Would you take the shortest, and cheapest route the software chose for you if it involved saving 16 cents and 3 bus transfers?
Originally posted by dragg:thank you for the reply. imagine having to go through all these tabulations just for one trip to save 20cts.
frankly, how many people know to switch buses 3-4 times like you suggested.
if this stupid system is here to stay they should come up with a software everybody can use. all we need is to enter the boarding and eventual location and the software recommends the cheapest route.
frankly speaking very few people know the art of transferring and saving on their travelling fares when they commute. Most singaporeans like direct journeys and hate to transfer unless necessary. LTA want to encourage transfers but I guess this will take a long while for Singaporeans to wake up their idea that taking direct journeys will cost them alot more and what they do after that is to complain and not find a solution for themselves to save when there's actually solutions around the transport system for them to do so.
I think the software will not be anywhere intelligent enough to capture the shortest route but now with DBTF I dont think its as good as I think it is.
Just for example from Lor 8 Toa Payoh to Jurong Point. They gave the feeder to Braddell/Toa Payoh MRT then MRT direct to Boon Lay, while a cheaper route is a bus to Trellis Towers at Jln Toa Payoh, 154 to Clementi MRT and then the train.
So next time if you need directions it might just be better to ask in this forum than asking the journey planner.
Originally posted by service_238:frankly speaking very few people know the art of transferring and saving on their travelling fares when they commute. Most singaporeans like direct journeys and hate to transfer unless necessary. LTA want to encourage transfers but I guess this will take a long while for Singaporeans to wake up their idea that taking direct journeys will cost them alot more and what they do after that is to complain and not find a solution for themselves to save when there's actually solutions around the transport system for them to do so.
I think the software will not be anywhere intelligent enough to capture the shortest route but now with DBTF I dont think its as good as I think it is.
Just for example from Lor 8 Toa Payoh to Jurong Point. They gave the feeder to Braddell/Toa Payoh MRT then MRT direct to Boon Lay, while a cheaper route is a bus to Trellis Towers at Jln Toa Payoh, 154 to Clementi MRT and then the train.
So next time if you need directions it might just be better to ask in this forum than asking the journey planner.
this must be the "winning formula". Direct journey, you pay more.
Transfers, you save that few cents but give yourself so much trouble transferring buses.
commuters never "win". talking about transfers. say 3 bus journeys, all buses you waited 12mins. total you waste 36mins just by waiting.. isnt it ridiculous? anyone will also avoid transfer journeys
LTA want people to transfer?
what happens to the Cheaper, Better, Faster thing the government is promoting? tranfser is expensive, worse, slower!
aiya there will be no end la.. just sit back and see what stunt comes necxt
Originally posted by 105090:this must be the "winning formula". Direct journey, you pay more.
Transfers, you save that few cents but give yourself so much trouble transferring buses.
commuters never "win". talking about transfers. say 3 bus journeys, all buses you waited 12mins. total you waste 36mins just by waiting.. isnt it ridiculous? anyone will also avoid transfer journeys
LTA want people to transfer?
what happens to the Cheaper, Better, Faster thing the government is promoting? tranfser is expensive, worse, slower!
aiya there will be no end la.. just sit back and see what stunt comes necxt
it's not really a stunt.
Seriously we can't be having direct bus services everywhere. Probably the nearest is like HK's bus - bus interchange whereby we emulate designating a bus stop (upgrade and lengthen it) for interchange for better connectivity.
But I guess for those taking direct and long distance, they now lugi
aiya I say, to merge sbs and smrt bus ops together to better manage the resources. and keep the routes if theres demand. no point re-routing or amending "dumb" routes for the sake of it.
as for this DBTF, we let time speak for it. since my place has few bus services, i always end up making transfers to anywhere I go, hence, I'm ""saving"" a few cents here and there.. so I keep quiet on it
next, I expect bus routes to be chopped here and there, and the dear ministers will say the DBTF is there so noone will lugi etc
Originally posted by 105090:aiya I say, to merge sbs and smrt bus ops together to better manage the resources. and keep the routes if theres demand. no point re-routing or amending "dumb" routes for the sake of it.
as for this DBTF, we let time speak for it. since my place has few bus services, i always end up making transfers to anywhere I go, hence, I'm ""saving"" a few cents here and there.. so I keep quiet on it
next, I expect bus routes to be chopped here and there, and the dear ministers will say the DBTF is there so noone will lugi etc
chopping bus route part dun think will appear smoothly.. thks to newer yet smaller integrated tpt hub.
Originally posted by service_238:frankly speaking very few people know the art of transferring and saving on their travelling fares when they commute. Most singaporeans like direct journeys and hate to transfer unless necessary. LTA want to encourage transfers but I guess this will take a long while for Singaporeans to wake up their idea that taking direct journeys will cost them alot more and what they do after that is to complain and not find a solution for themselves to save when there's actually solutions around the transport system for them to do so.
that is exactly my point.
we have to go through the trouble of tabulating then the many transfers just to save 20cts?
this new system of encouraging transfers to cut cost suck big time. in fact i wont even go to the trouble of tabulating the different routes.
