year? I think these are impt qns but unfortunately, I don't think the annual report is so detailed.
Heard that they are monitoring the situation and will review it next year, right?
If so, then next year increase again lah.
The annual report thingy
Dun forget, the recent years SBS intro semi express i.e. 10e, 196e & Premium svs where e fares are higher. It's part of the contribution to higher ridership and in turn turnover.
Originally posted by sbst275:The annual report thingy
Dun forget, the recent years SBS intro semi express i.e. 10e, 196e & Premium svs where e fares are higher. It's part of the contribution to higher ridership and in turn turnover.
I wont mind pay higher if ALL BUSES run 24 hours!