Originally posted by sbst275:it's not really a stunt.
Seriously we can't be having direct bus services everywhere. Probably the nearest is like HK's bus - bus interchange whereby we emulate designating a bus stop (upgrade and lengthen it) for interchange for better connectivity.
But I guess for those taking direct and long distance, they now lugi
why not return to the old system? nobody is complaining.
Originally posted by dragg:why not return to the old system? nobody is complaining.
as in?
The system will eventually evolve. Seriously the old system heavily penalises those who really need to transfer where there's no direct sv.
I've said before the fare stage remaining fare band you cannot claim for e next ride, e distance fare you can.
1 example, from Trellis Twr > Toa Payoh Int/ MRT > Bishan Stn
Old: $0.69 + $0.71 - $0.50 = $0.90.
New: $0.71 + $0.00 = $0.71.
In such case, the MRT ride is free because your distance is less than 3.2km. In e past you still have to pay for e new trip.
It's obvious those taking long distance direct bus are heavily penalised. Simply because if one would notice, the farther distance fares are using the basis bus - MRT or bus - bus transfer scenario.
Yet there are cases even w/ transfer, thks to e retabulated distance commuters end up paying like 20 - 30c more.
Originally posted by sbst275:
JB leg didn't try as yet. Dunno if the online calculator takes it based on the strictly no x-fer to same service thingy to think of it.But that Jurong East > Woodlands Ctr tried. 2x new trip.
let's screenshot this for evidence. hope to try this out tomorrow.

Originally posted by sbst275:Yet there are cases even w/ transfer, thks to e retabulated distance commuters end up paying like 20 - 30c more.
yes. that reason produces one of the greatest hikes seen.
some notable examples we had were: 155, 170, 852, 854. anymore?
eggy
I think gotch another glitch spotted.
The online calculator does not provide PTB T3/ T1 direct bus ride onboard Sv 36 beyond T2.
Sekali it turns out to be 2x new trip on e real transit transaction.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:yes. that reason produces one of the greatest hikes seen.
some notable examples we had were: 155, 170, 852, 854. anymore?
Sv 66, 67
Originally posted by sbst275:eggy
I think gotch another glitch spotted.
The online calculator does not provide PTB T3/ T1 direct bus ride onboard Sv 36 beyond T2.
Sekali it turns out to be 2x new trip on e real transit transaction.
i was assuming it shld work like the old system. whoa this one really screw up liao....
One more error (or should i say missing out) in the calculator.
Jurong West Ctrl 1 stops (both stops) is not found in 199 and 242's list while its normal for 502.
Government is very smart to come up with this idea....... Ended up we have to pay more than the old fare stage scheme. And they are trying to convince the crowd that new distance fare scheme will be more cheaper than the old scheme.
Originally posted by sbst275:
as in?The system will eventually evolve. Seriously the old system heavily penalises those who really need to transfer where there's no direct sv.
I've said before the fare stage remaining fare band you cannot claim for e next ride, e distance fare you can.
1 example, from Trellis Twr > Toa Payoh Int/ MRT > Bishan Stn
Old: $0.69 + $0.71 - $0.50 = $0.90.
New: $0.71 + $0.00 = $0.71.
In such case, the MRT ride is free because your distance is less than 3.2km. In e past you still have to pay for e new trip.
It's obvious those taking long distance direct bus are heavily penalised. Simply because if one would notice, the farther distance fares are using the basis bus - MRT or bus - bus transfer scenario.
do you really believe they introduced such a complicated system just for the sake of the long distance travellers?
and incur the wrath of all other travellers along the way?
Originally posted by dragg:do you really believe they introduced such a complicated system just for the sake of the long distance travellers?
and incur the wrath of all other travellers along the way?
dun forget w/ more MRT lines being operational, it's likely ppl would need to x-fer bus - MRT mode. Even I forsee bus - bus interchange would become common as well.
It isn't complicated seriously, it's only doing away w/ km for MRT, fare stage for bus fare tabulation by combining them together.
but there's e teething problem of getting used to e fact bus fares are now using km based as like MRT for these 23 yrs.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:let's screenshot this for evidence. hope to try this out tomorrow.
just tried.
Cannot, considered new trip.
Some bus services are "purposely" making many stops in a small area.
If you have a roundabout/flyover/ring road, the distance is all counted in.
Originally posted by NoTrainNearHome:Some bus services are "purposely" making many stops in a small area.
How about the Circuit Road (McPherson Estate) there?
Gracr Fu said that 2/3 of commuters will see fares reduced. How come not evident from the blogosphere and online forums? lol
Originally posted by NoTrainNearHome:Some bus services are "purposely" making many stops in a small area.
no such thing tat more bus stop = longer distance. The road length is still e same.
many additional bus stops were added say due to request for elderly passengers.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Gracr Fu said that 2/3 of commuters will see fares reduced. How come not evident from the blogosphere and online forums? lol
just like some would say.
you want to hear things you like, u would pass it ard. You dun like, you would still pass it around but w/ hypocritic mind.
Many a times it's all w/ ignorance to understand e system tat ppl say fare hike.